Driftwood dreamin’

Driftwood dreamin'

Driftwood dreamin’

Driftwood art

Driftwood art

Driftwood perch

Driftwood perch

Driftwood pause

Driftwood pause

Three

Three

Many

Many

Driftwood loop

Driftwood loop

Driftwood sweep

Driftwood sweep

Driftwood with holes

Driftwood with holes

Driftwood reflections

Driftwood reflections

Dragonfly among shells

Dragonfly among shells

Driftwood and friends

Driftwood and friends

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in November 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Driftwood dreamin’

  1. Nice photos! And I love images “tortured” natural objects, like your “driftwood with holes.”

  2. P.j. grath says:

    I can tell it’s Florida driftwood, not Michigan. That egret was my first clue.

  3. Beautiful photographsโ€”there’s something about “Three” that’s pulled a heartstring for me.

  4. Susan Derozier says:

    Your dragonfly photo is simply amazing Kathy. I love driftwood wherever it is. I actually spent more time on the shore and beach when I lived in Superior than I do here in Florida. It was simply easier and quieter.

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, glad you enjoyed the dragonfly photo. Hesitated to go backwards two weeks to my vacation in Florida and share these, but couldn’t stand not to. You are right about the Superior beaches being quieter and more peaceful than some of the Florida beaches. We’re lucky to be so near this little nature preserve right in the middle of so many people on Fort Myers Beach. It’s like a little piece of heaven amidst a lot of sun-screened sunbathers.

  5. Vickie Hall says:

    beautiful, evocative photos. thank you . again, so wish i was there ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Bonnie says:

    Beautiful! I think driftwood talks to us. It has tales to tell, if we could only understand. Maybe it doesn’t actually talks, but it does speak.

  7. Elisa says:

    Gritty sand, contrasted with fluffy flakes dancing down in yellow lit clouds YUM!

  8. Heather says:

    Yay – you shared them ๐Ÿ™‚ The driftwood holes are super cool. And that driftwood loop reminds me of the photo of the yoga deer you’ve shared before ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Kathy says:

      Heather, for some reason I can’t stand keeping photos in a file on the computer and never showing them to people. Since I don’t take them for me to look at, somebody has to look at them, right? It’s hard to describe. I find it impossible to put into words my relationship with photography. Could you put it into words for me? lol. just kiddin’. Sort of.

  9. Karma says:

    Lovely! I wouldn’t mind being in just such a spot right now with these chilly temps we’ve been less-than-enjoying lately.

    • Kathy says:

      Grinning atcha, Karma. Today it’s a high of 32 degrees today and we feel like it’s a heat wave! No wonder one has to driftwood dream… Stay warm, my friend, and keep dreaming.

  10. Dana says:

    Such beautiful photos, Kathy. I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    • Kathy says:

      Dana, thank you for stopping by and saying so. It was a very very quiet Thanksgiving. I wrote two stories though. Have been SO enjoying writing story after story these days. I am so happy to see that you’re sharing your stories, too.

  11. me2013 says:

    Happy belated Thanks Giving, (sorry I missed it).

  12. Brenda Hardie says:

    Good Morning Kathy,
    Your pictures are beautiful…my favorite is “driftwood pause” โ™ฅ You have such a talent for capturing the magical moments in nature. Thank you for allowing us a glimpse into your world. โ™ฅ

    • Kathy says:

      Brenda, I am always befuddled when people compliment my nature photography. It feels like all I do is point & shoot. The camera and the Universe do the rest. It’s good that some people seem to like the shots, though. That makes me smile.

  13. msmcword says:

    Kathy,
    There are times when we don’t need words because photos say it all.
    This is one of those times. And, as always, your photos are just as much a treat for my eyes as your words are.
    Nancy

  14. Dawn says:

    Loved ‘the perch’ with the white birds and the person in red behind. Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  15. I love these driftwood pictures, Kathy, especially the first one. And the bent (?) dragonfly – was it alive?

    • Kathy says:

      Glad you liked the driftwood pics, Barbara. I was trying to capture their language a little bit. The poor little dragonfly, sadly, was not alive. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  16. Stacy says:

    I wonder what stories those branches could tell – it’s up to us to imagine, isn’t it?

    Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, Kathy! โค

    • Kathy says:

      Stacy, I wonder if that’s why people can enjoy photos so much? Because they can make up their own stories, rather than listen to a one-sided story? Just wonderin’. Happy Thanksgiving to you, Ms. Stacy!

  17. Munira says:

    Loved the theme of this blog post, the earth tones, and of course the captions. Speaks volumes about the eye behind the camera ๐Ÿ™‚
    What were you dreaming of Kathy?

  18. I was just admiring Karen’s beach pictures from her vacation post…. I love yours, too!

  19. Robin says:

    Beautiful images, Kathy. Driftwood always reminds me of bones, and brings to mind the story La Loba in the book “Women Who Run with the Wolves.”

    “The sole work of La Loba is the collecting of bones. She collects and preserves especially that which is in danger of being lost to the world . . . and when she has assembled an entire skeleton, when the last bone is in place and the beautiful white sculpture of the creature is laid out before her, she sits by the fire and thinks about what song she will sing.” (Clarissa Pinkola Estes) She sings the creature back to life. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Kathy says:

      I love that La Loba story, Robin. Thanks for the reminder about it. Thinking about bones now and about how to become more curious toward certain parts of ourselves. To discover what hidden messages are bursting or inching toward consciousness. Wanting to be more gentle with them and listen better.

  20. Lovely photos. I think driftwood is so amazing and beach pictures always remind me of the happy summers growing up at the cottage. ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Reggie says:

    I looove these driftwood pictures… so evocative… what stories those trees and branches could tell…

  22. Driftwood pause gave me pause, as did holes. They are all beautiful.

    • Kathy says:

      Lunar, I’m getting such a kick reading your comments tonight. Thank you for cruising by and reading some of my “old” blogs. Ancient blogs, tee hee. I just read your comment to Barry about how you find my peaceful posts titillating. You are so funny!

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...

