Battened down, eating sweet squash pie & not blogging much

Wings from our calendar

Wings from our calendar

Dear friends,

Wishing you well this fine November day, however the day finds you.

Just wanting to let you know that–even though I am not blogging lately–all is well in our Little House in the Big Woods.

We’re almost prepared for winter. Everything battened down, harvested, caulked, put away in shed and garage and house.

On Friday it snowed. Not a lot, mind you, but enough to admire (or decry) on Halloween. The witches and goblins laughed hysterically. Almost an inch remained on the ground Saturday morning. Almost four inches tarried up in the hill country. Today it’s 50 degrees (10 C) and melted.

I made sweet squash pie in an oat-walnut crust yesterday. When you eat a bite or six, the maple syrup tastes like the sap of trees, sweet trees, ever-rising.

Out our window one week ago

Out our window one week ago

Our leaves have fallen to nourish the earth, all the bright colors now resting soft upon the ground, blown hither and yon by Wind’s pleasure.

I don’t know when I shall blog again. Perhaps tomorrow. Perhaps in two weeks. Perhaps after the new year. Perhaps never.

I keep checking in with the inner compass. Is it time to blog again? After six or seven or eight years of intuition saying “Yes, now!” most regularly it lately usually says “No, let’s stay still.”

Thinking of you fondly. Would like a piece of pie? Shall we dollop some vanilla-agave yogurt atop and love it more than whipped cream?

Blessings to all of you. Maple syrup and snow and intuition blessings. May this turning of the season find you well. More than well, I hope.  Or, at the least, looking for the gift in Life’s changing, the presents in the Present–even with its challenges.

That’s what I keep doing, anyway.

Fondly,  Kathy

The Changing

The Changing

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in November 2014 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

89 Responses to Battened down, eating sweet squash pie & not blogging much

  1. Brenda says:

    Ohhh Kathy! These pictures are so breathtaking! I love the colorful leaves in your northwoods. ❤ And the pie sounds so yummy too—please share the recipe. 🙂 I'm trying to get the house ready for winter here too—but my energy level is low after being sick for the past couple months so I need Alex's help with these seasonal chores. He has been busy with school and church activities so I am being patient for days when he has time to help me. He is such a thoughtful helper for me. ❤
    Thank you for sharing this glimpse of your beautiful fall weather. ❤

  2. Carol says:

    Sometimes we just need to pull back and stay quiet for awhile. Fall encourages that, doesn’t it?

    • Kathy says:

      Carol, I am rather enjoying this long quiet spell, indeed. But kind of felt a need to say–something, anything–today anyway. Many blessings to you!

  3. Oh Kathy I do know this feeling of snuggling in for winter. I have one last event this year which is my Open Studio online and in-person event this coming weekend November 8th & 9th. After this, I too will likely be more or less quiet until the New Year. This past 2014 year has been unusual with the three months of travel and painting around Europe in the spring. I somehow just now feel like we are settled back in our home country. Odd that kind of suspend place of being neither here nor there. So here is to us all who are enjoying our liminal state as the year and we transition to whatever is next.

    • Kathy says:

      Terrill, it’s so good to hear from you. Thank you for commenting. Enjoy your last event coming up soon. You had such a rich experience this year–I thought it was so wonderful to watch your posts from Europe. I feel kind of in a suspended state as well. “Not knowing” might best describe it…and learning how to live from that “not knowing” place.

  4. Robin says:

    Your woods look so lovely. Snow! I heard they had snow at our old place, too. It wouldn’t seem right there if we didn’t have a first snow by Halloween. Sweet squash pie sounds heavenly. Yes, please. I’d love a piece. Blessings to you, too, Kathy. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      The woods DID look lovely last week, Robin. This week–well, the trees are back to winter-skeletons. The snow was really pretty the other day. But I don’t mind it melting. 🙂

  5. lisaspiral says:

    It’s always delightful to hear from you. These meditative blogs are beautiful, and the photos too. I’d love to try a piece of your pie.

    • Kathy says:

      Well, thank goodness the Universe finally said “yes” to blogging today, Lisa! Thank you…you would perhaps like the pie. It’s not sweet like regular pumpkin pie, but subtly-sweet. I just put in 2 T. of maple syrup. The squash is so sweet naturally.

  6. Elisa says:

    Hi Kathy. Squash pie sounds interesting. I really like whipping cream. I am still just thinking a lot and coping. I did celebrate my anniversary. The nut crust sound yummy, though, now, it would kill me 😀

    Glad you got the 50 degrees!

