Itching relentlessly

 

A rash feels like raspberry plants.  Oh so prickly.

A rash feels like raspberry plants. Oh so prickly.

Forget it, friends.  No pictures of icebergs, snowflakes or squirrels beneath the bird feeder.

My life has narrowed to one perspective.

Itching.

Relentlessly.

It all started with jumping jacks.  Or perhaps leg scissors.

I found myself with Sue and Nancy in the pool jumping up and down, up and down, up and down, c’mon, don’t stop, keep those legs movin’, keep those arms circling around and around and around.

Twice a week, Tuesdays and Thursdays.  Once again, I fell head-over-heels in love with water aerobics.

It’s a sure-fire way to combat cabin fever, don’t you know?

Itch, itch

Itch, itch

We seniors (near seniors, far seniors, almost seniors, wanna be seniors) jumped and kicked and splashed and pirouetted, my goodness, we leaped and laughed and told stories and exercised our arms and buttocks and thighs and lost a total of 50 pounds, combined.

We luxuriated in the hot tub.  Baked in the sauna.  Laughed some more.  Jumped back in the pool for another lap or six.

Let’s back up a number of years.  I grew up jumping.  Up and down.  My folks said that before age four I never quit jumping.  Then, unexpectedly, around age five, I ceased.  Spent the next 40 years trying to fit in with feet upon the ground.

Except in swimming pools.  In younger years, I jumped.  Bounced.  Up and down, up and down.  It felt like Heaven.  Water supports, envelops, loves, warms, cools, sings…sends you somewhere.  Thank goodness four of my parent’s friends owned pools.  A shy girl can jump to her heart’s delight.  No one even knows you’re jumping.

In recent years–until two weeks ago–I’ve mostly abandoned pools.  Ten years ago enjoyed a couple of seasons of breast strokes.  Leaped in with some seniors in the condo pool in Florida and boogied to water aerobic songs maybe eight years ago.  Still enjoy some sideways laps while visiting Fort Myers Beach, but that’s about it.

Two weeks ago I jumped in again.  OK, gingerly tiptoed. The next day, wouldn’t you know it, tiny red bumps.  Itch, itch, itch.

An example of your blogger's sensitive skin from 2012.

An example of your blogger’s sensitive skin from 2012.

Because aerobics proved so darn fun, I ignored the rash caused by (who knows) chlorine or unknown chemicals.

I swam two more times.  Itched intermittently, but nothing to write home about.  My skin is so darn sensitive anyway.  I get sun poisoning in Florida every trip, regular as clockwork, and basically play “itch and ignore”.

Fast-forward until Friday morning.  I awake at 5:30 a.m., skin on fire.  Itch, itch, itch!  There’s some wild scratching going on, let me tell you.  I dive into the Benadryl like an addict, praying for relief.

You all know what Benadryl does, don’t you?  Excuse me, it’s been a long blog post….zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz……

It really doesn’t eliminate the itch.  It simply makes it appear far, far away.  You’re too tired to scratch.

Today is a bit better.  I have not swallowed any anti-scratch pills.  Yet.

I am blogging to forget.

Anyone else have any itchy stories to share?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in March 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

90 Responses to Itching relentlessly

  1. had a double hit of poison ivy one year–memorable–now I do not go near my back garden–hope your itch goes away soon–too bad you cannot jump it away!

    • Kathy says:

      Hey maybe I will try that, LouAnn! I could write an itching blog about poison ivy, too. Such scratching stories we could tell… 🙂

      • we should write a book–did you ever have chicken pox–and we were warned not to scratch them because they would leave scars? hope you are getting better

        • Kathy says:

          Gosh, we COULD write a book. Chicken pox–yes. Shingles–yes. (Truly, I had a mild case of shingles last winter. Wasn’t blogging at the time or would have shared that suffering with everyone too. LOL!)

