My husband, my hero

Before surgery

We’re home from the hospital, friends!

Barry now sports a new right knee.  He bought his new left knee in April, and now he’s got two lovely replacements, brand spanking new knees, and life  shines–as long as he heals without infection or other evil twists of fate.

Keys

Thus far he’s doing wonderfully.  His spirits are high.  He says he had fun in the hospital. He relaxed, slept, medicated, slept some more, watched TV, and was treated well by staff.

Last night I discovered our Internet pathetically expired during a lightning storm in our absence.

Sailboat

The telephone company wondered if we could install our new modem without their help?

This is where I want to canonize my husband.

Newly home from knee replacement surgery, barely able to limp, he hooks up the modem/wireless router!  What kind of man could accomplish this just out of surgery?

“I’ve never loved you more,” I gushed.

Tansy

He rolled his eyes.

Seriously, Barry, you’re the best.

I mean it.  I truly, truly, mean it!  Quit rolling your eyes!

Joy

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to My husband, my hero

  1. OM says:

    LOL!!! Love-ly!!!!

  2. CMSmith says:

    Wonderful news. Here’s to an uneventful recovery with continued internet access.

    You’re going to be so glad you both did this.

  3. glad he enjoyed the hospital and hope everything continues to go well – he would be my hero too if he hooked up my internet

  4. lisaspiral says:

    Glad he’s doing well and glad to see you’re back!

  5. Great to hear that Barry’s home and feeling well enough to manage a modem crisis. What a guy! Happy healing, Barry!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  6. john says:

    Barry is a man among men. He writes with the best of them. He built his own house. With bad knee(s) he hauled, cut and split wood to heat his home. He installs toilets when any other person would use their condition as a cop-out. He plays gigs with his band with his leg in pain. He is a loving husband and father. He lives his life by the ideals he holds. That modem and router was no match for this man.

    Who da man, He da man. Yep he’s a hero in my book too!

  7. Heather says:

    Yay! So happy surgery went well. Looking forward to a successful recovery on his behalf 🙂

  8. Whoohoo! Home. Hearth. Health. And a Techno Whiz. Life is good!

  9. Carol says:

    New knees, new modem – what could be better?

  10. So glad to hear that everything went well and Barry is doing well.
    Does he give lessons in how not to be a baby after surgery (or while sick)?? If so, I’ll drop Greg off, he could use a few of those lessons 😉

  11. Susan D. says:

    Olympics? What Olympics? We have our own local Iron Man. BARRY, BARRY, BARRY! Glad you’re both home. Happy recovering and lotsa love!

  12. Joanne says:

    You and Barry were really blessed to have met each other all of those years ago back in college. You cheer each other on and stand by each other through thick and thin! Great to hear the op went successfully, and you are both back home again. Sending love and hugs to both of you. 🙂

  13. Kathy says:

    Pssst, shhhh, guys, I think we’re embarrassing him! (He thinks ANYONE can change a modem.) I would have had to hire the telephone company to do it. Ooops, not suppose to be responding to comments, either. It’s been a long few days. soon off to bed. Thanks for your sweet comments–even though Mr. Barry is still rolling his eyes about this blog!

  14. Marianne says:

    Congratulations to Barry for the new knee and the modem hookup! He’s the man!

  15. sdunnebacke says:

    Kathy, if I had a nickel for every time my wife said that very thing! Well, I’d have… oh, never mind. Of course, I’m not sure I could recognize a modem, much less hook it up.

  16. Kathy, I see why he’s your hero! It is certainly heroic to be willing to do such a task fresh out that fun and relaxing hospital stay. I’m happy he got his second knee without a hitch and with a nurse/wife like you by his side I’m sure he’ll heal up just fine!

  17. I had to hire the phone company to hook up my modem. Since that time, and until I mastered the “reset” feature, I have twice called them – sobbing – to figure out the problem. Barry’s a hero in my book! And you’re a lucky lady, Kathy! Best to both of you during the recovery.

  18. sonali says:

    Nice! I like Barry’s spirit. Afterall, who wants to keep in mind the sickness. He chooses to move on & that’s great! 🙂

  19. Lori DiNardi says:

    Here’s to a continued smooth recovery. Go Barry!

  20. sybil says:

    I hear, doing the dishes and hanging out laundry is very good therapy for a new knee. 😉

    • ayla29 says:

      Made me smile. Nothing better than a good old-fashioned (well, not so old-fashioned if you count the new knees but who’s counting?) love story.

  21. So sweat! See he had your back. Lovely!

  22. Susan Derozier says:

    I think he is a hero for not being grouchy, smiling and “having fun in the hospital?” Hello!! Am so glad all went well and it must be wonderful for you both to be back home in your nest. Cheers for continuing recovery. I’m truly impressed!

  23. Emma says:

    Yay, Barry! I hope his recovery goes wonderfully.

  24. Chris Roddy says:

    Congrats on the new knee. Hope everthing goes as it should. Rehab, rehab, rehab!

  25. Brenda Hardie says:

    Well I can’t come back with anything better than what everyone else said so I’ll just say I am very grateful that Barry’s surgery went well and he’s home now. And I am glad he was able to hook up the new modem…by the way, he’s a hero in my book too! So happy for you both! ♥

  26. flandrumhill says:

    Regardless of the health of their knees, husbands can be so very resourceful in ways that make them indispensable. Here’s to you and your recovery Barry. Hopefully Nurse Kathy will have you hopping in no time.

  27. rehill56 says:

    Tell Barry I am thinking of him and trying to remember what it was like that first week. Hugs to you both!

  28. jeffstroud says:

    Hey all is wondrous!

  29. Connie T says:

    Another surgery, he is brave. Hope he heals fast and is not in too much pain.

  30. AnnieR says:

    Excellent news! He is indeed a hero and you are a very lucky damsel in sometimes distress. Hope the healing continues to go well.

  31. From Moments to Memories says:

    So glad Barry is doing well!

  32. Val says:

    Barry has a great wife. Tell him I said that! 🙂 I wish him all the best for his second knee replacement. Is he going bionic next?

  33. lucindalines says:

    Glad Barry is on the mend. I just took an offer to fill in for a teacher who is on bedrest after double knee replacement. They said it will be for two weeks. We shall see. Hope Barry continues to do well and your internet stays intact.

  34. Shruty Sikhamani says:

    Lovely ! 🙂

  35. Dana says:

    Hooray for Barry’s new knees (and his capacity to hook up the modem again!) I hope the recovery has been speedy. 🙂

  36. Kathy says:

    Thanks to all for your kind well wishes for Barry’s knee surgery. It’s over two weeks since the surgery, and he is doing well. He is going to physical therapy three times a week, and is back at work. He does sleep a lot when he’s not elevating his leg at home. Your words cheered him up.

  37. Reggie says:

    Aww, Barry – you rock! You are the best!

  38. Kathy says:

    It’s been a long five weeks, but he continues to heal, day in and day out. He even went fishing yesterday!

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...