    • Kathy says:

      Elisa, I am glad to hear that you are coping. That is good. Do you mean your blogging anniversary, or another anniversary? As for 50 degrees, it is wonderful! Actually, I probably should be taking a walk and enjoying it right now. That may be a good idea. Glad to hear from you.

  7. Susan D says:

    Hi, Love Bug ~ What a sweet surprise, your sentiments today. So glad you continue to stay in tune with your inner compasses. Lovely pictures of our transition from fall to winter-ish. Thinking of you fondly, as well, and smiling about the cozy picture you paint of prepping for the season, and squash pie, and staying still … Thank you for sweet Sunday afternoon tidbits 🙂

  8. Lori D says:

    It seems my blogging clock is telling me to blog more, more, more lately. I don’t think I ever posted three days in a row like this weekend. I heard it snowed up that way. The first measurable snow on record in Chicago on Halloween. Of course, like yours, it melted (no, I’m not there, but enjoying the wonderful weather it brought my way, finally). I do miss you when you’re gone, but glad to know you are well and settled in for winter. Blessings to you.

    • Kathy says:

      Lori, isn’t it funny how the Universe wants to blog-like-crazy through one person, and be quiet through another? Sounds like you are on a roll! (And I may even be turning off the computer altogether for a while…) Yes, heard that you’ve had a cooler spell even down in Florida. I am glad you are enjoying the cooler spell. Just wanted to share this post to let friends like you know that all is well, even in the silence. 🙂

  9. john k says:

    You snuck one in between Green Bay and L’Anse, you sly blogger you. There is still some snow between Amasa and Covington. So glad to hear from you. Some day I am going to check in and see if teacher Kathy is around. Now that my rose colored L’Anse glasses have been cast aside I could use some help adjusting the new ones. You sound at peace, isn’t that a joy!

    • Kathy says:

      Sly blogger, me! Ha ha, John. Teacher Kathy (if you mean me??) would not mind at all helping you adjust your new glasses. It seems rose-colored glasses eventually always have to be tossed aside eventually, don’t they?

  10. So glad all is well. My blog goes silent a lot these days. I signed up for a photo challenge to only take photos with my iPad. I wonder if I will actually take any photos. It starts tomorrow and I am already doubtful.
    Loved the smell of the squash, the feel of the snow as it covered your beautiful leaves. Life brings many challenges. Sometimes I am not ready for them so I choose to pass up the challenge and watch if there were a difference in the outcome. No way to know, is there?
    Stay well…waiting can be a peaceful time.

    • Kathy says:

      Linda, you are so right. There really is no way to know the outcome. I hope you enjoy the photo challenge–should it come to happen. Sometimes we get such wonderful ideas, but Life may have different plans for us. We still have one small piece of squash pie left. Barry took a piece into work this morning and I nibbled a bite as an addition to breakfast. Heading off on a trip soon. Going to be turning off the computer for a while. It does feel peaceful. Blessings…

      • Blessings to you as you are preparing yourself for whatever it is to be.
        All is as it should be with the Universe…..
        I have already missed the second day. No big deal! I may post them if I find the time to do so. I find I am not gung ho.

  11. The pie sounds yummy! Enjoying the scenes outside your window. And mine.

    • Kathy says:

      You mentioned (in another comment on another post) that there was a lot of talk of pie lately. You are right! And I don’t usually eat pie, so that is strange. Glad you are enjoying your autumn scenes.

  12. Michael says:

    Hello Yoopers! I have an unrelated comment to post to your awesome blog. I am a 36 year old plumber by trade that is looking to relocate to the beautiful U.P. I was wondering if anyone would have any helpful leads? Thank you very much and I hope it’s ok to post this message on your blog. Thanks!
    Mike
    Mikesbeatport@yahoo.com

    • Kathy says:

      Mike, I don’t really have any helpful leads, although maybe someone else reading this blog post will see your question and email you. I THINK there is a plumber’s union in Marquette…maybe you could call them for a lead. Smiling to hear of your love for the U.P. and hope you get to realize your dream of moving here.

  13. Christie says:

    Glad to hear things are well with you. We had some flurries down here on Friday as well, so not ready for winter yet. Well I’m kind of ready, I dumped in the last of the flower pots and put my favorite chair on the porch away today. How many days until spring.

