Photos of wild animals in our woods

Bobcat approaches

Bobcat approaches

Here in the woods of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula we share the trees, the lakes, the snow, the paths, the rivers, the flora, the passing seasons with the wild ones, the wild creatures who roam the forests.

Sometimes days and weeks can go by without a glimpse of wild animals.  You know they’re out there, you know they’re all around, but you perhaps only see deer munching by the roadside, squirrels or chipmunks scampering up the poplar, a lone eagle or hawk soaring overhead.

Gray wolf

Gray wolf

When  you spot a wolf barreling across the road or notice a moose in springtime munching in a swamp or hear the coyotes howling during a moonlit night you feel blessed.

You remember the wild ones, our brothers and sisters of the woods, and perhaps you give thanks for our interconnected lives.

Pine marten

Pine marten

My friend and fellow book club attendee, Pam Nankervis, is a wildlife biologist for the Keweenaw Bay tribe here in Baraga County, in the western part of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.  She offered to share these wild animal pics taken from different locations around Baraga County. They are work photos from tribe’s Natural Resource Department.

(OK, I admit it.  I begged for the photos.  I knew you would want to see them.  I knew how much some of you would want to see them.)

Vultures

Vultures

Do you see the tagged vulture up above?  Pam said  that the vulture had been tagged in Venezuela!  Can you imagine it flying all the way from South America to the woods of Upper Michigan?

Bobcat in summer

Bobcat in summer

All of these  photos were taken at remote game camera study sites set up in Baraga County.  The remote camera surveys collect baseline mammal information on relative abundance and habitat use.  The tribe’s biologists also monitor wolf pack territories to determine reproduction rates and how many packs may be using the Keweenaw Bay Indian Community reservation.

Running black wolf

Running black wolf

“We are also hoping to capture some photos of cougar passing through, but no such luck yet!” Pam said.

Gray wolf in winter

Gray wolf in winter

 

Young eagle

Young eagle

Pam explained that complete eagle transformation to the white head and yellow beak takes nearly five years; otherwise, the young eagles are brown with increasing white feathers.  This young eagle has some yellow on its beak but a very dark head so is probably two years old, no older than three.  Eagle coloration varies.

Adult eagle

Adult eagle

 

Lone bear about 3 years old

Lone bear about 3 years old

 

Bear with yearling cubs

Bear with yearling cubs

The young bear stay with their mom two years before venturing out alone. Aren’t they cute the way they are playing with each other in the photo up above?  And look at this little coyote pup playing with the flagging tape:

Coyote pup playing with flagging tape

Coyote pup playing with flagging tape

Thank you, Pam, and the Keweenaw Bay Indian tribe for sharing these photos with the larger world.  Their website (with more photos) is not working at this time, but I promise to insert a link here when it is functional.  Thank you game cameras for giving us rare views of bobcat and wolf and bear in the wild.

Thank you, Universe, that we may continue to respect and honor all your creatures.  Megwetch, or sincere thanks, as the Anishinabe (Ojibway) people here say honoring all our relations, including the winged and four-footed brothers and sisters.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in March 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Photos of wild animals in our woods

  1. They are endearing.

  2. jeffstroud says:

    How cool is that! Great view of what is going on out there when we are not looking!
    Thank you for “begging” for and sharing these photos!

  3. Brenda Hardie says:

    Ohhh Kathy! Thank you so very much for sharing these pictures! Please tell your friend Pam and the Keweenaw Bay Indian tribe, thank you as well! What a treasure to get a glimpse of your “neighbors” in the wild ♥ A blessing indeed!

  4. sybil says:

    Wonderful glimpse into a world we seldom see Kathy, megwetch.

  5. I think I am missing a gene in that my appreciation for wildlife has not been developed fully enough – even so, these are fantastic pics

  6. Thanks to you and your friend for sharing these photos to give every one an idea of what a great state that Michigan is! It is amazing how far the vultures go while migrating, even more amazing is that our little hummingbirds migrate almost as far on their tiny little wings.

  7. lisaspiral says:

    Those are some remarkable photos. http://www.snapshotserengeti.org is a project the U of MN is doing that you might want to check out, and maybe even sign up to help with. 🙂

  8. Kat B. says:

    The running black wolf is amazing — the wolf hunts in our northern regions make me so sad. ~ Kat

  9. Stacy says:

    Wow – how cool is that?

    I’ve always thought that the wolf is my spirit animal. My mom took me to a wolf rescue center in Colorado for my 40th birthday. It was amazing to be right next to such creatures.

    Thanks for begging for the photos! ❤

  10. Bryan says:

    Been following for a while now but have never commented. I and my family hold the UP dear to our hearts. Thanks for this set of pics. and thank you to those involved. It warmed my heart on a cold day. Megwetch.

  11. susan says:

    Hi Kathy,
    I wish I’d had my camera last summer when I saw a mama mink and her two cubs (?) pups (?) whatever. I pulled my kayak up to our dock and there they were scampering up the shoreline. I had several sightings of them, all without a lens to capture them. We aren’t in the woods like you are, but I’ve seen bear, fox, otters, and MANY eagles. I will never take the wildlife for granted – it’s so awesome to experience our shared environments.
    Hugs
    SuZen

  12. Lori D says:

    Awesome. The running black wolf looks like a cut-out in the middle of the photo. I would be delighted to see even a chipmunk or a hawk. I’ve tried to get photos of the myriad of birds around our man-made lake in the subdivision, but I haven’t been able to get close enough without them flying away. Maybe one day. Thank you to Pam for sharing these with Kathy who shared them with us.

  13. Elisa says:

    claps with glee!!

