Do not keep obsessing about your eye, please.

Lounging like a baby raccoon with black circles around her eyes

I am supposed to be at work.

Luckily, I set my own hours at the school, but I am also a hard task-master who frowns at lounging around the house when it’s necessary to pack a box for the auditor.

Because we’re such a tiny two-room K-6 school where I’m the business manager, we must pack up a box with check stubs, receipts, budgets,  lunch records, W-2’s, 1099’s, state reports, and hundreds of other documents and drive up to the auditor next Monday to deliver it.

This morning the get-up-and-go motor won’t start.

So am lounging with a cuppa tea.  (The tea is called Stash Fusion Breakfast Green and Black tea.  I had to find the tea bag to tell you the official name.  I can’t drink plain black tea so early in the morning, and have lately, just lately, started to fall in love with green tea, which I despised until July.)

Mama deer and spotted fawn munch in the ditch behind the garden.  We have many rattlesnake green beans which must be picked, must be harvested, must be eaten, yes, this afternoon, do not forget or get preoccupied with other concerns.

And do not, Kathy, keep obsessing about your eye.  It is only a sty.  It is only a teeny tiny bump on your lower left eyelid.  Do not let it control your work schedule, your blogging and your bean picking.

This is what a sty feels like.

Never mind that it hurts like h*ll.  Never mind that you must place hot compresses upon it every few hours and then lather it with a half-inch strip of medicine which refuses to adhere to the sty and glops on your eyelid or blurs your vision.  Never mind any of that.  Soldier up!  Be a mature sty holder.  The nice PA, Nancy, said it didn’t look that bad, remember?  Even though you’re husband sighs and shakes his head at your puffy lefty.

Is it too much information to share about sties in one’s blog?  Perhaps.

No, this is what a sty feels like.

I still have lots of pics of the shipwreck tour, but simply can not write a blog about sunken ships.  Not that they aren’t interesting–it’s simply that my heart isn’t in it.  Barry will write that in his weekly newspaper column next week.  He’s combining a story about underwater Isle Royale and underwater Grand Island. He’s all excited.

I can’t write a blog unless I’m all excited about it.  (I am all excited–or, rather, obsessed with auditor boxes and sties and green tea and the way fawns are starting to lose their spots.)

It’s called Blogging with your heart.  One only blogs when one’s heart insists.  It’s the perfect antidote for any people-pleasing tendencies.  People might beg and insist, “PLEASE write a post about the shipwrecks!”  but you just shake your head slowly and lament, “No, No, my heart isn’t in it.”

How can anyone argue with a heart?

We can argue with a sty in the eye, but that’s also futile.  I am trying to love this sty to death.  To accept that it’s here for a reason.  (Hopefully not a season.)

No, no, THIS is what a sty feels like.

Guess it’s time to go to work now.  I’ve yoga’d, meditated, hot compressed, medicated, sipped one cup of Fusion Breakfast tea, ate granola with a ripe peach and almond milk, watched deer, made Barry two eggs, responded to a half-dozen comments and blogged.

May you enjoy your sty-less day.

(If any of you have a sty, please write!  We’ll commiserate.  We’ll have another cup of tea and stay home from work and…heal…won’t we?)

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Do not keep obsessing about your eye, please.

  1. Fountainpen says:

    Good news….they do go away eventually.
    Fountainpen

  2. Susan Derozier says:

    I used to get them regularly and I thank you for reminding me to be grateful that I am free of them. It has been years and I pray they come no more. Be sty-less soon.

    • Kathy says:

      You can see that I STILL haven’t left for work, Susan. I am so glad you are sty-less! I’ve had two in my life, and apparently once you have ’em, you’re more like to get them. Last weekend I fought off a cold with Vitamin C…but, as soon as the cold was fought off, developed the sty. The PA thought probably because of a “weakened immune system.” May you never get another sty, ever.

      • Reggie says:

        I also got them a lot when I was younger; they are awful, not just because they hurt physically, but because when you’re a teenager dealing with ‘angst’ and horrid class mates, they hurt emotionally too. So hugs, and wishes for an immediate recovery! Sty Be Gone!! 😉

  3. sybil says:

    You are my hero. You are so grown up and mature about things.

    I drink black tea with too much milk and too much sugar and don’t meditate (yet).

    I whine about little things.

    You try to find the good in it and move on.

    I want to be just like you when I grow up.