    • Kathy says:

      Christie, how good to hear from you! I know what you mean about not being ready for winter yet. I am–hopefully–going to Florida to see my mom and dad very soon. I could use some more warm weather. 🙂 Someday would like to see your place & porch.

  14. The pics of the trees through your window are just great. Yep, snow already for you and I still have a few butterflies in my little patch by 11 am which is about the time it is warm enough for the butters to fly. I hate to see Fall give way to Winter. In fact I really do not like Winter at all.

    The good part of blogging is that one can post when ever one wants or not. Enjoy your time away and of course we all miss you when you take long sabbaticals.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Yvonne, thank you for saying hello! I am picturing your butterflies and smiling. They sound beautiful. Yes, it is good that we bloggers can post when we choose and not. I don’t know why I feel the need to check in and tell my blogging friends that all is well. Guess it’s because I sometimes get concerned when my buddies go on a blogging break. This is indeed a sabbatical. Going off-line for the short term, at least, as I go off to visit family.

      • Thanks for the reply. I hope you have a really nice visit.

        PS: Today is our first nasty weather. Rain and cold and very windy. I’m afraid that might be the end of the butters. There were some in the patch at 11 am and then the norther and rain came.

  15. Kathy — Yes. Settling in, like slipping into an old, comfy pair of slippers that are “Goldilocks” — just right. I admire that you know when to write, and when to refrain. And like Brenda said, your photographs are superb! Thank you for sharing them.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Laurie, thanks for stopping by. Doesn’t it feel like something “settles in” as we approach winter, preparing ourselves for the colder weather and snow? Do you get much snow in Boise? Our twp. assessor just handed in his resignation last night–he’s moving to northern Idaho (don’t remember the town) where he got a job with the forest service. I asked him how far he would be from Boise and he guessed 4-5 hours.

      • Kathy — We get a wee bit of snow in Boise compared to what we got in Crystal Lake, Illinois. That’s because we’re in (and protected weather-wise by, the Treasure Valley. That changes really quick the farther north you travel in Idaho. It sounds like your friend (4-5 hours north of us) is in for similar snow to what you folks get in your neck of the woods — a whole heckofa lot! But as you know, many(!) people wouldn’t trade that for the world 🙂

  16. Blogging ebbs and flows — just like anything in life. I am on an ebb cycle currently as well, checking in periodically, but not feeling the overwhelming urge to share lately. Have a little pile of photos waiting for a post from this fall, but they will still be here next week and the week after, too. I do enjoy whenever you feel the inspiration to share!

    • Kathy says:

      Kat, thank you for your kind words. Guess you and I are kind of in the same ebb. I think I have a weird perspective on blogging breaks that has grown out of that year-long blogging commitment. Other people feel much more comfortable coming & going in the blogging world. There is a part of me that still feels like she should be blogging daily. Am slowly learning to let go of that.

  17. Lovely photos, Kathy, and lovely to hear from you, too! I’m so glad all is well with you up there in your cozy home. Take care!

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Cindy. Hope everything is well with you on your little Lake Michigan island. I know you had a very busy month…hope everything is settling down somewhat. I’ll be flying over later this week and will wave. Look up if you see a plane on Thursday night and wave back. 🙂

  18. me2013 says:

    love the picture from your calendar, sometimes it nice to just be ‘quiet’

    Bright Blessings to you

    • Kathy says:

      I love that calendar picture SO much! All those wings in different positions on that tree in the snow. I think it was taken out in Colorado. So gorgeous–thank you–bright blessings reflected back your way.

  19. Pamela says:

    Reading your blog post is like listening to a beautiful piece of classical music (which I’m doing now – both at the same time). Yes, intuition blessings. So many don’t listen to their own intuition, yet it’s the soul talking. Listen, Listen! Watch the leaves dance and swirl into the next season. Savor the squash pie and the whipped cream (sorry, I’m a whipped cream kinda girl) and listen, listen, listen.
    However, selfishly, I must admit, I hope to “hear” from you soon. I LOVE your posts. xo

    • Kathy says:

      Pam, that is the nicest thing to say! (About the blog post being like listening to classical music.) Maybe the meditations lately have calmed the fingers and they are breathing in and out gently as they write. As for whipped cream, it is the best. Oh, delicious. I only eat it when out-and-about. Like last week asked for a skinny latte. They said do you want whipped cream? and I about begged YES! Sorry to be disappearing for a while, but am feeling full after reading your wonderful comment.

