Where the heck ARE you, anyway?

Sunrise, sunset.  Swiftly fly the years...

Sunrise, sunset. Swiftly fly the years…

I have received such wonderful comments and emails lately asking such questions as, “When are you returning to blogging?  When are you coming back to Facebook?  Where the heck ARE you, anyway?”

Dear friends, I don’t know how to answer that question.

On one hand my heart leaps in joy to hear that you are missing the words and photos here on Lake Superior Spirit.

On the other hand, I am so enjoying this time *mostly* off the computer.  It feels right.  It feels warm and nurturing and healing.

After writing–oh goodness knows, how many posts–it must be over 1,400 now if you count all the blogs since Day 1 on several different sites–something inside has gone very, very quiet.  It doesn’t want to engage in the same way.  It wants to chop wood, do laundry. It wants to feed the woodstove, go to work at our little two-room school, to shovel snow.  It wants to delight in tatsoi, the new veggie we found in the co-op recently  (think:  a cross between swiss chard and bok choy in the shape of a wreath) and to figure out four different recipes to use it in.

How many of you have heard of tatsoi?

How many of you have heard of tatsoi?

It doesn’t want to tell stories or take photos.  It wants to enjoy wordlessly.  (Even though, if you came for tea we’d probably talk non-stop, wouldn’t we?)

I am so enjoying the simplicity of this.

On the other hand, I don’t know how to reconcile missing all my on-line friends.  How in the world does one *mostly* turn off the computer without turning off on-line friends? (Have you been able to figure this one out?  I’m stymied.)

I’m not always good at balance in the short term.  Sometimes I have to write lots and lots of posts and then just revel in silence.  I always wonder if I’ll come back to blogging.  Every time the answer has been “yes”.  Who knows what it will be in the future?

I will return, friends, when the Muse begins telling stories again.  It could be tomorrow or never.  I will return to reading your blogs when the Universe urges.  Please always feel free to email and say hello and share what’s happening in YOUR neck of the woods.  Every one of you warms my heart in appreciation for what you’ve shared of yourselves.  I am grateful for you.

 

 

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in December 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

96 Responses to Where the heck ARE you, anyway?

  1. Take the time you need and know that you are missed.

  2. Kathy – Verbose, minimal, or silent — I love your communication style. By the way, now I’m going to be on a mad hunt for TATSOI. Blessings!

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, you keep your eyes peeled for this amazing veggie. (It’s amazing because it grows in a wreath, don’t you think?) I am glad to hear from you this evening before heading out on snowy roads to go to a meeting. I think of you often in Boise.

  3. So glad to hear that I’m not the only one! The joy of writing, even emails to close friends, has dried up. I don’t think it’s depression, just a lack of need/desire to write. I expect it will come back, but for now, I’m not blogging much either. Enjoy your holiday season.

    • Kathy says:

      Esther, thank goodness we’re not the only ones. I’m certainly not depressed either. Actually more the opposite. It just feels like Yin/Yang. You know, the Universe choosing to express itself (or not) differently through us. Happy holidays to you as well!

  4. Brenda says:

    Kathy, thank you for this update ❤ I'm feeling quiet these days too. It is a blessing to take time for ourselves once in awhile so enjoy this peaceful time in the northwoods. And know love and hugs are with you everyday. xoxo

    • Kathy says:

      Brenda, I often think of you and hope you are doing well out there to the west of us, the direction from which our snow so often comes. 🙂 It is a peaceful time. Blessings and love to you!

      • Brenda says:

        Thank you, Kathy ❤ I'm struggling with some heartaches and distressing news so the holidays will probably be rather somber this year. I wish I could hide away in a secret place so my heart could heal from this emotional pain. But there are so many obligations that are required during the holiday season so I'll have to neglect the self care I need now. Thank you for thinking of me and for sending love and blessings my way because I really need that now. ❤

  5. and we are grateful to you–thanks for checking in

    • Kathy says:

      Well, LouAnn, you know you helped inspire this post! Thank YOU for checking in and wondering where I might be. (My husband doesn’t think I should be tired of blogging. After all he’s been writing columns for 36 years. However, I pointed out he’s only written weekly–not daily.)