  2. I have a very long, complicated story about itching that involves my mother’s death and scabies. Have you been to a nursing home recently or some other institution where it is very difficult to stem the spread of scabies? Ask your medical support about this because, despite visits to a Dr., dermatologist and on one very difficult night, the ER- scabies proved hard to diagnose. And it was months before we figured it out, months we spent doing lice treatment on all of us, our house and the contents of our house. Then bedbugs. More treatments implemented. And, then, finally, scabies. I am so sorry to hear this is cramping your water aerobics fun. Oat baths were helpful and all you need are oats and a blender to grind them in to a powder to use in a warm bath….This was helpful for me to a degree…..but scabies are live critters and the warmth from baths made them active. Go see a DR. before you take that bath, okay? I could go on, but it is making me itchy. Yours, xooxoxS

    • Kathy says:

      Oh dear Suzi, I am so sorry to hear about your mom’s case of scabies. I will think about this in the future. How challenging. I am sad that these itches are cramping so much water aerobic fun, that’s for sure. Oats sound like a wonderful antidote! Sorry to have made you itch, my friend.

  3. divacarla says:

    Chlorine in pools makes me itch. Is that what’s happening to you?

    • Kathy says:

      Carla, I think you may be right. It’s probably the chlorine. I will be down in Florida in a couple of weeks and will (tentatively) try out the pool down there and see if there is another case of the crazy itchies. By the way, hope you had a Happy Birthday! Itch free!

  4. Joanne says:

    Poor Kathy, I can totally sympathise….we are living amid a plaque of mosquitoes and sand-flies as I type, the insects frenzies by the massive deluges of rain here during the past month. Have you tried calomine lotion on the itches? I imagine you would have some such lotion in the USA. It’s gentle to the skin too, I can use it, and my skin it sensitive like yours, you should see my mozzie and sand-fly bites! The water aerobics sound like fun though, so I hope the laughter and joy is worth the itch.

    • Kathy says:

      Joanne, it’s so good to hear from you! Now you have me thinking of summer and that bug-biting fun. You know, my mom always used calamine on our itches when we were kids. But I don’t have any in the house. What a good idea! Hopefully you are enjoying your summer Down Under. Did I tell you that our niece has moved to New Zealand? She loves it.

      • Joanne says:

        Is she the model, who was suppose to move to Sydney, but didn’t? I remember ~ Jillian. I’m sure he will love New Zealand. My son had a school excursion there a couple of years ago, and they went snow-boarding, which he absolutely loved! Even at the tender age of seventeen, he came home in raptures over the beauty of the country.

        • Kathy says:

          Yes, she is the model! I can’t believe you remember this! Your memory is stellar. I have seen pics on Facebook and would love to go over there and visit. Of course, would have to visit Australia too…

  5. My only relief from poison ivy…to which I’m horribly allergic…is spray-on Benadryl. It kills the itch quickly and doesn’t knock you out. With poison ivy, it also helps dry up the weepy mess and make it go away a lot faster.

    • Kathy says:

      Esther, I know what you mean about poison ivy. I’m terribly allergic to it, too! Have never tried spray-on Benadryl. Yet. Luckily, we don’t have too much poison ivy here in the U.P. Apparently it’s too cold for it!

  6. Susan D. Durham says:

    Oh, dear itchy friend! I, too, have experienced unexpected itchiness from spending time in pools, but not always. Such mysteries! Being itchy is certainly not one of the fun things in life…at all. I think Lou Ann’s wish that you could jump it away is delightful. Love finding out how much you loved/love to jump. So fun! I hope you are feeling less and less itchy and that you are over it completely…pronto. Thanks for sharing this experience with us!

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, I do so love to jump. If no one was looking…and I was in a private pool..I could jump for HOURS! Thank YOU for the impetus to publish this blog. Without you, it would have remained in a private pool. LOL! I love you!

  7. Debbie M. says:

    Growing up in Houghton, I always heard about people that would take a sauna and then jump in the snow. (Surely, not just a rumor. I wouldn’t know since we didn’t have a sauna!) Seeing your snow pictures combined with your story of the itches made me think of this! I tend to think the shock of cold would help or at least numb the itching for a little while 🙂 Hoping you get itch-free soon!

