The grandkittens grow up into grandcats

Kinder on the couch

Kinder on the couch

This morning I would like to show you some photos of the grandcats.  Last summer I introduced them in their precious kittenhood with this blog post:  Did I forget to tell you I’m a grandma now?  Or you may have seen Updates and videos of the grandkits written at the end of September a full year ago.

Hard to believe a year has passed, isn’t it?  In the life of cats (and I suppose humans) a year is a big deal.  Our two furry grandchildren–one named Mango who lives in San Diego with our son and daughter-in-law and one named Kinder who lives in New York City with our daughter–are now about one-and-a-half years old.

Mango on the couch

Mango on the couch

A couple of blog readers asked me recently:   Hey, are you ever going to show pictures of your grandcats again?  Obviously, it was time.  I emailed the kids and requested said photos. They complied.  I also asked for stories.

Kinder on the bed

Kinder on the bed

 

Mango chillin' on the floor

Mango chillin’ on the floor

Here is a Mango story.  Mango is the San Diego cat.  She definitively knows two words now.  (No, she can not speak–yet.  But she understands the words perfectly.)  The first word is “spider”.  It means any sort of bug she can chase.  She hears the word and heads off in an excited sprint.  The second is a phrase. When she hears “breakfast time” she’s over-the-moon.  It doesn’t necessarily mean breakfast–any feeding time will do.

She was also visited by a tiny eight-week-old kitten named Cheekie recently.  The wee one chased our Mango all over the house.  Poor sweet Mango.  She’d never seen a kitten before!

Kinder chillin'

Kinder chillin’

 

Mango eating some fancy grass made just for kitty cats

Mango eating some fancy grass made just for kitty cats

 

Kinder stretches out on a completed jigsaw puzzle

Kinder stretches out on a completed jigsaw puzzle

 

Mango after a bath!

Mango after a bath!

 

Kinder watches bird feeder

Kinder watches bird feeder

Now for the Kinder story.  Do you see the bird feeder hanging outside Kinder’s New York City apartment?  Barry helped build it for our daughter when she visited in July.  (Our daughter is a big fan of birds, as well as a fan of cats.)

Kinder spends long hours staring happily at the bird feeder.

Sometimes he even imitates the sound of birds chirping.  I kid you not.

His meow tries desperately to turn into a tweet, tweet, tweet.

(It usually doesn’t succeed, but he tries.)

Mango hides out in some packaging

Mango hides out in some packaging

 

Our curious fella

Our curious fella

 

See that tail way up high?  That's a perch for our Mango.

See that tail way up high? That’s a perch for our Mango.

Someday we shall meet the grandcats. (We’ve seen the kids this year but not the cats, alas.)

Hopefully sooner than later!

I hope you all enjoyed the update.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in September 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to The grandkittens grow up into grandcats

  1. Robin says:

    They are adorable. 🙂

  2. Brenda says:

    Aww…thank you for sharing these adorable pictures! Mango and Kinder are so cute 🙂 Kinder reminds me so much of my niece’s kitty…Grandpa (also known as G-Pa)…he is also black and spends his days lounging around much like Kinder does and he also loves watching the birds and squirrels in the tree right outside the window. I love how he “talks”, especially when he wants to go outside…he gets so loud and it’s just comical!
    Thanks again for sharing your grandcats with us 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Grandpa sounds like a very cool cat, Brenda. Don’t you love the way individual cats have their own special ways of communicating? We had a passel of cats here in the woods over the years and every one was so different. (One was named Mango. The current Mango should properly be known as Mango the 2nd.)

  3. Kathy — I love the photographs you shared of Kinder and Mango. We had Tuxedo cats (Patrick and Dougan) for 18 years and this post brought back wonderful memories, thank you. Their languid stretches reminded me that it’s time to do my morning yoga! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Glad to bring back memories of your cats, Laurie. Did you do your morning stretches? Did you look as languid and relaxed as these two cats? P.S. Before I get up every morning I do a long yoga stretch for about five minutes holding the pose to relax the back, thanks to your suggestions about this.

  4. Carol says:

    I see that Kinder and Mango are expert loungers. I’m taking lessons from my cats and will soon have my black belt in lounging.

