The 12-foot gorilla in our woods

Shadows

Shadows

I walk through the darkened living room.

It is dusk.

Oh look-out there on the deck–is a–what is it?  Oh my goodness, it’s a 12-foot gorilla peering in the window!

It stares inside the house with a somewhat bemused expression.  It is large, furry and definitely a gorilla, even though, really, do gorillas live in North America?

I am afraid, well, almost afraid.  One should be afraid of gorillas, shouldn’t one?  They might want to come inside, and that’s simply unacceptable.  They might–well let’s not start telling stories of what might happen.

I blink and the gorilla disappears.  You can hear children playing in the woods below.  Oh no–innocent children!  I must go outside and somehow warn them.  I go out on the deck (oh silly person, don’t you know the gorilla might be poised on the roof ready to jump?) and see the children winding through the trees.  They are our neighbors.  They are carrying laundry baskets.

Playful shadows

Playful shadows

Suddenly I am by their side.

“Kids,” I say softly, “would you like a ride to the laundromat?  There seems to be a rather large gorilla in the woods.”

The kids agree.  We get in the car and drive up the road toward the laundromat and suddenly I am lying awake in bed.

No gorilla.  No kids.  No laundromat in the middle of the woods. 

Only me, lying in bed, swatting mosquitoes and remembering this dream.

You had any strange dreams lately?

**Sorry not to provide any photographs of the gorilla.  Never thought to take them in the dream.  Please use your imagination and keep your eye open for furry 12-foot beasts.**

 

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in July 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to The 12-foot gorilla in our woods

  1. lisaspiral says:

    If only the gorilla was there to DO the laundry……..

  2. Elisa says:

    laughing and laughing and snorting tea

  3. Elisa says:

    see one there? the ‘ on the gorillas

  4. Fountainpen says:

    I remember how much you like
    shadows.

  5. Karma says:

    Funny Kathy! I haven’t had any interesting dreams lately, at least any that I can remember, but there is one strange one that sits in my memories. I think I had it not long after buying the Rebel (wow was that really 3 years ago already? The counter on my camera just started over, by the way, meaning I’ve taken over 10,000 shots since I got it! Oh dear!). I was walking around outside with the camera, in what appeared to be a safari-like area, when I came across a very interesting looking tree. I approached the tree and underneath the low-hanging branches there was a bizarre “carousel”. There was no music or mechanics to this carousel, just what looked like wild animals and mythical creatures sitting in upright positions moving up and down and around the tree like they were on an invisible carousel. I lifted the camera to take pictures…. and woke up!

  6. Oh, the things we dream! By the way, on Yahoo’s homepage today there is an article called something like “9 Repellents Mosquitoes Hate.” Got the last word wrong. Will go check for link!
    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  7. Lori D says:

    Heh, that’s funny. It’s also kinda funny that I put up a photo of shadows for the weekly photo challenge this week. Stay safe from those gorillas in your forest.

  8. bearyweather says:

    Are you positive it wasn’t Bigfoot? 😉

  9. Heather says:

    I like how dream you just marches out and asks the kids if they want to go to the laundromat – like they’d go there in favor of checking out your furry, laundry-doing friend 😉
    I’ve had lots of dreams lately, but none that stuck with me like yours.
    By the way, if you see your gorilla again, send him my way. I could use a hand with the laundry!

  10. sandiwhite says:

    When my youngest daughter Cameron was about three, we were visiting my parents here in Lathemtown one evening. At that time, we still had cattle down in the pasture and one of them let out a series of deep and resounding bellows. Turning wide eyes to my Dad, Cameron asked, ” Papa! What is THAT!?” Never missing a beat, Dad replied, ” Oh, those are the gorillas, I keep my gorillas down there.” It made a deep impression. To this day, whenever she visits me in Lathemtown and we hear one of Mr. Wheeler’s cattle sounding off like an airhorn we look at each other knowingly and state with conviction, ” Gorillas.”

  11. sybil says:

    I dimly remember my brother (who lives in another province) pointing out last night that I had hung my clothes line in the wrong direction. All my sheets were wrapped around the trees and bushes. I SHOUTED at him that next time I just needed to fold them over the line so they didn’t hang so low and get tangled.

    How deep is that ? A laundry dream.

    I prefer the very rare ones when I fly. I’m not good at flying, have to step off two or three storey buildings, drop a bit, (that always unnerves me) but then I lift and cruise along at tree top height and sometimes rush through the branches. Love it.

  12. Carol says:

    I’ve heard of gorillas in the mist, so I guess it shouldn’t be surprising if they’re in the woods. . . Except the Yooper woods?

