Melt

Rushing stream with tiny waterfalls

Rushing stream with tiny waterfalls

The Long Winter seems to be exiting just in time for May.  We can only hope.  Last weekend the temperatures soared to about 70 degrees (21 C) and our snow began to melt, melt, melt.

Three

Three

We humans scurried outside, sun and warmth-deprived creatures, and we luxuriated.

I found an old cushion and sat with my back against maples and poplars and spruce, trying to feel the sap rising up my back.

Sat and delighted in Spring.

Bubbles in the stream

Bubbles in the stream

After a while thought that perhaps–just perhaps–you might want to see some snow melt photos.  Grabbed the Canon Rebel and slopped through the wet snow in boots.  Followed the sound of rushing streams.

Oh how loud the woods sound during melt-time!  It’s almost deafening.  The rivers crescendo.  The background noise almost interferes with cell phone conversations.  My daughter sighed as she remembered the rushing woods river sound.

“I haven’t heard that sound in years,” she sighed.

Melting snow-shapes everywhere

Melting snow-shapes everywhere

A friend called during the week.  Would we be interested in buying maple syrup?  Her son was tapping trees; they were boiling the sap into sweet syrup.

Yes, indeed!  I bought four containers.  One for us, one for each child, and one for another special someone, yet nameless, due to gift-giving etiquette.

Rushing roadside rivers cut through snow banks

Rushing roadside rivers cut through snow banks

One night I couldn’t sleep.  The full moon rose in the southeast.  I put on Grandma’s old 1969 snowmobile suit, grabbed the cushion, quietly tiptoed outside, and propped up against a nearby spruce.  The rushing stream-river gushed as background music.

The full moon leaned her chin on the branch of another spruce tree and sang her own orb-song.  It felt like a magical moment.

Green underwater world

Green underwater world

Rivers flood their banks every day.  Roads wash out.  Flood advisories and warnings appear hourly.

There’s still many feet of snow up in the high country and it must all rush down, down, down toward Lake Superior.  We’re in the path of melting snow.  Stay alert, drivers!  That dirt road up ahead may not be safe…

High rivers

High rivers

We cleaned out our shed this weekend.  Barry’s bringing bags and bags of garbage to Charley, our garbage collector, this morning.

Isn’t it the best feeling to get rid of what’s no longer needed?

We also brought the deck furniture outside, and Barry began sawing our log pile.

Unexpected beauty of orange rock beneath raging river

Unexpected beauty of orange rock beneath raging river

Today promises to be our last exceptionally warm day for a while.  Temps will moderate downward toward more typical spring warmth.  They’re also predicting possible rain every day for a while.

That’s OK.  We’ve had our little taste of summer.  We know it’s slowly returning.  We’ve survived…

Snake-like snow shapes melt into mud

Snake-like snow shapes melt into mud

What’s the weather in your neck of the woods?  Did you spring clean–inside or out–this weekend?

We humans think it's summer already.  Look, who is sitting out on the deck already!

We humans think it’s summer already. Look, who is sitting out on the deck already!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in April 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Melt

  1. Elisa says:

    It has been spritzing rain for a few days. A bit more than the feeling of walking through dense fog. It has been chilly enough with the damp to run the heat some, but I have the bedroom window cracked so that I can listen to the wet, listen to the rain, listen to the summons of the growing.

    I am feeling highly anxious today, again. I can’t decide what is valid to do, or to do first. The breathing meds add to the shaking feeling and, of course, the brain responds. I had a very big spurt of lots and lots of input and I was very calm and pleased with it, but for now it just seems a lot blenderish or a let-down after the creation. I bet it’s a lot like you try to describe after trips. I think I will work on inner clutter, without spinning, HA! I might clean some real clutter, though this time I think it would be more like the Geographical cure thing, that doesn’t work.

    I just stopped commenting for a moment to follow a thought about giving IT what IT wants. I noted the whiners inside attempting to fling all of the new toys onto the floor and to choose among themselves which to do, which would serve most and so on and so forth. OVERLOAD frozen stuck!

    I really think it best to simply sit or to move gently along and to observe the small changing moments of life. I’ve been staring through the curtains at the baby leaves and your ear of rushing water is more my optimal speed and desire at this moment. Thanks for writing Kathy!

  2. I am amazed at how quickly that all the snow on the ground in your area melted!

  3. Kathy my parents in north central British Columbia have spring like you. They live along a river as well though it is too slow and wide to rush as it goes by their place. I remember the sounds of the ice breaking up though. We gage spring by the amount of snow in the shade on my younger brother’s birthday – May 5th. Your photographs and stories bring up lots of memories.

    I have been plein air painting this spring and just posted the latest work-in-progress post on Creative Potager about the red tulips on the deck of the Springwater Lodge. But my old cushion was taken to the beach to sit in the sun on the warmed sandstone. Take care Kathy and enjoy all that spring has to offer in your corner of the world.

