Vegetable scrap smiley for our company

Company arrives in about four hours. Our friend, Dave, said he’d be here by noon but messaged to say he’s running late. He’s coming from the eastern Upper Peninsula in his camper van. He’s been snowshoeing and skiing near the Tahquamenon Falls this past week and wondered how the ice fishing might be in the Keweenaw Bay?

Barry said come. Their usual first-ice spot off Jentoft Road will probably be safe by early this week. The next better fishin’ hole by Whirl-i-gig might even freeze. It’s too early to fish for lake trout near Pequaming, but you can see ice fisherfolk with their tents creeping steadily further offshore every day.

Barry fishes with his buddies, Nancy and Don. They’re game to meet Dave and try their luck this week, too. All looks promising.

Snowplowing in preparation for company

We have been trying to get together with Nancy and Don for a couple of weeks now ever since they gave us a nice boxful of venison. We wanted to pay them back for their generosity, just a little. We tried to take ’em to dinner at Carla’s last weekend but those plans went *poof* and it’s too complicated to explain why. So we invited them to come for dinner with Dave tonight.

They shall arrive at 5, give or take. Usually I would be in a wild house cleaning frenzy, but something has been relaxing on the house cleaning front as I get older. Plus, it’s mid-winter. The sun usually refuses to shine (except, hey, right now it’s shining, hmmmm) so who cares about dirty winter windows? If your visitors come at 5 p.m. who’s going to notice corner cobwebs? (Please don’t point out that Dave will notice ’em because he’ll be here during daylight hours. It’s simply okay. Life is too short to worry over-much about cleaning. I am learning this lesson at age 64.)

We’re having a summer-themed dinner to celebrate the official start of ice fishin’ season. I found a fun turkey meatloaf recipe last month. Tonight will mix ground turkey with ground venison and–wa-la!–let’s hope it tastes good. If not, have a beer or two. Or a sip of red wine from that bottle chillin’ in the basement. (Not everyone drinks, so I have no antidote for the non-drinkers if they don’t like it.) Add potato salad, baked beans, coleslaw. And Nancy will bring dessert, thank you kindly, my dear friend!

It’s good with the turkey. We’ll see how it goes with venison added in.

Dave is one of Barry’s buddies from way back. Barry’s family moved to Rochester, MI, from Royal Oak somewhere around sixth grade. Dave lived on the end of their street and they soon became fast friends. Building forts, designing things. Behaving and misbehaving, like all junior high schoolers. In high school they lived in the metal shop building snowmobiles, dune buggies, trailers, guy stuff.

They kinda lost track of each other after their college days, but last summer he called unexpectedly to say he’d just visited Isle Royale and might he stop by with his camper van? Yes, we said, and the visit stretched into a week. He and Barry made up for lost time and hiked, drove and meandered across our beautiful county. They also worked on projects in our garage. It was just like the old days, right? Except they got to know the adult versions of each other.

I liked that they did their own thing–just like they’re going to this week. Besides making dinner in the evenings I’m suddenly freed of winter chores. No needing to haul kindling, rake the roof, fill the wood room. How cool is that?

Our firewood logs covered with snow

That’s the news from Lake Wobegon, any of you Prairie Home Companion fans. That’s the news from our little house in the woods of Aura on a sunny morning in mid-February.

Want the backstory about the first photo? We save kitchen scraps for the deer and usually throw them willy-nilly under the oak tree. Because we’re having company I begged my husband to toss the vegetables somewhere anywhere where the visitors wouldn’t see them.

That was his answer. He drew a smiley face with potato and carrot peels, cabbage pieces and radishes. What a wise guy! Finches, pine grosbeaks and chickadees added to the artwork with their tracks in the snow.

Wishing you all a Happy Valentine’s Day in your neck of the woods. ❤ Hoping there’s a smiley face somewhere in your world today.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in February 2022 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Vegetable scrap smiley for our company

  1. Laurie Quain Galia says:

    Thank you Kathy for your fun, interesting blog. It is a bright light for these dreary February days. Recently, I read your blog about getting a firewood delivery to my husband. He grew up in Detroit then moved to Petoskey. He said your story brought back so many memories of how he had to learn how to keep an up north house warm.