  13. I often wonder where the weirder dreams come from – what sparks our brain to come up with such strange scenarios? I’ve had a few odd dreams, lately, too. Usually that means it’s time to sit down at the computer and let loose the wild antics of my muse. Then I remember all the work I still have to do and, yes, that does include laundry! What a downer! 🙂

  14. Quick, offer that gorilla a banana and I don’t think he’ll bother you any more. You can’t be too careful.

    I’ve often thought that dreams are your subconscious coming out and taking a stroll. Funny what triggers stuff like this. Usually, I can trace the dream back to something that I was thinking about or considering in the recent past.

  15. Brenda Hardie says:

    Kathy, this would make a good children’s story 🙂 I love your imagination, even while you sleep. 🙂

    • Reggie says:

      I completely agree, Brenda, I think Kathy should write some children’s stories, she’d be great! — And it might be good practice…. for when she has the kittens over. 😉

  16. dorannrule says:

    You stole my dream – except in mine, it is a Virginia black bear. I’m sure the dream was triggered by actual sitings. There was one in our back yard just days ago looking for pears. Then my husband spotted a 250 pounder on the road leaving our property. Black bears/gorillas – same idea! What a funny scary post Kathy, especially about saving the kids with a trip to the laundromat! 🙂

  17. This seemed very real to me until you talked about the neighborhood kids. I thought you didn’t HAVE any neighbors???!! (Now, the gorilla, that I would have believed…)

  18. Oh how FUN to have a 12-foot gorilla dream! Next time please take your camera along to dreamland!

  19. john says:

    Gorillas don’t like mosquitoes. The mosquitoes were brought in by the Ojibwa long before the Europeans came to get rid of the gorillas. You know what they say about gorillas …

  20. Dawn says:

    Don’t you wonder where dreams come from? And how a gorilla and laundry made it into your woods? Would definitely be a good children’s story.

  21. Hmmm, I guess a gorilla in the forest is better than an elephant in the kitchen, though it is difficult to ignore either one! Funny post, Kathy! You always put a smile on my face. Happy Fourth to you and your family!

  22. Gorrillas and the laundry — dreams are fascinating! I had a frightening and suspenseful dream recently. It’s amazing how the mind can conjure a state of suspense and unknowing when it is the same mind controlling the unfolding action. Quite a paradox.

  23. penpusherpen says:

    great Gorilla sized dream Kathy, makes you wonder what your brains thinking of, giving you such ideas. I’ve had plenty of strange and convoluted ones. and on waking have wondered about sanity 😉 but shrugged it all off with a sigh and a hope that dreams won’t come true. yikes!! Happy 4th of July to you and yours. xPenx

  24. sonali says:

    I’m thrilled! Imagine the gorilla sitting on the roof top and suddenly jumping on one of the kids, not leaving the kid from his arms, but yet not harming the dear little one! And suddenly, the care grows, the fear diminishes, the Gorilla seems friendly & sweet. Aha!

    I love your dreams Kathy! Thank you for composing it so beautifully, you will always be safe in the woods because we love you so much! 🙂

  25. Oh I am so glad to hear I’m not the only one with weird dreams lately! I can’t remember the one from the night before (though I know it was very loosely based on a rent dispute my college daughter is having) but I was wide awake for a full hour after. Did you try to analyze the origin of yours?

  26. Stacy says:

    Very funny, Kathy. I wonder about the workings of our unconscious mind – how and why it works the way it does. I’ve always had strange dreams, but this condition was exacerbated when I lived in Africa and had to take anti-malaria medication. Talk about wild dreams!! ❤

  27. msmcword says:

    Kathy:
    I have dreams about a number of things-they are different each night but so far I have not dreamed about gorillas or laundromats.

    However, I did recently dream that I was stuck in my toilet (honest!). If this happens again perhaps the gorilla could help me get out.

    Nancy

  28. pearlz says:

    That’s a fun post, that line will linger today, I didn’t take a photograph of my dream 😉

  29. Connie T says:

    I have strange dreams, I wake up thinking the dream was strange, but then I forget them. I can’t remember any right now.

  30. You have mosquitoes in your bedroom??? Oh my! Your dream is delightful, though. 🙂 Can’t seem to remember any of my dreams lately…

  31. Robin says:

    Love the way you told this story (both words and images). My dreams are much too strange to share. 🙂

  32. Chris Roddy says:

    Pardon me just catching up. When my son was about 8 yo., we were at our cottage in Naubinway, Mi. One morning he told us that during the night, a gorilla had been watching him, thru his bedroom window. He insisted that it was not a dream. Today, at the age of 33 yo., he still says it happened. Go figure! Those gorillas are everywhere.

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...