  5. Kryssy says:

    Hi!
    I can so relate to this story. I have a 14 or 16 year old cat named Sneakers (Sneaks for short) he is a Tuxedo cat. I got him from a shelter about 8 or 9 years ago (Of, course I didn’t get his D.O.B.). My parents (which I don’t talk to anymore), but when we were they would call Sneaks there grandson because (it is your child), Although Sneaks has kidney failure, (We, the boyfriend and I) cherish every day we have with Sneaks. The photo’s are AMAZINGLY well taken. One day you’ll get to see the grand kittens.

    • Kathy says:

      Kryssy, until today I have never heard of a Tuxedo cat. Had to Google to see what that meant. I am so glad you cherish every day with your Sneaks. Sounds like you love him very much. Glad you enjoyed the pics the kids sent. They will appreciate your comment!

      • Kryssy says:

        Kathy I have to cherish the time I have with him, because he has kidney failure :(. You had to Google Tuxedo cats lol. Sorry I don’t mean to laugh, but at least you learned something new :).

  6. lisaspiral says:

    They are both adorable. Sounds like you have a round of traveling you need to plan this coming year.

    • Kathy says:

      Sounds like a plan, Lisa. So far I have trips planned to see both my parents and Barry’s parents, but it would be fabulous to be able to visit the kids (and grandcats) as well!

  7. Susan D says:

    Oh, they are both splendid grandcats and so talented. I’m delighted to see the wonderful pictures of them! How fortunate they are to have such loving parents. I’ll bet those two would love to meet their grandparents! Some day, some day. Thank you for the update, G’ma 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Good afternoon, Susan D, thank you for coming by and enjoying the pictures. It’s true, the grandcats certainly do have loving parents. Both sets adore the furry ones. Some day, some day…sounds like those should be words from a musical. You are welcome, G’ma, yourself.

  8. What happy cats you have. So good to keep up with the whole family. xo S

  9. Barb says:

    Dear Kathy, I’m afraid for you when you have actual human grandchildren! However, the grand kits are adorable and yes, I loved both photos and exploits. Hope you’ve been well – is fall over in the UP? It snowed here the past 2 nights.

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, fabulous to see you! Ha ha, I read your comment to my daughter over the phone and we laughed together. Yes, have been well, and fall is here big time. Indian summer ended two days ago. It went from almost 80 to 47 yesterday, yikes! No snow here yet and it can stay in Colorado, thank you very much. Will have to see if you’re back blogging again yet.

  10. Pamela says:

    Sooo, is Barry staring a birdfeeder business? Because that is a fine-looking birdfeeder, and I’ve just moved to the NE ‘woods,’ and I can’t wait to do a “Kinder” and watch the birds. Tweet Tweet.

    • Kathy says:

      Tweet, tweet, Pamela! I am still extremely interested to know if you’re going to be living in the city or if you’re out in the woods. Please tell. I promise not to spill the beans to any of your eager readers. And, yes, Barry may be in the birdfeeder business. You never know…

  11. Barbara Stasik says:

    This one really made me smile. I love it when the ‘family’ includes our furry kids! I don’t know what I would do without my Walter – he’s a rescue dog (my fourth) and he fills my heart with happiness nearly every day. Well, at least when he’s not escaping or catching the wildlife of Yale. When you have a Jack Russell it’s a lot of excitement. Loved seeing your ‘grandkits’ Kathy. Love and miss you. – B.

    • Kathy says:

      Barbie, I am smiling ear-to-ear. Thank you for commenting. Your Walter looks like a wonderful furry being and I can see that he is a very special being. Is he an escapee? We had a cat who did that, a very amazing cat, but he kept on disappearing. Enjoy your excitement and thank you for pausing to share your story!

  12. Joanne says:

    I loved the update, Kathy! They are so adorable, but yes, a year is a very long time in a kitty-cats life.

  13. lucindalines says:

    Cats are crazy the way they claim spots. Enjoyed your sharing this.

    • Kathy says:

      They do claim spots, indeed. Kinder, at least, changes his claimed spot quite often. My daughter is always telling me about Kinder’s latest spot.

  14. Dana says:

    Super cute! I love pets of all sorts. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Do you have a pet, Dana? Inquiring minds want to know. (And if I already know, inquiring minds want to be reminded…)

      • Dana says:

        No pets, Kathy. I grew up with cats, though, and spent the first few years after moving to Victoria looking after the bestest dog in the world (until she passed away in 2010… sniff!)

