When the bear rolls over in her den. When she can’t help writing a blog.

Dear Blog Reader,

I can.  Not.  Stand.  It.  Any.  Longer.

I was going to wait Another Week.  Another Two Weeks.

But, Alas.

I can not stand it any more.

Wow!

It’s time to blog again.

It’s been almost two weeks.  It IS two weeks, tomorrow.   Since I last wrote a blog.

It has been a wonderful two weeks.

Very quiet.  Very introspective.  Very inward-turning.  I have been like a bear in her den, sleeping.  Pregnant.  (Well, not really pregnant.  Metaphorically pregnant.  You do know that most female bears in the den are pregnant at this time of year, don’t you?  They will give birth to the wee ones as spring eventually arrives…)

When one turns inward, one learns many lessons.  One learns how important it is to rest, to pause,  to rejuvenate.  One learns that one cannot continue to share outward without turning inward.  One learns of balance. 

Perfect symmetry

You are wondering if I’ve been snowmobiling instead of resting, aren’t you?

No, no, no.

I have been mostly resting.

These snowmobile photos come to you from Barry’s co-worker at our weekly newspaper, the L’Anse Sentinel, Chris Ford.  He hasn’t been resting.  He’s been zooming around in the Upper Peninsula snow.  He’s been air-born.  He’s been riding our beautiful white snow.

Chris (in the middle) and his snowmobilin' cronies

I really would have lasted longer without blogging.  Truly.  Except Chris sent these photos.  (OK, I requested ’em when Barry told me about his adventures.)  Except my mother-in-law said she missed hearing what was happening in our life.   Except almost every day part of me wanted to be blogging, sharing, creating.

Except…I missed all you guys.

Truly missed you.

Honest.

I promise to get the camera out again.  To peer around in our beautiful Upper Peninsula of Michigan and share What’s Happening.

Up, up and away...

Thank you for supporting this short winter respite.  This mini-hibernation.

Happy Winter to You!

(And please share what YOU have been doing in the past two weeks.  Anything new?  Any new insights?  Any snowmobile rides or quiet walks in the woods?)

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to When the bear rolls over in her den. When she can’t help writing a blog.

  1. quietpaths says:

    you were missed too!
    But I could do without snow mobiles… So glad to read you again, since I didn’t get to wish you happy new year!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Christine! I don’t snowmobile, either. Haven’t snowmobiled since…maybe…seventh grade? But I was excited about Chris’ enthusiasm and how it showed the depths of snow around here. Thank you for the New Year’s wishes and hope you are having a magnificent 2011 already!

  2. Reggie says:

    Yayyy! Kathy-Bear is back! 😀 I am so excited to see you stirring in the snow again – those snowmobile photos look awesome! I confess that, when I saw the first one, I had wondered whether you had taken it, sitting on the back of Barry’s snowmobile, facing backwards, all tucked up in extra-thick winter clothing… didn’t you have an amazing snowsuit for exactly such adventures?

    • Kathy says:

      Ha ha, wasn’t me, Reggie. I can’t imagine my body (after surgery) being pounded on a snowmobile. But, YES!, I do have a snowmobile suit from the 1960’s or 1970’s. It belonged to my Grandma. Have been wearing it on ventures out to the mailbox…

  3. Karma says:

    Hello and welcome back! Whether you’ve chosen to be back “full time” or When You Feel Like It (hmm, think I know blog that kind of sounds like that!) it is wonderful to have your thoughts and insights again.
    My online photography class has kept me busy recently – I’m doing Picture Winter this month. Here in Mass. we are expecting a big snowstorm late tonight. Our last one was a mere trifle of what was predicted, but all the media outlets are claiming to be 100% sure we are getting this one.

    • Kathy says:

      I have NO IDEA how often I’ll be back, Ms. Karma. Probably when-you-feel-like-it, like YOU! (However, when I feel like it is so OFTEN usually, sigh…) Your photography class sounds wonderful. I am going to read my photography manual. Soon. Very soon. Very, very soon. LOL! Will be blog-visiting, soon.

  4. barb says:

    Hi Kathy, Glad you can come outside and play again. It hasn’t been quite the same without you – much too quiet!

  5. Love the pictures…I have always wanted to snowmobile or Jetski…..

    I have also been hibernating as such…quiet time at work and at home….

    I had a wonderful time on retreat last weekend….

    Missed you and glad your stretching out of that cave….

