900 blog posts, sucker, fawn & Happy Father’s Day

OK, a couple of months have passed since I uploaded photos from the Sony Cybershot camera to the computer.  I often take pictures on her and then forget.

Barry asked me to take a picture of the bike we’re sending to Christopher out there in San Diego, so it was time to remember.

Because I can’t stand taking pictures–without showing them to someone–here’s all the forgotten photos.

Barry's old bike that we're sending Chris

Barry’s old bike that we’re sending Chris

While you’re looking at random pictures, I’ll share random facts.

1.  I have now published 900 posts on Lake Superior Spirit since its birth in 2010.  Can you imagine?  How time flies when you’re having fun!

Oh look.  Remember winter?

Oh look. Remember winter?

2.  I saw our first fawn last night.  It was so tiny–barely mobile.  So scrawny.  Its scrawny mom glared at me, daring me to approach her baby any closer.  I continued forward (wanting to go for a walk, you know.)  The fawn dove into the tall grass.  I stared at the tall grass for two minutes but could not spot the little one.  The fawns are so good at hiding!  (I hope they are as good at surviving.  It’s late for fawn births due to our severe winter.)

Remember spring?  Only last month...

Remember spring? Only last month…

3.  Later this month we’ll attend my dad’s 80th birthday party.  I am so excited!

Cool wall hanging in the Peter White Library in Marquette

Cool wall hanging in the Peter White Library in Marquette

4.  We are splitting wood now.  Finally.  We split our first pickup truck load today.  My back is tired.  Reason enough to relax and write a blog, yes?

The new Marquette Food Co-op

The new Marquette Food Co-op

4.  We are marinating asparagus right now.  For grilling.  It may be raining by the time we grill.  No matter.  Our grilled asparagus is a necessity, rain or shine.

The day Barry caught & cleaned sucker last month

The day Barry caught & cleaned sucker last month

5.  After my dad’s 80th birthday party, our daughter is coming to visit!  Can you imagine a better scenario?  I can’t.

Some of my favorite Book Club pals...

Some of my favorite Book Club pals…

6.  The cucumbers we planted in the garden look feeble.  We hope they survive.  The garden plants want warmer weather.

So do we!

Last night at the Library Restaurant up in Houghton

Last night at the Library Restaurant up in Houghton

7. Happy Father’s Day to all you fathers out there. And, Dad, if you’re reading…I love you…and can’t wait to be with you for your birthday. Love, your favorite (and only) daughter

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in June 2014 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to 900 blog posts, sucker, fawn & Happy Father’s Day

  1. Whoa! 900? Wow. I bow to you, Kathy. And happy Father’s Day to your dad!

  2. rehill56 says:

    …and dad if you are reading…I’m glad your daughter and son in law get to spend time celebrating with you even though they miss Aura’s birthday. We know whose birthday is more important. ;-). Hope you have a wonderful family time!

  3. Susan D says:

    Congratulations to the 10th power, K. Sue!!! Love your blogs, pictures, and you. This one is marvelous, as always!

  4. Meg Evans says:

    Wow, 900 posts, awesome! And what better way to enjoy the randomness of life than with random pictures. 🙂

  5. Great looking bike held by a handsome young man! Happy Father’s Day to all dads both here and there.
    900….wow…prolific would be an understatement….and all winners.

  6. I checked my stats… A real occasion for me. I have only posted 784 posts and had 17,000+ views. I am pleased with those numbers 🙂

  7. Oh, an interesting stat that no one knows (or cares)…I have 7 hidden blogs….hehe

  8. Stacy says:

    Sounds like a fabulous summer – dear ol’ dad’s birthday and a visit from daughter. xo

  9. What lovely photos…thank you for sharing! I am so impressed with your 900 posts…that is really very amazing! I have not yet reached 200, yet I’m constantly surprised hat it hasn’t become a chore, that I haven’t given it up and that I still enjoy this form of communication so much. I hope I’m still going strong, as you are, at nine hundred plus!
    Happy Birthday to your Dad, and safe travels to you…and how very nice to have your daughter coming for a visit!
    Thanks, Kathy!

  10. john k says:

    That is 900 blessings we have received, thank you!

  11. lisaspiral says:

    Lot’s of momentous numbers in this blog. 900! congratulations! and 80! Congratulations to your Dad as well! That sounds like a great reason to get the family together. How delightful that your daughter is going to extend her vacation and spend some time with you. Have a joyful celebration, lots of special moments and safe travels.

  12. Ally Bean says:

    900 posts is a big deal. I’m impressed with your ability to think of something to write about. Congrats.

    [Also, and totally unrelated– thanks for reminding me to download all the photos on my camera. I’m behind on that. Wonder what’s on there…]

  13. Nine hundred posts and eighty years old for your dad. Can’t think of any nubers better than these. Have a good Father’s Day with your dad, Barry, your mom and, your daughter, etal.

