Here we go, Detox, dear friend…

Your fruits and vegetables, please and thank you, kindly.

Your fruits and vegetables, please and thank you, kindly.

Dear Esteemed Friends,

I am about to undergo a three-week long detox program.  Anyone want to join?

OK, you mustn’t feel obliged.

You can continue eating whatever feels wrong to your body, as I have sometimes for months and months upon end.  (Why do we do this?)

Or, conversely, you’re probably already eating 100% what your deepest heart desires, in which you have no need of detox, you smart savvy reader, you.

Barry is (probably) rolling his eyes, wondering what his beloved is doing NOW.

He is wondering how this will affect his own dinner plans.

I cannot say.

I can only say that since 2012 I have wanted passionately to do the Whole Living magazine “Fresh Start Action Plan“.   I mean passionately.  For one whole year I have wanted this.  The new 2013 plan came via the postal service, in our Northwoods mailbox in magazine format, last week.  I have salivated.  Wanted. Deeply desired to eat fresh fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, lentils. To eliminate potential toxins.  To feel light, sweet, dancing good again.

Magical carrots

Magical carrots

Forget thee glass of wine! Forget thee coffee!  Forget thee caffeinated tea!  I am ready for Purity.

How many of You are ready for the challenge?  To eat healthier?  To scale back to essentials to discover what the body truly wants versus what our crazy body/minds are craving?

If you are ready, if you are sooooo ready, please click here and join me in this challenge for the next three weeks.  If you’re not ready, it’s quite OK.  Some day, some not-so-distant day,  you may be ready to eat in the healthiest manner imaginable.  (Or you’re already eating in a way which satisfies you, and we’re all envious right now wanting to join you in your deep knowing.)

For me, this challenge translates to Tuesday.  In the meantime, I’ve sipped one last glass of wine.  Munched on that last bar of chocolate.  Just for farewell purposes.  And now, shall we march on toward pure health?  Shall we?

Let me know what you discover, should you choose to accept this challenge.  I am quite excited for the next  Fruit Smoothie, for the next Red Lentil  and Sweet Potato Stew, for the next Creamy Broccoli Soup, for the next French Lentil Salad, for the next Roasted Beets on Greens.

Yes, sweet peaches...

Yes, sweet peaches…

P.S.  Dear Friends, I have a Blogging Friend visiting next weekend. What should I do?  Should I make her eat the detox food?  Or fix something special for her and her husband while soldiering on with roasted Portobello with kale? What do you think?

P.S.S.  Do you occasionally undertake a detox program?  Do you usually eat fairly healthy?  Do you sometimes feel the urge to eat in a more simple healthy way?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in January 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Here we go, Detox, dear friend…

  1. I’m going to check it out and see. I eat fairly healthy, I think. Will let you know.

  2. I don’t recognize half the ingredients, not being a cook. It will take me a week to sit down and figure this out. I may just start after my colonoscopy on Feb. 8.

  3. Well, good luck! I am doing the “Yoga Body Diet” right now, which involves eating based on my dosha (Pitta) and replacing most all beverages, including coffee, with warm water sipped through the day. As change is needed – and empowering – I’d consider joining you if I weren’t already fighting to keep my commitment in another direction. Best wishes, Kathy!
    As for your company, maybe leave it up to them? Or, depending on how Barry is participating – or not – let them eat how he eats? Best wishes!

  4. susan says:

    I’ve done many de-tox cleanses over the years – I try at least once a year – and always feel great. Though besides the caffeine from coffee and green tea, I can’t imagine what other toxins I’m purging out since I eat all organics, much of it raw, and very little meat, next to no dairy etc. I take chlorella about once a month for a mini-de-tox.

    Some of the recipes in the cleanse you’re talking about are certainly good enough for company but if they are heavy carnivores, perhaps throw a steak on the table with your “dinner” as a side?