    • Kathy says:

      Debbie, all those of Finnish descent with *sisu* do stuff like that. They take saunas and jump in the snow. (I have even done that.) However, swimming at the motel pool isn’t quite the same thing… P.S. I am also sometimes a wimp. It was hard enough going OUTSIDE after the swim with the temp at 10 degrees! Some of the ladies didn’t even put on hats, can you imagine??

  8. lucindalines says:

    So sorry to hear of your itching. I have two daughters with eczema. We know about itching and Benadryl. Hope you are better soon.

  9. Holly Llama says:

    One thing that’s guaranteed to get me itching is to get a letter from my boys’ school saying, “A student in your child’s class has head lice.” Eeeeek! Anyway, I’m very sorry about your itching. Take care, you sensitive soul!

    • Kathy says:

      Holly, I know just what you mean. I’ve worked at an elementary school for years and whenever anyone hears the word “lice” we all start itching! That IS ultra-sensitive, isn’t it??

  10. Oh, Kathy, so sorry! My skin is usually tough as leather; I have never had a reaction to poison ivy, and my mother would swear that I’d tense up so much in anticipation of a shot, that my skin could actually bend the needle! This winter, I’m itchy. I just visited our medical center to eliminate anything serious…or living….and am told this is just my age – and perhaps tension – combined with a very dry winter. It’s not pleasant. You have my deepest empathy!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, I had to laugh thinking that your skin could “bend the needle”! Sorry to hear about your itchiness. Maybe it just happens more as we age. Thank you for the empathy. It seems the rash has abated, but am NOT going swimming this morning!

  11. Jim Borst says:

    As a young adult (many years ago) I spent a lot of time running around barefoot, and often playing frisbee. One day we found a large freshly mowed area and decided we had to take advantage of it. While running back and forth playing frisbee we notice that there was something growing in that area that was a bit more stout than a blade of grass. I’m not sure how long we were there but it was long enough that the next day I found all those little stabs I’d received the previous day caused a case of poison ivy to appear on my feet. Fortunately for me, it was a mild case, and a lesson learned.

    • Kathy says:

      Jim, so glad to hear that it was a mild case of poison ivy. Still—itchy feet must not have been fun. I have had a severe case of poison ivy and would not want to go through that again. Fortunately, not much of it grows in the U.P. Thanks for reading the blog and stopping by to comment.

  12. Barb says:

    Kathy, Do you remember my allergy episode from 2 years ago? It got so bad that my immune system went on overdrive, and I got very weak. The culprit for me was formaldehyde which is in many,many, many things. I had thousands – maybe millions – of tiny blistery bumps all over my body, face, and extremities. It took months and 5 doctors before one astute dermatologist diagnosed me. I sure hope your own rash goes away and never comes back. There are so many products I avoid now – rather be safe than sorry. I also haven’t gotten in a pool since then – am not sure if formaldehyde is in the mix of chemicals they put in pool water! Feel better and itch-free soon!

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, I had completely forgotten about your allergy episode. That was very scary! Yes, I now remember how weak you got, and how you quit blogging for a long time and used all your energy to help heal your immune system. Did not remember that it was formaldehyde. So many chemicals used so casually in so many places simply can be frightening to those with sensitive metabolisms. I remember feeling so strong and stout in younger years. Not any more…

  13. Barb says:

    PS Heat – either water as hot as you can stand it or dry heat from a hair dryer will stop the itch for awhile by diverting the nerve signals to something else. However, don’t damage your skin by using this method. I’m only telling you in case you are almost NUTS from the itch and absolutely need relief NOW.

    • Elisa says:

      unless it is eczema! the more heat the worse it gets!

    • Kathy says:

      Taking a hot bath did help a LOT! I never thought of a hair dryer. Fortunately, the itchies have (mostly) ceased. Only a spare scratch here or there. Phew. Thank you…I will remember this advice for any future incidents.