    • Kathy says:

      Kim, I am glad you like the pictures. I will tell Chris! Glad to know you have been enjoying the cave this winter, as well. Isn’t it warm and cozy? smiling…glad to hear from you. (And will try to get you Lake Superior photos one of these days…)

  6. Dawn says:

    You’re back! Right on. So many pictures yet to share…

  7. holessence says:

    Kathy – If I was a bettin’ woman I’d be rich. In my heart/mind I gave you two weeks. Had you stayed away longer than that I would have sent you a note that said, “Don’t make me come up there!”

    I’m so glad you’re back in the writing saddle. As you can see, we’ve all missed you!

    • Kathy says:

      You win the BIG prize, Laurie! Hurray for guessing correctly! If I were a betting woman, I would have said three weeks. So YOU won! (You must have known I was about to crawl out of the den when I snuck that comment on your blog today…) Thanks for missing me.

  8. Robin says:

    Welcome back! It’s only been 2 weeks?? It seemed much longer without you here in Blog World.

    The pictures are FAB. 😀

    As for me, I’m still stepping outside every day and enjoying the view.

    • Kathy says:

      Robin, doesn’t it feel like months and months? It does to me! I wonder if we’re in a time warp in Blogging World? Do you think? I am SO glad you are still steppin’ out each day.

  9. Kathy! I missed you too, although I have been so busy “off-line” over the past few months that I hadn’t been popping over here as regularly for a while. Yesterday I came over to investigate your silence, only to discover you had gone into hibernation! (We don’t have bears in Oz, so no, I didn’t know they were usually pregant when they hibernated!)

    I didn’t blog for two months, and missed it terribly! Now I’m back and have written every day this year so far. I LOVE your snow photos, love catching up with you and totally understand your need to hibernate occasionally. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Joanne, I will look forward to reading what you’ve been writing about this year. I did check in with your blog a few times in December and had noticed your silence. Glad to hear you are back, too! Hoping you have not been affected by the flooding where you live…

  10. Robin says:

    P.S. And here’s a weird fact: I’m on day 111 today (01-11-11).

  11. Susan Derozier says:

    Dear Kathy, So very happy to find your blog pop up today. I admit that whenever I heard the ‘ping’ of a new computer message, I always responded hoping you were back. I loved the snow pictures as years ago it was my favorite activity. My “grinner” was activated from the moment I climbed on to when I pulled my aching body off it. Mostly, I’m just glad you are feeling better and renewed! I vote for you easing up on yourself with allowing yourself to write when you want and not feel the need to explain if you decide to miss a day. You truly are a gift with your sharing and I want to keep you healthy and unstressed. My day is so much lovelier with you in it! How about some night snow pictures on some moonlit night?

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, thank you so much for your wonderful words! (It feels good having been missed…) My problem is always that PART of me ALWAYS wants to write. The other parts then start grumbling because they want to miss some days. We’ll just see how this goes… Snow pics on a moonlit night sounds like a good assignment! Will see what I can do…

  12. emaclean says:

    Missed you and your blog Kathy! Glad your back! I didn’t want to miss a UP Winter!

    Erin

    • Kathy says:

      OK, Erin, you’re on. A UP Winter coming up… glad to have started you off with some snow-flying photos. (Even though they weren’t mine…)

  13. Susan D says:

    Oh, Hi, Ms. Bear!!! Agree with Robin; your absence truly seemed like more than 2 weeks. I noticed a “universal” shift during your respite. The tone is different on facebook. Old friends are less visible; lesser known friends are more visible and there is an overall quieter tone … at least for me. I did very much miss the popping in here for my daily dose of KD!!! Looking forward to new rides with you on fresh tides!

    • Kathy says:

      Why Ms. Susan D, I am fascinated by your perception of a “universal” shift…that is interesting. I haven’t been on Facebook, either, until today, so we’ll see… Looking forward to lunch with you tomorrow!

  14. photobyholly says:

    Welcome back!! So glad you have been enjoying your time!! These periods of rest are necessary – to be able to just “let go”, and let your thoughts come to you when they’re ready. Wonderful snowmobiling shots! Looks like fun (although I’ll probably never have the nerve to do it)!!

    • Kathy says:

      Holly, you’ve never snowmobiled? You should try it at least once–to say that you have done it. We did all the time when we were kids. Now I like the slower winter sports. Like snowshoeing. Cross country skiing is too fast for me. lol.