    • Kathy says:

      Sybil, Sybil, Sybil! A grown up mature woman would not be writing a blog about her sty. (Would she?) I have also heard that it’s good to drink tea with milk, but dunno about sugar. I am also convinced we all meditate (and don’t know we’re meditating) and we all whine (although some admit it and others don’t.) I want you to be just like YOU when you grow up. Or maybe even today–before we’re all grown up. **grin**

  4. Karma says:

    Feel better soon Kathy! I have a weird “thing” about eyes; I’m very squeamish about them. Can’t touch them (could never wear contact lenses!), stories about stuff stuck in them hit me in the stomach. Strange, huh? Never had a sty – probably a good thing for me since I’m sure I’d have difficulty dealing with it.
    Love the “blogging from the heart” concept – why bother to write about something if it doesn’t excite you?

    • Kathy says:

      I had trouble wearing contacts, too, Karma for similar reasons. I pray that you shall never, ever, ever have a sty in your eye because it feels like someone is poking you with a stick! It is not fun. But it’s so minor compared to what’s going on in, say, Somalia. I swear we should never, EVER, write a blog if our heart doesn’t shout “YES!”

  5. Oh, so sorry! Things like that can throw your whole day off. Hope it goes away quickly and that you’re able to “soldier through”. Take care, Kathy.

    • Kathy says:

      Such a tiny little thing to throw our day out of whack, eh, Cindy? I think it is feeling a mite better right now, although it’s probably time for more heat therapy. Thank you.

  6. All those things that make up life–make it interesting – you can even make a sty sound interesting – now there is a talent – sorry you are going thru it though (hugs) I will have a cup of tea in sympathy

  7. bearyweather says:

    Kathy our lives seem to be on the same path right now ….

    I should be at work, too. Just finished 4 very long days of teacher workshops (where I presented, participated and spent every “free time to work” and at least an additional 4 hours a night each day fixing everyone else’s tech questions). I just woke from a healing 12 hour sleep and enjoying a great cup of coffee.

    I had eye surgery 2 weeks ago (RPK- reshape cornea- left eye, too) … painful healing, 3 eye drops 4 times a day … and my world is so blurry that reading and computer screens are far from fun (but, I am healing)

    Blogging … there has not been any time and my mind is so full of work that I can not get the blogger in me to focus on just one thing.

    I bet we are both back to 100% and able to keep a regular schedule by the first day of school … those school bells and students make it impossible not to. 😉

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, my goodness, bearyweather, we are on parallel paths lately. So sorry to hear about your cornea surgery. That sounds so much more serious and awful than a sty! Glad to hear you are healing. (I can’t really see the screen very clearly right now either.) Yep, those kids coming back to school keep us focused, don’t they? School bells, school bells, good old fashioned school bells, readin’ and writin’ and ‘rithmatic, taught to the tune of the hickory stick…. Do you remember that song?

  8. Only young people get sty’s 🙂

    I guess it was a no on my job at the school 😦 soooo sad. Such a pretty little place.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh good, Linda, does that mean sties will be a thing from my past in another, say, ten years? And, no, unfortunately there isn’t a job opening right now. Will keep you in mind, though.

      • Yep…give the eyes another ten years and if you still have good eyesight because of cataract surgery, no more sties (is that the right spelling).
        No, I could not teach there anyway. I am not smarter than a fifth or sixth grader! I could tend the building or just sit and direct tourist to the location.

  9. Heather says:

    I smiled hugely at all the things you identified as *this* feels like a sty 😀
    Don’t you hate it when you have something cool to share, but your heart just isn’t in it? And you’re right – you can’t argue with a heart. I suppose that’s what I mean more than anything about how I blog for myself; I only write when my heart’s in it. I suspect after my 4-parter about being in the UP I will be taking some time off. I’ll ask my heart!

    • Kathy says:

      Ha ha ha, Heather, I went through the “July, 2010” folder on my computer and grabbed the first few that slightly resembled eyes and sties! So isn’t it fun to discover that we mean the same thing about “blogging from the heart” and “blogging for ourselves”? If I wrote that shipwreck blog today it would be googled from now until 2015 and lots of wanna-be visitors would visit the blog checkin’ it out. But I don’t care. I would rather write from my feelings rather than a desire to get hits, people-please, or any of that. (But it’s fun to write blogs from the perspective of those parts of ourselves.)