    If you’ve never done this before, you may experience some not-so-fun bodily reactions or feel tired after a week. Hang in there, it goes away. The worse you may be feeling, the more toxins are leaving. Stay positive! Good Luck!
    Hugs
    SuZen

  5. John Kuttenberg says:

    If I were your visitor I would view a meal made by you an adventure and would look forward tasting new dishes and learning about new ingredients.

  6. sybil says:

    I’m with John. I think it’s fine to feed ’em whatever you’re eating.

    I’m a wussy, poor cook. Sometimes I buy healthy food, under the misapprehension that simply possessing it conveys health and goodwill.

    I’m drinking more water. That was my New Year’s resolution.

    I have one friend doing the detox, another pair who have gone vegan and gluten free and another who swears by the “paleo” meat diet.

    I’ll be interested in learning about what you eat and how you feel it benefits you …

  7. lynnekovan says:

    Hi, I don’t actually do detox, but, as from two weeks ago, I stopped eating rubbish, and got on to healthy low fat, plus more fruit and veg type of food. Don’t drink alcohol anyway so that’s OK. I have started making my own artisan bread which has no fat or sugar in it. Do I feel better? Yes! Have I lost weight? Don’t know. I will wait until my clothes feel more comfortable to know that. I don’t have scales anymore, or I will just get disappointed if I haven’t lost weight.
    Emotionally I feel tons better, and want to be more active.

    It’s just got to be the right time, hasn’t it?

    Good luck with your detox, although it’s not the best time of year (here in Nova Scotia any way) to find good varieties of fruit and veg.

    When your blogging friend comes, just eat what you feel is right, and ask her how she feels about joining you.

    • flandrumhill says:

      Dear Lynne, you’re most welcome to use my scales the next time you’re in my neck of the woods. Good luck with your quest to better health. I’m sure your artisan bread is especially tasty and guilt-free 🙂

  8. Heather says:

    I would hope your visitor would have enough manners to be graceful about whatever is served, and I suspect she would be just fine with roasted portobellos and kale. I hear she’s been having spinach/blueberry/cocoa smoothies for breakfast, so she’s probably not so far from the cleanse diet that you’d have to worry!

  9. I have seen and tried a lot of crazy detox programs in my time, but this one looks quite good Kathy! Looks very sensible though week two and three have more flour products than I usually eat. The recipes look great and I love the way it is presented, too.
    I can’t join you today but I may come back to it and do the three weeks as long as I don’t have to eat the beets!

  10. Barb says:

    As you may know, I’ve been under the weather since Jan 3, so have had over 2 weeks of unplanned detox – no alcohol, caffeine, or much else but protein shakes with fruit and chicken soup (from Whole Foods – you know I’m not much of a cook) plus herbal teas. I am beginning to feel better, but I started the protein shakes because I didn’t want to lose any more weight. I looked at the detox program you’re thinking of following, and it seems healthy and doable. I’ll definitely cheer you on and follow your progress, Kathy. PS I love beets – tell me how you like that salad, and if it’s easy to make! If you’re unsure, let Barry make your guests something on the grill. They can share the salad with you.

  11. P.j. grath says:

    Over 20 years ago I did a very strenuous detox that consisted of several days’ fasting, drinking only water with a little lemon juice and (I think) maple syrup added to it. Then added fresh fruits. Etc.

    Two years ago I stopped coffee (including decaf) and other caffeine for Lent. I didn’t have withdrawal and made it through the whole six weeks. This year I’m thinking of going off coffee, decaf, tea, and wine during Lent. Why Lent? It’s a traditional period of time and season of the year for fasting, and I like following a tradition. This year it will be Feb. 13 through March 30, and the really cool thing is that Sunday, April 1, will be my birthday, so I can begin my birthday celebration with morning coffee!

    Can you ask your guest’s preference ahead of time? Maybe she would view it as an adventure, and then you wouldn’t have to fix separate meals.

  12. P.j. grath says:

    Oops, just realized March has 31 days. Birthday Monday. Oh, well.