  14. Dear Dr. Doolittle – I love the animals in your woods. I love that you love the animals in your woods. And I love that you shared these photographs with us.

  15. Heather says:

    Thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you!
    I think I got On thehomefrontandbeyond’s missing genetic contribution for wildlife appreciation 😉
    I love that we share our world with such beautiful, elusive creatures. It is a gift to spot one in the wild, and I am so grateful to have shared a moment with them this morning.

  16. Thank you for helping enter a different world – one that is all around us, but seldomly seen. Did you read Jodi Picoult’s Lone Wolf novel? Fascinating info about wolves threaded into the story. I have new respect for the animals.

  17. Janet says:

    Thanks for begging for the photos. They were wonderful to see!

  18. Barbara Stasik says:

    Thank you so much Kathy and thank you to the tribe. You remind us that we are all connected and we all need to care for each other. I love nothing more than being ‘up north’ at our cabin. There is peace… and it enters your heart like a gift. When we learn together and share, that is a great gift. Megwetch – thank you. You honored us all with this beauty.

  19. sandiwhite says:

    Kathy! Wonderful post! I’m going to share this with my friend Scott, the most persistent of wildlife advocates I know.

  20. Ah, these are all the creatures I hope to not come face to face with while we are up at our cabin. No Moose pictures? I do admit I would like to see some of them. So far have only spotted hoove prints.

  21. brandieroberts says:

    Kathy – these are phenomenal! Thank you so very much for sharing these. Your posts always make me want to get in the car and drive North…. no matter what time of year!

  22. Quite a variety! Loved seeing these, Kathy, thank you. Say hello to “Bob” for me.

  23. What an awesome job Pam has. Thank you for sharing the pictures.

  24. john says:

    Wow, I love these! Please add my name to the thank you list for Pam. Thank you for petitioning her to post them. Unless I get a chaperone, I am stuck down here on the flatlands until my knee surgery on 4/16. People are upset that I was alone up there when I tore the cartilage further last week. These pictures make me want to be up there even more.

  25. Fountainpen says:

    How wonderful!!!!!!!!

  26. Susan D. says:

    Oh, I like these pictures .. a lot! Thanks to you and to Pam. I feel fortunate to be able to glimpse what’s behind and among all those trees. Was wonderful to catch a glimpse of you today, too, as always! Hope you and Barry find a yummy supper before the 8 millionth game tonight! Love you.

  27. dorannrule says:

    Fantastic photos! Thanks so much for sharing. I have never seen or heard of a black wolf. He looks huge!

  28. dawnkinster says:

    These are amazing. Please tell her thank you so much for sharing! We’d never get to see some of these animals without them doing this work!

  29. Karma says:

    Thank you very much for getting your friend to share these photos! This actually sounds like a wonderful job to have!

  30. Dana says:

    So cool! Part of me always hopes to see wildlife, but a larger part of me is happy to admire them in photographs only. Especially wolves, bears, cougars, and bobcats. 🙂

  31. Connie T says:

    The Bobcat is beautiful. Once in Florida, they had some wild animals to show at the library. I went to see them and they had a wild cougar in a cage. It is big and just growled at people.

  32. lucindalines says:

    Kathy thank you so much for asking for these photos and sharing them with all of us. What beautiful creatures, and how nice to see them outside of a zoo.

  33. Sartenada says:

    Amazing photos! I have seen bobcat only once in my life and it happened about 50 years ago.

  34. lynnekovan says:

    Wow Kathy, what a wonderful glimpse of those fabulous creatures. I know they are out there here in Nova Scotia (many asleep just now) but I haven’t seen much yet. I worry about my cats getting eaten by coyotes, and we hear them in summer howling. Let’s hope they stay away from out garden! Thanks for sharing these fabulous shots.

  35. Tammy says:

    That was quite the tour! I would love to see a bobcat and I’ve never heard of a pine marten. We have a terrible coyote problem right now so I didn’t like that one so much 😦

  36. Kathy says:

    Thank you to all who stopped by to enjoy the photos of wild animals that Pam shared. Glad you all enjoyed!

  37. Kerry Dwyer says:

    What great pictures Pam shared. Isn’t it nice to know that we share the planet with all these other lovely creatures.

  38. bearyweather says:

    Normally, I carry my camera around with me when ever I go anywhere … because I never know what wild creatures will cross my path. Because of the cold, I stopped bring my camera with me to work about a month ago. And, you guessed it, I saw some great sights and missed getting pictures.
    The one that I am most sad about is that I saw my first bobcat … it crossed the road and we both stopped and stared at each other for about 30-40 seconds .. enough time to get some great pictures … if my camera would have been with me. 😦 (lesson learned)
    Thanks for sharing these pictures.

  39. Chris Roddy says:

    That was so great Kathy. I love the creatures. They are so beautiful and the info. too. I need all the help I can get learning about them. Thanks

  40. me2013 says:

    We live in and share a wonderful world, I just loved these photos. Thanks for posting them

  41. Robin says:

    Thank YOU, Kathy, for sharing these wonderful images. I love them all. Thank you, too, for pointing me in this direction. At the rate I’m working at catching up, it might have been April before I saw this. Aren’t birds amazing? Imagine having to travel all that distance every year under your own power.

  42. Kathy says:

    Thank you again! I keep looking for a bobcat on the road now every time I go to town or work…

  43. Amazing Photos! Thank you for sharing.

  44. AJ says:

    Nice! Great photos, great luck getting the marten… I’ll keep watching for the cougar!

  45. Reggie says:

    I love these ‘hidden camera’ pics of the wildlife in your woods. Thank you for persuading your friends to share them with us.

  46. Pingback: Unexpected Guests | finchnwren

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...