  14. Elisa says:

    yes! I haven’t had to have eczema for years. In fact, I know what it is now, when I didn’t years ago. Life on life’s terms and wedding planning and so on and so forth have me behind the knee. Must be my body’s stop light! Just got the rest of the crafting stuff to create day-lily kissing balls for the centerpieces and I am soooo grateful to have a paid for and cemented plan!

  15. I developed a terrible rash a few years back. It lasted for almost 2 weeks. I took Benadryl orally as well as used Benadryl cream on my back, belly, chest, legs and arms. Benadryl gave a lot of relief but the rash continued. When I’d used up all the cream and still had the rash, I didn’t know what to do until I remembered something my mother had done when we kids had bee stings or had been in the nettle patch. I did what she used to do, made a simple paste of baking soda and water and applied it liberally to the affected areas. Within hours, the rash went down. The next day, there was some rash remaining so I applied more baking soda and water paste and the rash was all gone a few hours later. Sorry for your itching. I remember how awful it was from my experience.

    • Kathy says:

      Gretchen, how very interesting. Some of the oldest remedies can be the most effective. What a good thought–to remember your mother’s method. It’s kind of strange but two days ago I made a baking soda and water mixture to clean the teapot. It’s good for that, too! P.S. The itching has abated, thank goodness. Thanks for the sympathy and sharing your story.

      • I’m glad your itching has abated. I’ve learned in recent years to use more baking soda and vinegar than grocery store cleaning products and am amazed at how well these ‘old-timey’ methods work. And how much money can be saved and how much less baking soda or vinegar pollute our water supply.

  16. john k says:

    My heart goes out to you. Such torment from such a pure pursuit. Maybe you should follow the path of the LaPointe sisters and try weight training. 😉

    • Kathy says:

      Somehow I don’t think weight training is my cup of tea! (Although we must never say “never”…you know what happens then.) Did you know the LaPointe sisters were my daughter’s best friends in high school?

  17. Well, that’s that’s what happens when one is having too much fun. I’ve had allergic rashes at various times. The very best treatment is: apple cider vinegar added to a bath and then soak in that for about 20 minutes or longer. Full tub of water and add about 1-2 quarts of cheap store brand apple cider vinegar. If you need to soak again, purchase a store brand of Epson salts and pour about 3-4 cups in a tub of water and soak in that for 20 minutes or more. I swear by these two inexpensive items that no household should be without. I also drink one teaspoon of apple cider in a full glass of water. Apple cider detoxifies your body. Do not drink the Epson salts. It is therapeutic topically and also is a fairly good pain reliever. Athletes use it all the time. You can continue to take Benadryl orally if the rash is really bad. I hope you will not need any prednisone, but that med will have you fixed up in no time. Good luck, Kathy and I hope that you are back to having fun soon.

    • Kathy says:

      Yvonne, I do so enjoy hearing about these homemade remedies. My itching has basically stopped, but will remember the apple cider vinegar remedy. I often add apple cider vinegar to salad dressing recipes. As for Epson salts, one of the teachers at work asked if I had tried it. Had completely forgotten about it! Thank you for all your good advice. Sometimes these methods are so much more effective than the pharmacy. (And that’s from the daughter of a pharmacist!)

      • Great. Now don’t forget about the Epson salts. 🙂 Kathy even pharmacist might advice a home rememdy. Some Mds as well. It just depends and these things actually work if the problem is not really severe. If you are exposed to poison ivy/oak/sumac all you need to do is immediately apply 70% alcohol. It works because I’ve tried it on my hands and arms. But you must use it within a few minutes of exposure. In the past, when I was more active outdoors, I carried a bottle of alcohol along with my garden tools.

        • Kathy says:

          Actually, yes, I’ve gotten some good advice from pharmacists over the years. (My two brothers are pharmacists, too, and one is really health conscious.) I am sitting here repeating your advice in my head. Oh I hope to remember this! 70% alcohol, right away. Thank you!

