My challenges with wood splitter motors and social media

Me on the tractor pulling the wood splitter. If you squint you can see that I'm pulling the aforementioned splitter.

Me on the tractor pulling the wood splitter. If you squint you can see that I’m pulling the aforementioned splitter.

Here is what I am not posting on Facebook:  Our wood splitter motor, RIP, died yesterday.  For five years he thwacked hearty logs in halves and quarters.  We’ll miss him dearly.  He spewed oil and gas fumes upon us as we worked, but he rarely missed a beat. Until yesterday.  

Before you all start weeping and sending consoling comments, never fear.  We knew the motor was a’dyin’ for many months.  Barry was a tad upset when the despairing moment arrived.  He muttered dire forecasts about the cost of a new motor and the effects of our wood-splitting delay.

But the Universe proved helpful and found us a new motor for under $300, so we should be back sweating and heaving logs and wood splitting before long.

I did not post on Facebook:  Hey, we found a new wood splitter motor! or The bottom wire of our garden electric fence broke.  Or Hey, we harvested our first green onions and lettuce.  Or, Guess what, my friend Ruth dropped by with a freshly washed bag of arugula and spinach!  Or:  The crows are going wild behind the house, yapping and cawing and screaming.  What’s up with crows?

What's up with the baby robins?

What’s up with the baby robins?

I do not post much on Facebook these days, except maybe when my dad celebrates his 80th birthday party, or some other family news.

And it still feels puzzling.  Part of me wants to share more–but the other part simply can not do it any more.

As many of you know, this blogger has experienced a love/hate relationship with Facebook and maybe social media as a whole.  (See Facebook, we’ve got issues for a Freshly Pressed Post which has had 10,808 views since it was published in 2010, so I guess it was a timely topic.)

Eight years ago (more or less) I fell madly in love with social media through a website called Zaadz which morphed into a website called Gaia which died like our wood splitter motor, although it now exists in a new incarnation call A New Gaia.

I would post anything and everything on that site.  It was love at first sight.  It brought the world into our Little House in the Big Woods.  Suddenly, my times of loneliness and isolation dissolved.  Here, at one’s fingertips, existed a world of spiritual seekers and social connectors.  I thought I’d “died and gone to heaven” as we used to say.

Two months before Gaia closed, I had a strong intuition.  An inner voice said, “It’s time to quit.”

I did and moved over to Facebook to connect there.

Facebook, however, has never felt like home.

At times I have posted with great delight.  At other times, it’s challenging to figure out what to express.

Lately, it’s so often impossible.

Nothing feels quite appropriate.

It feels like a wrong fit, like a jacket with too-short sleeves, like a dress you’re almost embarrassed to wear.

Deer lounging in the lupines

Deer lounging in the lupines

Don’t get me wrong–there have been happy moments on The Book, as well.  I recently reconnected with three first cousins.  It’s a delight to have so many folks a finger’s length away, not lost in obscurity.   It’s great to “private message” folks.  It can be a thrill to not lose people in the busy craziness of life.  It’s often fun to see what others are doing, posting, sharing.

What occurred recently is that for most of my life it’s been challenging or uncomfortable to engage in huge public conversations.  I prefer intimate private talks with you and you and you.  (Which may be an odd sentiment for a blogger who likes to write for an audience to express.)

Facebook conversations morph easily into cliques, with certain friends chatting and sharing, and others remaining silent. I don’t know how to say Happy Birthday to one person and not the other 216.  And I don’t want to spend hours a day stalking, perusing, finding out obscure details without engaging in a more face-to-face manner.

I don’t know how to talk publicly with you and you and not you.

Still wondering

Still wondering

It’s not just on Facebook that I’m less prone to engage in a full public conversation.  I used to love WordPress for its conversational value.

This blog now has over 37,000 comments since its inception in 2010.  About 14,000 of those comments are mine.  It used to be vital to respond to each and every comment here. Now, I prefer to respond to commenters privately in emails and Facebook messages, except during occasional inspirational times when it feels right to share publicly.

I like private conversations the best, so it seems.

What about you?

Have you comes to happy terms with social media?  Has your relationship changed over time?  Are you more comfortable sharing privately or publicly?

P.S. Today I posted a link on Facebook directing folks to this wild & raw poem.  Foxes will leap into your eyes if you read it all the way to the end. Otters will rush from the darkness. For those who’ve been visited by a Wild God and lived to tell. Please read Sometimes a Wild God.