  13. Did you ever watch the documentary “Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead” — that almost inspired me to try juicing at least on a limited or partial basis! We have added more lean protein and veggies to the diet over the past couple years, but until the boys are off to college, a true detox for me would be tough so I will support you instead and try to at least minimize my wine and coffee during the weeks 🙂 ~ Kat

  14. Well aint that good, Kathy. Be sure to stick with it.

    I already eat like that. Lots of fruit and veggies. No sugar except honey. In a blue moon I eat chocolate and then I feel sick. I chose to eat this way because I had to. Lots of allergies, flu like symptoms, headaches, and constant near incapacitating fatigue. BUt I drink coffee. No dairy products. No meat of any kind except rarely some fish. I drink soy (unsweetened) and cook with tofu. Eat nuts, lots of apples, drink apple cider vinegar in glass of water every day. Plenty of garlic added to cooked food.

    No artificial sweetners of any kind and no high fructose corn syrup.

    Your guests? I have not idea what to feed them. Make stew and soup with some meat added. That should be ok???

  15. Kathy – My hat is off to you. You go, girl! And like your reader John K. I think that anyone who is a guest in your home – fellow blogger, or not – would be tickled pink to live your adventure, even for a day!

  16. Stacy says:

    I must say that I would serve my guest those detox foods that you mention – I eat those regularly anyway and they’re not just healthful, they’re delicious. My mantra has always been moderation in all things. It has kept me pretty healthy my whole life.

    Good luck, Kathy. Can’t wait to hear your reports! ❤

  17. Christina says:

    Ooooh, I’m so excited for you and how amazing you’ll feel when you start your detox, Kathy! I’m eager to hear about your experience as you’re going through it.

    As for your question, I would make your friend eat the detox food, but I would strategically mix around the dishes (I checked the schedule) so that whatever days she’s visiting you’re cooking something that is all-around appealing and most people would love, like the Red Lentil and Sweet Potato Stew.

  18. Elisa says:

    I peeshawed, but then I went and I read….most of the foods on that list are very very very hard on my digestive tract, being mostly on the FODMAPS list. No can do, but have an excellent time! At least the recipes’ photographs look colorful and have a lot of texture and the brain says mmmm lots of tastes, based upon the visual party of items.

  19. I actually did this Whole Living detox a few years back. The only big difference was I had to give up caffeine and gluten, so it wasn’t too terrible. I’ve done smaller scales since then sense I eat a pretty clean diet. Made a variation of one the new juices the other day from the current issue. Altogether I think you will like it, good luck!! 🙂

  20. Karen says:

    Good luck with your detox…I’ll be cheering you along from the sidelines.

  21. dorannrule says:

    I am experimenting with a “Stop when you are full” program. If that doesn’t work to get me back to dancing vigor, I may try your detox idea. 🙂

  22. lisaspiral says:

    Best wishes to you on your detox program. I am agreed that if the food is tasty and well prepared there is no reason not to share it. It does depend on how many meals. I know that not everyone is equipped for a meat-free diet for any length of time. Detox fascinates me because like all of our other allopathic medicine it is based on the assumption that what is good for one body or the “average” body is good for EVERY body. I have had enough experience with my own diet and with cooking for others that I simply don’t believe it. I also know that the source of the food matters as much or more than what the food is. Carrots grown in fields of pesticides can’t be as good for you as small farm organic grass fed beef. Of course I’m sure you’ve taken all of that into consideration as you’ve had a year to prepare for this adventure.

  23. sandiwhite says:

    Kathy, usually after the Holidays I go on a Clean food diet, I eat so many things at so many different houses and places and it never once crosses my mind to say no. Then foe a week or so after the New Year I will eat things like oatmeal, rice, just carbs that will provide me with energy. I’m by no means trying to lose weight, quite the contrary, I have to bulk up for the Winter! Not all carbs of course, just not commercially processed foods. Here’s where my garden comes in handy, all that stuff I sweated over last Summer is now the fuel that keeps my inner fires burning. I reconstitute myself on the cleanest food I can find, the food I raised myself.