  15. Your grandcats have such interesting personalities and are adorable, too. My cat makes those little chirping noises when she is bird-watching, too. I read somewhere that cats make that noise to try and lure the birds closer to them, a fake bird-call so to speak…

    • Kathy says:

      How fascinating to discover why some cats make that little noise, Barbara. Thank you for sharing that. These two do have interesting personalities–so very different than one another. I am thinking now of your granddaughter and wondering what kind of personality she will develop as she grows!

  16. sybil says:

    You’re a bi-coastal mom. How did THAT happen? One kid in California and the other in New York. Wow.

    Love the kittie update. Mango has lovely colouring. My kitties must be about the same age. We’ve moved from calling them “the kittens” to “the girls”

    • Kathy says:

      Sybil, I’m still in amazement about the bi-coastal thing. I have no clue how it happened. Sometimes it makes me happy because I imagine them like my wings out in the world. Other times I just miss ’em…. How lovely that your cats are about the same age!

  17. totsymae1011 says:

    A grandcat? That’s a new one but it works.

  18. Oh, I miss having cats! I’d forgotten. But, I’ve missed my blogging buddies more!

    So, yeah, I’ve been gone all summer. We moved across town but just got our internet two days ago–I kid you not! LONGGGGG STORY!

    Hope you had an awesome weekend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Kathy says:

      Kathy, I’ll bet it IS a long story! Welcome back. Was just thinking about you yesterday and wondering if you would someday return. Thought maybe you were busy teaching classes and found a new passion to occupy your time. Blessings…and so happy to see you again.

  19. Elizabeth says:

    I love their personalities! And their pictures. I have four niece-kitties, which means my Atlas pup has four cousin kitties. Possibly he is even more delighted than I. 🙂

  20. Karma says:

    Cute grandbabies! Did you know when cats are watching birds and they make that chattering sound that many folks believe to be a sweet imitation of birds it is actually something far less than sweet? When kitties sit at the window and chit-chit-chit, they are actually expressing their desire to eat the birds – or at least kill them I’m sorry to say. The chattering is the kitty practicing the “killing bite” to a bird’s neck!
    Thought of you yesterday – I saw a “Yooper” bumper sticker on a car with Massachusetts plates!

    • Kathy says:

      Karma, errrr, yes, actually, I had heard that story. (well, parts of it anyway.) In fact I tentatively suggested it to the cat’s mother, who preferred another story. I probably think that story is true–but who knows what cats are REALLY thinking? I mean, how do we humans REALLY know? That is my Yooper thought for today. LOL. Nice to see you Ms. Karma.

  21. Debbie M. says:

    A cat after a bath? Surely, there is a story there! I have not known cats to like water, nor let we humans bathe them. Interesting! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Debbie, I think there is a story about that cat’s bath, but my memory is such that I’ve forgotten it. We never (that I recall) ever bathed our five cats. They were outdoor creatures, though. These cats are indoor ones…so who knows what mischief might have happened?

  22. Stacy says:

    You have such a lovely family, Kathy – and you are lucky to have two grandcats. I, alas, have but one, but Cupcake is a special kitty, indeed.

    Do you think you’re a cat person or a dog person, or maybe just a person? I think I gravitate to cats’ independence and “leave me alone” attitude. I’m an introvert, can you tell? But the four-pawed love of my life was, in fact, a dog. I don’t know how he managed it, but he weaseled his way into my heart and remains there, even though he passed away six years ago. xoxo

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, now you’re asking a grandmama a tricky question, Stacy Lynn. I suppose your socks put you up to it. Truly, I think I’m a dog person who would rather live with a cat. Have adored the two dogs we had…and the cat I liked best in our little family was more dog-like than cat. What an interesting question! I am feeling your love for your four-pawed creature. I’ll bet you do miss him so much.

  23. I Wilkerson says:

    Glad our cats aren’t the only ones to lie around in the goofiest positions!

  24. Somehow missed this post. Most have come in when I was away.
    Agree with all 57 responses. Have had both cats and dogs…they are now romping around free in their next life far away from here. Their paws always leave marks on our hearts.
    Thank you for sharing their antics and their habitats. They seem to take on the personalities of their owners.

    • Kathy says:

      Ha, Linda, were there 57 responses? You counted? LOL. What a beautiful thing to say–how our furry ones leave paw prints on our hearts. You are a poet, you know it? Happy weekend!

  25. tbocklund says:

    Hi sweetie! DIBS! I want to write the children’s book! It shall be called, “Mango from San Diego.”

  26. Cats are the embodiment of home for me. Cute pics!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