P.S.S.  Whenever I make a pronouncement, the opposite often happens.  So I will probably be posting statuses about our wood splitter on Facebook and engaging in public conversations until the Universe allows me to regain the viewpoint expressed in this blog.  lol.

 

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in July 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to My challenges with wood splitter motors and social media

  1. Ally Bean says:

    I’m not a fan of FB. I was on it within the first year of its existence and disliked it then. A few years later I was coerced into joining again. It’s better, they said. But I found it to be shallow and inane, so I left. I want to like FB but no one I know irl or ivl can explain to me why I should give it a third try. If I read or heard even one positive thing about FB I’d consider joining again, but from what I can tell NO ONE LIKES IT. So why is it still around, I wonder.

    • Kathy says:

      I get what you’re saying, Ally. I’ve been on and quit and on again. Often ponder quitting again–but do not. I have heard people who really like it, though. And part of me likes it. Part of me wants a place to be in touch with everyone. But it doesn’t…quite…work. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Truly.

    • Facebook provides people with the ability to connect with other people all over the U.S. and the globe. The problem is that it sucks you in and can be quite addicting. One of the problems with Facebook is they own all your content and media. If you do not like that, do not post anything on FB. A lot of folks I know hate FB because of their privacy rules or lack thereof and have migrated over to Google Plus. I am on Google Plus and I like it even though I am not sure Google is going to protect my privacy anymore than Facebook.

  2. john k says:

    While your posting and interactions are a joyful experience, the only person you need to make happy is Kathy. There is nothing as good as a genuine thought shared or anything quite as awkward as a hollow chain of words thrown down for the sake of filling space. The fact that you are so genuine makes your communications that much more meaningful.

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, John. Hollowness is ridiculous. Sometimes I think I try to please more than just Kathy, though, so it’s a good reminder of what’s important. To be genuine. Thank you again.

  3. lisaspiral says:

    I have noticed that thing you do where you make a pronouncement and then proceed to do the opposite. On the other hand I really sympathize with the public/private nature of the Facebook. It’s not a good fit. It is where everybody is. But I don’t want EVERYBODY. Anyway, you know I don’t post all that much about everyday things either. Just that weekly – was I actually talking about myself publicly?!! – blog. I couldn’t do every day like you did for years. Even weekly feels like a lot sometimes. Trust your heart and all will be well.

    • Kathy says:

      Lisa, I swear it’s a boomerang thing! I hesitate saying anything, because the Universe rushes in and tries to prove the opposite. Glad you’ve noticed my dire conundrum. And fascinated to read your thoughts about what works for you. Sounds like you’ve found a way that feels right. Trusting one’s heart is the way to go, but sometimes I feel like I live with a divided heart. Just the way of things here.

  4. bearyweather says:

    Facebook is not for me. I have set up a page, but never update it or anything … I have not found a reason to. I only set it up to see what it was all about and why so many people liked it … I never liked it. Like you Kathy, I would rather have a conversation with someone then post the highlights of my day or week online for everyone to see .. not sure who would even care to take the time to read such trivial meaningless things.

    • Kathy says:

      Bearyweather, when we can see someone’s face and eyes or hear their voice or tone through their typing…on a one-on-one basis…it does feel like a depth is communicated. However, I have seen snippets of things on FB which aren’t meaningless. That’s what keeps me on there. My niece saying something which resonates. A friend from long ago sharing her daily life. Alas, alack, is there a way to resolve this? lol. I do appreciate your thoughts.

      • bearyweather says:

        I am sure there are profound things that are shared by some. “meaningless” for me probably because I have not “friended” very many people and thus do not get many updates from others. And, because I do not like to share important things in such an impersonal way … but, that is just me … it seems the rest of the world loves FB.
        I really don’t have the time to get on that bandwagon.

        • Kathy says:

          I so respect your decision, bearyweather. I honor it. Wishing that it was a simple decision like that for me. Have tried to make it into a definitive decision but, darn it, haven’t been able to…yet… Thank you.

  5. Susan D. says:

    I LOVE the picture of you on the tractor! Just love it. And, I’m sharing this blog because so much of what you wrote resonates with me. Thank you, my friend.

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, I know we’ve had many a conversation about our challenges with Facebook. Thank YOU for always understanding. And for sharing!

