Serendipity, a light house & wind-blown hair

The red door of possibility

The red door of possibility

I am downstate visiting my mom and dad now, having previously added these photos to Word Press during a very busy morning last Friday while preparing to depart.

These images come to you from Big Bay, Michigan, where Suzi Banks Baum shared a “Slow Time Salon” of art and writing with many friends and acquaintances last Tuesday. I snapped most of these pictures during a mid-day walk down a dirt road to the lighthouse out on Lake Superior.

Up close design

Up close design

You’re wondering about the “serendipity” part of the title, aren’t you?  I can’t wait to tell you!

Last Friday morning before working three hours at the school and two hours with the township–before cleaning and packing and organizing–I kept hearing the phrases “Ladies of the Lake” in my head, like a song.  Since I had a photo of the three of the book tour participants standing by the lake I started the title of the post with “Ladies of the Lake.”

Jumped in the car, drove away (forgetting my telephone charger, alas) and tooled down the road in anticipation of the 550 miles to visit family.  Keep in mind that this was not necessarily a logical decision, but an impromptu desire from the heart.

Through the trees

Through the trees

Two and a half hours from home, a bit sleepy and still trying to decompress, I drove into Munising, a little town nestled in a cove along Lake Superior.

There–in big bold letters on a sign–appeared the greeting:  “Welcome, Ladies of the Lake”.

I kid you not.

Don’t you love it when synchronicity happens?

 

The Big Bay Lighthouse

The Big Bay Lighthouse

I stayed at St. Ignace, ate Mexican tamales at Jose’s Cantina, and drove across the Mackinac Bridge in the fog next morning.

Met my lovely blogging friend, Heather, for breakfast at the Sugar Bowl Restaurant in Gaylord.  It is always such a delight to meeting blogging friends!  Heather and I have met twice before.  Once, for another similar breakfast.  The following winter she and her husband stopped for dinner at our Little House in the Big Woods.

Yet another weathered doorway

Yet another weathered doorway

Continuing downstate, I paused for coffee and muffins at my friend Sandee’s house in Sterling.  She is the sister of one of my buddies from elementary and high school, Pattijo.

The trip felt shining with friendship and serendipity!

Bench in a flower garden

Bench in a flower garden

Took a left at Bay City and drove up into the Thumb to my brother’s cottage along Sand Point at Caseville.  Scot and I spent over four hours sitting on his deck talking and reminiscing and sharing before a magnificent simple dinner of grilled veggies and salmon.  We (along with his girlfriend, Amy) hiked along the beach in a wild fog & wind.  My hair blew straight up the heavens.  Then we soaked in the hot tub under the stars.

Amy posted a pic on Facebook this morning of brother and sister walking along Lake Huron’s shore.  If you’re kind about my hair, I may show it to you.  Will decide by the end of this post.

Rain-soaked flower in the garden

Rain-soaked flower in the garden

Yesterday morning drove another couple of hours to Yale into the awaiting arms of my mom and dad.

Niece Tianna and nephew Doug came a’visiting in the afternoon and we had a marvelous catch-up.

Vibrant

Vibrant

How I love being here with family once again.

Unusual stone

Unusual stone

I hope you’re not too disconcerted by the photos of Big Bay and the discussion of my trip downstate.

(Actually, I do believe it’s good to be a little disconcerted at times.  It keeps us on our toes.  Just so we don’t get too complacent.)

My friend, Suzi

My friend, Suzi

Now must get off the computer because we may be heading to Port Huron soon.

My friend, Catherine, and me

My friend, Catherine, and me

Life can be sweet.

Fog on the lake

Fog on the lake

Wishing you the best this late August week.

An old-time privy building (love that smiling face)

An old-time privy building (love that smiling face)

 

The Big Bay Lighthouse

The Big Bay Lighthouse

OK, OK, here’s the wild & crazy hair picture! I’m only showing it to you because there’s a lot of brother-sister love shining through, too. 🙂

Brother and sister along the shores of Lake Huron

 

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in August 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Serendipity, a light house & wind-blown hair

  1. lisaspiral says:

    Windy day on the lake. Lovely photos. Have fun visiting with the family!

