Studies in birch on Mother’s Day

Birch stand

Three friends

Scattered limbs, scattered pick-up sticks

Two birch

Birch up in the sky

Grandfather Birch's lazy eye...looking at you.

Up in the sky again, this time with dreams of birch bark baskets

Birch curl--for you--on Mother's Day

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Studies in birch on Mother’s Day

  1. Elisa's Spot says:

    MMMMMMMMMMMMM birch up in the sky!!! Stretch and curl up small, stretching to the inside until it all comes back up and out back into the world!

  2. Brenda Hardie says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ oh thank you dear Kathy for these beautiful birch offerings! I especially love the “Birch up in the sky” picture…breathtaking! The pussy willows were lovely yesterday too! The looked so lush and soft.
    Happy Momma’s Day to you sweet Kathy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sybil says:

    Happy Mother’s day !

    Love the birch curl.

  4. Susan Derozier says:

    What a mentor our trees are. Grounded yet reaching to the heavens with their beauty. You truly capture the soul of things Kathy and lift us into other realms with your amazing talent. Happy Mother’s Day!

  5. You did a magnificent job of the “up in the sky” photos Kathy. It feels exactly as if you are there yourself, looking up into the heights of the trees and the sky beyond. Love the bark too. These trees have so much character!

  6. Dawn says:

    My favorites are the light in the first picture and the birch curl at the end. Happy Mother’s Day to you Kathy!!

  7. Susan D says:

    Oh, how delightful! I love birches – they’re so clean, yet mysterious and full of wonder. Gorgeous photos. I hope you had an amazing Mama’s Day, Kathy Lady.

  8. jeff v says:

    nice photos! there aren’t many prettier sites than a stand of birch . wondering if you have ever tapped a birch in spring and drank the sap? my mother in law , a native of Estonia tells me that it was a spring ritual in the old country , an elixir of sorts i guess.

  9. lynnekovan says:

    Birch trees always remind me of Nova Scotia. Lovely silvery trunks against blue skies. Formative memories. Love your photos!

  10. wolfsrosebud says:

    Someone had fun snapping photos… lovely.

  11. holessence says:

    I loooooooooovvvvvvvvvveeeeeeee these photographs!

  12. Colleen says:

    Kathy, I love your up-in-the-sky perspective!! Will be scrolling back to have another look ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. holessence says:

    Kathy – You may not know this, but your blog — LAKE SUPERIOR SPIRIT was mentioned over on WONDERS IN THE DARK. At about the midway point in my interview with Sam Juliano, you’ll find it. Here’s a link: http://wondersinthedark.wordpress.com/2011/05/09/laurie-buchanan-a-tireless-crusader-for-premium-health-and-mental-well-being/#comment-49561

  14. Karma says:

    I love birch trees. That is all. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. I’ve always liked birch trees ๐Ÿ™‚
    Hope you enjoyed your Mother’s Day.

  16. Birch and larch trees are my favourites so your post is a real gift ! Thank you. I particularly like the last picture, birch curls, looks like a heart to me. I have heard of this tradition of drinking the sap of a birch tree in the Spring (see jeff vยดs comment) So did they in Russia too. I was told it would bring happiness to the newly weds.

  17. Barbara Rodgers says:

    These pictures are full of a lovely energy, Kathy! I LOVE them all! One of the reasons we bought our condo was because it had two birch trees in the front and on the side. Later I found out the Birch is my guardian tree on the Celtic moon calendar (born December 24-January 20). It is the tree of initiation. Thank you for sharing these spectacular images! They made my day!

  18. Kathy says:

    I am sure the magnificent birch trees appreciate your admiration, dear commenters. They are waving their green buds in the sky with joy that you stopped by to enjoy their beauty. Thank you all!

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...

