Updates and videos of the grandkits!

Our so-sweet grandkit, Kinder, naps

Our so-sweet grandkit, Kinder, naps

Dear Readers, I know you are anxiously awaiting an update of our grandkits.  See this blog if you missed the exciting news of our furry grandbabies this summer.

Through the marvel of modern technology I am able to share the following videos!

The first is of our grand-baby kitten, Kinder, from NYC, who, you’ll be amazed to discover, knows how to play fetch.  (Please excuse the mess in Ki’s bedroom.  She was folding laundry.)  Be patient for the first ten seconds, please.

The second is of our grand-baby kitten, Mango, living down there in San Diego, CA,  who loves the L’Anse Sentinel (the newspaper where Barry, his grandpa, is editor here in Lake Superior country.)

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-VKE2IjmVsYVjZJaGdtMXM2a1U/edit?usp=sharing

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bz71J4zZIUnHVTFMZG8temdnZDA/edit?usp=sharing

I am SO PROUD to share this with you!

So sweet Mango

So sweet Mango

Here are some fun facts about Mango, brought to you by our son, Chris:

-Mango has now learned to open the cabinet doors and crawl in, then open them to get out. But it’s very loud as she paws at them.

-Mango’s trick is that while begging for food she will stand upright on her back legs.

-Mango believes it is best to stake out the kitchen at least 2 hours before meal time and to provide friendly reminders about impending mealtime at increasingly frequent intervals of time.

-Mango’s favorite activity is hunting spiders and bugs. She eats at least a spider per day. She is not very interested in ants.

Our Mango in, um, a compromising position!

Our Mango in, um, a compromising position!

Here are some fun facts about Kinder, brought to you by our daughter, Ki.

 1. Kinder is very athletic (loves playing fetch, doing pull ups and has even been seen doing the splits to get from one table to another).

2. Loves being close to running water (sits on the counter next to sink when doing dishes, on bathtub edge when taking a shower). Also has shown interest in the toilet handle, may teach him how to flush.

3. Very friendly and lovable, loves to be around people.

Gosh, do I love these kitties.  This is Kinder.

Gosh, do I love these kitties. This is Kinder.

Excuse me being a doting grandmama.  You know how it is.

Hope you enjoyed, and feel free to leave any comments about your kitties, grandkits or other furry creatures in the space below.  🙂

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in September 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Updates and videos of the grandkits!

  1. Oh, Kathy, the videos of your grandkits are priceless. Who knew a cat could play fetch or dig into articles in the Lifestyle section–literally in the case of the latter!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  2. Carol says:

    So fun! Kittens do know how to entertain. Kat’s Jinny Joo Joo and Gep’s Won Carlos both like to curl up in bathroom sinks. She wonders if that’s a Korean cat thing.

    • Kathy says:

      Carol, now that is a very fascinating cat ponderance. How interesting that your grandkits like to curl in bathroom sinks! I have no idea about the Korean preference. *grin*

  3. Elisa says:

    Dingles plays fetch too, The vet didn’t believe us!!! Kinder looks a LOT like one of dingles’ kittens.

    • Kathy says:

      Elisa, I didn’t know you had a cat named Dingles. I also didn’t know that some cats like to play fetch. None of our cats over the years were fetchers.

      • Elisa says:

        Ours comes running like a dog will, when you call out for her and she is off in the yard hiding. She goes to the door to be let out to go to the potty. She sits and stays on command too!

  4. Susan D says:

    So fun! Wonderful of you to share the antics and adventures of the grandkits! Love, love.

  5. Heather says:

    Your grandkitties are cute and snuggly 🙂
    Our male bengal baby plays fetch and takes showers.

    • Kathy says:

      Heather, don’t they look like purr babies? Heather, I simply can’t believe what you typed. Your bengal baby TAKES SHOWERS? Say it isn’t so! I have never heard of that.

      • Heather says:

        He does. We have to watch carefully to make sure he doesn’t sneak in and get sudsy! And we keep a hand-towel in the bathroom that’s just for drying him off, because you know his favorite place to go after the shower is the litterbox…

  6. Your grand-kits are both beautiful! Also smart and funny!

  7. Brenda Hardie says:

    Awww you have such adorable grandkits, Kathy! ♥

  8. Amy Tong says:

    They are all adorable! Definitely smart ones too. 😉 Thank you so much for sharing the videos.