  4. It’s dull & raining here today but, like you, we had a lovely weekend. It was so wonderful to leave the house with only a sweater instead of bulky winter jackets! We have no more snow in our front yard and only a bit left in the back. Hooray! 🙂

    On the down side, there has been talk of flooding to the south of the city and it will only get worse. We do have The Floodway to take a lot of the extra water out of the Red River around to Lake Winnipeg, but those outside the city are on their own – and there’s still the Assiniboine River to contend with. Sandbaggers will be out in force, soon.

  5. BTW, I loved your photos, especially the snowy ‘snakes’. They reminded me of a three-headed white dragon, snoozing on the ground. 🙂

  6. we are getting a little summer this week then it is cooling off on the weekend–

  7. John Kuttenberg says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing the birth of the new season! I loved you sitting against the trees, trying to feel the sap running up. The sight of the rushing water and the ground showing through is such a glorious experience to share with us. I am plotting a jailbreak as I am typing, like a slave on the underground railway, I will make my way North before any doctors or family members can catch me.

    • john says:

      I originally replied on my Nexus, now that I am on my desktop I could see the reflection of you and the trees in the water bubble. I really like that detail.

  8. lisaspiral says:

    Spring cleaning is something I haven’t had much time for. Would love to toss the old and make room for the new!

  9. “Isn’t it the best feeling to get rid of what’s no longer needed?”

    yes, Yes, YES! My mother always said, “Travel light, travel fast!”

  10. msmcword says:

    The trees in the wooded area behind my condo are starting to grow buds-spring’s calling card! I have not done any spring cleaning other tahn cleaning out some “yucky” thoughts and attitudes from my mind.

    Thanks for sharing your photos.

  11. Heather says:

    Kathy, your story sounds so much like ours! You’ve still got a bit more snow, and I think we’re beyond the flooding right now, but much the same anyway. We pulled out our patio furniture and acted like it was summer. We spring cleaned inside and out. We luxuriated in the rushing rivers and pleasantly warm breezes. We are grateful we survived. And now It’s raining (thunderstorming and little!) and will for the next few days. Ahhh. Spring.

  12. Carol says:

    Oh I am so happy you’ve had a wonderful taste of spring, rushing waters, and hope for warmth! There is just nothing more delightful, more awakening, than spring I think. We have had a minor cool down, but are promised 70s in a couple of days. Pure heaven!

  13. dorannrule says:

    I love it that your winter is being beaten back by the sun at long last. And your writing is so descriptive that I can almost hear the sounds of the rushing streams and rivers and feel your joy at basking outdoors. I so enjoy your blog Kathy. Every word is sheer delight. P.S. We are having a kind of cool overcast spring, so the blooming tulips have already lasted for weeks. 🙂

  14. bonnie says:

    So glad your Spring has finally arrived, as has ours, and we no longer have snow in open areas.

  15. Lori D says:

    I love the sound of flowing waters. Lovely photos.

  16. Barb says:

    I’ve been enjoying spring (finally) in UT. Many wildflowers already in bloom. At home in Breckenridge, we still have a yard full of snow. (I was happy to escape for awhile.) i hope you didn’t jinx spring by putting out the deck furniture!

  17. Stacy says:

    Oh – I hope I”m the secret recipient of the maple syrup. Just kidding. Not really. 😀

  18. Wow…you still have snow there? We were spared the late Spring weather which kept your ground covered in white. I can see why Barry is out there on the deck. Sun!

  19. Brenda Hardie says:

    Great pictures, Kathy! The earth is once again waking up. It was in the 70s and low 80s while I was visiting my sister and we enjoyed being outside. But now we’re going to get blasted with more heavy wet snow. It’s May 1st and we’re under a winter storm warning with 6-9 inches of snow expected. The grass is greening up, buds are out on the trees, some have opened already and now here comes the snow again. I know it won’t last but it’s just going to be a mess again…with sloppy roads and broken branches.

    And once again, Alex might miss his field trip if they cancel. So far this year, every field trip has been canceled because of weather (snow/ice)–he’s so disappointed.

    Your woods would be a welcome place to see the change in seasons…even if Mother Nature tries to confuse us with measurable snow in May.

  20. Joanne says:

    The woods are loud during melt time? You feel the sap of the maple rise along your back? What fabulous experiences for your senses to enjoy. 🙂

  21. sybil says:

    Finally getting some mild weather here too. I feel like a calf in spring and want to jump around in a greening meadow, alternately bucking and kicking up my heels. Please note that’s how I “feel”, not what I DO. 😉 I have wandered down into the woods to admire the tiny ferns just peeping out of the ground and to wonder at the many different bird calls.

    Enjoy ! It’s been a loooong winter girlfriend.

  22. Janet says:

    Wow! When it goes, it goes. I can hear the sounds you described from here. Beautiful!

  23. Robin says:

    So glad to hear spring is finally coming your way. Spring seems to have settled in nicely here in the Bogs. It’s probably summer already at the new place on the Eastern Shore. But here, for a little while, I get to enjoy a second spring since everything blooming here now was blooming in Maryland when I was out there a couple of weeks ago. I hope I remember that: 2013 was the year of two springs. 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

