Birthday!

Roadside daisies

It’s my birthday, dear reader.

Time to celebrate the arrival of this 55th year!

Imagine, what mysteries shall present themselves in a new year on this planet?

We can never know how many small delights, how many heart aches, how many bird songs await us.

Some Native Americans give gifts to their friends instead of receiving presents, expressing gratitude for the joy of accompaniment.

This week it will be three years since a wonderful spiritual awakening on my 52nd birthday. In gratitude, I’ve spent lots of time this week focusing on Presence and the love which we all are.

Just like you guys are some of my favorites in this beautiful lifetime of possibility!

Baby raccoon

Center

Sun-spiked leaves

Frog

Kayak

Contemplation

Asleep

Dewy blueberries

Friends

Helping

Keep on dancing…

P.S. Off line for a couple days, but love you guys!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Birthday!

  1. Reggie says:

    Happity Happy Biiiiiirthday, dearest Kathy! Thrilled to be accompanying a fellow Cancerian! We are sending lots and lots of love all the way from the southern tip of Africa!

  2. CMSmith says:

    Happy Birthday! Welcome to the 55-ers.

  3. shieram says:

    Happy birthday, Kathy! Have a good one. Wish you more blog posts to come, and blessings of course..:)

  4. Susan D. says:

    Blessings on your belly-button day, dear friend! Such wonderful photos to celebrate you (and us). Much love to you!

  5. Karma says:

    I hope you are having a wonderful day today Kathy!

  6. Happy birthday, dear Kathy! Have a beautiful and blessed day!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  7. Looks like I will never catch up to you. 😉 Thank you for sharing your gift of life with us. Enjoy!

  8. Wow! Just the beginning of your life! So much more and better to come. On your day I wish you health, wisdom, happiness and wealth, of course.

  9. Kira says:

    Happy Birthday!!
    And a wish for many, many more!

  10. happy, Happy, HAPPY birthday to YOU!

  11. lisaspiral says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! Delightful pictures. Have a fabulous day and enjoy every moment of it!

  12. bree1972 says:

    Happy, happy birthday, Kathy! 55 is a wonderful age – full of joy and expectations (and still young enough to participate fully in all God sends your way). Enjoy! Celebrate! You are loved!

  13. CRD says:

    Racoonie!

  14. ♪ ♫ ♪ HAPPY BIRTHDAY, KATHY!! ♪ ♫ ♪
    I hope you have a wonderful day, full of joy and celebration!!

  15. Robin says:

    Happy, happy, joyous birthday to you, Kathy! This series of images brought happy tears to my eyes. They are such a joyous (there’s that word again) representation of Life, and a wonderful gift to those of us viewing them. Thank you. 🙂

  16. debyemm says:

    I still remember my own double nickle birthday. Dearest Kathy, friend of my tree filled heart, we have 4 baby raccoons and their mama visiting our back porch every night. I have to give them their own food bowl, to bribe them to let the cats eat what they want, before the raccoons scramble up to finish off the leavings. The babies are so wild and rowdy but the mama eats delicately and without hurry. Sometimes, I have to guard the entrance to keep them off the porch until the cats finish.

    Just the other day, I was guided to step out to the backporch in mid-afternoon, I thought to watch a thunderstorm but it never gave us rain. Instead, I noticed one of the cats with a large critter in its mouth, tossing it up in the air in play. I thought at first a bird. My older son has acquired the adjective of “rescue” but he was out running the trails with his dad. So, I went to investigate and found a large Green Frog. I picked it up and took it to a secluded spot with a little magical spring just off the creek. Later, my son confirmed that the frog was doing just fine there.

    You and I share the blessings of wildness in our lives and so much more between our hearts. I did not realize that I was the “big” sister. This year I am 58, so I will ALWAYS be older !! Haha, that kind of reality troubles my youngest son to no end, he’ll never get ahead of big brother.

    I do love you like a sister and I know our heart’s minds are eternally connected. Dearest Kathy, may your life be blessed with an abundance of blog readers who never fail to appreciate your every sharing, whether in your insightful words or your amazing photos. May you always know just how precious and loved you are by every one of us who visit you here.

