Blogging to illuminate, to reconcile

Illumination

Illumination

Lately I have been enjoying writing blogs that seem to reconcile stuck, limited, or judging viewpoints within.

Something arises.  Some judgment, some feeling, some sorrow, something that’s not yet integrated.

Perhaps it has to do with a friendship.  A sense of longing.  Something deep inside which wants to be accepted, yet there’s still a pushing away, a not-allowing. Perhaps it’s an anger, a sorrow, a not-understanding.

I sit and type, letting the deepest self share its thoughts.

Then–instead of turning too quickly in the next moment–or too compulsively looking toward your comments or visits–it seems that the words in the blog are felt on a deeper level.  I feel the truth in the words, to understand, to allow.

It often feels like a big ah-ha of understanding.  It feels like it translates into true realization, into something real which can inform the next action.

Sometimes you can't see the forest for the trees...

Sometimes you can’t see the forest for the trees…

Some examples?

The great and powerful longing helped me to allow, to more assuredly accept, a longing that is a part of most of us.   To not push it away.  To honor it.  To more deeply relax in its presence.

Up all night birthing a goat felt like the heart sighing in relief.  More assuredly allowing the diversity of all of us.  I could feel this in my bones.  Not pushing anything away.  Allowing a greater love to birth in this moment.

Yesterday’s post Made of dreams and dandelion fuzz addressed something which was pushing away dreaming, as well as something that loved dreaming.  After writing it, this heart cracked open in joy.  Something wordless felt understood, some judgment dissolved. The opposites within reconciled.

A new view

A new view

I don’t know about you, but I have a tendency to push away some painful or seemingly objectionable parts of life.  Blogging from a higher perspective–from the larger view–from the eye of the eagle–allows for integration.  If I allow the words to sink into feelings, to stay with the expansion until it flowers into realization.

If you, the reader, find anything which relaxes your heart, makes you more deeply accept this moment from these posts–well, that’s only an added bonus.  I read your comments so often and smile, feeling like we’re kindred spirits, that we care about the rich inner life, the lifetime of shedding light in dim corners.

Blogging suddenly feels like planting seeds and watching plants sprout and flowers bloom.  It often feels like illumination, reconciliation, deep peace.

Does blogging help you figure things out?  Has it helped you love and accept yourself even more?

Let there be pussy willows

Let there be pussy willows

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in May 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Blogging to illuminate, to reconcile

  1. I WIlkerson says:

    You know my blog is less thoughtful than yours, but because if it I make myself do more things rather than sit and think about them. And of course there are all the great insights and ideas I get from my fellow bloggers like you!

  2. Your blog posts are always so beautiful, both because of your photos and your words. Often they make me chuckle. At other times they are reflective and introspective, giving insight into your loving caring heart, and making us realize the beauty in life. They are always inspiring. 🙂

  3. No, blogging doesn’t do that for me, I guess because I am not in the zone the way you are. But writing emails does that for me – sometimes in a personal email to a friend I discover things. Similarly when responding to or writing a FB update there is often light shed on a feeling or thought or idea.

  4. sybil says:

    You is very thoughtful and wise, Obi Wan.

    In my posts, I tend to talk about about what I “do”. You talk about the “doings” of our inner worlds.

    I finding that some blogs teach me. Yours, teaches me to be gentle and introspective, while Nature Posts, http://www.abundantnature.com/, teaches me about the science of the world around me.

    Other blogs, like mine, share what the world is like outside the posters door. I love that I am following blogs from Europe, Australia, the U.S. and South Africa. Hmmm, I’m missing a few continents aren’t I ?

  5. Val says:

    I understand how your posts have this effect on you, Kathy. I’d have thought my own posts wouldn’t affect me much after I’ve written them – after all my blog is predominantly to do with humor – but yesterday, I was feeling really irritable and I needed to link to some past posts for my current one, and after re-reading a few I was smiling and my mood had changed for the better. So yes… it happens to me too, just not in the same way as to you. 🙂

  6. Blogging for me creates satisfaction in the turning of a phrase or the occasional clarity of a decent photo. I blog with the desire to start a conversation. Interaction. I don’t always make it there but that is why I write in my blog. I love reading your blog, Kathy, and I love your photos.