  6. Barb says:

    I miss reading your blog, but I don’t know where you bloggers get the energy, inspiration, etc to do what you do. So I certainly won’t harp at you. I will be happy to read whatever, and whenever, you blog again. Oh, I am pretty interested in the tatsoi. I will definitely be looking for it. Have a wonderful Christmas, New Years, and a great winter.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Barb! How nice to hear from you today! I have no clue why inspiration can be so present for so long and then suddenly just dry up. Thank you for not harping. Grin. Do keep your eyes peeled for tatsoi. However, neither our son nor daughter in San Diego or NYC have seen it, so it must be VERY elusive. Happy holidays to you!!

  7. Dana says:

    Glad to hear you are well, Kathy! I’m shocked that I have never heard of tatsoi before, either. I thought I had all the green bases covered! 😉

    • Kathy says:

      Dana, you can imagine our grand excitement when spotting this brassica wreath! I said in total disbelief, “Does this really only cost $3.69?” and, sure enough, that’s what it cost. The best thing in the world is finding a new food and figuring out how to cook it. I’m still in amazement that this tatsoi appeared in the Upper Peninsula, though. It seems like the last place it would have landed! (I think someone grew it in Wisconsin.)

  8. sybil says:

    Fair ’nuff girl. I’m not feeling the urge right now either … ‘course my 26 followers don’t exactly notice when I’m not posting …

    Do what you enjoy. Come back when you feel like it.

    Enjoy life !

    Sybil

    • Kathy says:

      Oh good, Sybil, thank you. There’s a part of me that can get so crazy trying to make everybody happy. (Not a good policy, so they say.) So you’re not posting either? I actually was going to look. Thought about you sometime yesterday and wondered what was up with you and if you were having amazing adventures with your pooches along your lovely Nova Scotian shores. Take care! Many blessings…

  9. I’m glad you’re taking care of yourself, and that you’re content with less computer time. I was going to turn mine off right after checking Email this morning. Unfortunately, several letters and then two phone calls demanded computer time for my township job. I’ve been working here most of the day! Just so you know, while you’ve been away, I blogged EVERY SINGLE DAY in the month of November! Me! Can you believe it? Take care, my friend!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, you’re kidding! Every single day in November? That is amazing! Congratulations to you. Did you like it? Wondering whether it was hard or easy or challenging or addicting or…? Actually, I should have said that I have been spending little time on the Internet on the computer. Actually have to be on the computer for both my two jobs, too. For some reason I always put that in a different category. Off to a township meeting now. You take care, too!

      • I know! Me!! I didn’t intend to keep that pace beyond my thirty day commitment, but I have to say, I missed it today. It caused me to dig pretty deep…two or three of the posts were some of my best writing…others were kind of scrambling to get through it…but well worth it. It has inspired me to focus – one by one, for thirty days each – on each of my self-help goals, to see if that’s long enough to make it a habit…without letting every other single thing go by the wayside. We’ll see!

        • Kathy says:

          Cindy, if there’s ever a blog you really want me to read, feel free to email. Have been occasionally reading other blogs, but am mostly not commenting. More letting the spirit of the day decide when & where to read. So glad your daily blogging has born fruit!

  10. Elisa says:

    Enjoy that normal stuff! (begins thinking about where the snowmen might appear this year)

  11. john k says:

    If you are sated and joyful in your life, then you are at the place that all your friends want you to be. Stay healthy, joyful and at peace.

    • Kathy says:

      That is a good way to think of it, John. Have you or Jenny been up to L’Anse lately? If you’re ever in town we could meet at Java for a catch-up, if you like.

      • john k says:

        I came down South for Thanksgiving and Papa’s Baby Sitting Service 🙂 and think I will be up next week. I’d love to meet at Java. On normal month I am there about 2 1/2 weeks.

  12. Karma says:

    Whenever the muse moves you – that’s the way to blog in my humble opinion. I do delight in the stories from up there in your little house in the big woods whenever you feel like telling them.
    Have a lovely game of tic-tac-toe with your snowmen! 😉

    • Kathy says:

      Karma, you have always been one of my blogging gurus. Because I love your philosophy of *blogging when you feel like it*. I either want to blog 365 days in a row or not even be on the Internet. No middle ground! Thank you for enjoying the stories. That is so kind. The Santas and Snowmen say thank you, too. They are glad that some of you remembered them.

