Less

By the shores of Lake Superior

By the shores of Lake Superior

You may be reading less blogs here at the shore of Lake Superior Spirit for a while.

Yes, you used to see posts on the blog every day, or every other day.  I’ve written up a storm here since 2010.  Have been writing blogs in a somewhat-daily fashion for at least five years.

But lately have felt quieter, less prone to story-telling.  Unless, of course, a story presents itself.

So if days pass and you see no new offerings, please do not be worried.

The job which never ends

The job which never ends

Barry and I will be outside cutting, splitting and stacking firewood.  (We’ve just unloaded half of a truck load and are taking a break until after dinner.)

We must plant the garden.  The Long Winter prevented early seed sowing, and now we must plant, plant, plant.  We bought tomato, broccoli, cucumber, and jalapeno plants last night.  We must also plant beets, carrots, cilantro, basil, rattlesnake beans, zucchini, kale and squash.

Here's what a rattlesnake bean looks like.  Can you see its eye?

Here’s what a rattlesnake bean looks like. Can you see its eye?

Oh, the work to be done!

I am also involved in other spiritual non-duality awareness writing elsewhere on the web–which many of you know is my life-long passion–and that’s occupying time in between seed planting and wood splitting. (If any of you are passionate about non-duality and awareness, email me.  I’ll direct you to the site.  But only if you’re passionate, please…)

Just wanted to tell you.  Not taking a blogging vacation or anything like that.  Just posting less than usual.

Less is sometimes more

Less is sometimes more

Will continue to share if and when something presents itself for sharing.

Wanting to let you know, so you don’t worry.

Blessings to all!  Love, Kathy

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in June 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Less

  1. All the best of a quieter blogging summer here Kathy. The secret for readers is to subscribe so they are notified when something has motivated you to share with us. Wishing you and yours all the best.

  2. Susan D. says:

    I’m glad that you’re still going to land here when you wish, and I’m also glad that you’re involved in spiritual non-duality awareness writing elsewhere. I’m just … glad!

  3. Brenda Hardie says:

    Thank you for this kindness, Kathy 🙂 You are so considerate to let us know and not worry. I understand about the busy summer days…I’ve been trying to get the house and yard and garden cleaned up after the dreadfully long winter. The garden (small as it is) is planted but we need more warmth and sunshine for anything to grow and bloom. It’s been so rainy and cold–doesn’t make for happy plants.
    Enjoy your time working together on the wood and garden and Kathy…thank you for sharing on the non-duality awareness site.
    Yes, indeed…sometimes less IS more ♥

  4. lisaspiral says:

    “other spiritual non-duality awareness writing elsewhere on the web” but you’re not going to tell us where? Always happy to read your posts and also always happy to see you doing whatever you need to do to take care of yourself. The wood pile and garden are probably enough to keep you occupied for the next month even without this life long dream project. 🙂

  5. Kathy – I’m a avid proponent of LESS IS MORE. Enjoy the bajeebers out of the journey 🙂

  6. Dana says:

    Less is truly more sometimes, Kathy. Just peeking in to let you know that I’m thinking of you and wish you and Barry an abundant summer garden this year. 🙂

  7. sybil says:

    Oh I love Laurier’s word, “bajeebers”. I’ve heard the word, just never seen it in print.

    Can you email me the link you refer to. I’m struggling with stuff right now …

    I haven’t even been commenting much … mostly posting pics and few words.

    I admire that you have a backlog of pre-written posts.

    Hugs, Sybil

  8. Daily blogging is mindblogging, I mean mindbending, to me. I love blogging once a week – I feel like I’m checking in with my readers (and they with me), writing my thoughts, sharing part of my life. Which is exactly how I feel about reading blogs like yours. I learn so much by checking in different parts of the country (different worlds, actually) and seeing how dissimilar we may be in our daily tasks, but nonetheless, how similar we all are in our human and spiritual endeavors. Here’s to enjoying our summer tasks – whatever they may be – and sharing them every once in a while.

  9. I am currently in the mode of not having time to complete a “quality” post — many great thoughts as I drive somewhere for work, or sit at a track meet, but just not the time to put down complete thoughts “on paper.” So if I only manage to get out brief snippets here and there for awhile, so be it, I don’t want blogging to turn into yet another “to do” item on the obligation list. Sometimes a good walk and talk with a friend provides the necessary outlet and sharing of creative thoughts, and that is important to make time for, too! I do like your inclination to share when something presents itself worth sharing . . . for many of us that scheduled blogging task takes away from the joy of the creative outlet! And I look forward to checking in on your other site periodically!