  10. Carol says:

    I think there needs to be something one can take to prevent getting a sty. I have been lucky and have not had one for several years now, but I remember what it was like. Perfect excuse, absolutely perfect, for just lingering with your tea, putting off blogging about shipwrecks, putting off everything. And Kathy, I am thrilled to hear you say those words: “Blogging with your heart”!

    • Kathy says:

      Carol, I have been washing my eyelids with baby shampoo for maybe five years hoping to prevent any further occurrences. Guess it didn’t work…or I didn’t do it diligently enough. You know I used the words “Blogging with your heart” so many times during the first three years of blogging that I thought readers might throttle me. There have been very few blogs that haven’t been written from a part of this heart that wanted expression. I know you feel the same way, too.

  11. Val says:

    Ack, styes are horrible, I feel for you. 😦 So irritating, you want to keep looking to see if there’s an eyelash in your eye even though you know there isn’t. They do go, though. I’m not sure I ever put anything on the ones I used to get, just let ’em go of their own accord.

    The last couple of weeks I’ve been having to wash my eyelids a couple of times a day with cold water and no soap as they’ve been getting inordinately greasy for no good reason at all. I gather it’s a sign of ageing for some people… (Not that only some people age. That’s something to think about, lol!)

    I’d worry if a stye felt like that insect. Though the insect might feel like a stye.

    • Kathy says:

      Yep, Val, feels like an embedded eyelash, blink, blink, blink some more. I’ve never had one “go” on its own accord–but maybe have never had an ordinary sty before. this one seems like it’s “coming to a head” as they say. Go figure about greasy eyelids. The human body can be so challenging at times. As can insects…

  12. Lori DiNardi says:

    Nope, don’t have a sty, but I’ve had them. Ech! Don’t like ’em. Don’t want another. Sending healing waves your way to heal that Echy sty.
    P.S. Have you ever had Teavana tea? Yum. You may not have a store in the boondocks of the UP. 😉 But, can be ordered online. I have stock piles of it in my cabinet. My favorite is the herbal honey vanilla.
    http://www.teavana.com/

    • Kathy says:

      Lori, I think your healing waves of energy may be working. I feel better this afternoon than yesterday. Thank you. No, have never heard of Teavana, but will click on your link and looksee right now. I love tea!

  13. Claire says:

    I do love the baby racoon photo, so sweet.

    I am pleased to say
    I have never had

    a stye in my eye,
    I don’t know why,
    I’ll just ask this fly,
    who is passing right by.

    So get rid of this stye
    that bothers your eye
    if it won’t go away
    by the end of the day

    just stop the verse
    before it gets worse
    so have a cool drink
    to recover you blink!

    ENJOY – CRINGE – GROAN

  14. Brenda Hardie says:

    Oh Kathy I’m so sorry you’re dealing with an icky sty. I’ve never had one but I remember my Dad having them every now and then. He didn’t say much about it but I could tell he was quite uncomfortable! The only things I’ve had wrong with my eyes has been a terrible scratch across the eye back when I was a teenager, and pinkeye when I taught at a preschool. No fun! Sure hope the sty says good bye real quick!
    I’m glad to hear you are listening to your heart ♥

    • Kathy says:

      Brenda, that scratch and pink eye sounds like they were painful. I think–think–hope–that this sty is starting to recede. The eye puffiness has gone down and it doesn’t hurt so badly. We are always the happiness when we listen to our heart, aren’t we? (I try to listen to this heart all the time, but like to give voice to other parts of self, too.)

  15. lucindalines says:

    I can’t comment on a sty, but I can tell you how much I agree with the idea of not being able to write about something if you don’t have the heart for it at the time. I am sitting on a comment on women in the Olympics and I just can’t get there.

    • Kathy says:

      It’s hard to respond or write when our heart isn’t isn’t in it, Lucinda. So many times in this blog I think I should write more about the Upper Peninsula, or post pics about it, or do something that others want to see or read about—but in the end, it’s our heart and that’s who we must respond to.

  16. Barb says:

    Oh my. A sty. Sigh. Sorry, Kathy I had no idea I was going to write that – it truly came from the heart. I think Bob had a sty a long time ago. Possibly before we were married, so extremely long ago. I remember it looking quite nasty and owey. I hope yours doesn’t linger. PS I like the flower photo – that’s not Echinacia is it? PPS Rest. Pick beans. I think green tea is yucky. I can’t make myself like it. It tastes like liquid grass and feels like penance.