  13. Carol says:

    We do miss you, but following your heart is the road to happiness. Unlike laundry, dusting, meal preparation and an income-earning thing, blogging should never be a chore and does not have to follow a schedule. It is all your choice.

    • Kathy says:

      Carol, you are so right. Like Karma, you are one of my blogging gurus. I learn from your attitude all the time. Blogging was such serious business for me for so long that it became something other than relaxed at times. Lately have felt more moments of life being “enough”. I often think of you fondly. So many of my blogging friends actually flit in and out of our Little House so often.

  14. Dear Kathy, your hello note to your followers is divine. I am glad that you are doing what you care about and love. There is not need to post daily. Post as the mood moves you or strikes you or, you’ve gotten something that just needs to be aired. Hopefully you’ll return to blogging. You have so much talent- It’s a shame not to put it to use.

    Hope all is well with the fur grand babies. I know, they grow up too fast, don’t they? 🙂

  15. Heather says:

    It is so good “seeing” you again! I’m glad you’ve stopped back by your blog hearth for a fireside chat. Of course, if you don’t feel like it, that’s okay too. I know where you live, and you know where I live, and we’ll do our very best to keep in touch 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      How synchronistic, Heather–you called this a “fireside chat”. Bet you didn’t know that was the name of Barry’s column in the newspaper! As for knowing where you live…well that’s only a sort of. Since we’ve met in restaurants I’ve never actually seen your place, darn it. If you and Tony are ever up this way, do give a holler. We’ll feed you some more weird food. lol.

  16. sonali says:

    Thank you! Like the sun in your picture, we keep watching for the sun and always long for it to be there. Sometimes, even though not visible, we still know that its always there with the same level of enthusiasm and energy. We have faith.
    Thank you for posting. Nice to read from you.

    • Kathy says:

      You are very wise, Sonali. Just wanted to let you–and a couple others who asked–know where I was. Wishing you the best of the holiday season and may the sun shine gently on you and your loved ones.

  17. lisaspiral says:

    I do miss you and I’d love to spend a day drinking tea and talking. On the other hand thinking of you i recognize the silence as healing and i want to take a deep breath and tap in. I have no interest n chopping wood. Laundry is necessary and i did write a blog post a bit ago about shoveling snow. Tatsoi looks good. As you describe it I’m guessing the stems are more bok choy since the greens are clearly more kale. Flavor? Enjoy your greens and your peace and quiet.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Lisa, and so nice to hear from you. The silence is so healing–although there is a lot of noise sometimes with the phone ringing and people stopping by to pay taxes and running errands and going to my job at our little school. 🙂 You are right about the tatsoi stems being more like bok choy. However, the greens taste more like swiss chard than kale. Very mild taste. Happy holidays to you and Orion…

  18. Ever since I returned to university in 2012 I’ve been way too busy to write. I let things I used to love, like reading and writing blog posts, drop away. I’m still in school, still working. Sometimes I pop in and see how you are doing in the UP. Still have your Christmas card from several years ago, but I think I’ve moved twice since you sent it!

    • Kathy says:

      Jessica, I would love to know what you are studying at the university. It is really kind of you to stop by. Winter has descended (ascended, lol?) here in our UP and I am thinking of it as an old friend this year. No point resisting it. Better to enjoy the gifts it does bring. How nice that you still have that Christmas card. Wishing you Happy Holidays a little early!

  19. Bonnie says:

    I appreciate the update and glad to know all is well. I never was a very regular blogger, so I don’t really have your difficulty. Do what you need to do my friend. I really miss your blogs but totally understand.