  10. This I understand. I have been blogging here and there for more years than I care to remember. My heart is no longer in blogging; I feel the pull to other things. Continue to be a good caretaker of your part of the planet.

  11. Thanks for letting me know…you know how I worry when I don’t hear from you…have a productive spring and wonderful summer!

  12. john says:

    If you are writing where your happy, writing what makes you happy, then we are happy (But I’ll start dropping by when the rattlesnake beans are ready for picking) 😉

  13. penpusherpen says:

    sharing when it’s right for you, makes it doubly right for everyone, Kathy,the quality of your blog shines through, every-time, and your natural style of humour during sharing always strikes a chord. .. Hope the outside work and the garden goes well, . (never seen rattlesnake beans before. 🙂 ) take care my friend. xPenx. .

  14. Happy planting and log splitting Kathy!

  15. Lori D says:

    Hey Kathy, thanks for letting us know. I just posted a blog about how everyone is leaving the blogasphere lately. I know you aren’t leaving, but it seems to be similar to my blog theme (once again). I would love to read your other blog some time and see what it’s about. Enjoy your summer.

  16. dorannrule says:

    I will keep checking and hoping you will be back soon and often since I love your blog and because it is so refreshing and beautifully written. I hope you will share some of your non-duality awareness writings with us too.

  17. Kerry Dwyer says:

    This seems to be the way of things at present. Enjoy life and I will surely receive my message when you chose to write. It should never be burdensome.

  18. Happy gardening and whatever you feel like doing, Kathy. Writing will come in its own time. I always look forward to reading you. Take care.

  19. Wonderful Kathy. Every one must do what they must do. Otherwise who in the world will do those needed things for you? Fairy godmother?

    Anyway the garden sounds wodnerful. I must “find me some” rattlesnake beans. I’d never heard of those so I will need to see if the bean will grow in the heat. Too late for this year though.Try to find some Malabar spinach. And do you not plant Swiss chard? Sort of like spinach but very hardy and easy to grow. sgrowing through the summer if not allowed to dry out.

  20. Now that is a new word, (wodnerful) should be wonderful.

  21. Have a wonderful summer! Looking forward to our next Skype chat – message me about scheduling something after I get back from the UK please.

  22. flandrumhill says:

    You’re not talking to the right Buttercup Kathy. Less is ALWAYS more 😉
    xo

  23. sonali says:

    Lots of love, Kathy! stay happy & safe.

  24. msmcword says:

    Kathy:
    Thanks for reminding us that we can do our “Inner Writer” a favor by letting it get some total rest once in a while.
    I also like your photo of Lake Superior.
    Nancy

  25. Barb says:

    Dear Kathy – not sure I know what spiritual non-duality is. But, hope the seeds you plant both spiritually and physically flourish. (No snow left in my yard, Kathy – Yay!)

  26. Stacy says:

    I understand, Kathy. But that’s not to say that reading your voice every day won’t be missed. It will. ❤

  27. Karma says:

    I can’t imagine how you ever kept up with nearly daily blogging! It is always good to hear from you, whenever you feel like it! 🙂

  28. Karen says:

    I think we all understand where you are coming from…I don’t know how you write as often as you do.You are so thoughtful to let everyone know. I had to cut my blogging down to once a week because of nerve damage in my hand.

  29. Heather says:

    Kathy it sounds like you’ve found a great place. Enjoy your life and however your blog fits into it! (And maybe tell us about your “other spiritual non-duality awareness writing”?)

  30. Connie T says:

    That bean does look like a snake. I wish I had planted tomato plants in the ground. I put them in the air and I only have one tomato growing. I don’t think they like hanging up.

  31. Joanne says:

    I always love to read your words Kathy, and I also understand that words cannot always be written when we are out in the garden, planting! I’ve been there so many times myself. Lovely to hear from you today and enjoy the summer air. 🙂

  32. pearlz says:

    Yes, great to write and share, but also to do those things that feed life. I hope you start working on your nanowrimo novel again soon!

  33. Marko says:

    Hello! I wish you a successful new week.

  34. Full, warm and dry (gathering food, generating heat, finding or building shelter) – the stuff of life. When we think of it, these things occupy most of our time and in that we are just like all the other creatures on this planet.

    Love that you can write about spiritual non-duality awareness. I love to read what you and a few others write about it and try to practice it, but have an impossible time writing about it! Chickadee blessings to you, Kathy…

  35. I can relate with your need to follow other pursuits. Summer presents many wonderful opportunities to be away from the computer, if we only take the time. Enjoy your other pursuits, but take care. Don’t pull a muscle hauling wood or something else equally painful! 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

