I want to twinkle today.

The light of the world

The light of the world

“Do not try to save the whole world
or do anything grandiose.
Instead, create
a clearing
in the dense forest
of your life
and wait there patiently
until the song
that is your life
falls into your own cupped hands
and you recognize and greet it.
Only then will you know
how to give yourself
to this world
so worthy of rescue.”

– Clearing by Martha Postlewaite

Bitter cold still freezes tears this morning.  Laughter ricochets off icicles.

I curl up on the couch on this day off work and ponder the dense forest of my life.  One hundred thoughts arise like one hundred trees, all competing for attention.

I’ve been waiting patiently and impatiently for the song that is my life to fall into these cupped hands for a long lifetime.  Sometimes I hear the tune, so very clear, like ice forming in the bay a quarter-mile away, and feel truly at home.  Other days one wanders lost in the forest, wearing fear or sadness like a winter parka, fingers icy in woolen mittens.

Twinkle, twinkle little star

Twinkle, twinkle little star

This morning the urge to blog rose fierce and strong.  Listening to the song of my multi-winged life, I asked the inner blogger, “Why?  Why do you need to blog so often?”

The inner blogger attempted to express the preciousness of expression, of sharing with others, of how it’s fed heartily by this exchange, like a bubbling hot stew simmering on the wood stove .

I looked around our Little House in the Big Woods, twinkling lights shining on garland and gleaming fish ornaments and the small ceramic Christmas tree.

“Writing and sharing with others makes the day shine like twinkling lights,” said the inner blogger.  “I want to twinkle today.”

There you have it, Reader.  May you twinkle–in your unique way–today as well!

What makes you twinkle?

P.S.  Thank you, Emma, for sharing this marvelous poem on Facebook this weekend.  It’s so beautiful!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in December 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to I want to twinkle today.

  1. Brenda Hardie says:

    You are my twinkling and precious friend ♥ And I am so grateful for your presence ♥ (ps–the email is down again but as long as I see your links on fb then I won’t miss anything) Hope your day is delightful and cheery!

  2. rita kowats says:

    If I may humbly offer…you have found the song of your heart, and it deeply stirs the notes which make my song. I will carry the beauty of this piece throughout my day. Thank you.

  3. This is a beautiful poem! Thank you for sharing it, along with your thoughts…always warming on these cold mornings!

  4. Certainly those of us who have blogs hope that we’ll brighten another’s day. Since nature seems to be my place of worship, and enjoying photography, one of my motivations was to share a few pictures that capture that beauty.

    Kind of like a warbler singing in the forest, those that didn’t enter the woods won’t hear it but if you happen close by it brings joy.

  5. lisaspiral says:

    your twinkling has brightened my day. Thank you and stay warm!

  6. I love the way you write–it is such a treat to read your blog–

  7. Susan Derozier says:

    I was so needing a twinkle today and there you were. Thank you for another beautiful moment shared from your wondrous heart. I love the photo of your star. Truly beautiful.

  8. Barbara Kass says:

    poking around in other people’s lives and finding connections

  9. Kathy – I love your way with words: “Bitter cold still freezes tears this morning. Laughter ricochets off icicles.”

    What makes me twinkle?

    Playing with my girls — Yesterday I was playing with the girls in the snow in the back yard (I was supposed to be snow blowing, ha!). Our rough-and-tumble Willa was zinging through belly-high snow like a bullet. Our miss-priss Lexi was prancing. We decided if she was one of Santa’s reindeer he’d name her Fancy Pants.

  10. Bonnie says:

    You do more than twinkle, dear Kathy. Your blogs bring light and smiles to this weary Nova Scotian. Bless you and stay warm.

  11. You did it again, Kathy. You touched me deep inside my soul, in the place hidden from myself an others . . . the place that yearns to find my song and remember how to twinkle.

  12. Twinkle away! And, continue to cheer the rest of us up with your sparkles.

  13. john says:

    We must thrive on starlight, for we keep coming back here each day to take in your twinkle.

  14. sybil says:

    Walking or playing with my dogs or playing a game of “Carcassonne” with Amy-Lynn make me “twinkle”.

    Hugs, me

  15. Robin says:

    The poem is wonderful. As are you, all twinkling and everything. 🙂

  16. Lovely poem and your thoughts as well. I do hope you continue to twinkle all year in fact. Shall your new nick name be “twinkle toes?”

  17. This post is beautiful. You are twinkling brightly on this snowy day. Thank you!

  18. Such a great poem Kathy! I will have to work hard to find a twinkle in the heavy clouds this morning but it our anniversary so my twinkle is letting David sleep so late that we will likely miss the first of the midday ferries and the one we were going to take. But I am most comfortable that he will rise in time for the second one and we will still get everything done we intended to do today. If not, well we will just go tomorrow 🙂

  19. anaturalfire says:

    awesome! shine your light!

  20. Susan D says:

    This entire blog twinkles and you — well, you can’t help but twinkle. You’re Kathy 🙂

  21. Lori D says:

    “Bitter cold still freezes tears this morning. Laughter ricochets off icicles.”
    These are sentences written by a gifted writer. I’d love to steal these for a WIP someday. ;-P Stay warm, be well.

  22. P.j. grath says:

    I’m twinkling today after a good conversation with an old friend, a doggie play date here in the bookstore with another friend and her new puppy, grateful e-mails from people who attended my Sunday bookstore event, and the simple presence of David and Sarah here indoors with me on a cold, windy, very snowy winter day. — would write more, but Sarah needs to go out for a walk! Will take camera and see if the world twinkles back at me. I’m pretty sure it will.

  23. Blogging makes me twinkle, too, as does art-making. Glad your inner-blogger got to twinkle today, as well.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  24. Ally Bean says:

    Would you think less of me if I told you that when I first glanced at the title of this post I thought that it said: I want to tinkle today. Putting aside my obvious need for better eyeglasses, I liked what you wrote here… once I figured out the title of the post.

  25. Well, yes, you twinkle every day, in so many ways. I know it, feel it, and read it in your blogs.
    What makes me twinkle? Friendships, love, and knowing that people like you exist in this world of ours.

  26. Your twinkling makes a difference in my life Kathy. Today, as our idea moves towards taking shape you are in my heart. xoxo S

  27. Heather says:

    You succeeded Ms. Kathy – you positively sparkled 🙂 Your blogly chatterings twinkle in my world, and I’m always glad you’ve chosen once again to communicate with us. Your words often help remind me to be a good human. Thank you 🙂

  28. Stacy says:

    What makes me twinkle? Reading Kathy’s blog on days when my lights would otherwise sputter and peter out. It has been a dull week and I am now inspired to find my twinkle. Thank you, Kathy. And thank you, Universe, for sending me Kathy. ❤

  29. Stunning poem, and your reflection ‘one hundred thoughts arise like one hundred trees, all competing for attention’ really resonates. I’m not ready to catch the song at the moment, I need to find that clearing and…oh…actually, maybe patience is where I need to start, then the clearing, and then preparing to welcome that song…slow down! Beautiful post, a real sparkler:-) Happy twinkling blogging star! Hugs, H xxxx

  30. LIke a diamond in the sky. I am glad your inner blogger is so tenacious.

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...