Shattered

Oh, heavens, what's this?

Oh, heavens, what’s this?

Last night Barry revved up the lawn mower.  The Husqvarna tractor chugged around the house, the blades trimming grass and clover and weeds and wildflowers, when–unexpectedly–I heard a loud crash.

Barry continued to drive the mower over to the shed where he investigated.  Something had eaten a chunk out of the mower blade.  He invited me to lay on my belly and see the offending blade.  Yep, there are mowing problems in Paradise, kids.

Tinkle, tinkle

Tinkle, tinkle

After swatting a dozen mosquitoes, I returned inside and sat on the couch.  A strange noise seemed to rise from the basement.

What could it be?

Patterned beauty

Patterned beauty

It sounded like tinkles.

Like running water, perhaps.

One should check, shouldn’t one?

Broken window art

Broken window art

I trotted down the circular stairway and involuntarily gasped.

Alas, alack.

That loud lawn mower noise?

The culprit of the broken blade?

Up close detail

Up close detail

Looks like a rock knocked through our basement sliding glass door, splintering through one layer of double-pane glass.

Oh no.

We know exactly how much a new sliding glass door costs because we installed a new one on our deck last November.  Looks like it’s time for another new door.

Upsurge

Upsurge

I did so admire the patterns the fractured glass created.

So artistic, don’t you think?

"Peaceful" evening in the woods

“Peaceful” evening in the woods

The glass continued to break with little tinkles for about fifteen minutes before we found a tarp and spread it beneath the door. Then he took a large stick and popped it through the hole, letting the glass fall obediently onto the tarp.

Thank goodness it did not break through both layers of glass. Our house would have filled up with biting mosquitoes and I would have left the woods, shattered, perhaps for the rest of summer. Not kidding! (OK, maybe slightly kidding…)

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in June 2014 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Shattered

  1. dorannrule says:

    I love the patterns you captured in all that shattered glass. There is beauty in hidden places for those who have the eye to see it. Spring time mowing woes abound. It’s all part of the ritual for the onset of summer. I’m glad you avoided the mosquito invasion. 🙂

  2. john k says:

    A costly piece of beautiful art, it is a shame it couldn’t be preserved. With the warm evening light it looked just like a fine work of stained glass. Your tale of the mosquitoes is just what I needed as I contemplate leaving the adoration of the newest grandchild to return to the shores of Gitche Gumee. I will now have a new paranoia as I sit upon the lawn mower cutting the grass. Maybe I should do some more adoring.

  3. Susan D says:

    Oh my goodness! That WAS a surprise. I, too, am SO glad one layer of glass remained or you would be itching so badly from our horrid mosquito invasion that you’d not be able to type. The pictures are captivating, though. Thanks for your gifted eye, and may no more shattering occur henceforth!

  4. lisaspiral says:

    Maybe not shattered but definitely chewed up. I really love the patterns in the breaking glass. I especially like the birch trees through the glass branches. Sorry about the new door.

  5. P.j. grath says:

    Wonderful to be able to appreciate patterns in the broken glass even while knowing how much the replacement would cost! Now THAT is a good attitude!

  6. Robin says:

    The patterns are beautiful, and I think it’s also beautiful that you could take the time to appreciate them. I know the cost too. Ouch.

  7. Beautiful patterns and heartbreaking consequences…tinkle tinkle.

  8. Good thing nobody was behind the glass when the rock came through it! And I agree — beautiful patterns!

  9. Carol says:

    Lovely patterns but – a mosquito invasion? Is there anything more feared? Thank goodness the rock did not have the strength to crash through both panes!

  10. Kathy – You always find the silver lining. The patterns in the shattered glass you captured on film are stunningly beautiful! I would have never guessed they were pictures of a broken window if you hadn’t said.

  11. Brenda says:

    Kathy, I’m sorry the glass broke but it’s a grateful blessing that the 2nd pane did not break so the skeeters will be blocked from entering your house. Your pictures of the shattered glass look amazing, just like artwork! And I am so grateful that the rock did not hurt you or Barry.

  12. Karma says:

    Oh my! One of those one-in-a-million things just happened. Maybe you should go buy a lottery ticket! 😉

  13. lucindalines says:

    I am glad that you see the beauty in all of the glass, I have been through one of those, and it is a pain, pun, pun. Someone or something shattered the outside pain of our double door on our upper deck on year. never did find out how that happened.

  14. Elisa says:

    May your mower be chunkless mowing soon and yay for reframing the shattered web door.

  15. Dawn says:

    Awww man, that’s expensive. But it sure was beautiful. Glad you got some photos first. And it’s also lucky that rock didn’t hit anyone…so I guess you win in the long run.

  16. The glass is beautiful. But my first thought was, TAPE THAT HOLE UP! I think the mosquitoes have been the worst ever these past few weeks.

  17. Ugh, expenses and inconvenience…still the WORST I could imagine…and I was terrified for you…was the house full of mosquitoes! Beautiful images, though! Thanks, Kathy!

  18. Wonderful photos, thanks for sharing the pane up close!

  19. Barb says:

    I love these pictures..but replacing the glass in the door won’t be so nice. I would not have thought to grab the camera and get such amazing shots. And the skeeters Up North were really hungry and plentiful last weekend. I hope for the sake of all you that they do not have a long life span!

  20. Lori D says:

    Yikes! Even in the challenge of a broken window, you find the blessing of beautiful art.

  21. Heather says:

    Bummer about the door, but the photos did turn out really cool. Are fresh blades in your future, too? I can’t believe we haven’t had to replace lawnmower blades…which are surely cheaper than your new door will be. But they don’t do much for keeping skeeters out, so there’s that.

  22. Sara says:

    You find beauty in just about anything. I love the photos!

  23. Bonnie says:

    Well, that was not good, but I do like the patterns of the shattered glass. There is always something to keep life interesting. Glad you won’t be eaten up by mosquitoes.

  24. The power of the mower. Wow! Very pretty but so glad that the glass did not cause more damage. It all could have been far worse- I think.

  25. Wow! Broken glass is really artsy!

  26. Stacy says:

    Only you, Kathy, could see the artwork in the broken glass – thanks for pointing it out to this resident cynic. 😉

  27. Reggie says:

    Love the patterns you spotted in the cracked glass – you sure were lucky both panes didn’t crack. 🙂

  28. bearyweather says:

    Gorgeous breakage! I know it would not be practical to leave it with the cracks (winters are brutal and who knows when a bird might fly into it and finish the break) .. however, my first thought was … I wonder if there is some kind of varnish or liquid glass you could paint on it for strength and keep the beautiful cracks … I know, I can be a bit strange sometimes. 😉

  29. So that’s how tempered glass breaks. Sucks it broke, but way to make lemonade appreciating the glass shard design.

  30. sybil says:

    Not sure how much I should admire the beauty of the shattered door, given the cost of the replacement, but heck– it is shore ’nuff is purdy ! 😉

  31. Janet says:

    Beautiful photos of your broken glass.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