  18. So sorry to hear about your itchy predicament, Kathy. Hope you find some relief soon. Every winter I itch from dry skin and use lots of moisturizer lotion to keep it manageable. But spider bites are the worst – the itching drives me bonkers!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Barbara, and thank you for your kind words. My itching has mostly stopped as of today, happy to report. Ahh, yes, dry skin. I wonder if most of us northerners suffer from it, especially those of us who love hot baths and showers. May we remain spider bite-free all this year…

  19. tbocklund says:

    With the itch of poison ivy, our magic cure was to hit the itch with the hottest setting of a blow dryer, and blow until you almost can’t stand it. It works!

    • Kathy says:

      Terri, thanks for the blow dryer tip. Another person suggested it, as well. Fortunately, my itches have subsided for now. Will remember this for the next bout of sun poisoning…or whatever… 🙂

  20. Carol says:

    Oh yes, I have itched! I once created a flower bed in what turned out to have been a patch of poison ivy. Husband signed up at the local Y to swim a few years ago, but the pool was heavily chlorinated and he was allergic. Major itching. Perhaps you can find a pool less chlorinated?

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Carol, I simply can not imagine the horror of creating that flower bed in a poison ivy patch. Once I rolled in a patch of poison ivy. That story can not be told in a public setting. As for finding a less chlorinated pool, we’re lucky to have ONE public swimming pool here in our area. About an hour north of us they have a salt-water pool. That would be so cool, but it’s a little far to travel.

  21. Lori D says:

    Oh no. You finally get back to the water, and, ack! Hope the rash is clearing up by now, Kathy. Take care of yourself.

    • Kathy says:

      Hello Lori D, it’s so nice to see you. The rash is clearing up nicely–actually, pretty much gone. Until the next bout. Which will probably be sun poisoning in your Florida sun. But why am I predicting that? Perhaps this year will prove an exception!

  22. Kathy — By the time you read this I hope the incessant itching has ceased, or at least minimized. Out of control itching is right up there with torture. The only time I even came close was when I had my plaster cast for a broken ankle. The itch was right where I could — almost — reach it with a chopstick. When the cast finally came off and I could put Cetaphil cream on my leg, it was like walking through the gates of Heaven — sheer bliss!

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, what a correct predictor you were! The incessant itching is no more. Thank all the stars in heaven. Hey, I DO remember when you had the plaster cast itch. Oh, you poor thing. To itch and not even be able to scratch! I love the chopstick relief. Almost relief. So glad neither of us is itching right now.

  23. sybil says:

    Oh dear. Scratching and picking at sores is my go-to OCD thing. My arms and legs bear the scars … but … at least I don’t smoke. lol

    I hope your itch is all gone.

    Kind makes you wonder what’s in that water.

    Some pools don’t use Chlorine but rather some sort of blue light, or reverse osmosis or dancing faeries system … perhaps as a controlled experiment you could find one of those and see if you get the itch again.

    • Kathy says:

      Hello Ms. Sybil. I almost started scratching again after reading your first sentence. Luckily, the itchies have (mostly) disappeared. May they stay far, far away. Amen. We really have so few pools to chose from in our neck of the woods. There are two in our county, and only one that offers public swimming. Mentioned to someone that about an hour north of here they have a salt-water pool. That sounds sublime. As for a *dancing faeries system*….you made that up, right?

  24. lisaspiral says:

    itching is no fun! I have itch stitches days still. I have itchy allergy shot days (and sometimes days later that spot itches like crazy). But it’s been a long time since I’ve had itchy rash. Feel better!

