Storms never last do they baby?

Storms never pass do they baby?

Storms never pass do they baby?

Storms never last do they baby?

Bad times all pass with the winds

Your hand in mine stills the thunder

And you make the sun want to shine…

Seriously, folks, you can be enjoying a *somewhat* warm Sunday afternoon with your “baby” when suddenly the conversation turns to old songs.  (A song  which this particular blogger never knew until five minutes ago after her “baby” started rather mockingly singing this old-time classic and she Googled to discover a Jessi Colter and Waylon Jennings version and now, maybe, she’ll remember at least until tomorrow morning as she ponders “Storms never last, do they, baby?”)

What is it about a catchy tune?  A tune which has the power to jingle, jolt, jab, sing, dance you from your very ordinary day?  And what is it about old-time songs, songs from our childhood, or before our childhood, maybe our parent’s childhood, songs from long-ago, which sing us into a place where our heart throbs, who knows why?  Maybe because we remember our Mama or Papa singing it while they made Wonder Bread & peanut butter & jelly sandwiches, who the heck knows?

Storms of our making

Storms of our making

Then Barry mentioned the Yellow Rose of Texas, be still this crazy memory-beating heart.  I remember listening this on a 45 rpm record in the cool basement of my childhood home when I was maybe seven tiny years old.

There’s a yellow rose in Texas that I am gonna see
Nobody else could miss her, not half as much as me
She cried so when I left her, it like to broke my heart
And if I ever find her we never more will part

She’s the sweetest little rosebud that Texas ever knew
Her eyes are bright as diamonds, they sparkle like the dew
You may talk about your Clementine and sing of Rosa Lee
But the Yellow Rose of Texas is the only girl for me

Man oh man, talk about memories, I’ve been in love with that Yellow Rose in Texas since I was knee-high to a grasshopper, no matter that she’s a girl.  I LOVE that song!

OK, here it is, you young’uns:  http://youtu.be/k1m1b07jYcM

I am still heart-broken that the little Texas rosebud left me, replaced by Jimi Hendricks and the Doors and Cat Stevens, bless his Budda’d heart.

OK, maybe a yellow buttercup, same difference, doncha think?

OK, maybe a yellow buttercup, same difference, doncha think?

I can still remember sitting in my childhood basement, the 45 rpm record spinning, my heart singing, life all sparkling “like the dew” wide open in possibility.

What old-time songs do you love?  Please share!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in May 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Storms never last do they baby?

  1. Stacy says:

    I am always taken back to my childhood whenever I hear anything by the Moody Blues – they were my mom’s favorite and were always on the record player. When I wax nostalgic about my high school days, it’s Rush or Yes that I want to hear. 🙂

  2. Fountainpen says:

    Ah yes, ah yes….

  3. Herman’s Hermits: Mrs. Brown You’ve Got A Lovely Daughter

  4. Susan D says:

    Love this! My grandfather liked cowboy songs, so Yellow Rose of Texas was a favorite of mine, too. My very favorite “grandpa” song, though, was Cowboy’s Lament (as I walked out on the Streets of Laredo). That man could sing that song and I was fascinated with the story.

    Yes, I graduated to loving Hendricks, the Doors, Cat Stevens, Eric Clapton, The Who, Queen, and of course ALL of Simon and Garfunkel’s stuff… such great tunes for teen-aged and early 20s angst!

    Thanks for the memories and the fun today, Kathy!

  5. John Kuttenberg says:

    Wow, a Mom song, I’ll Be Loving You Always. Junior year summer school history, Smoke On The Water. Freshman and sophomore year, James Taylor, Carol King, Carley Simon. Junior high, Simon and Garfunkel, Neil Diamond. Kid 45 RPM 76 Trombones from The Music Man.

    Just last week I was discussing American Pie with the girl I was dating at that time (Sophomore year). Music really is the story of our lives.

  6. “When the red, red robin comes bob, bob bobbin’ along”….my mother sang it to us and I sang it to my children. When Mom lay dying, and we’d run out of words, my sister, Cheryl, and I pulled out that song, “You are my Sunshine”, “the Red River Valley”, and any others we could remember, and sang until my sister, Robin, suggested we might be shortening Mom’s life with our out of tune renditions of her favorite songs!

  7. Elisa says:

    Melanie Safka!! Many of the rest trigger not so good memories that I’d rather remain without. I have a really different time trying to remember songs and artists. I hear the sound and I know if it is ‘right’ at the time. Another time, it might not be.

  8. It may sound funny, but one of my favorite songs since I was young is “The Old Rugged Cross”

  9. Heather says:

    One of my all time forever favorites is the Beatles’ “Maxwell’s Silver Hammer,” because I remember my parents playing the record in their livingroom, and all of us goofily singing along.
    Ain’t it funny how a melody can bring back memory? Take you to another place in time…completely change your state of mind. (Name that tune!)

  10. rehill56 says:

    I loved singing “to dream the impossible dream” and “Born free!” Loved the Monkees, Petula Clark, the Fifth Dimension! I had older sisters and loved their songs as well. Those are some that are first to come to mind…my little 13 year old heart singing loud to the little record player.

  11. Lori D says:

    I just finished a blog draft about my favorite music. If you consider 30 years ago old time songs, mine will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for sharing those that sing to your soul.

  12. Barb says:

    Kathy, We’ve been listening to 60’s music as we make our way through UT. It reminds us of dancing cheek to cheek. Sometimes Bob would play his guitar and sing for me – we still have that old guitar, in fact.