  6. Brenda says:

    Kathy, Sorry about the end of the wood splitter’s life. I’m so glad you found another one to use. I know that wood splitting is a big chore for you in the northwoods.
    Facebook has been a wonderful place for me….bringing beautiful people into my life. They have been encouraging me to face my fears and the past (filled with painful memories) so I can heal and move forward in this new direction for my life. I know that there is a lot of drama on there but I keep me page private and do not spend time following people’s silly behaviors that cause tension. Facebook can be a choice…and I am grateful for the blessings of new and precious friends. ❤
    I wish I knew more about the Gaia community….many of my friends are from there.

    • Kathy says:

      Brenda, I know Facebook has been a wonderful place for some people. I am glad that you have found encouragement there. I am glad that it’s a gift for you. I don’t encounter a lot of drama on FB either, thank goodness, or would have been gone a long time ago. It’s really good to know that some people find it a good place to be.

  7. lucindalines says:

    I have gotten to the point that I prefer a face to face conversation. Not only do I dislike public words, I do not like written words that can be passed on and slapped in your face. Now on the other hand I love sharing certain things like gardening and knitting and those things. I always love reading your posts so hope you never quit on wordpress.

    • Kathy says:

      Lucinda, there’s IS something about a face to face conversation that can’t be replicated elsewhere, isn’t there? And written words can sometimes be turned & twisted away from original intent very easily. I, too, have enjoyed sharing in various places over the years, in some venues more than others. Thank you for your kind words about enjoying my blogs. We shall see how long this adventure lasts. 🙂

  8. Karma says:

    The relationship with FB is an odd one I agree. I love the idea of staying in touch with people that I otherwise probably would not, but there is so much inanity on it too. People I’d really like to hear something from seem to rarely post, many others over-post. I find myself scrolling quite a bit during these lazy summer days, then not paying nearly as much attention as life gets busy again. Either way is ok, I guess!
    I enjoy your writing and sharing on the blog. You always have a great story to tell.

    • Kathy says:

      Karma, you have me smiling. You know what your Facebook relationship sounds like? “Karma’s When I Feel Like it Facebook”. LOL! Sounds like a great relationship to have. Then you never get bothered too much either way, right? Thanks for your kind words, too.

  9. Fountainpen says:

    I still use my fountain pen!!!!
    Fountainpen

  10. Kathy – I always like it whenever and wherever I find you sharing your thoughtfully penned observations.

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, I LOVE your gracious answers. And I love the easiness by which you seemingly post statuses on FB. Sometimes it feels like I’m grieving the person who once shared as effortlessly as you do now. Where did she go? Is she gone for good? Keep up sharing from your heart…

  11. Lori D says:

    Oh Lord, you have a love/hate relationship with fb, and I have a hate/hate relationship with fb and all other forms of social media except my blog and email. I’ve been putting off trying to get published because I’ll need to market all over social media, and I’m sorry to use such negative words, but I truly despise it. I don’t hate it for the same reason as you though. I find fb and twitter, or whatever else is out there that I don’t use, to be pretentious. I’m not really getting to know anyone in those public messages, and they aren’t really getting to know me. There is no true heart there. Blogging, at least for me, has a more personal touch. A conversation with each person can happen, or with all at the same time. Bloggers write about their experiences for the joy of writing and expressing. Oh, I could go on, but I think you get my drift. For now, I’m sticking to where the heart is, at least until I need to market my work. Blessings to you, Miss Kathy.

    • Kathy says:

      Lori, I do so agree with you. I’ve said to more than one person–anyone who will listen, lol–that social media actually seems to have the effect of making people LESS close to one another. Some people can seem to overcome the challenges of social media and deepen some lasting friendships, but most of us seem to have trouble with this. You are right, it’s hard to find the heart. By the way, do “they” insist that writers market their works on social media? I find a lot of writer-ly folks who seem to have a website and FB and Twitter mostly for keeping “out there” if that makes any sense. Anywho, get your drift really well!

  12. dorannrule says:

    As always, you stimulate thought with your very insightful posts. This was no exception. I spend about 20 minutes a day on FB – timed out in sporadic shifts. Lately there is too much garbage – annoying ads that are no longer off to the right where I can ignore them. Still, FB plays a role – dunno for how long though. Have you tried Twitter? That’s a lovely place to “find things.” I do agree with LoriD that “blogging…. has a more personal touch.”