    • Kathy says:

      Amy, thank you. I wasn’t sure whether these videos would upload. So glad you took the time to watch them and to comment. (And thank you also for saying they are adorable.)

  9. Dawn says:

    Aww they are both adorable! Reminds me of when I used to have two cats. Oscar would carry around a little ball like that, but he never gave it to me to throw. It was HIS! And George used to play in paper bags, much like the kitty and newspaper. Aren’t they fun to watch!

    • Kathy says:

      Gosh, Dawn, your kitties sound like they were sweethearts, too. We had many a cat in our day, but none liked to return the ball either. But most of them were fond of boxes. They are so fun to watch. And especially so when they are kittens. I suppose by the time we see these guys they’ll be all grown up.

  10. These little furrry paws are too cute for words. Love their names and all that they can do.Please keep posting updates. Love this post. I can see that they are receiving the best of care. So healthy looking.

    • Kathy says:

      Yvonne, you were one of the people I knew would appreciate seeing this post. Was so excited to figure out how to upload the videos so people could see them. Both kids and their partners are head-over-heels in love with the babies, so I know they’re getting to best of care they know how to give. Thank you.

  11. sybil says:

    Love the grand-kits. Congrats on being a grand-kit-ma !

    • Kathy says:

      Awww, Sybil, I TRULY appreciate you for loving my grand-kits. *sniff* We grandmas get all emotional about our babies, don’t we? Hope you’re having the best of fun out West!

  12. Beautiful “grands” these are, Kathy! Thank you for sharing!

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you pausing to share that, Cindy. They are lovely “grands” indeed. Just hoping to meet them both one of these days. By the way, do you have any grandkitties or grandpuppies?

      • Well, my two dogs used to belong to my two daughters…I took them in – years apart – when they couldn’t keep them. Now, I think Kate has five little dogs; Jen has a one-eared cat named Bob.

  13. I love, Love, LOVE companion animals!

  14. Janet says:

    You know, come to think of it, I’m a grandma of only kits, pups and fish. Most of my children are old enough to be real parents, but they choose instead to care for animals. So much so that my unlucky oldest son is battling cat scratch fever. 🙂

  15. me2013 says:

    Oh, they are just so cute, and a cat that can play fetch fantastic.

  16. Reggie says:

    These are gorgeous!!! You are such a lucky grandkitty-mommy, Kathy!

    I have never encountered a cat that likes to play *fetch* before – Kinder is absolutely delightful. I think Kiah might just be able to persuade her to assist with the laundry folding in a couple of months’ time, as her kitty must be very bright.

    And Mango – wow… sooo eager to help with the crossword puzzle! Well, that was my interpretation anyway. And as to staking out the kitchen beforehand, and reminding everyone of impending mealtime, well, gosh, that sounds exactly like our cat, particularly in the pre-dawn hours, after an exhausting night sleeping on our bed. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Oh Reggie, what lovely things to say about the grandkitties! I am so happy you came over here and looked & shared your thoughts. My mother rolled her eyes when seeing this and said, “Kathy, I think you need some REAL grandkids” but truly, Reggie, I am delighted with these two furry babies now. Just wish I could see them. Wishing I could meet your Tuffy Cat one of these days, too. Thank you again!

  17. Stacy says:

    I wonder why Mango was reading the obituaries. ❤

  18. Once had a kitty who did use the commode but never learned to flush. The videos were so cute. I do not think the obits were being read cause the tail was flicking back and forth at them, I think, to get them off the page. Perhaps the answers to the crossword puzzle was being checked?

  19. I WIlkerson. says:

    My how they’ve grown! Now I’m wondering if I could teach our kitten to play fetch…

  20. Colleen says:

    Oh Kathy, they’re perfect! Thanks Chris and Kiah for sharing your babies and their great videos. There’s a book store in Lodi that sells used and rare books. The owners cats are the star attraction. One older gentleman cat carries around a crushed paper ball, begging anyone who is willing, to give it a toss down the isle. He’s the only other fetching cat I’ve ever met.

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, thank you for sharing that story. Love that you called him an “older gentleman” cat! And also smiled at the words “fetching cat”. You know, it could even be read as a double entendre.

  21. Cute kitties! You must be very proud. 🙂

  22. Karma says:

    LOL, love the videos. (I’ve been in a bit of blogging hibernation, not on purpose, but I’m doing a bit of catching up today!)

  23. Pingback: The grandkittens grow up into grandcats | Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