  2. Something about this post makes me cry. Missing you and your attention to magic, maybe. Knowing the touch of your hands and the delight in your eyes. Your curiousity, up close and personal. Your bravery. Your laughter. Thank you for this post on a wet Monday in Escanaba. I am off to tend my mother’s trees, then pack up and head south to be with Geri and my sister and niece for two days. Thank you for sharing your journey Kathy. We are Ladies of the Lake. I bet Terri can find a song in there somewhere. xoxox S

  3. Carol says:

    Lady of the lake, you certainly are. Enjoy your adventures and your time with family.

  4. What a lovely post! And lovely photos, all, and beautiful you, even with your hair all windblown. You’re right, the love shines through!

  5. Barb says:

    Have a great visit with your family, Kathy! I love the pictures. My hair gets really wild and crazy when teased by wind and water, so yours actually looks pretty darn good to me!

  6. Loved reading about your journey. So interesting for someone living in plain ole parched and over heated central Texas. There are no vistas to compare and nothing that is old and interesting such as the photos you have shown here.

    The pic of you and your brother is wonderful. There is nothing wrong with your hair. The pic tells the reason and so it was very windy when that photo was taken.

    Enjoy your time with your parents. And have a safe trip back home to the Upper P.

  7. emaclean says:

    Love Suzi’s sweater! I noticed it in the previous post. Lovely trip and photos–including crazy hair! Really, not so bad. Mine looks far worse just when I get out of bed in the morning!

  8. Elisa says:

    i love the crazy…hair 😀

  9. Susan D says:

    Oh, this is marvelous, Kathy! I’m staying to play here awhile, amidst your words, pictures, adventures. Thank you for sharing! Adore the picture of you and Scot! Enjoy the rest of your visit, and travels. Hugs!

  10. Bonnie says:

    And there is a lot of sibling love shining from the picture. How wonderful. Love the doors.

  11. Brenda says:

    Thank you for sharing these beautiful words and pictures, Kathy!! I love them all and your words and pictures always brings smiles and warm feelings to my heart ❤ I wish I could be a lady of the lake with you. 🙂 ❤

  12. Joanne says:

    Yes, you followed your heart! And now my heart is singing for you too. And of course serendipities have shown themselves to you along your travels….you were in the right place at the right time, every step of the way. Thank you for sharing your journey with us Kathy. ❤

  13. Barb says:

    Kathy, Your adventures while traveling to Mom and Dad’s sound perfect. Enjoy your time with them. Your hair is a metaphor – I can see the howling wind in it.

  14. Dawn says:

    So glad you are visiting with family and friends. Priceless moments! Love the photos too. OF course you are one of the ladies of the lake!

  15. Love that marvelous mauve and gray rock with its eternal waves.

  16. Lovely photos. The fair and the love shing through with your brother makes you appear ten years younger (not that I have even seen you). I am in Sudbury with grandson 2, daughter and hubsand.

    Enjoy your time with family.

  17. Reggie says:

    How awesome that you went on this trip, Kathy. I love the pictures of your friends and you… the love is definitely shining through. That bench in the pretty garden is such a tempting place to linger… Heavenly.

  18. Kathy – I enjoyed every single moment of this virtual tour. Your photographs and descriptions are vivid and crisp, pulling me smack-dab into the experience. THANK YOU for sharing 🙂

  19. Heather says:

    The serendipity in Munising is priceless – and surely confirms that your heart was right!
    Had such a great time at breakfast. Only required one coffee to make it safely home. Okay, so really the sleepiness was just an excuse for the coffee, whose caffeine wouldn’t kick in until after I arrived home.
    Love all the photos! Your hair simply looks like it’s playing with the wind 🙂

  20. Karen says:

    Friends and family, it sounds as life has been wonderful lately. Enjoy!

  21. Tammi Kale says:

    Beautiful pics and post!

  22. Kathy says:

    I am slowly, slowly, re-reading all of your comments here at my desk back in the rainy north woods–with a garden full of beans and broccoli and tomatoes (mostly still green) and cucumbers and green onions. Gosh it’s good to be home and feeling the love and sweetness of so many on-line friends. You are all precious. Thank you for being you.

  23. sybil says:

    How can you tell when you are following your heart or your feet ? Whichever it is, you are being led in marvellous ways. The sibling photo is lovely. One to be treasured. BTW your brother is … ummmm … errrrr … handsome.

  24. Robin says:

    You are quite a beautiful Lady of the Lake, windblown hair and all. There’s something about you that just glows. Beautiful images, beautiful words, beautiful post. 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