  7. Heather says:

    I love your blog sometimes because it is so different from mine. Your blogs often make me ponder things to see just how I do feel about them, to consider things and perhaps make a decision about myself.
    As for blogging, I like it because it allows me to do one of those things I “preach” about. There’s enough negativity in the world, and I try to add to the pile of positivity. I often can’t do anything to change the “bad” parts of the world, but I can surely add to what I perceive to be the “good.” And so I do. Blogging allows me to celebrate the things I love most, and for those who love those same things to celebrate with me.

  8. “…to stay with the expansion until it flowers into realization.”

    Kathy – that’s a lovely way to put it, and it resonates.

  9. Colleen says:

    Kathy, the first time I laid eyes on your blog I had a shiver of recognition. And the understanding of that moment continues to grow with every blog/word you write. I feel so much appreciation and gratitude for you and everything you do. And for that wicked sense of fun you sometimes let out to come play with us 🙂

  10. Brenda Hardie says:

    Kathy, when I stumbled across your blog, my heart felt like it was coming home. Remember it was the year long walking outside series that I found you. And that feeling continues to grow even now. Your words and pictures bring the northwoods here to me. They also bring hope, inspiration, encouragement, compassion and delightful fun. Your blog is rich with thoughts, feelings and so much caring. Thank you, my dear friend ♥

  11. penpusherpen says:

    there’s always a feeling of connection Kathy, for how can there not be, when innermost thoughts and beliefs are shared over the airwaves.. . People become close friends through blogging, commenting and giving their views on everyday life and it’s problems and also it’s highlights. 🙂 .. Personally it’s helped me as I’ve shared my thoughts through poems and sometimes with a small blog attached, to put my view across.. but mainly through rhyme… ’tis something that happened slowly, and now I find myself thinking up rhymes/poems/odes as I walk about during the day… To share by blogging is the best thing thing sliced bread methinks.. 😉 although I do use uncut loaves now and again… (fresher by far) ….
    wishing you and yours a good weekend. xPenx

  12. penpusherpen says:

    ‘best thing since sliced bread’ … not as above… Strewth!! now I didn’t claim to be a great typist now did I ? 😉 xx..

  13. Joanne says:

    This is one of those “you’re in my head again Kathy” kind of posts. It is very rarely that I find myself in a strange mood, and if ever I do find myself in that unfamiliar place, I don’t write about it. I don’t want to depress anyone, or confuse them, or dampen their day. Yesterday though, I was in a mood, so I sat down to write. By the end of the post (which I did publish) I felt so much better about the day. The writing helped to clear my brain and I realised that my mood had been created by outside infuences. Now, if I could just learn how to ignore those outside influences…..! 🙂

  14. Stacy says:

    Reading others’ blogs does bring about a deeper understanding of myself, I think, in some cases because others’ words mirror my ineffable thoughts. Sometimes they are bold enough to write publicly what I only dare to write privately. That “thing” that we try to push away is out there, and it’s comforting. ❤

  15. Dawn says:

    Sometimes blogging helps me sort out things being tossed around in my head. Sometimes I don’t publish, sometimes I do. But I don’t think I”m nearly as thoughtful about the inner self as you are. I think I’m kind of scared to look that closely!

  16. Writing things out tends to firm up ideas or visions, so in a way seems, to me, a way to create the reality around me by being aware of it. “The truth you speak becomes your truth”.

  17. lisaspiral says:

    I’ve been sitting on the last two of your blogs because I didn’t have time to be with them and they deserve it. You write simple words but with a great depth of meaning. I do tend to push at my life rather than opening to it. What a wonderful reminder. Thank you.

  18. sonali says:

    I appreciate your opinions about blogging. I can feel that it helps you re-live. Its nice that you introspect. Your blogs are wonderful. I’m sure most of the people enjoy hearing from you. I do. Thank you very much. You are a great inspiration for me, dear Kathy.

  19. Robin says:

    ♥♥♥ Love this: “..this heart cracked open in joy.” How wonderful, Kathy! Writing, and sometimes my images, has helped me work through things, and I am fortunate enough to have had a few ah-ha moments of my own. 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