  14. Heather says:

    Congratulations and happy birthday parties 🙂 Also, “Librewry” is a great name for a restaurant – was it yummy?
    Wondering what words Barry was putting in the sucker’s mouth. It sure looked like he was talking for the fish 😉
    I only planted herbs in my garden. No; that’s a lie. I got some tomatoes from the nursery. The tomatoes look great. The herbs are tiny. I hope they grow, but they are late like the deer.

  15. sybil says:

    Spring has finally arrived here too, which is good, coz Summer is next week ! Congrats on the milestones.

    Could you do me a favour and refrain from posting winter images for a while — it’s just TOO soon ! lol

  16. Karen says:

    First congratulations on 900 posts…it truly is an accomplishment. Second a big Happy Father’s Day to Barry and your father. This has been such a cool spring that my garden is just hanging in there too instead of growing. I hope that it starts warming up soon where we both live.

  17. Karma says:

    I love the randomness of your photos. They are such fun. Perhaps I’ll use your post here for inspiration in the future if it is okay with you! I want warmer weather too! This has been one of the cooler, wetter springs I can remember in quite a while. My veggie garden is looking a bit slow too – except for the weeds of course!

  18. Carol says:

    I’m at 400+ on my current blog! but I migrated to my own website from Blogger then to WordPress, so I’m not sure what the true count is, although I doubt it’s 900. Congrats to you! We’re having a cold spell, with frost warnings keeping me from planting my two newest Basil plants.

  19. LAnthony says:

    Reblogged this on LAnthony and commented:
    I offer a salute to Kathy and all the faithful bloggers out there who do goid work. Happy Father’s Day.

  20. dorannrule says:

    Kathy, I so enjoyed this memories-photos-random-thoughts post! Happy Birthday to your Dad and tell Barry he is very photogenic (even holding a dead fish!). And I hope the little fawn will grow strong and fleet enough to roam this summer. And your book club pals look like a whole lot of fun. You and your blog are a lot of fun too! 🙂

  21. dawnkinster says:

    Happy Birthday to your Dad! Glad you will be celebrating with him! I remember the Library bar in Houghton..wonder if this is the same one from the 80’s?

  22. dawnkinster says:

    PS: Congratulations on 900 posts!!!!

  23. I Wilkerson says:

    900 posts!! Well now I feel like a slacker!

  24. Debbie M. says:

    All things U.P… I grew up in Houghton and graduated from MTU. I was one of those (sorry to say it) that I did not appreciate the rugged beauty and solitude of the U.P. until I moved to the more populous south of Dayton-Cincy Ohio! Your blog is bringing back some great memories. Keep sharing!

  25. I’m impressed with your 900 blog count, Kathy! And I’m glad you are continuing to post and let us into your U.P. world!

  26. Marion Stevens says:

    Hello to your mom and dad and happy birthday to Dale. All is good here. Would it be possible that your might go to the cemetery and take a picture of my mom and Jenny. I really miss them ad would love a picture. Your pictures are really nice that you posted.

  27. Kathy – I love the random, hither and yon-ness of this post! It’s like opening lots of small packages with lovely surprises waiting inside. How on earth are you going to ship Christopher his bicycle? That’s gonna be one heckofa box — and I can’t begin to imagine the postage!

  28. Reggie says:

    Congratulations on reaching such an impressive milestone, Kathy!

    Marinating asparagus??? Wow… Not something I’ve ever considered possible… mind you, I’ve not yet tried growing asparagus in our garden. Maybe when I do…?

    As Laurie said in her comment – reading this post was indeed like unwrapping lots of little presents. Such fun!

    By the way, does the Librewry also stock books? Inquiring minds would like to know.

  29. Dawn says:

    900 – awesome. I don’t think I’ve done 900 in all the blogs I contribute to combined. 🙂
    You are amazing. I am thankful to have shared so much of the journey.

  30. Maria says:

    Congrats on your milestone!

  31. Brenda says:

    I hope your Dad had a wonderful Father’s Day! ❤ Congratulations on the 900 blog posts too ❤

  32. tbocklund says:

    Kathy, your writing first caught my eye on Facebook, and as Yooper-soul stranded in a Maryland body, your work transports me. Thank you.

    I was an Artist-in-Residence last summer at Isle Royale, and as a kindred Lake Superior spirit, I would love to send you the CD of music I’ve just released. It’s very chill, very organic, very guitar-driven. All inspired by the UP, the big lake, and Isle Royale. Shoot me an email at terribocklund@hotmail.com with an address if you’d like me to send you one. Freebie, btw (I’m at the point in my life where giving them away feels great).

  33. Colleen says:

    Wishing your Dad the best of all birthday wishes, Kathy. Very special people, these Dad’s of ours. I’m always touched by the love that you share with him. Has it really been that long? 2010, it hardly seems possible. Time has gone by so quickly! Your blog feels as fresh and new as when you first began. The magic has never left. Very special 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