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, the owey phase seems to be receding, thank all the Eye Gods. YES! It is Echinacia. Good eye. I mean good guessing, lol. Yep, I used to think green tea tasted like liquid grass, too. Icka. Now it’s tasting like manna with a buzz. (laugh–couldn’t come up with a better description.)

  17. Kathy – get yourself a cold cucumber slice and slap it on that eye, girlfriend!

    You might think, “That’s an old beauty remedy for reducing bags under the eye.” And you’d be right.

    But I’m here to tell you that the healing properties of cucumber are amazing, Amazing, AMAZING! (You get the picture)…

    Now go get a cucumber out of the refrigerator, slice off a wheel, slap it on your eye, and lay down.

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, good eyes think alike! That’s the first thing I did–slap a cucumber on the eye. Honest to goodness. Perhaps if I had had just a little more faith (we had lots of cucumbers) the visit to the doctor wouldn’t have been necessary.

  18. Hope you are recovered soon! (I’m pretty sure I’d be distracted…)

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, Inger, it’s distracting. Perfect word. You’re trying to read and everything is blurry. You’re trying to garden and you just hurt. But, never fear, I think recovery is imminent! (We can only hope.)

  19. lisaspiral says:

    Sty in the eye, feel better, eat pie. love you!

  20. Elisa's Spot says:

    sage teabags soaked and then cooled a tad, warm to stand, not hot to burn help too!
    so might breastmilk…lol

    • Kathy says:

      My friend, Catherine, mentioned breast milk last night, Elisa. I looked around the house and thought, “oh well…” Never thought of sage teabags. Tried the cucumber therapy first but then started obsessing about infections of the eye (and how close the eye is to the brain.) Thank goodness it was “just” a sty.

  21. Kathy, I’m not going to contribute to your health issue discussion and I know little about tea or auditors, but son of a gun your rattlesnake beans were fantastic! Plump, crisp and delicious! With my change in residency I am planning a garden for next year and those beans are now on top of the list. (Jenny is sure I will kill them) 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      John, I am SO glad you and Jenny liked the rattlesnake beans. We buy the heirloom seeds up at the Keweenaw Co-op and they are expensive–but so worth it. Tell Jenny I have faith in you–you will make them grow–they are rather easy to coax up the wires. You will have to make some sort of trellis because green beans like to climb, climb, climb. Wish you were still here. You could have another bag!

  22. sonali says:

    Sty!!! Jeeeez. It has been with me since like 15 yrs. Sty keeps visiting me on my left eye every now and then, when its most undesirable. Such an irritation. I don’t like to welcome it. Now my eye has started new problems, for which I must get electrolysis done on my left eye lids. 😦 How I wish my left eye is always alright.

    • Kathy says:

      Sonali, having now experienced the irritation of a sty in the eye, I SO feel sorry for your reoccurring visits. May this visitor depart you forever! As for your other problems, hugs… May your eye heal fully and may you learn fully any lessons that it is sharing.

  23. Colleen says:

    Kathy, I do hope your eye is healing, or has healed, completely by now. For some reason am imagining you gazing out over a quiet and expansive horizon 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Why, Colleen, I thank you for still thinking about my eye. It does seem mostly healed now, although still has a little bump on the eyelid. I shall gaze across the horizon this afternoon, slowly, leisurely, allowing expansive healing to gently kiss the eyes.

  24. Now my eye seems to be watering, I can’t read about someone having trouble with their eye without having some sympathy pain….. I’m sure it was very miserable, and I’m so sorry you had to go through that! 😦 BUT – I’m happy to hear (read) that your eye IS on the mend!! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Pssst, Holly, you can quit crying with me. (Oh, you didn’t say you were crying, did you? You said your eye was watering. A bit of a difference!) I think, yes, think, that the sty is healed. It’s still a teeny tiny red bump, but all pain and swelling is gone, thank all the Eye Gods in the Universe.

  25. Robin says:

    I don’t have a sty or any excuse, but am having trouble with my get-up-and-go today. I see in your comments that your eye is getting better. Yay! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Robin, I had lots of get-up-and-go this morning, but lost it late in the afternoon. And THEN I saw your blog about Karma’s Photo Hunt and got re-inspired and now the get-up-and-go is about ready to get-up-and-leave, but thanks for the reminder.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