  25. Heather says:

    Oh no! Sorry to hear that you’ve rashed out, but happy that you’re enjoying the pool. And jumping in the pool isn’t something you should’ve felt ashamed about (which I know you know now when it’s unhelpful…). That was and remains one of my favorite things to do in the water 🙂
    And I can unfortunately share an itchy tale: I’ve had kinesio tape on my knee to help with my physical therapy. I wore it every day for the better part of three weeks. One evening, I went to pull my pants leg up from the bottom to inspect something behind my knee. I accidentally grabbed a frayed end of tape and ripped a section loose like a band-aid. Shortly thereafter, I was itching like mad and had to take all the tape off. I have had a giant itchy rash on my right knee for nearly two weeks now. I am also familiar with the benadryl to sleep through the itching 😉
    Good luck with yours – mine is finally clearing up!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh dear, Heather, to think we’ve BOTH been itching! (And about the same time, too.) You will be happy to hear that mine is cleared up, as well. Are you getting this marvelous warm sunny melting weather down in the Lower? It is so gorgeous up here. 60 degrees yesterday! I went for a long walk with a friend before the school board meeting, as well as a walk in the morning. It felt like heaven. It’s in the 40’s today and looking so inviting. Except the driveway keeps varying between a slush pond and a skating rink where you need creepers. Happy spring!

      • Heather says:

        My rash still persists. Can you imagine – two weeks and it’s just an odd response to the tape pulling my skin and causing tiny tears. Not even real contact dermatitis.
        Yes – we’ve had joyous weather! And your driveway sounds like ours. Thankfully, ours is pretty short, and drains well, so I’m hoping that clears up soon. Happy spring to you too, my friend!

        • Kathy says:

          Oh darn! I was hoping you’d be all better, too. It’s not fair! (as one of my kids used to insist.) Happy melting–and hope that rash clears up asap.

  26. bobz1961 says:

    I will review the literature on anti pruitic medicine. I think OTC 1% hydrocortisone maybe! Enjoyed reading the posts daily life is such things…

    • Kathy says:

      Bobz, thank you for that advice. The hydrocortisone might have been a very good choice. Luckily, the itching has disappeared. Will keep this in mind for next time. Good to see you.

  27. I itch to write; I itch to read; I itch to take a walk; I itch to spend an hour with a friend over a cup of tea; I itch to hug a grandchild; I itch to snuggle up with my guy. But fortunately, I have never itched like you do. Sounds like an awful itch, an itch that can only go away with sleep and time. May time and rest soothe the itch and bring you back to jumping, blogging, and swimming (only, maybe, in a lake or an ocean???) xo

    • Kathy says:

      To think there are so many ways we can itch–in a good way! Truly, I have never thought of itchies in a positive way, and now you’ve turned my head around 180 degrees! The itch did disappear, thank you kindly, and I shall be headed toward an ocean next week, so you never know. 🙂

  28. dorannrule says:

    Glad you are emerging from the itchies pretty much unscathed. I have come to depend on Benadry “Lotion” for any such outbreak. No sleepy side effects. With summer en route, I know I will try the recommended Benadryl spray too. 🙂 It would be a shame to have to avoid the pool.

    • Kathy says:

      Dor, I simply must buy some Benadryl lotion, pronto, for the next itching fun. And the spray! We are going to the “city” shopping tomorrow and will put this on the list. How nice to see you! I hope you are enjoying the coming of spring. We had 60 degrees yesterday, so it must have been spring-like in Virginia!

  29. Debi says:

    Sorry for the itches! I used to get a rash from hot tubs. Ugh! And I LOVE hot tubbin’. Hope you’ll be able to get back in the water soon. It IS a great way to combat cabin fever! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Debi, thank you. I am not sure I told the whole story in this blog, but the first itches I got (the first week of water aerobics) came from the hot tub. Then there were three itch-free swimming days before this latest bout hit. It IS a great way to combat cabin fever! Hey, are you enjoying this warm weather in your neck of the woods? It is fabulous here!

  30. I Wilkerson says:

    I just started swimming lessons Kathy! I was never much of a swimmer, but need some more hip friendly exercise than ballet(I’ll be posting on this in a week or so). My skin is definitely itchy but I guess I feel lucky now. Glad you are starting to itch less per recent comments…

    • Kathy says:

      Inger, I am so happy for you! Will have to wander over and read your post, but may miss it because I’m going to Florida. If I miss it, do send me a link. What I loved about water aerobics especially (besides jumping) was the way my hips felt so good. So can see how swimming lessons would be good for you. Yes, the itchies have subsided. The weather is so nice I’ve taken to walking outside and it feels wonderful. Bet you are getting some of the warmth, too.

