Palm Sunday with fishermen at the Big Huron River

Waterfalls at the Big Huron River

 Of course, I forgot it was Palm Sunday until evening.  But it was, indeed. 

The afternoon felt downright chilly.  In the 30’s.  Brrrr…. You have to layer your exterior clothing again.  First, find a hooded sweatshirt.  Then wrap the fleece around it.  Find a hat.  Dig out your new soft brown work gloves, with which you can easily operate the camera.  (Don’t despair!  It will be in the 60’s later this week!  Don’t despair!  April is peeking at us from Thursday, luring us forward like the fish at the bottom of the Huron River.) 

Steelhead fishermen

 Off we drove to the Big Huron River because A)  Barry needed to take photos for our weekly newspaper.  One of his reporters was writing a fish story and he promised her the accompanying photos, and B) We have lots of fond memories of traveling places together last year in order to fulfill the 365 day outdoor blog commitment and C) hey, didn’t it sound like an easy half-way interesting blog for Palm Sunday?  (That is, until the beet blog upstaged it…) 

Every year the fishermen descend upon the rivers this time of year.  The steelhead trout swim up the streams and rivers to spawn.  It’s an age-old tradition here in the North Woods.  Men, women, and children scurry to the river and throw in a line.  Everyone wants the Elusive Trout. 

Curves of stone and river

 Some folks fly fish, dancing their bait atop the swiftly moving water.  Others spin cast, throwing their line into the depths with spinners, spoons or bits of red or orange yarn.  People camp out at Big Erick’s Bridge, returning season after season.  Some folks build fires along the river.  Camaraderie abounds. 

Fisherfolk are friendly folk.  That’s what my husband tells me, and he should know.  Although he doesn’t go river fishing much, he likes to fish so much that I keep watching to see if he’s growing fins.  He walked up to the first fisherman we saw, and started a conversation while I lingered in the background, nonchalantly snapping photos and thanking all the Fish in the Sea that I don’t have to write factual journalistic stories here in this blog.  I can create a mood and talk in a chatty style and write blogs about beets boiling over.  And still get readers who want to read!  

You can hear the murmur of conversation as you admire the rapids and the fishermen and blink your photographic eye to capture the interesting shots. 

“Doin’ any good?”  “It’s pretty slow.  Caught one this morning.  25 incher and released it.”  “Are you crazy?”  

Fly fisherman (spin casting reel in the foreground. Not his.)

 We crossed the bridge, stomped through some mud, and wandered down along the northern shore of the river.  Talked with some more fisherfolk.  I even conversed with a fellow from Negaunee.  He’d been fishing here forever.  

All the fisherfolk shook their heads and complained about the level of the river.  Way down this year.  Not good.  Fish bit good Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday.  Nothing now. 

Underwater rocks...tree reflections

 I knelt to photograph the underwater views and gasped to see the trees reflected in the water.  Of course, you might as well not even look at the camera to review the pictures.  Half the time they look good on the computer when you thought they were duds; the other half the time they look awful.  Might as well wait until you’re home to assess. 

View of the Huron River from the bridge

 We lingered on the bridge to say goodbye to the river.  I remembered last year’s excursion to the  Huron in October.  Click here if you would like to see the river in another season. 

On the way home we split a Payday bar (a big treat!) and some lemonade.  What a good Sunday adventure.  A good Palm Sunday with fishermen at the Big Huron River.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Palm Sunday with fishermen at the Big Huron River

  1. Kathy – Thank you for taking us along on your fishing journey. I’m a little chilly now; have to go put on my sweater. My favorite photo is “Underwater rocks…tree reflections” — you outdid yourself!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Laurie! I think that’s my favorite photo of the bunch, too. Is it warmer down your way today? It’s reached 60 degrees today! Although the wind is blowing so fiercely. Hope you’ve had a good day.

  2. Dawn says:

    I loved the underwater rock and tree pic too…also really enjoyed the one of the fly fisherman. Good job adding a person to your visuals! The underwater rock one would make a good painting…

  3. Gerry says:

    Fella came into the market tonight and bought three packages of frozen Alaskan pollock. “If you can’t catch it you have to buy it,” he said, shaking his head. “No good out there, eh?” I asked. “Not today. Maybe later in the week.”

    I think the fish are spooked because it hasn’t rained. I think I am spooked because it hasn’t rained.

    • Kathy says:

      Gerry, doncha love those fishermen conversations? And, yes, we’re a bit spooked because of the lack of rain. And now these winds. We’re not even thinking the “wildfire” word. We’re not. Hope you’re not either.

  4. Trudie says:

    Think I need a hover-craft 😛

  5. pajamadays says:

    Beautiful pictures! Your photography is such an inspiration. I just got a new digital camera – hopefully I can learn how to really use it.

    • Kathy says:

      pajamadays, why thank you! I wish you good luck learning to take pics with your digital camera. It will be fun for you to discover all sorts of new things to photograph.

  6. Trout season open earlier in the UP. April 1st it the traditional opening of trout season in New York. With warm and sunny weather being forecast, I can see a lot of fisherfolk playing hokey from work and school. 🙂

    I had a nice relaxing time reading about your Palm Sunday on the river, Kathy.

    • Kathy says:

      Scott, I just consulted with the Family Fishermen about Michigan trout season. He said there are different trout seasons that open at different times. Brook trout season opens April 1st. Hmmm…fascinating…I didn’t know that either. Glad you enjoyed the read.

  7. Kathy I loved the fishing trip you took us on… nice and warm from here:) You captured it with such appreciation and authenticity that it truly was like being there. I actually had a little fire up high on the bank for my tea kettle and to warm my hands.

    • Kathy says:

      Terrill, glad you also enjoyed the fishing trip. It’s fun to write about so many different things. Our lives are quite the mosaic, aren’t they? I would have loved to sip a cup of tea with you by the river. We could talk about creativity and art and so many other things as well.

  8. Cindy Lou says:

    I’m sure my Ricky is counting down the days til this weekend when he can get out there! He loves to fly-fish but a lot of the rivers don’t open for it until the end of the month?!?! John Filpus, our Industrial Tech. teacher, lives in Pelkie but puts his camper out @ Big Eric’s when steelhead season opens and lives out there – quite a commute back and forth every day!

    • Kathy says:

      Ahhh, so Ricky fly-fishes as well as casts! (I am learning about these differences, you can see.) That is quite a commute for John. My goodness. Some of these guys are really serious about their fishing.

  9. Patrick Gouin says:

    I have a cabin in skanee and I’m planning a summer fly fishing trip. I’ve fished by Eric’s bridge with not much luck and was thinking of trying north toward the mouth of the Huron. Can your husband steer me in the right direction? My brother had luck at the mouth but there’s 20 miles of river in between. Any help is appreciated!

  10. Pingback: Adventures of river, old windows and poultry | Lake Superior Spirit

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...