  20. Debbie M. says:

    It sounds like the the season outside is the same season inside. Winter does bring stillness and it feels like the world has slowed down (or even froze in time.) But we know that winter is merely preparation for spring that will eventually come. Look forward to your spring! You will know when it arrives!

    • Kathy says:

      Debbie, you are so right. Maybe we should become like bears and hibernate for seven months of the year. On second thought, let’s not. Too much fun stuff happens in those seven months!

  21. lucindalines says:

    Such beautiful pictures. We often have snow on Halloween, but not this year, just the cold. It is warmer again now, but must be coming soon. Your post sounds so cozy I can almost taste and smell the warmth. Stay warm Kathy and enjoy.

  22. Heather says:

    Good to hear from you again! I’m glad you you enjoyed (I’m reading it as enjoyment, though I could be projecting…) your Halloween snow. It snowed here all morning and some of the afternoon, but melted well before Trick or Treat started. I don’t think TC got any snow.
    I’m blogging in fits and starts, too, and I think I’m okay with that. I’m happy that you’re doing well with following your inner blogging compass, though I do hope you blog again (or just reply here, haha!) with a recipe for that squash pie. I just love that stuff, about any way I can eat it!
    Stay warm 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Heather, good afternoon! The snow this time of year can be so fresh and enjoyable and I don’t mind that it melts so quickly, either. Today it’s quite cold, brrrr, but I am headed to visit my parents in Florida soon so will have an extended warm time. I am sorry I don’t have time to type in the squash pie recipe! My work needs to get done first. Plus, I don’t think most people–who are used to eating sweeter fare–would actually love the recipe. It’s just mashed squash with a couple of eggs and 2 T of maple syrup and some spices. The crust makes it. You can probably find an on-line recipe with walnuts in the crust. So good. See you later, alligator!

  23. Barb says:

    Hi Kathy, I thought of you the other day when I made baked apples with the Michigan maple syrup. (Delicious by the way.) We’re hunkering down today – it’s snowing and blowing but probably won’t amount to much. We’ve had a glorious fall but are now wringing our hands because we need it to snow. Never satisfied! Since I closed One Good Thing I feel more inclined to post on the remaining blog. (That may change the end of this month as it normally does…) I do like a ‘break” now and again. Don’t eat too much pie – unless you’re taking long walks. Thinking of you in CO.

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, it’s so good to hear from you. I am very happy to hear you are still enjoying the maple syrup–so am I! Isn’t it funny how we humans are rarely satisfied with the weather or anything else? As for eating too much pie–I am actually behaving these days and eating rather moderately. Am learning to listen to my body better and see if it’s really hungry or just wanting a distraction. Odd that it would take 57 years to learn this. Thinking of YOU in MI. “)

  24. love your letter and pics–and yes I would like a piece of your pie and some nice warm tea

  25. P.j. grath says:

    Love the views out your window. Love the thought of squash pie. We had spicy squash soup last night, and that was good, too. Fall is beautiful, isn’t it?

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, we enjoyed some curried squash soup last week, too. We only harvested about four winter squash from the garden, but our friend gave us a couple large ones. I do so like fall–this morning up in Houghton it felt like winter was upon us. Stay warm!

  26. Janet says:

    Ahhh, such beauty out your window. Thanks for checking in. All is well here, it actually rained on Halloween. Yay!

  27. dorannrule says:

    Rest – and Return!

    • Kathy says:

      Not sure about how much resting I’ll be getting, Dor. Off traveling soon. Enjoy the rest of your autumn down there in your beautiful Virginia mountains!

  28. Karma says:

    Hi there Kathy. I know how you feel about the blogging muse coming and going. My posts have been fewer and farther between lately too. I will still post from time to time since I don’t want to lose touch with this lovely community. I see in the previous comment that you have travel plans upcoming – enjoy! Hoping for a get-away for me in the not super distant future!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi there, Ms. Karma! I am back from my trip to Florida–and a somewhat unexpected detour to Georgia on the way home. Luckily, I missed all the snow, but am now home to 2-3 feet of it. In November! How cool that you have some travel plans. I hope that works out. I think I get burned out on being on the computer and have to take long times off. Don’t know how to pace myself at times. Thanks for saying hi. Happy early Thanksgiving!