    • Kathy says:

      Bonnie, you are so right. People who blog on their own schedule don’t seem to have the same need to explain themselves about blogging as those of us who have posted more regularly. Hope you enjoy your winter in Nova Scotia–and also hope you are feeling well. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  20. Debbie M. says:

    Kathy, Your blog post was truly like a friend checking in. I have several friends that I may not talk to or see for weeks (or months.) When the feeling to catch up hits us (and it is usually simultaneously), we sit down for lunch and talk for hours. It is like we didn’t miss a beat. Those are the best types of friendships. The bountiful snow and beautiful winters in your neck of the woods will inspire you to blog again! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Debbie, isn’t it wonderful to have friends like that? I just met up recently with a friend I hadn’t spent time with in five years. In no time we were chatting away as if no time had passed. You are right–that is a really wonderful friendship when that happens. We will see about blogging again. Am living every day in a more surrendering state and waiting to see what happens. Blessings.

  21. How I’d love to stop by for some tea (tropical green please) and chat for hours. I know we would. But we can’t, so selfishly I miss our blog-infused conversations. Enjoy the sounds of silence, but hear my roughwighting voice in your head, okay? 😘

    • Kathy says:

      Please let me know when you’re coming, Pam, as I shall have to buy some of that tropical green tea. (Hmmm, it’s been spotted at the school where I work. Perhaps I could “borrow” a bag or two? lol!) How lovely to think of blog-infused conversations. And if that roughwighting voice shows up we’ll meditate together. Ha ha. 🙂

  22. I Wilkerson says:

    I completely understand not feeling it for blogging. I have just been pushing myself lately. Not sure why but life (including “helping” daughter build a robot over Thanksgiving) has been taking a lot of energy lately. Lovely sky picture. Enjoy the winter peace!

    • Kathy says:

      Inger, it just seems that sometimes our blogging wanes and ebbs, just like that yonder moon. How cool that you helped build a robot! Your daughter is lucky to have you. Glad you liked the sky picture. Happy cooking as winter arrives…

  23. christinelaennec says:

    Nice to hear all is well with you. I agree with those above who have said that if you are happy, we are happy! Follow your heart.

  24. msmcword says:

    Kathy:
    I think you and I are on in the same frame of mind in regard to blogging. I published two new posts on my blog-www.msmcword.wordpress.com-last week but now I, too, am taking a break from blogging. And I don’t know either when I will be back.

    As always, I enjoyed the photos on your newest post.
    Nancy

    • Kathy says:

      Nancy, perhaps if I enjoyed taking photos more I would be blogging more regularly. However, it’s a rare week when the camera comes out. Wishing you all the best during your blogging break, as well. May you enjoy the Christmas season!

  25. Karen says:

    I can certainly understand where you are coming from. When I started blogging three years ago, I would write a post every two or three days…that is what I read you “needed to do” to have readers. I then went to once a week and now to once every two weeks as I ended up not having time to read other bloggers which is how I started blogging in the first place. More importantly, I needed take care of our orchard, home and enjoy life in general. Whatever you do, do know that you are thought of. I remember you large pile of wood last year and can see you in my mind’s eye out chopping wood, then warming up in your cosy house in the woods.

    • Kathy says:

      Karen, you have so many readers and commenters on your blog, I have no idea how you find the time to respond & read & comment to so many. It seems to be important to find a balance between our on-line and off-line lives. And there is a murky ground when we end up starting to feel obligated to be on-line, rather than enjoying it effortlessly. We have all our wood cut and stacked for this winter and are now burning it every day to keep warm. Today it’s sunny and almost 30 degrees and the woodstove is blessedly still–for now. Happy holidays to you!

  26. Janet says:

    It’s good to hear from you. Taking time off and enjoying the mundane chores in life is a good thing. My laptop broke down recently so I am sharing one desktop with my husband. It is actually a blessing in disguise. I didn’t realize how much time I was spending on-line. Now, my house is cleaner, I have gotten back into doing crafts, and am reading a lot more. It sounds to me like your “virtual” friends are often in your thoughts, but for the time being, you are happy with having quiet time for healing; and that is ALWAYS a good thing. 🙂 Oh, and I’ve never heard of tatsoi.

    • Kathy says:

      Janet, for a long time I sensed I was spending too much time on-line but couldn’t wean myself away. So it feels like a blessing to have re-entered life without excess computer dependence. It’s great that you have realized this too. (Although I am sorry about that computer breakdown.) Wondering what kind of crafts you’ve been making. And yes, my virtual friends often join me for this quiet time. 🙂 At least in my thoughts… Enjoy the holidays in your neck of the woods.

