Please do not drown.

Angel watching over you

Angel watching over you

I used to sing this song to my wee babies:

All day,
All night,
Angels watching over you, my babe,
Pray the Lord your soul to keep,
Angels watching over you.

Last week I stumbled upon this angel looking over Lake Superior, memorializing those who’ve drowned in our waters.

The angel begs those to think before they swim in unsafe currents. The angel begs us to be aware. As she sings sweet songs remembering the victims who’ve drowned, those dear ones who swim no more.

Later, I happened upon this article which describes the inspiration for this sculpture located near Pictured Rocks in Marquette.

Stay safe, dear swimmer.  We care about you returning safely to the shore of your life.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in May 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Please do not drown.

  1. Dawn says:

    So sad. I didn’t know the waters were unsafe there. I’m glad now there are warnings. It’s a beautiful sculpture.

  2. There can never be too many warnings – unpredictable currents can be so treacherous. My daughter lost one of her best friends in college in a drowning accident – it was such an unbearable shock…

    • Kathy says:

      I am so sorry to hear about the drowning of your daughter’s college friend, Barbara. How very sad. It’s hard to even imagine the pain of those left behind.

  3. Bonnie says:

    The angel is lovely, and I hope people become aware of her plea.

  4. Beautiful Angel, and a somber reminder of those who have perished, I heard of many people drowning in the lake, so sad. I had a dear friend in Munising ( she died 2 summers ago from pancreatic cancer) she painted a strong Indian woman’s face on a rock overlooking the bay in Munising. It’s in a very private and secret place, the face looks as though she is watching over all those who enter the water. Before we left the U.P. I took a hike and found the rock, it had faded some but the eyes were still there, so intense and strong. I wonder if it remains now, maybe I’ll make it back one day and see.

    • Kathy says:

      Gay, it would be lovely to see that Indian woman’s face painted on the rock. Those who come upon her must feel her guiding spirit. Sometimes I leave special gifts in the woods and nature and hope that someone might come upon them and treasure their energy. I hope you make it back some day. You will.

  5. My sister and I both learned to swim before we learned to walk; that’s what our parents always told us and there are black and white photographs to support their claim. YET, my mother always cautioned: “Even the best swimmers drown.” After moving stateside, we lived near the beach in southern California with treacherous under currents. Always the caution: “Even the best swimmers drown.”

  6. Susan Derozier says:

    As someone who nearly died twice as a child by drowning, I would have loved that angel looking over me. However, I guess there was an angel doing just that.

  7. My nephew drowned at 25 in the Gulf of Mexico. I hope his angel carried him home.

  8. Fountainpen says:

    Lovely angel !!!!
    And a very touching realization!!!!
    Fountainpen

  9. Beautiful angel. Yes really it is best to stay near the shore and to know the depth and how the currents work.Sad to say that some people do not heed any type of warning.

    • Kathy says:

      Yvonne, yes, if only we all had wisdom in the moment and heeded our own inner guidance. I am trying to do that, but it doesn’t always work out.

  10. Heather says:

    It’s good that those cold waters have an angel watching over. I think because it’s a “lake” people sometimes forget that it’s dangerous. And of course, many, many people do not account for the dangers of cold water. Hoping we don’t experience an uptick in dry drownings this year. I’ll be doing more wading and less swimming this year for sure!

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, I think you’re right, Heather. When we think lake we often unconsciously think “safe”. And yet there are dangerous places. However, I was also thinking (the opposite viewpoint, too) that sometimes we can get so obsessed with danger that we don’t do anything out of our box. As tick season starts, I am now weighing the advantages and disadvantages of even taking a walk in the woods. Don’t want to get too obsessed over possible dangers.

      • Heather says:

        I understand the dilemma well! I try to weigh the dangers realistically, and often come down on the side of doing instead of not-doing. But then, I’m not usually contemplating sky diving or even a boating adventure on choppy water. As for the woods, you know where my feet take me 😉 (Have you tried Repel’s lemon-eucalyptus bug spray? It’s non-aerosol, and it’s plant-based. I much prefer it over the other stuff, and it does great at tick repellant.)

  11. Robin says:

    What a lovely angel to have watching over the lake and the people who swim in it.

  12. sybil says:

    Not to be dogmatic Kathy, but there are those who would fence the Grand Canyon.

  13. Stacy says:

    Angels watching over us? I certainly hope so – and sometimes in the most unexpected form, too. xo

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

