The weekend of the Susies.

Lake Superior stone

Lake Superior stone

Indeed, what a weekend it’s been! What a weekend it’s going to be!

It is the weekend of the Susies.

Specifically, since you asked, Susie Q and Suzi BB.

My Internet Pals, turned Real & In-Person.

First, may I re-introduce Susie Q? I met her back-in-the-days. We met on a spiritual website called Zaadz/Gaia.com, which hath now gone defunct from its original inception. Its new home is anewgaia.ning.com which you can visit if you’re intrigued.

Susie Q and I bonded for many reasons. Mainly, because she hailed from our fair Upper Peninsula, just 45 minutes “up the road” from my Little House in the Big Woods.

We met and gathered stones from Lake Superior. We met and camped under the stars on a sandy beach. We met and connected, yes we did.  Click here if you want to read about our camping adventure back in 2010.

Susie Q and her daughter on our camping trip

Susie Q and her daughter on our camping trip

Last night we met again at the Calumet Theater for an event called “Club Indigo”. We ate Mediterranean fare and watched a movie in Arabic with subtitles called “Laila’s Birthday” about a Palestinian judge forced to work as a taxi driver.

How I enjoyed seeing Susie Q again–with her faithful sidekick, her sister, Barbara, with whom I would someday love further conversation. My buddy, Ruth, and I enjoyed sitting at a table with Susie and Barbara and their friends. (Susie Q has moved to Copper Harbor in our fair Upper Peninsula, about 90 miles north of us, and someday I shall visit her in her new home, yes, it’s a vow, Susie, I do so promise.)

You’d think this would be enough of Susies for the weekend but, no, I am about to meet ANOTHER Suzi tomorrow in Marquette. I am traveling almost 80 miles to dine/walk with Suzi Banks Baum and can’t wait to see her shining creative face sitting in a booth at Sweetwater Cafe.

Do you think we'll be able to recognize one another tomorrow?

Do you think we’ll be able to recognize one another tomorrow?

Suzi Banks Baum is the founder of a blog called Laundry Line Divine. She wrote a lovely guest post on Lake Superior Spirit a long time ago which shared the “lure of the north“. I adore Suzi’s spirit and creatively almost as much as I adore Susie Q’s spirit and creativity.  Please click here to read her lovely essay where she proves, without a doubt, that the compass of her soul points north.

She published a book recently called “An Anthology of Babes” edited by Suzi Banks Baum in which “36 Women Give Motherhood a Voice.”

What a lovely little book this is!

And of course, Kathy said humbly, I am a contributor to this delightful anthology.

Suzi convinced me to include one of my old-time blogs in her book! You know what, I should re-blog this blog, shouldn’t I, since it catapulted outside of WordPress and made its way in the larger world?

Tomorrow, whilst I meet Suzi Banks Baum and we stroll along Presque Isle in Marquette, you shall be reading an old-time blog of mine which made its way into Suzi’s anthology, which will surely become a wild & successful best-seller, because that’s what Suzi’s dreaming.

*grin*

What a lovely weekend of the Susies! (And the Ruths, and the Barbaras and the Debs and the Barrys and all else with whom I’ve shared love & delight on this beautiful northwoods October weekend.)

How’s your weekend going?

P.S.  I forgot to tell you…My parents almost named ME Susan!  So this could well have been written by another Susie…  🙂

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in October 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The weekend of the Susies.

  1. Carol says:

    Sounds like great weekend diversions!

    >

  2. Katie says:

    You are clearly delighted and I find that delightful! Have a great weekend!

  3. I will recognize you for sure! xooxox S

  4. Bonnie says:

    Enjoy your meet-ups with your friends. There is something very special about having that special kind of friendship. Looking forward to tomorrow’s blog. You will become world famous, no doubt…..at least in my blogging heart.

  5. Tammy says:

    Jealous! Have fun with SBB!

  6. Susan Derozier says:

    What an absolutely cool weekend. I really love your ability to not just allow random meetings (whether long distance, through print or other ways) to just stop in the moment. How wonderful to follow through and transform these experiences into new friends and valued comrads. This Susie sends her warm greetings and thanks for sharing in your fun.