  24. flandrumhill says:

    Kathy, I’m Sybil’s friend who swears by the paleo diet which was highly promoted to me by my oldest son who’s been a health nut ever since I can remember. He’s one of those guys who ‘look’ so fit that people stop them at the gym to ask what their diet/workout regimen is. Anyhow, I never thought I could change my diet the way I have since last summer. But I did manage it and have lost weight and felt better for it. I don’t think we’re all the same and have to find out what works best for us as individuals. Good luck with your new regimen. Hopefully Barry will still be able to enjoy his dinners.

  25. Dawn says:

    Good luck Kathy! I think you should feed your guests whatever you’re eating, with maybe a little bit of whatever Barry’s finding to eat thrown in! 🙂 I’ll go read the link, but after work, as I have to get going now!

  26. Dawn says:

    PS: And did you notice? At the back of the store, behind the apples in your first photo, the wine cellar is lurking…..

  27. Joanne says:

    Kathy, I haven’t eaten breakfast yet and you made my tummy growl with all that talk of yummy food! I have to run, I have to go to work today, but I’ll be back. I really want to read the link you have here…..

  28. Kathy says:

    Thank you everyone for commenting and sharing your own thoughts and eating styles and advice. I have done this before–eight years ago when we switched to a macrobiotic diet–and felt exquisitely alive and healthy afterwards. Now we eat pretty darn healthy but like going “back to the basics” every once in a while to let the system rest and rejuvenate. To not eat grains for a week. To just love those fruits and vegetables and lentils and nuts. Already feeling lighter. And enjoying the heck out of making new dishes! Thanks again for dropping by. If you stopped by the house tonight you could have a bowl of blended broccoli soup. You have an hour to get here.

  29. Looking forward to reading abou this adventure!

    The last two years of my life I’ve spent doing the vegetarian thing. I’ve recently had to add a bit of fish back in to the diet once a week to overcome a B12 and D deficiency. I’m not thrilled by this but getting the nutrients from a food source instead of a vitamin seemed the way to go for me.

  30. Ohhhhh…. this is something that I SHOULD be doing, but I don’t think I’m as brave as you….. there are some things that I just don’t think I could give up! Best of luck to you, and I hope you feel “dancing good” at the end of the detox!! 😉

  31. Kathy says:

    Am feeling *almost* dancing good already! Had about 1 1/2 days of feeling “icky” before it cleared up. Still feel kind of weak to take a long walk or anything, thought. I think everyone should try this! It really reboots the system. *although have mentioned to Barry more than once: have never spent so much money to eat so little.*

  32. Hola Kathy, I´ve being doing a detox plan for 29 days already, I feel pretty good, I´m sure you are going to feel like to dance, good lucky !!!!!! Have a great week!

  33. Kathy says:

    Congratulations to all who give their body this gift! (Katya, I still feel a bit weak to really dance, but have danced with our stuck car this morning, anyway. How cool that you’ve stuck with your detox for 29 days!!)

  34. Robin says:

    I am planning to do a detox soon, when things in life are little more settled (or as settled as they can be — it’s chaos right now). I am really looking forward to it. And since I’m so far behind, I look forward to seeing how it’s been going with you. Perhaps you’ll motivate me to give up on the perfect time and just jump in. 😀

  35. Kathy says:

    For anyone reading these comments, please jump over to this blog post to see my *profuse gushing* after Week 1: https://upwoods.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/click-here-for-profuse-gushing-about-detox-week-one/
    (Barry suggested I shouldn’t have used the words “profuse gushing” in reference to a cleanse…lol…)

  36. Dana says:

    Huzzah to re-setting, Kathy! I used to do 2-week ‘cleanses’ but now I like to do ongoing (and more gentle) cleansing. (It’s a verb to me now, not a noun like it used to be.) It’s amazing how fabulous our bodies feel when we are not feeding them things that drag them down! Looking forward to reading the first week check in. 🙂

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...