  29. Oh, Kathy, I’m happy to hear from you whenever! I’ve been absent of late also. Trying to get back to the blogosphere but have been resisting it recently. Sorry to be so late, my friend. Happy to know you are well.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Kathy says:

      Hello, Ms. Kathy, how nice to hear from YOU! Yes, you have had a nice long blogging break lately. It’s interesting how the spirit of blogging comes and goes. You, of course, will probably have been kept busy writing nonetheless. Hope your memoir is coming along. Many blessings to you and Sara in Ecuador…

  30. wisreader says:

    Hello, Kathy,
    Thank you for this unexpected, but such a nice post, and thoughtful. Wishing you Good Luck and Good Times. May you blog again when the time is right. I hope it won’t be too long, but as is best for you and yours.

  31. I Wilkerson says:

    I am watching the weather and thinking of you Kathy. Hope you are warm and enjoying the beauty. Nothing got down to Milwaukee (not even a dusting) but we got a taste driving through Green Bay Sunday. Blogging has been a bit tough for me too lately–love hearing I’m not the only one. Best wishes until we “talk” again.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Inger, nice to hear from you. What weather, huh?! Luckily, I was down south visiting parents and in-laws during the time the snow hit, but now I’m back and heading out with a shovel later today. Interesting how we go through mega-blogging times and mini-blogging times. How fun to hear that you were as close as Green Bay–only 4 hours away from us!

  32. Joanne says:

    I love your description on what makes us blog, or not ~ the inner compass…..my inner compass has gone awry of late, I think to myself that I will add a blog post, then I don’t. Sometimes the words are even in my head, but they just don’t make it to my fingers when I sit at the computer. I miss speaking with my blogging friends though…..much love to you Kathy, I think of you often, living in the snowy big woods, a world so far away from my own in the hot summer sun. ❤

    • Kathy says:

      Joanne, maybe it’s not that your inner compass has gone awry–maybe it has simply been pointing in a different direction! It can really be a conundrum when we stop blogging (or being on FB or the computer) for spells. It’s weird how many of our friendships can be through this medium, and what happens when we need a break from the medium? I don’t know how to solve it, but continue thinking and remembering all of you with love. P.S. I was just in Florida so have enjoyed a bit of your hot summer sun. It was gorgeous. You have no idea how much snow & cold exists back here in our woods now. Early start to winter! Blessings, my friend.

  33. sonali says:

    Hi Kathy, Greetings to you. Lovely pictures as always. Good to know you are prepared well ahead of time for the winter days. “winter” *smiles*

    • Kathy says:

      Sonali, lovely to hear from you. We TRY to be prepared, but there is always some winter challenge going on. Today our tractor (which plows our snow so we can drive) seems to be broken. Hopefully it can be fixed! Winter smiles toward your summer India.

  34. I Wilkerson says:

    The seasons turn so quickly, don’t they…

  35. Dana says:

    Well, it’s taken me a while to finally read these words, but I feel so nourished now! Thanks, as always, for your vivid descriptions, soul-warming photos, and for leading with your intuition. I hope you’ve had a wonderful November, Kathy!

    • Kathy says:

      Dana, it is so good to see you. It feels so wonderful when we can surrender to our intuition but sometimes that’s challenging. Thank you for your kind words. I’ve had a very good November. Hoping the same for you.

  36. Tammy says:

    Been on a hiatus myself – in time…

  37. sonali says:

    Already too snowy, enough to get onto the snow mobiles? Do you need help with the snow shoveling? How about Christmas preps?

    I miss you!

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, Sonali, there’s enough snow already for many people to bring out their snowmobiles. In fact it’s been one of the snowiest Novembers ever. Very early to start our long winter. I don’t need any help snow shoveling today, but some days would love your help! We got out our Christmas decorations on Thursday (Thanksgiving) and put some lights around the house. Not much in decorations, but a few to make the house more lively during this holiday season.

      Thanks for your kind words of missing me. I just don’t have much to say these days. Am content, but very quiet on-line. Now if you came to the house it might be different. We’d have a lot to talk about. Hope you are getting all better these days.

      • sonali says:

        Oh so nice! Snowiest November!! I’m glad to hear from you.
        I always wonder about thanksgiving and how it had started and what’s the story behind, because its such a lovely concept. I also hear about black Friday in the US. May be some day when you have time you can write about it.
        I wish we in India also celebrate thanksgiving, isn’t it wonderful to be thankful?

  38. Kathy I miss you–you have been gone almost a month! Come back Kathy, come back!

  39. I Wilkerson says:

    Merry Christmas Kathy! See we still think about you even if you don’t post!

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...