  13. Nice post Kathy. I’m not a huge fan of Country and Western music but I like this song vey much. Beauifully rendered by Coulter and Jennings. Really pretty and in the way Coulter shows her love in that song. I have the feeling that she wrote that song with her husband Waylon in mind.

    There are so many songs that I like. “Blue Berry Hill” by Fats Dominio, “His Eye is on the Sparrow” by Mahalia Jackson. Music by artists that I like The Kingston Trio, Little Richard, and all the rest of the 50’s and 60’s music makers.I think those years had the best songs of all time or maybe not. 🙂

  14. Brenda Hardie says:

    Kathy, I’m probably going to be staying awake all night, keeping watch over my old girl, Chloe (14 year old dog) who hurt her front leg tonight. 😦 So, I’m looking up the songs I remember from my youth that my parents used to play on records. And my favorite music when I had my first radio to listen to by myself, and the first choices of records and cassettes. My parents used to listen to Patsy Cline (my Mom’s voice was just like hers!), Jim Reeves, Gene Autry, Conway Twitty, Johnny Cash, The Statler Brothers, Glen Campbell, Charley Pride, George Jones, Fats Domino, Chubby Checker, and other music from that era. They loved country music and gospel music—and polka music (not my favorite). I remember my first favorite music…Tommy James and the Shondells 🙂 Sweet Cherry Wine and Crimson and Clover were 2 of my favorites. Then my taste began to change somewhat and I liked, The Eagles, Marshall Tucker Band, Eric Clapton, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Bob Dylan, Willie Nelson, Cat Stevens, James Taylor, America, Rod Stewart and from there, my favorites were mostly pop rock and southern rock.
    Once in awhile I spend time listening to all this old music and let it take me back in time, savoring memories of my youth. Isn’t it funny how music can take us back like that. One song and there we go, traveling back in time and it feels like we’re right back there, living it over again. And thankfully for me, most of those memories are happy ones. ♥
    Thank you for sharing yours too 🙂

  15. sybil says:

    Even thought I’m Canadian, I can sing “The Yellow Rose of Texas”.

    I recall some funny songs:

    The One-Eyed-One-Horned- Flying-Purple-People-Eater. (#1 song in 1958)
    and
    The Itsy bitsy teenie weeny yellow Polka Dot Bikini (that she wore for the first time today) (#1 in 1960)
    and
    Keep your mind on your driving, keep your hands on the wheel, keep your snoopy eyes on the road ahead. We’re having fun, sitting in the back seat, kissing and hugging with Fred. (#1 in 1959)
    Here it is on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u1cjaheraq8
    and of course
    The Chipmunks and AAALVINNN !!

    Any of these ring a bell ?

  16. P.j. grath says:

    One of my grandfathers loved “Red River Valley,” so I do, too. “Red, Red Robin,” mentioned by someone else, always reminds me of my old dog. Don’t ask me why, except that after she died I couldn’t get that song out of my head for weeks. “Unchained Melody,” by the Everly Brothers — and by the way, there’s a new sister duo recording of old Everly Brothers songs. So, so many!!! I am happy to have been alive in the Age of the Beatles, from “I Wanna Hold Your Hand” to the later, more sophisticated tunes. What is better than going through a day “With a Song in My Heart”?

  17. Karma says:

    Elton John songs bring me back to my childhood. “Benny and the Jets” was one of my first favorites when I was about 5 years old. I have memories too of singing “eaten alive” to the tune of the Bee Gee’ s “Stayin’ Alive” while my childhood best friend, my sister and I took an early evening walk while being “eaten” by mosquitoes, LOL!

  18. msmcword says:

    I love “The Yellow Rose of Texas”-I just listened to it on one of my CD’s this past weekend. I have too many other old-time favorites to list but some of them are “Dance With Me Henry”; “Spanish Eyes” (my all-time favorite) and “A Guy Is A Guy” by Doris Day.

    How sad that all these wonderful songs are no longer played on the radio.

  19. I WIlkerson says:

    I think old songs are most heartwarming–anything from high school, or childhood, or random special memories. What a smile this post brought!

  20. lisaspiral says:

    I still remember my Grandma singing
    “Mairzy doats and dozy doats and liddle lamzy divey
    A kiddley divey too, wouldn’t you?”

  21. Sheryl says:

    I love the picture of the children running in the rain that you used to illustrate this post.

  22. Kathy – I’m a day late, but here! I clearly remember “Wonder Bread & peanut butter & jelly sandwiches.”

    I read through everyone else’s favorite songs and can guarantee you that I’m going to have tunes playing through my head all day long!

    I adored any songs by The Carpenters or Captain and Tennille. But the song I sang the most was Tony Orlando and Dawn’s “Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round the Old Oak Tree.”

  23. Peter, Paul & Mary – Puff the Magic Dragon and Where Have All the Flowers Gone?
    James Taylor – You’ve Got a Friend

  24. The first pop song I learned all the words to, sang ALL the time and still know how to sing is “Mack the Knife.” And I’m still intrigued by that song! And I don’t care if that dates me!

  25. Music was such a big part of my life growing up that almost every conversation I have reminds me of a song – or a Bill Cosby skit. (My best friend and I could recite almost every one after listening to his records over and over!) Thanks for the memories! 🙂

  26. Twilight Time reminds me of my grandmother.
    El Paso reminds me of my dad….what is it about songs about Texas?

    Music can certainly connects us to time and place.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

