Apple snow

Apple trees behind our two-classroom school

Apple trees behind our two-classroom school

It's apple snow

It’s apple snow

Apples up above

Apples up above

Christmas apples

Christmas apples

Snow buddies

Snow buddies

Snow stacked

Snow stacked

In branches

In branches

Where deer lie and munch on snowy apples

Where deer lie and munch on snowy apples

Apples frame the back of our school

Apples frame the back of our school

Another apple tree

Another apple tree

Study in Snow Apples

Study in Snow Apples

Apple snow art

Apple snow art

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in December 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Apple snow

  1. Love those bronzed apples and all those lovely snow grays! Good shots. Your school looks to be a wonderful place, too.

    It’s 51 here and feels like spring. Blue skies, mild temp, the sound of snow melting and dripping off the roof, blue puddles…. What a great solstice day! I’m sitting on the front steps of my porch drinking coffee and enjoying some sun.

  2. P.j. grath says:

    Lovely pictures, Kathy, and just what I imagined, before looking, when I saw your headline “Apple Snow” — those little apples clinging to the boughs and sporting white snowcaps.

  3. Susan D says:

    Oh, I love these! Beautifully photographed. Is there any place more magical than Arvon School in the winter time? Thanks for sharing!

  4. Brenda Hardie says:

    Beautiful!!! ♥

  5. Susan Derozier says:

    Kathy – You made me feel like a child again wanting to shreik with pleasure at the sight of your snow apples. And, as always, you follow up with the rest of the story in showing the lucky deer resting place. Wonderful wonderful photos!

  6. Elisa says:

    This made my heart jump for joy and go pitter pat!

  7. Carol says:

    Apple snow art is my most favorite. Lovely!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  8. I’m with Carol, “Apple Snow Art” is my favorite, too!

  9. Beautiful! I’ve never seen snow-topped apples before 🙂

  10. Those apples seem to like to wear tall snow hats! Delightful photos!

  11. Bonnie says:

    Beautiful pictures of the snow apples. Would you believe we have apples on our Christmas tree? Well, not real ones, but we’ve had red apple decorations for years.

  12. debyemm says:

    Strange Spring-like floods for Solstice here, after a few unseasonably warm days. Soon it won’t reach 30 degrees, at least not predicted to get that warm on Mon & Tues next week. Don’t miss the snow around here though. NOT dreaming of a White Christmas this year.

  13. dawnkinster says:

    Love that last one…beautiful! Happy Holidays to you and your family!

  14. Connie T says:

    There are so many apples, why didn’t they get picked? Maybe animals will eat them when they fall.

  15. Kathy says:

    Thank you to all who enjoyed this little photo essay. I hadn’t taken the camera out to play since the driftwood series back in Florida. It was kinda fun to be taking pictures again.

  16. Karen says:

    Your photos look like our orchard. Most years any unpicked apples fall off but some years they stay on the trees. They do make the deer happy, they are like apple popsicles. 🙂 Have a Merry Christmas, Kathy.

  17. lisaspiral says:

    I love it when it snows on the drying apples still on the trees. So do the birds and the deer! Beautiful photos, Kathy.

  18. Heather says:

    There’s an apple tree on one of the routes Petey and I walk. I’ve been wanting to grab the camera and take snow-covered photos. You understand exactly why 🙂 How drunk do you think the deer would get if they gorged on these? I’ve heard tales of elk under the influence 😉

  19. sonali says:

    Kathy! You are a snow fairy!! Thank you lots for the lovely pictures.. I had never seen apple trees like this amid’st the snow..& what a lovely sight you’ve got behind your school! Its such a dreamy land where you live…just like snowhite & sonia and the king december stories…Thank you for the lovely post of the season.. so pure, so much full of life! I am thinking how the apples of snow would taste like, when frozen…Apple! I love the shade of red among all white.. it looks stunning. Do you pluck the apples and make any pies or tarts? what a blessed land, such a gift! Kathy… when shall I come over to your place?

  20. So red and inspired. What a great eye you have! xo S

  21. Stacy says:

    I had no idea that apples were a winter fruit! Fancy that! ❤

  22. I love these apples in their little snow hats.

  23. Reggie says:

    I am amazed that these little apples are surviving the snow and ice – what do they taste like, Kathy?

  24. sonali says:

    copied pictures from here. ok?

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...