    • Brenda Hardie says:

      Ohhhhh Debyemm! Your message to Kathy is so very beautiful, it brought tears to my eyes and warmed my heart! What a blessing you are to Kathy….and she to you ♥ True soul-connected friendship is rare and a priceless treasure! ♥

  17. OM says:

    YOU are the gift to us, and I wish for you a most celebrative, wondrous day, and a joyous year ahead more delightful than you can even imagine!!

  18. john says:

    What an excellent day for a birthday! The yin and yang of Cancer, a water sign by the big lake. My this be a very Happy Birthday for you.

  19. susan says:

    Happy Birthday, youngin.
    hugs
    SuZen

  20. Happy Birthday, my friend! What lovely, cheerful gifts in images you have given us to celebrate your special day – thank you!! May your day be as bright and radiant as the flower pictured in “Center”!!!

  21. Heather says:

    Oh Dear Kathy, I wish you a wonderful day in celebration of your life. Enjoy each moment!

  22. Dawn says:

    Happy birthday dear lady

  23. Happy Birthday Kathy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. rehill56 says:

    Happy Birthday dear Kathy, Happy Birthday to you! Enjoy your day. 😉

  25. sybil says:

    I want to learn more about what epiphany happened when you were 52. My spiritual road has taken some extreme turns. If you met me in my late 20’s, I would have grabbed you my your (virtual) lapels and demanded to know if “you’d accepted Jesus Christ as your personal savior”. Now I don’t identify as a Christian.

    I’m looking forward to absorbing more of your wisdom through your blog.

    It’s your Birthday gift to ME. Thanks.

    Happy Birthday from me and the Universe.

  26. Thank you for the gifts you give us regularly, in the form of beautiful and profound words and pictures. I have a feeling your year will be filled with incredible and powerful moments. May they bring you much joy.

  27. Brenda Hardie says:

    Happy Birthday dear friend of the northwoods! Thank you for the many gifts you share on a regular basis. You give so freely from your heart…it’s just your nature and I feel blessed because of you. Your pictures are once again delightful..♥ A reflection of your spirit ♥

  28. artquench says:

    Happy Birthday! Great photographs. Thanks for sharing.

  29. P.j. grath says:

    Happy, Happy Birthday, Kathy!

    • jeff v says:

      Happy Birthday Kathy, another lap around the sun! Are you going to whoop it up at the Jamboree? have a good one.

  30. whatevertheyaint says:

    Many, many, many more years of discovery and happiness to you.

  31. sdunnebacke says:

    I hope you’re enjoying your day. You did say 29, right?

  32. Val says:

    Happy birthday, Kathy! (Does happy dance!) Lots of lovely photos!
    Here in the UK, there’s a tradition in many workplaces that the boss gives her/his workers cakes on his/her birthday! 🙂

  33. Fountainpen says:

    Happy Birthday, Kathy……will send something USPS when I have a moment to get together…….
    Fountainpen

  34. Happy Birthday, Kathy!! 🙂

  35. Carol says:

    Have a wonderful happy birthday, a wonderful happy year, and another 40 or 50 of those years to follow? That won’t be a problem for you, will it?

  36. sonali says:

    Many Happy returns to you on your birthday!!! 😀 hope you had a wonderful time with your family & friends. May God shower his choicest blessings upon you. Live Long Life 🙂

  37. Hope the first day of your 55th year was wonderful! May you enjoy many more! Thanks for sharing it with us and all those lovely photos as well. 🙂

  38. Chris Roddy says:

    So beautifilly written and such.wonderful pictures. Thank you for your gifts. Happy Birthday Kathy!!

  39. Joanne says:

    Happy Birthday, dearest Kathy (((((hugs))))) and thank you for the gift of you! 😀

  40. Beautiful!

    Happy Birthday to you!

  41. Dana says:

    I hope you had a wonderful birthday, Kathy! Sorry I missed you on your actual day, but now there’s more reason to continue celebrating. Sending warm thoughts your way! 🙂

  42. aidaweb101 says:

    I hope you had a lovely birthday!
    Great blog!
    Cheers!

  43. Kathy says:

    Thanks again for all the birthday wishes. I think it’s probably time to quit celebrating now. 🙂

  44. dearrosie says:

    Belated birthday greetings Kathy (struggling to catch up with the reading). Nice to be given gifts from the birthday girl.
    Great post. Each one of your photos are fantastic. I love the old man and the dog … the girls crossing the river…the leaves… the sunflower…. Asleep…

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...