    • Kathy says:

      Hi there, Dor, thanks for coming by and commenting. It’s a wonder I didn’t scare everyone away with this small rant. Or whatever it was. Just keep trying to articulate what challenges me about social media–and can never find exactly the right words to express it. Yes, FB seems to play a role. I have deactivated the account once for six months, and recently stayed off for almost four months, but usually end up going back and then feeling divided. I have tried Twitter, but didn’t stay there long. Interesting that you like it. Well, here’s to blogging!

  13. I’ll tell you right here and how. 🙂 You look comfortable and in the right place driving the tractor. I’m so glad you guys got a splitter for $300. That is a deal for sure.

    Now about FB. I’ve never enagaged with social media. Never felt the need but have considered it for several reasons. Probably never will but maybe one day I’ll realize the need to be in the general population. For now I have trouble keeping up on WP. ~yvonne

    • Kathy says:

      Why, thank you, Yvonne. Not sure HOW comfortable I am driving the tractor, but have done it a time or two. Smiling with you and your decision to stay off social media (besides WordPress). I used to want to be friends with the entire world. Then I realized that was impossible because you never have the time or attention to give in depth to a few. Hope you’re doing well.

  14. I laughed when I read your last comment that whenever you make a pronouncement then the opposite comes true–that is so true
    I find Facebook interesting but have only been on it since 2013 and mostly to see pics that my family posts though it is sometimes a nice medium to catch up with old friends from university
    When I first discovered the blog world it opened up a whole new world to me and I found friends like you and for that I will be forever grateful

    • Kathy says:

      LouAnn, do you wonder why the opposite often comes true? I can announce one night that I’m not drinking coffee anymore–that’s that–and the next morning at work one of the teachers has made a pot and lovingly puts a cup in my hand! Why is that? I figure it’s karma. The minute you announce to the Universe you’re against part of it, then the Universe woos you to accept that part. It’s all very crafty and challenging… As for blogging, it has been like a whole new world opening up. Thank goodness for it!

  15. Heather says:

    Social media is a two-hearted beast. Sometimes I love it, sometimes I hate it. If it weren’t for a job that keeps me behind a computer during the workday, I don’t think I’d be on FB. But I am, and I just share when I want. I don’t typically feel compelled to share or not to. However, I just don’t do the FB happy birthday thing anymore. It seems to have lost meaning when FB sends emails, and gives you a notification, and tries to get you to send a gift. Thanks, FB, I’ll handle the birthdays in my life. When I happen to remember.
    RIP ol’ wood splitter. We’ll all be grateful for your happy, productive days, and not be too wistful for those lost.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Heather, yes, you’ve described it perfectly. A two-hearted beast. I have kept thinking–for six years–that I’ll find a “happy place” with this beast without all the love/hate energies arising. Maybe the key is to just accept that the love/hate energies will continue to arise but maybe they’ll become more calm such as like/dislike and not as compelling. OK, thanks for the thoughts. P.S. Our wood splitter motor is already here! But now comes the tricky part of making/installing a bracket. Oh the fun!

  16. totsymae1011 says:

    Man, if you can handle that machine, you can probably fly a plane. Not sure I’d wanna be on it but you could try. LoL!

    • Kathy says:

      Totsymae, I LOOK more comfortable on that tractor than I would feel actually driving it around in an efficient manner. As for flying…nah…that sounds a tad bit too scary for this one. Thanks for stopping by!

  17. Carol says:

    Facebook, for me, is a place to find out what’s up with people I cannot see, face to face. It has opened doors to reconnect with relatives miles away, unseen for many years. It is a connection of sorts with my grandkids. But I do have mixed feelings about it.

    • Kathy says:

      Carol, it does seem like a lot of people have mixed feelings about Facebook. (Except for some who don’t.) After rambling a response to Heather’s comment, I have decided that perhaps the key is making peace with the love/hate feelings. Just allowing more that they shall exist. Just the nature of the beast, perhaps.

  18. P.j. grath says:

    I wonder if there’s anyone who doesn’t have mixed feelings about Facebook — other than those who downright can’t stand it and don’t participate at all. Do you think so? It’s funny, now that you bring this up, that my blog and yours and others I follow feel much more intimate to me than most Fb posts, although we don’t always know our blogging friends at all except through our blogs. I do think a lot of this has to do with the longer, more leisurely reading and viewing of blog posts (which are often limited to a single topic on any given day), as contrasted with rapid skimming, scanning, scrolling through disconnected Fb posts. Ah, but here I am resting quietly for a few minutes in your Little House in the Woods. Nice! Thank you!