  7. sybil says:

    90 minutes or 19 hours — just keep driving. I’ve got the kettle on …

  8. I had a dog, as a child, called Suzie Q. Sweetest most wonderful dog in the world, of course. Suzi/Susie/Suzie is a great name for good dogs and wonderful women.

  9. Kathy – if you were having any more fun, they’d have to issue you a ticket! I’m tickled to pieces for your grand weekend!

  10. How fun! I look forward to checking out the links.

    My weekend thus far has been filled with furry and feathery friends, yoga, and dancing.

  11. john says:

    Wonderful weekend! Where in Calumet did you enjoy the Mediterranean fare? Also do you know what the green is in the stone in your picture? (While your at it the meaning of life and how do we know we are real? 🙂 )

    • Kathy says:

      At the Calumet Theater, John, in the ballroom. They put on a different “Club Indigo” every month. A couple months ago we went with friends to see Casablanca and eat food catered by the Keweenaw Co-op.

  12. I like this post. Not just like as in the button like but like it a lot. You are such a kind, warm, and generous lady. More individuals should follow your lead. I think it is great that you have become friends with your blogging buddies. To be able to meet in person is a wonderful experience.

    The weather has just turned ugly and thunder is rolling and I hear those loud cracks. So, that is how my weekend is going with threats of a storm and lots of animal chores.

  13. Joanne says:

    What a fun story this is Kathy! I’m a tad short on time (I’ve been too busy reading and writing this morning and it’s way past lunch; my husband is waiting…..!) but will be back to look at the links.

    Last weekend at my best friends wedding, it was the day of Kathy’s, spelt with both C’s and K’s, and Marks! Isn’t it funny how names can congregate?

  14. Reggie says:

    I think it’s wonderful that you have met some of your blogging buddies in person, Kathy. Looking forward to hearing more about your meeting with Suzi BB. 🙂 And I have just re-read her guest post – it is simply beautiful. You can just tell that she is a writer. Just like you.

  15. The joy in this post really jumps out of the screen, and has left me with what appears to be a permanent grin! Oh the blessing of soul sisters…and I look forward to reading the soon to be famous post that has been selected for the anthology! Hugs, Harula xxxx

  16. Heather says:

    Two Susies – how fun! It’s so neat when our internet pals come alive. And so cool that you’re in a book. Now you’ve been in a book and a magazine. Looking forward to re-reading 🙂

  17. Robin says:

    Sounds like a marvelous way to spend a weekend! 🙂

  18. Hmmm. . .Susie BB and Susie Q. Sounds like your dinner menu should include BBQ!

  19. lisaspiral says:

    I didn’t know Lake Superior made Shiva Lingam 🙂 Maybe it’s all that international influence. I’ll be talking about my weekend with women on Monday. hugs and smiles.

  20. Karma says:

    It is Monday morning as I am reading this, looking at a sunny outside, luxuriating in the fact that I am not at work. I hope the lovely weekend is continuing for you as well on this Columbus Day Monday. I got to spend it with a wonderful woman as well – Meghan came home for the weekend 🙂

  21. Stacy says:

    I had a much-needed weekend of Heidi. Thanks for asking. 🙂

  22. Gotta love a weekend of Susies. My sister is named Susan, so we have both Kathy and Susan and two others. My weekend was busy but good. Hope yours turned out to be fabulous, as well.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  23. Colleen says:

    It sounds like a wonderful weekend! It’s uncanny, isn’t it, how well we fit our names. Funny thing is, Susan seems to fit too, if a second choice was ever needed, or desired 🙂

  24. Munira says:

    Love the openness of soul with which you welcome ‘internet’ people in your life, and the intrepid spirit with which you venture out to meet them! Awesome!

  25. Pingback: Dare-devil cliff jumper or rock-squatter sipping tea? | Lake Superior Spirit

  26. Susan is such a great name, although I believe you live up to the image I have of other Kathys in my life! (I was almost a Deborah but I’m glad Mom changed her mind!) It looks as though you had a wonderful weekend full of visiting Susies. Maybe one day I’ll travel down there and visit with a real-life blogging buddy, too! 🙂

    Oh, and congratulations on getting your ‘Just a Housewife’ story published in the anthology! 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