      • Janet says:

        Happy holidays to you too, Kathy. I’ve been making Christmas ornaments for our tree; helping 4H kids make them as well as the senior ladies of our parish guild; plus I like to crochet afghans.

        • Kathy says:

          I really admire people who create crafts–and who like doing so. (Not my strong suit, except maybe making homemade cars.) Enjoy your creativity!

  27. me2013 says:

    It’s nice to know that all is well, enjoy you quiet time, and whilst I am here Seasons Greetings.

  28. Dawn says:

    The tatsoi looks wonderful. I love swiss chard. Enjoy your quiet time Kathy, and the holidays, and the wood stove and the cooking. Even the laundry. We’ll be there if you decide to wander this way!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Dawn, wishing you a Happy Holiday season in advance. We are having a beautiful sunny (warm) 30 degree day in the UP. Bet it’s nice down south there in the Lower, too. You would like tatsoi. Haven’t seen it again at the co-op. Maybe we’ll never see it again here! Guess what I’m making for Book Club tonight? A tofu cheesecake with blueberries. Should I tell Book Club what it is? Or let them think they’re eating cheesecake? Ha ha.

  29. Joanne says:

    How in the world does one *mostly* turn off the computer without turning off on-line friends? My suggestion would be by writing to them, old fashioned mail, you know, like the old days. When you have time, when you feel like it. I so completely understand how you feel, Kathy, I often feel the same myself….not wanting to lose the distant friends, yet not wishing to miss out on Real Life, As It Happens, either. Will there ever be an answer to this metal conundrum? Probably not, not now the internet is here. But it sure is great to hear from you, when you are here. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Hello, Joanne, I read your answer with interest this morning. Snail mail is surely one way to go. I have had nice correspondences with readers around the world over the past few years. Yes, it seems like you do understand this conundrum. It feels like it would be easier if one had a half dozen or dozen Internet friends to keep in touch with. But I’ve got 30-40 and think they’re all totally special. But it does feel overwhelming. So the answer often becomes: turn off the computer and see who keeps up an email correspondence. And to remember to send an email/letter when someone arises in my thoughts. That’s what is working now. Happy holidays to you!

  30. Stacy says:

    Ah, my dear friend, Kathy. I’m happy to hear that you’ve been silent. I’ve been silent, too, for different reasons, and felt bad that I had not stopped by to say hello. So, hello, Kathy. It’s nice to see you again. xo

  31. Holly Llama says:

    It must be something in the air. I, too, have been quiet on my blog for a very long time…since July, actually. And I’m right there with you. I’ve been creating and enjoying life wordlessly. Part of me wants to continue to share with the world what I’ve been doing, but another part just wants to enjoy the fruits of my labor and just let it be. I’m happy to hear that you’ve been enjoying life and the simple pleasures that are often missed in the cyber world. Good for you! May your holidays be full of magic and wonder.

    • Kathy says:

      Holly Lllama, I so get what you’re saying. Part of me wants to stay quiet and truly digest the “fruits”. The other part wants to share. I sit between those two seemingly opposite feelings and wait patiently to see what happens. Holiday joy to you, as well!

  32. Barb says:

    Hi Kathy, I just came by to check on you. It’s been warm here (50’s), we got the flu, and I’m not sure I like you being so quiet. I often take December off from writing in the blog, but for some reason, I didn’t get around to it this year. Hope you and Barry are well and enjoying your time there in the forest. Tatsoi? I’d hang it on the door!

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, I am so sorry to hear you’ve had the flu! Hope you are all better. We actually had the wildest & craziest November–snow, cold, early winter. But this weekend it’s supposed to be in the 40’s! Strange weather, huh? I smiled reading you don’t like me being so quiet. But what’s a girl to do when her heart commands it? We went looking for tatsoi again last night. Not to be found. Maybe it will never happen again! Happy holidays, my Colorado friend.