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, you may be right about so many folks having mixed feelings. But I seem to have met quite a few who don’t seem to exhibit those feelings publicly. (Although that doesn’t mean they don’t have them.) You make a great point about how blog reading is much more leisurely and FB involves that rapid skimming and scrolling through disconnected posts. I often feel frenetic upon leaving there. Like a lot of tiny sound bits just invaded the brain without connecting dots. It feels so much on the surface. Although some people seem to be able to go slower and connect more. Just hasn’t happened here yet. Thanks for stopping to rest. I am resting alongside you now, too.

  19. Robin says:

    LOL! Love your P.S.S. Isn’t it funny how that happens?

    To be honest, I prefer private conversations, too. What’s strange is that I rarely take the time to do just that. It seems faster and easier to respond in public. That is very strange indeed, and something I think I’ll ponder.

    And I have to type this: YOU HAVE LUPINES!! I fell in love with lupines when my husband and I traveled to Maine and the Canadian Maritimes. I had never seen them before that trip. I was delightfully surprised to see lupines growing in a ditch on the border between the mountains of Pennsylvania and Ohio the last time we drove back to Ohio. I’d never seen them in Ohio (or in PA, for that matter). I get excited when I see lupines. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Robin, why is it that the opposite often happens after our declarations? I think it’s because the Universe dares us about making such pronouncements. You made a good point, my friend. Even though I prefer private conversations, sometimes it’s just easier and quicker to do it in public. Let me know what you discover in your ponderances. As for lupines, oh yes, we have them like crazy. Let me seek an old blog post with lupines so you shall see. (Oh, dear, all I can find is this one. Sigh. It has to do with wood ticks AND lupines.) https://upwoods.wordpress.com/2012/05/28/when-did-you-grow-purple-wings/

  20. Loved this entry and all the awesome photos you shared. You folks sure split a lot of wood. 🙂 I have mixed feelings about social media in general. I am an I.T. professional by day and a social media addict by night. LOL I do love the ability to connect with people who are loved ones who live to far away for me to go visit in person as often as I would like to. It helps us to stay connected. Facebook coined the term friend in describe those connections. I think that they have slowly but surely diluted the word friend to the point that it does not really mean what it says. I can count my true friends on one hand. True close friends. Everyone else are varying degrees of friendship or acquaintances. I have a list of close friends that I post stuff too and that list is very limited. One of the things I do not like about social media is that everyone tries to handle every subject in a sound byte format. Some topics require multiple paragraphs to be explored completely and fairly. Social media does not give us the ability to do that. That is one of the reasons I love blogging, bloggers and people who actively engage me when I do blog, which is not often.

    • Kathy says:

      James, thank you for commenting! I so agree with you about the sound byte format. Some topics DO need multiple give-and-takes before “true understanding” is approached. To realize true friendship we often have to penetrate layer upon layer of meaning–to find out what’s really been said. We do all a disservice when we only listen and respond to the surface of things, at times. I really appreciate your thoughts.

  21. I don’t quite feel comfortable with facebook, either. I use it mainly to check on my daughters activity when our schedules don’t mesh so that we can talk on the phone, to promote my blogs, an occasional photo…and (one BIG time-waster) playing Words with Friends with my sisters.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Cindy. I used to play Scrabble on Facebook with my daughters, so I do “get you”. It’s interesting that so many of us don’t feel quite comfortable there. And yet it seems almost impossible to “say goodbye” because of our children, our nieces and nephews, and other half-forgotten friends with whom we want to stay in touch. I am still trying to Figure It All Out. It feels like that “figuring out” might never happen.

  22. Barb says:

    Oh, I wish I would “dream the words to long-forgotten songs” – what a thought-provoking poem. I am not in love with Facebook. My d-i-L’s wanted me to join so I did. I rarely check the feed and never know what or if I should post. It’s just so easy and meaningless to “like.” Who cares? On many of the blogs I visit, I get a sense of voice and perhaps intuit a person’s life to the extent that I feel I know them and might actually like them if we ever met. The blog seems more personal to me, though surely I keep my most private self hidden (as I assume most do) from all but a select few.