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, how nice to hear from you today! Glad you are enjoying reading these little stories. I just read my husband your comment by your husband. Happy that this brought back warm memories for him. 🙂

  2. Dale says:

    Sounds to me like a perfect day, Kathy! And honestly, I have come to realise that people don’t fret about a few dust motes. Life is too short to be spent scrubbing our knuckles off, I say!
    I love that your husband and Dave have reconnected. Life is full of wonderful happenings like this.

    • Kathy says:

      Down with the dust motes! Dale, don’t you wish you could sometimes go back to your younger self and give advice? This is one message I would tell her. Dave is here now and he and Barry are out inspecting the camper van. Nancy and Don should be here in an hour. Thank you for you!

  3. leelah saachi says:

    Smiling food for the deers – now, that is something that makes me smile. Much love to you!

  4. Stacy says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you, too, Kathy! XOXO

    • Kathy says:

      Stacy, I hope you are having a wonderful Valentine’s Day. I know who your little valentine is today, lol! (Oh and maybe your husband too.) *smile*

  5. Happy Valentine’s Day. We’re on a “sun” vacation and I must admit, I feel about 100% lighter and brighter than I did in NE winter weather. I try meditating myself into warmth when it’s 10 degrees out, but I need much more practice. Ice fishing is so out of my realm, and I highly honor those who can do it. Cobwebs? Shobwebs. Cobwebs mean you have healthy spiders. 🙂 Enjoy your company. Giving comfort and food to friends is a high form of celebrating Valentine’s. xo

    • Kathy says:

      I saw that picture in Facebook and imagined you lounging in the beautiful Hawaii sun. Lucky you. I would give anything to be in the light & bright some days. We had a great Valentine’s dinner with friends last night and all is well in our little neck of the woods. The ice fishermen have headed out and I am trying to figure out what mischief can be done in their absence. Ha ha!

  6. john k says:

    We so appreciate your updates from Lake Wobegon! Please let Barry and Nancy know how much their weekly writing is missed.

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, John. I read them your comment and they appreciated you saying so. (Barry, however, gets into reading and editing these blogs more these days–especially when it’s about him. I gave him permission to change whatever facts I may have confused.) Really happy to hear from you!

  7. Val Boyko says:

    Love that happy veggie face in the snow ⛄️ Hope you had fun with your friends❣️

  8. Debbie says:

    I suspect your company will be so busy catching up and enjoying the feast that they won’t bother running their fingers over the door frames to see if you dusted! Enjoy, Kathy!

  9. Nancy Joan Besonen says:

    I’ve got a big vegetable scrap smile on my face after our wonderful evening together. So glad the restaurant plan fell through–you can’t beat a late winter summer themed meal at Chez Drues–and the company rates four star, make it five. Thank you for the meal and the memories, and this sweet blog that captures the day. Like the fish we captured the next day. But that is another story . . .

    • Kathy says:

      Nancy, I do love that you read this blog and even stop to comment! An ex-reporter like yourself may want to consider writing a blog yourself? But no–you guys are done with the writing shenanigans, right? Thanks for coming over and being with us. And congratulations on the BIG fish you caught yesterday. So cool!

  10. Ally Bean says:

    I like photos of winter snow that I don’t have to shovel. Therefore yours are perfection. I agree with you about cleaning the house less diligently, especially in mid-winter when the sun usually refuses to shine brightly enough inside the house to reveal any dirt. I trust your dinner party was fun.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Ally Bean! Hope you are enjoying a smiley or two this weekend. The dinner party was fun, no one got covid, we laughed a lot. Barry’s friend left Thursday. Glad you agree about the house cleaning attitude. 😍

  11. I am sure the deer appreciated the big smiley and enjoyed their dinner as much as your friends did. I was smiling as I read your entire post because I felt like I was there. Glad there was less cleaning. Haha. Big hugs, Kathy!

  12. Tilly travel says:

    Love the smiley face, I hope you enjoyed your evening.

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...