Fun, Fun, Fun

I love this photo.

I love this photo.

OK, dear readers.  Karma, over at her blog, has posted a new photo challenge.  It’s called “Colors of Your World.”   She requests that we find a color we love, to which we’re drawn.  We’re urged to share our photos celebrating this color.

Colorful buds in frozen rain.

Colorful buds in frozen rain.

One of the names the Ojibway called me was “Rainbow Woman”.

It’s indicative, dear reader, that I could never–ever–pick a favorite color.  Unless it was ALL colors.

My favorite color is–ROYGBIV.  You know what this is, right?  Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, Violet.  The whole spectrum.  Add white and black.  Tan and brown.  Whatever other color that exists.  They’re all my favorite.

The Founders of the Vierling Restaurant. OK, they don't look that colorful, do they?

The Founders of the Vierling Restaurant. OK, they don’t look that colorful, do they?

On the way into town yesterday–headed toward a delightful evening which included the play Fiddler on the Roof–I listened to a segment on The Splendid Table on National Public Radio.  Someone tried a ROYGBIV diet!  Can you imagine?  One day she (and her friend) ate only red.  The next day, orange.  Then, yellow. The day she ate only green she thought she’d died and gone to heaven.

I don't suppose we look that colorful, either...

I don’t suppose we look that colorful, either…

These pics are from our trip to Marquette last Thursday.  You, surely, remember the post I wrote there.  I’ve bought a new Point and Shoot Camera (another Sony CyberShot) and, gosh, my friends, I had the best time–since the last itty bitty camera died–just pointing and shooting in ordinary settings.

It was SO fun!  We were sitting there eating at the Vierling and the restaurant was mostly empty, as we dined mid-afternoon.  I shot to the left!  To the right!  Up!  Down!

Our food looks rather white...

Our food looks rather white…

Barry rolled his eyes.

I was having so much photographic fun you wouldn’t believe it!

Barry said, “Put the camera down!  C’mon, Kathy, it’s time to eat!”

Very colorful stained glass at the restaurant.

Very colorful stained glass at the restaurant.

I LOVE inconspicuous cameras!  Even though the “big girl cameras”–like my Canon Rebel–can take so much sharper and clearer photos, gosh, this little baby rocks.

I adore her.  I adore how I feel when I’m aiming and snapping in every direction.  And no one notices!

 Even though this old-time picture of Marquette is not colorful, please notice the red along the edge.  Very colorful!

Even though this old-time picture of Marquette is not colorful, please notice the red along the edge. Very colorful!

So these are my colorful entries for Karma’s photo challenge.  Spur-of-the-moment incognito photos…

Don't you love the yellow wooden Indian?  I do.

Don’t you love the yellow wooden Indian? I do.

It’s fun to be enjoying photography again.  Have been alternating photos from the new baby Sony CyberShot and the Canon Rebel in this blog during the last few weeks.  Wondering if you can tell which pics come from which camera.

Here is the outside of the Vierling Restaurant in Marquette. It's a lovely red brick building  Very inviting.

Here is the outside of the Vierling Restaurant in Marquette. It’s a lovely red brick building Very inviting.

Even at WalMart the camera was looking for color.  Red, blue, violet!  Oh, this is  so much better than the black and white snowy world in which we live these April days.

Blue bikes at WalMart

Blue bikes at WalMart

Mostly red bikes at WalMart

Mostly red bikes at WalMart

Even at Starbucks, my incognito camera was snapping, snapping, looking for unusual angles and color.  Any color.  Any color but snow color.

And, finally, the rich red which greets us at Starbucks.

And, finally, the rich red which greets us at Starbucks.

Going to be busy this week, so wanted to get this post in now.  Don’t know when I’ll have time to post again for a few days.  Do scurry over to Karma’s blog and participate if you’re interested.  If not, at least enjoy the color in your world!

Have YOU got a favorite color?

I leave you with this final color photo.  It shows spring in the Northwoods.  Something I hope comes.  Some day.  Soon.

I leave you with this final color photo. It shows spring in the Northwoods. Something I hope comes. Some day. Soon.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in April 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Fun, Fun, Fun

  1. debyemm says:

    I think purples are my favorites – amethyst crystals and redbud trees in bloom (sort of lavender/pink, one out the window as I type this).

  2. How fun to have a new camera! My favorite color? Greeeeeeeeeeen – any and all shades of Greeeeeeeeeeeen. In our home we use several colors: sage/olive green, chili pepper red, cobalt blue, and soft, dusty yellow.

  3. dawnkinster says:

    Love the colors of up north! How was Fiddler? Amazing I’m sure. Have never been in that restaurant, sure it was not there in the 80’s when I was. Someday…

  4. Reds, yellows, pinks and purples are doing it for me right now. Everything’s in bloom in my neighborhood.

  5. Celeste says:

    I think my fave is currently soft-to-vibrant teals. Can’t get enough, and in fact just returned home from buying a pair of shoes and matching purse in the color. But all colors are great!