    • Kathy says:

      I am so glad you paused to read the poem, Barb. And am glad also that you shared your thoughts about FB. Yes, yes, and yes to what you said. The positive thing about blogs is that you really can better form a picture of the person. It might not be accurate, but it’s better than quips and sound bytes. (My opinion.) Isn’t it interesting with whom we share our private selves? I feel like there are layers of sharing. I share intimate sides of myself with others here, but save the true nitty-gritty intimate side to a few deeper friends. Yes…

  23. Barb says:

    PS That wood splitter served you well!

  24. I don’t have a Facebook account and I leave tweeting to the birds.
    I’m not much of a social media person, though I do have moments on WordPress. I have a LinkedIn account for my business, but I rarely visit the site.

    The baby birds are sweet.

    • Kathy says:

      Gosh, I hear those birds tweeting day and night. 🙂

      Yes, like you, I feel like I have those moments on WordPress. Haven’t delved into LinkedIn although always get those pressing messages begging friendship acceptance there.

      Baby birds are sweet. They’ve flow away, though. I saw the mama hovering by when one of the babies learned to fly. That was more precious than anything.

  25. First and foremost, the photos are really great!
    Secondly, finally left FB for good when I read about the 700,000 “subjected” to psychological test without their knowledge and then hear Zuckerburg try to smooth that one out!
    Thirdly, my children do not post and we do not interact on FB and other relatives…well we will just let that one alone…invisible comes to mind.
    And lastly, I would rather have one good friend to speak with than 500 friends (?). How can one possibly have that many “friends”? I think perhaps he used that term for those who felt needy and needed a lot of friends to know who they where. Acquaintances might have been a better word to use.
    I am no longer an internet junky. It lowers your IQ by 10 points simply by reading your emails first in the morning. I now take a walk; drink tea or coffee and then read or not. Check at noon; and before bed. Many times or rather most days I am far behind in reading blogs but eventually I get there! Of course, I only follow so few!
    My neighbor calls me a recluse now and I am comfortable with that title. I think a lot and try to hear the voices of the ones I have chosen to read because the Universe sent them to me for a reason.

    Apologies for the length. Maybe soon I will write an actual blog post. Lol

    You write beautiful posts and your voice comes through loud and clear. People love you for that!

    • Kathy says:

      Linda, I never mind a long comment–you can write six pages here if you ever feel like it. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about social media. I agree with many of the things you said. As for being a recluse–part of me is a major league recluse. It feels good to like solitary pursuits so much, to be comfortable alone. However there is another part that likes to be with people, too… It’s so interesting finding a balance, isn’t it? Sounds like you have found a comfortable place for you.

  26. Janet says:

    I don’t post much on facebook except a link to my blog. However, I do make comments on other’s posts and I do like knowing what’s going on with my children and friends. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Janet, I have found it utterly fascinating reading everyone’s different opinions about Facebook and social media. Some of us like it, some of us hate it and others are ambivalent. It’s good to know what’s going on with children and friends–a good reason to keep it. My kids rarely post there at all, but the nieces and nephews are avid posters.

  27. jeffstroud says:

    Kathy,

    We have followed your love/hate relationship with Facebook, and blogging for sometime, Your need to write and your need or desire for privacy.
    You are honest and illuminating about the relationship you have with social media. I think it is a healthy way to keep it sane.

    I have been trying to reconnect with “New Gaia” yet I am still not “comfortable” there. You know I am a “full time” user of Facebook. During the past few years social media has kept me sane. WordPress offers me a place to use my voice as I journey through the balancing of spirit with daily living, and to share me photography on a different level.

    Yet I still understand the need to have “real” people in your life. It is through these venues of Social media, that I met you in person, and that experience was like meeting an old friend I had not seen in sometime.

    There is a give and take to all areas of our lives. A balance that offers certain effects to our lives. You can call me anytime, you are welcome to the East coast, and I will visit you again, it is the best excuse to go to NYC as any!

    • Kathy says:

      Jeff, your comment here felt so soothing and calming, for some reason. I wrote this subject again because there is a part of me that feels divided. Perhaps some day peace will come within that division; perhaps the division will dissolve. In the meantime, honestly writing about it seems a step toward balancing (kind of like you do with your WordPress posts.)

