Almost Memorial Day weekend walking Marquette’s Lower Harbor

Lower Harbor and Ore Dock in Marquette

Lower Harbor and Ore Dock in Marquette

I so enjoyed a three-mile walk along Marquette’s Lower Harbor on Wednesday. ‘Twas another foggy day with chunks of ice melting in Lake Superior.

Snapped fifty pictures of the ore dock, harbor, fish house, lighthouse, fisherfolk, marina, you name it.

Am enjoying taking photos again–and sharing them with you.

Happy Memorial Day weekend, by whichever harbor you find yourself–even if it’s the harbor of home.

Marquette Marina

Marquette Marina

Marina and ore dock with ice

Marina and ore dock with ice

 

Another view

Another view

 

No boats yet

No boats yet

 

Lower Harbor

Lower Harbor

 

Overs-sized rain coat!

Overs-sized rain coat!

 

Fishing between the ice

Fishing between the ice

 

Thill's Fish House

Thill’s Fish House

 

At the fish dock

At the fish dock

 

Lighthouse in fog

Lighthouse in fog

Even a sighting of Puff the Magic Dragon!

Even a sighting of Puff the Magic Dragon!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in May 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Almost Memorial Day weekend walking Marquette’s Lower Harbor

  1. I always knew that is where Puff resides. Thank you for the walk. Brisk! xoxoxo S

  2. lisaspiral says:

    Those docks look downright eager for the boats to show up. Will it be sails or yachts?

  3. Barb says:

    The child in the raincoat is adorable! Nice pictures..

  4. Wow..you still have a lot of ice up there. The heat is coming your way this weekend which should help melt the rest of it.

  5. I will be celebrating from my harbor of home this weekend, safe and out of the traffic in the mountains of beautiful western North Carolina. Although I did call home Munising Michigan for Five glorious years, thanks for all the pictures of the U.P. they feed my soul, I do miss the U.P. so very much and your posts and pictures bring me back, thank you!

  6. Bonnie says:

    Really neat pictures, Kathy. It’s amazing how much ice is still floating. I felt cold when I looked at the picture of the boy in short sleeves, fishing. Brrrrr. The over-sized raincoat is cute.

  7. Carol says:

    Oh so cold! I enjoyed the walk to the marina, but confess to being happy I was in my warmer place while we walked.

  8. Fountainpen says:

    Does Puff the Magic Dragon stay around watching to see if all the ice
    really melts?

    Fountainpen

  9. love, Love, LOVE it — especially “oversized raincoat”

  10. Heather says:

    So many whimsical photos – I can’t choose a favorite! Love the little girl, and the boy in the pink shoes reminds me so much of my nephew. I’m a touch envious of your lovely fog, but not too much as that does no good 😉 The windows on the fishhouse are delightful. And I saw Puff the Magic Camel, but I suppose him being a dragon does make more sense!
    What a winter! It’s almost June and you’re still surrounded by ice. March really was cold. And perhaps April too.

  11. P.j. grath says:

    All that ice you still have! Last time I was down by that harbor, there were bare-shouldered kayakers on ice-free water. (Of course, that was in September.) Our Lake Michigan water temperature between Leland and South Manitou Island yesterday was, I’m told, 34 degrees. For Memorial Day weekend, that’s pretty darn close to ice in my book.

    Love that little person in the raincoat!

  12. john k says:

    You captured the lake front so perfectly!

  13. MARION DRUE says:

    I MISS MICHIGAN OFTEN BUT THINK I WILL OPT FOR GEORGIA’S NEAR 90’S THIS WEEKEND.
    GEORGIA MOM

  14. dorannrule says:

    It is surely a bit nippy there, but the photos are delightful! I love the little guy in the oversized coat and the magic dragon. And the fish dock makes everything look mysteriously foreign.

  15. dawnkinster says:

    No boats yet and At the fish dock are my favorites. 🙂

  16. Robin says:

    Oh my. This was such a wonderful, beautiful walk. It’s hard to believe you’re looking at ice while we’re cranking up the air conditioning here. I’m pretty sure I’m not meant for this tropical climate, and I found it so refreshing to look at your cool scenes. Thank you. 🙂
    P.S. I particularly like the bright pink on “Fishing between the ice.”

  17. Colleen says:

    Beautiful and evocative photos Kathy. I’ve always been drawn to working harbors like this. Wishing you a happy long weekend!

  18. sonali says:

    Very different pictures Kathy. Memorial day, not sure what exactly it is. trying to read more….
    Nice snaps…

  19. Stacy says:

    Beautiful harbor – harbor of home is always the best place, is it not, Kathy? xo

  20. lucindalines says:

    Love the lighthouse in the fog. I can’t wait to sleep the day away, Memorial Day is my relaxing holiday. Hope the ice is all gone soon. Seeing those guys fishing beside that ice makes me jittery, I can just feel the cold. Hope you have a great weekend, Kathy!

  21. I like the lighthouse in fog pic the most. All of these are very nice. It’s good to see what northern Michigan looks like. But that sure is lots of ice.

  22. Ooh, I love the lighthouse in the fog!
    (I think I need to send some of our warmth up your way to help melt all that ice! 😉 )

  23. sybil says:

    I love the lighthouse in the fog too ! I had to close my eyes for all the images containing ice — sorry.

  24. Dawn says:

    Thanks for linking me to your post – it just looks cold. That father and son fishing – I know this is a dumb thought – but why aren’t the fish frozen solid too? *smile*

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, the fish live beneath the ice all winter. Their metabolism must allow for survival somehow. A lot of people go ice fishing all winter long. (Thanks for asking, not a dumb question at all!)

  25. You make me want to visit. I’m glad you’re sharing pictures again.

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...