Somewhere under the rainbow and between pink roses

Somewhere under the rainbow...

Somewhere under the rainbow…

Hello, dear friends and readers.

Isn’t the rainbow photo truly lovely?

It’s a picture taken by Anne, our county treasurer, just after a recent rainstorm.  It’s the little K-6 elementary school where I work.  Perhaps our tiny school is the pot of gold under the rainbow, do you think?

I am glad Anne took and shared the photo.  She said “Do what you’d like with it!”

The second photo–of yours truly–was taken last month by my friend, Doris, in her rose bushes.  You remember this rose-colored story, don’t you?

See you in the roses, my friends...

See you in the roses, my friends…

I am writing today to tell you I’m going to be on blogging break for a while now.  Traveling downstate to see my parents and brothers and families soon.  Then must return to the “pot of gold under the rainbow” and prepare for the start-up of the school year while sitting in an upstairs office tweaking state reports and budgets.

Will be spending very little time on-line for a while.  Will be dancing in sunshine, splashing in rain puddles and smelling the sweet perfume of life.

Will see you again.  Somewhere under the rainbow and between roses…

May the sun continue to shine in your life.  May rainbows appear after the rain.  May you fully realize that your life is the pot of gold under the rainbow.

With love,  Kathy

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in August 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Somewhere under the rainbow and between pink roses

  1. Have fun–we will miss you. I am kind of jealous that you get to return to school this September–it is such a September thing to do. Splash, sun and have fun.

  2. dorannrule says:

    This is such a beautiful post! It makes me miss you already.

  3. Susan D says:

    Honoring your choices and your path. Safe travels! See you soonly … Love, Me

  4. Looks like you’ll be off to have some fun! The building under the beautiful rainbow seems precious as gold. Quite a quaint little place, isn’t it? And those roses are gorgeous. Have a lovely vacation! 🙂

  5. bearyweather says:

    Enjoy your trip. I know how precious these last few days are before school starts.

  6. Karen says:

    Have a wonderful trip…we all need to stop and smell the roses. 🙂

  7. Barb says:

    Have a great time! Will miss your stories!

  8. Lori D says:

    Enjoy your time away, Kathy. Blessings to you.

  9. Kathy – Have a won, Wonder, WONDERFUL time away!

  10. john says:

    Enjoy! After my grandfather went in to “semi-retirement” and the next generation was taking the helm, he was asked why he still comes in to the plant so often and he replied it made the vacations feel so much better.

  11. lucindalines says:

    Have a delightful time on your trip and as you return and prepare for the new year. I will think of you working on those reports. We will miss you, but have fun anyway.

  12. Two really nice photos,. Such a sweet lookinjgj place to work. The photo of you I have given a title. “Everything is coming up roses for you.” So aptly posed in the rose garden and you’ll see be on your way for a very deserved vacation and visit with your family.

    PS Tell your friend that the old blogger in Texas thinks her roses deserve a prize. They are quite beautiful. And you look very pretty standing at the garden gate.

  13. Joanne says:

    Both photos are truly beautiful Kathy. I wish for you to always enjoy the sweet perfume of life and to treasure your dances in the rain. And give your parents a great big hug from me too Kathy. I feel as though I know them from your sharing them with us here, and I wish them well. Travel safe. xxx

  14. sybil says:

    .Have a super, duper break, rose-girl. Consider yourself HUGGED.

  15. Chris Roddy says:

    Have a wonderful visit with your parents. It’s so very important to do from time to time. They’ve helped in raising you to be the beautiful rosé that you are. Hope to see you in September.

  16. sonali says:

    🙂 have a wonderful time with your parents dear Kathy. May you feel all the love and peace! See you soon..

  17. cestlavie22 says:

    Love the rose picture. Have a good blogging break! I am always sad when bloggers I enjoy connecting with take time off :/

  18. Heather says:

    Have a wonderful visit downstate and safe travels! (I simply cannot believe you’ll be returning to gear up for school, so I won’t acknowledge that part 😉 )

  19. Stacy says:

    Well, have fun at the start of the new year, Kathy. I will be right there with you….I’m setting foot back in a classroom, too, after four years. I do believe that that schoolhouse is, indeed, the pot of gold. ❤

  20. I WIlkerson says:

    Enjoy your time off Kathy! The new school year is keeping me busy too with one kid starting college and another starting grad school (moving her things tomorrow so she can keep working to pay for it). You are smart to know enough to take a formal break.

  21. Karma says:

    Will miss you as always Kathy. Your wonderful words and fun photos can brighten up a gloomy day!

  22. Brenda Hardie says:

    Oh dear, I just got to this post now. Sure hope you are enjoying your visit with family and friends ♥ And I pray you have safe travels back and forth.
    Alex returns to school on the 26th (the same day as my oldest son’s golden birthday) so we are busy with preparations for school. And I hope my oldest son can return home for a day or two this coming weekend so we can celebrate his birthday.
    Chloe is still hanging in there—she has a few bad days and then will bounce back and have a few good days. And I’m still staying awake each night with her.
    I love the school and rainbow picture and I especially love the one of you near the rose bushes ♥ Beautiful!
    I’ll be anxiously waiting for your return dear friend ♥

  23. Have a great break, Kathy! We’ll miss you.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  24. Tammy says:

    Love that you showed us the school where you work. It’s enchanting. Have a wonderful digital-free time.

  25. Amy Tong says:

    both pictures are equally beautiful. 🙂 It always brings a smile to my face whenever I see rainbow and roses.

  26. Barb says:

    Hi Kathy, You last posted on our 47th anniversary. (I hope you and Barry have a great celebration this year.) I imagine you’re taking a break this weekend – some time off work , maybe walking in the woods or along the shore, enjoying the UP landscape or sitting on your deck, sipping tea. I haven’t been on-line much either – I don’t want to waste a single moment of fleeting summer. Already, it’s edging down into the 30’s at night in the mountains (I’m in Denver for a few days – hot here!). Sending you good wishes from CO.

  27. coastalcrone says:

    I am glad that Anne let you do what you wanted with this beautiful photo. Yes, it must be the post of gold! You among the roses is a treasure too. Thanks for visiting my blog! It still be summer here for a while longer. Have a wonderful school year! I have enjoyed exploring your blog.

  28. All schools have pots of golden learning within them. And it’s an honor to work in one of those ‘pots,’ isn’t it?
    I wish you pink roses, sweet summer rainbows and the last lovely gasp of summer air, before the new year, the school year, begins again.

  29. Reggie says:

    Hope you had a wonderful blogging break, and that you followed lots of rainbows to their pots of gold. May your September be filled with bright flowers, warm gentle breezes and joyful family get-togethers.

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...