  31. susanblake says:

    Hope you are much better! Taking trips to Mexico and the islands over years, I thought, I too, was allergic to the sun or something. Always got rashes and blisters, made my trip horrible. Some left permanent (or so I thought) spots/freckles on my chest. Welllll, turns out I was allergic to the darn sunscreens (I tried them all) and since I’ve moved to Fla. all I use is shea butter. No rash. No blisters from the sun. And ya know what? All those freckly things on my chest are GONE.

    As for the chlorine in pools, I have a non-chlorine hot tub. BUT, it’s really important to shower off with a gentle soap anyway. We transdermally absorb chemicals – not good! The only time this is a GOOD thing (to absorb thru the skin) is when you soak in magnesium (epsom salts) because 90% of the population is magnesium deficient. This is also a great “cure” for restless leg syndrome!
    Hugs,
    Susan

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, THANK YOU! I am immediately excited about shea butter and have ordered some shipped to my parent’s condo in Florida. It should be there when I arrive. Oh, I SO hope it works! Am taking your good words to heart and hope the skin will, too. Blessings my Florida friend, Kathy

  32. Karma says:

    Oh dear, I would be so very sad if chlorinated water caused this affiction in me! Did you know that Benedryl makes a gel form for your skin that does actually temporarily relieve itch? You are probably in Florida now, so I wish you a wonderful itch-free time!

    • Kathy says:

      Good Sunday morning, Karma! I just bought some of that Benadryl for the skin and will bring it to Florida later this week. Hopefully it will work (along with the shea butter that Susan recommended in the comment up above). Not in Florida yet. Doing the count-down thing. 🙂

  33. laurabennet says:

    Yes, but mine is due to a struggle with mold illness. Rashes are my body’s way of trying to rid it of the mold therein residing! And yes, I’m in a cycle now and succumbed to Benadryl last week (which I never do on account of severe drug reactions) because this time was so bad and painful as well. Slept better for 3 days. =) Couldn’t help but notice your mention to Fort Myers which is my new residence as of late September. LOVE it here 🙂 as apparently you do too.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Laura, I just got back from Fort Meyers Beach yesterday. It was so lovely to spend a week down there with my mom and dad. So glad you like it! I love the place, although sometimes wonder how the summers would be. So sorry to hear about your mold illness. And the fact that it’s painful. Many blessings and quick healing….

  34. Robin says:

    Yikes. I know how that is. I have sensitive skin, too. I itch from sunscreen (use zinc now and that works wonders without the itch), perfumes, some soaps, all sorts of things. Even the ocean gives me a rash. Okay, it’s not the ocean. It’s a thing called Swimmer’s Itch or Bather’s Rash, and it’s caused by jellyfish larvae. I hope your rash has cleared up and that you are back to jumping. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Hello, Ms. Robin. I read your sensitive skin challenges with great interest and itched along empathetically. Have had swimmer’s itch from Lake Superior too, although not from jellyfish larvae. From some other bacteria caused by ducks or geese or something. Actually tried shea butter (recommended by a friend in the comments here) this time with some success. Turns out I AM probably allergic to sunscreen rather than the sun. However, did get too much sun on the second day out on the boat, so will have to be a bit more cautious next trip. Perhaps will try the zinc. Someone said it goes on white. Can you rub it in? P.S. The pool down in Florida did not have as much chemicals/chlorine, so I could swim easily. It was so fun. 🙂

      • Robin says:

        If it’s just zinc, it doesn’t rub in, but they do make products now with mostly zinc that are easy to rub in, not too greasy, and don’t make me itch (or make my eyes burn, which some sunscreens do). Glad to hear you had fun, and that the swimming was good. 😀

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