      On one hand social media opened worlds upon worlds–such as meeting people like you in person. On the other hand, I can’t get back in the “groove” of sharing like in the past and that feels disconcerting and off-balancing. Trying to stay in the awareness of just experiencing THAT–what’s happening now, what’s true in this experience–rather than sweeping it under the rug or making too much of it.

      Thanks again for sharing your energy this morning.

  28. Stacy says:

    I’m sorry about your wood-splitter motor, Kathy, but happy that you found a reasonably-priced one to replace the old one. I was telling Norm the other day, ‘I wish we had a wood-splitter.” He didn’t understand this desire because we have split wood delivered. I still want one – I want to split my own wood, thank you very much.

    As for The Book – the only reason I’m on it is to connect with friends I’ve made the world over and have no other method of contact. I rarely converse with people on it, except in private “inbox” conversations. I like intimate conversations better than general posts that usually have no substance.

    XO

    • Kathy says:

      I am smiling at your wood splitter desire, Stacy. Let me know if Norm eventually agrees with you–and how long you enjoy wood splitting. Seriously, I do like this chore, still, after all this time. But a part of me wonders how much easier life would be without the endless processing of firewood.

  29. On principle, I feel like I should not like FB. In fact, I should dislike it immensely. Many people write useless bits of information on there (“took my dog for a walk and he found a bunny rabbit!”) but others share their parents’ 50th anniversary, for instance, or their own delight of a long marriage and close family. I value those messages. I see the ‘normal’ of us, the ones who don’t shoot people, who don’t hurt others, who work hard to enjoy this life. In other words, the ‘regular’ ones of us who aren’t ever in the news. I like that. And I like that I’ve reconnected with high school and college friends who I haven’t seen in years – many years – and now we find sweet fun things to connect about. Lastly, for my writing occupation, I love that a woman who was 2 years behind me in high school (who I don’t remember but remembers me) write a private message to me saying, “I read your book. I LOVED it, and I’ve told everyone how good a writer you are.” My egotistical, writerly self loves that about FB. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, I do so like your angle about the “normal” side of us, the ones who value family and friends…yes, that does feel good. You know, I am utterly sure that there’s some way of viewing Facebook positively–like you have here–that will turn it all around. That’s what I’ve been searching for. Something like you’ve described. Yes. Will continue to think about what you’ve shared.

  30. I just skip a lot of stuff on FB. Sometimes, there are so many posts I end up missing most of them anyway as they disappear down the pages. Luckily I have friends and family who for the most part seem to understand how to use facebook in a non-annoying way. Have reconnected with people from my past including family, and have discovered blogs and other sites that I enjoy visiting. Just don’t expect me to “like” or comment on the cute kitty video or the obviously computer graphically enhanced “miracles” or the sayings.

    • Kathy says:

      It sounds like you’ve found a Facebook that works for you, too, Patty. That reconnecting with people from the past can be fun, can’t it? One part that I like is handy access to some real interesting spiritual teachings. Thank you for sharing, my friend.

  31. me2013 says:

    I tried Face book for about 12 months and it got on my nerves, or should I say the people on it got on my nerves, but then I am not a people person 😀 It was the pointless comments like ‘washed my hair’ or ‘not talking to him today’. Then there would be times when I would be having a very in depth chat with someone only to have people pop in with silly comments, Gave it all up and do it by email now.

    • Kathy says:

      Part of me would like to do it just like you! Sounds like you were able to make a definitive decision without missing it much. So nice to see you again. Hope life is treating you well.

  32. Oh, Kathy, I’m so glad I finally found your picture of the deer lounging in the lupines – it’s beautiful!!!

    I also have ambivalent feelings about Facebook – mostly I lurk around and press the like button here and there. But the amazing images and photographs some people post capture my attention and I wind up sharing those, mostly without comment. Not sure I would stay on except to see what family is up to…

    I feel closer and more connected to the people who comment on my blog, though… And enjoy reading the blog posts of others more than surfing through the hit-or-miss maze of Facebook.

    • Kathy says:

      Barbara, I am glad that you saw this picture. It was such a sweetheart. As for Facebook, a couple of people have really helped me in the past couple weeks or so. I’ve actually had a reversal of feelings about it. (We’ll see if it lasts…if not, I’m enjoying it while it’s here.) It has always been so important to me to find the *positive* or value of most things, that FB has been a conundrum. Glad to hear that you like it for the photos and nature images that abound. For that reason alone, it probably enriches your life. (Know what you mean about blogging, though…)

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