  6. Stacy says:

    Of course I have a favorite color….but you already knew that, didn’t you? ❤

  7. Red is my favorite. Nice photos, Kathy, thanks.

  8. john says:

    I’m a chameleon. I start with green and change from there. I think Dawn said it well with “the colors of UP North”. Looking forward to trying the Vierling in the future.

  9. Brenda Hardie says:

    Kathy, I am like you because I simply love color. Red tends to be a favorite for me to wear and decorate with, especially during the doldrums of winter. Black is a favorite to wear. Greens are favored for home interior colors…along with other natural colors…browns, tans, creams/whites, etc. But every once in awhile…I have to wear something deep purple or wrap myself in my soft blanket which is a rich, dark purple. Every summer I love the lushness of the green world around me in the grass, leaves, gardens, and shrubs. I love the bright blue sky and the golden sunshine. In the fall, all shades of crimson, mustard, orange, yellow, and even some purples show up in the leaves, shrubs, flowers, squash and pumpkins…and the apples! There is such beauty in the variety of colors all around us! ♥
    Congratulations on your new camera! I’m glad you’re enjoying picture-taking again!! ♥

  10. sybil says:

    I think I like green and blue in combination best. Rich blue sky in the back ground and loverly green leaves in front.

    Guess I should pop over to Karma’s. Since Sandy has left I’m now trying to catch up on 80 emails and most of them are links to posts …

  11. Fountainpen says:

    Mine is BROWN

  12. dorannrule says:

    You are right! This is a Fun, Fun, Fun posting. You exude happiness over that little camera taking all those shots of different colors – “any color but snow color.” You are tickling me pink Kate and making me LOL. 🙂

  13. Heather says:

    I’m like you, Kathy – can’t pick a favorite! I’d feel bad leaving one out, because I can always find something about it I value, even if it is just white and I’m tired of it 😉 My wardrobe is fairly indicative of this, too.
    So glad you’re enjoying photography again! No point dragging any camera around if it just isn’t fun, even if the images are super duper sharp. Welcome back 😉

  14. Very nice photos, glad you’re have fun with your new camera. My favorite color is sapphire blue.

  15. lisaspiral says:

    fun photos! Thanks for sharing your “true colors.” 🙂

  16. Sheryl says:

    Until I read this post I’d never heard of ROYGEIV. I think that it’s my new favorite color. 🙂

  17. Colleen says:

    Kathy, it’s late and I haven’t eaten so find myself admiring the fish with homemade? tartar sauce and guessing what kind of soup you might have eaten. Very nice!

    I’ve been drawn to clear blues and greens lately. The colors of water and sky and the greens of spring and nature. They feel so good to wear and have around right now.

  18. jeffstroud says:

    Can anyone of us truly choose a color that we like best? I am much like you Kathy, all color is truly awesome at different times and situations. When I look at spring, first red, the gold, the white and pink, and green in every shade you could imagine!
    I think I will visit Karma’s blog!

  19. Carol says:

    It’s near impossible to pick a favorite, and I’m collecting photos of those I’m “drawn” to for Karma’s challenge. Congrats on your new Sony!

  20. It is very hard to say what my favorite color is. I like to wear deep red. I love looking at deep purples. I think I’d have to say that I love jewel tones – gold not yellow, deep purple not lavendar, hummingbird blue not cornflower.

  21. Your cyber shot is producing some very nice pics. I like the old red brick building. And, the last pic of you is a good one. I really do hope that winter soon loses its grip in your neck of the woods. Down here it is rather warm today. Needed to run AC during my field trip drive this am.

  22. Deep greens and blues are the colors I choose
    Won’t you let me go down in my dreams?

    ~ James Taylor
    (Sweet Baby James)

    And I love white-on-white for decorating; and burgundy, plum and eggplant for clothing… The stained glass window is beautiful!

  23. Robin says:

    Very fun post, Kathy! I like all colors, too, even though there is one that tends to speak to me a bit more. 🙂

  24. I’m a rainbow kind of girl myself. 🙂

  25. Joanne says:

    It sounds like you were feasting on colours and photos, as well as the food Kathy! This is such a fun post, jumping from colour to colour. I have different favourite colours for different things, but it seem like I’m mostly drawn to pinks and maroon shades. 🙂

  26. Karma says:

    Thanks so much, Kathy, for participating in this “photo hunt” in a very Kathy sort of way! 🙂 Of course ROYGBIV is your favorite color – makes perfect sense to me!

  27. Pingback: Wrapping Up Color | Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