  33. I’m intrigued by the lettuce wreath with the strange name.

    Enjoy the silence and simplicity or the season.

    and know you are missed.

  34. me2013 says:

    Just popped by to wish you seasons greetings

    bright blessings to you all

  35. It is good to hear your voice again, Kathy – though I can hardly blame you for being absent 🙂 I think I have that trick down to a T myself. Enjoy life. All of it. Every breath, every tatsoi and every load of laundry. It is a good thing, and you deserve to revel in it. Season’s blessings and all the very best to you and yours.

    • Kathy says:

      Hello Zen Archeress–I really do love your name. It is sometimes challenging for me to be absent, but am listening to that deep inner voice which chooses to express itself in different ways at this time. Happy Solstice to you this day and many blessings in 2015. Enjoying Life along with you…and thank you…

  36. bearyweather says:

    My blogging voice has been quiet, too … because it is being drowned out by life chaos. My mind is too full and too busy doing other things that I can not find the time to relax or concentrate to put the words together to create a post.
    I am on vacation and thought I would easily be able to write a post or two … I have started, but my mind is still not in blogging mode … maybe in a few more days I will finish a post.
    Blogging and my online friends have been important to me for so many years … not sharing or catching up with them is the hard part … I am not giving up on blogging … just waiting for the mind to clear out the clutter of life demands so that I can freely enjoy it again.
    Thanks for an update …

    • Kathy says:

      Bearyweather, it is so good to hear from you. Life chaos can be challenging to blogging and clarity, that’s for sure. I hope you can relax during your vacation and find some peace and ease. (And possibly even a post.) It is so challenging to figure out how to keep up with our blogging friends when we’re not on-line as much. Wishing you the best as 2015 approaches. Thanks again for stopping by to say hello.

  37. I Wilkerson says:

    Just wanted to wish you a happy 2015. Hope your holidays were lovely!

  38. Never heard of tatsoi – thanks for including the picture – it looks very healthy. I’ve been spending time *mostly* off the computer, too, and often feel that tug between wanting to connect and stay in touch and embracing the need to focus on simple domestic joys.

    It’s funny – I started feeding the birds in December with the idea of getting some close-up photos of them, but I sit here watching the birds for hours without any urge to grab my camera…

    • Kathy says:

      Barbara, we keep looking for tatsoi again, but have never spotted it. How interesting that you, too, are feeling that tug between wants. I don’t know what to make of this right now–and that’s OK. Smiling thinking of you watching those birds for hours. Have you heard of David Hinton? I just downloaded his book “hunger Mountain” which is a Field Guide to Mind and Landscape. Intrigued to read this translator of ancient Chinese poetry. It’s quite a deep book, but I am now looking at landscape/nature in a new way. Blessings!

      • Kathy, I have never heard of David Hinton, but you aroused my curiosity so I just down loaded his book to my Kindle. Thanks so much for the suggestion! (I’m trying to catch up on my email notifications today, which is why it has taken me so very long to reply…) Blessings to you, my friend!

        • Kathy says:

          Barbara, there were parts of the book that truly inspired me! Other parts, not as much. The scholarship of Chinese characters could get a little challenging. But, all in all, glad I read the book. Just finished another one that inspired: Your Body Knows the Answer by David Rome. Fascinating. Oh, and today’s purchase: Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer.

  39. heartspoken says:

    Kathy, this clearly resonated with lots of your followers, and I understand why. Nature is a great teacher in all this — there are seasons to our lives just like seasons of the year, and we need to be sensitive to their ebb and flow, because it’s how we stay balanced, attuned, and healthy. I’ll bet your honesty about taking a break will inspire others to do so when they didn’t have the courage or awareness to do it on their own.

    • Kathy says:

      This is a lesson that many of us need to learn. You are so right about the ebb and flow of nature. Winter is such a good time for going deep, moving within, seeing what’s really true and worthwhile. Especially when we take that time for ourselves…

  40. pearlz says:

    You blogs are so uplifting, but I totally understand your need for a sabbatical.

    • Kathy says:

      It has been a long sabbatical this time. It will be interesting to see if I get back into blogging again. It has really been fun connecting with everyone again this week. But must go visit other blogs soon!

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...