  15. Kiah says:

    Welcome home mama! xo

  16. bearyweather says:

    Welcome back. FYI …
    Hibernation is just a slowing down, not a complete knockout for months. Much like your hibernation from blogging ….
    Lily the bear, also chose today to step out of the den with Hope and take a little stroll out in the snow.
    (Check out my bear update post for links to the den cam – Actually, the bears give birth in January, not the Spring.)
    Excitement is growing because Lily will be having her new set of cubs very, very soon … maybe this weekend they say.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh my goodness, they give birth NOW! Way cool…I couldn’t remember when the bear-mamas give birth. Last year I watched a bear in her den (maybe Lily?) Mostly she slept and kept her cubs warm tucked under her. I like the metaphor of giving birth now! Thank you.

  17. Dawn says:

    YEEESSS!!!! I’ve missed you!! You’re my connection with one of my favorite places, the UP…thank you for coming back! Can’t wait to find out what’s going on up in the UP again! 🙂

  18. John says:

    What a pleasant surprise 🙂 Hearing my granddaughter laugh for the first time tonight and then finding you here has made for a wonderful evening. Any clue where Chris was riding? One of my sons is driving up Friday night and I’m trying to talk him into calling KCO to have them plow the driveway. It hasn’t been plowed since I was up the week after Christmas.

    You know prior to the last several weeks if someone asked me what kind of animal Kathy was, I think I would have said a curious, sleek, playful otter. I am having a hard time transmogrifying you into a bear in my mind. If that is your vision then, so it should be … a bear.

    Bless you,

    john

    • Kathy says:

      My goodness, John, what a wonderful day you had yesterday. I don’t know about my blog…but hearing your granddaughter laugh for the first time is awesome. Chris was riding somewhere between Herman and Michigamme, I believe. You’ll have to point your son in that direction.

      I think it’s so interesting what impressions we get from our on-line friends. I think so many of us are different animals in different situations. I think my curious, sleek, playful otter likes to come out and play on blogs–mostly because she loves writing so much. In person, I can be much much quieter. I know I have a bear side, an eagle side, a wolf side, a mouse side. Which animal do you picture yourself?

  19. june/pearlz says:

    I made an ebook, you can find it on my site – ebook announcement. Introspection is so vital to clearing the mind and creativity, for me it has been spent at the beach, enjoying the family, under trees, and watching all the flood news on the television, and feeling for all those people being disrupted and wishing we grew vegies in our garden!!

    • Kathy says:

      June, I shall check out your announcement soon. It is devastating thinking about all those people who have been flooded on our planet, isn’t it? Glad you find places and time to introspect. Such a gift…

  20. Martha Bergin says:

    ooooooo! You posted!!! YAY!!! 🙂 Love those pictures! And definitely support and embrace from the heart to you, dear Kathy!

  21. truels says:

    I love these pictures too. And I would love to try a ride on such a snow mobile 😉

  22. Martha Bergin says:

    Kathy, here’s a link that a Morman woman psychologist sent me. I think you might enjoy this article: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/09/fashion/09Modern.html?_r=2&scp=2&sq=modern%20love%20column&st=cse

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Martha. I like reading stories about so many different kinds of people. The choices they make, their challenges, their perspectives. This was an interesting, thoughtful piece of a unique view.

  23. Tim says:

    I kept checking and finally you are back .. so glad to see you blogging again .. cant wait to read what you have to say.. Welcome back

  24. Emma says:

    Hello! Welcome back! I was sick for a week and I’m just getting back on track. 🙂 So, nothing too interesting to report!

  25. sonali says:

    Yeaaayyyy!! I’m glad, glad and so glad to see you back! 🙂

  26. Carol says:

    Welcome back!

  27. Colleen says:

    Kathy, it’s SO good to have you back! I was smiling as I read Laurie’s comment. I was going to leave you in peace until the end of January and then come calling…… 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I’m smiling to see you, too, Colleen! I WAS going to wait ’til the end of January. January 29th is Heikinpaiva, when the Bear Rolls over in the Den. However, this bear rolled over prematurely! Oh, wait. She rolled over just when she was suppose to roll over!

  28. Oh Kathy, I hope you are resting well and enjoying this big quiet time. We have had a snow day today…and it is still snowing here in Great Barrington.
    I am working on my non fiction book proposal and not sure anything I have to say wants to be read by anybody in the world.
    I stopped in here to be inspired by you, who have so many followers and dedicated readers, I love to wander around your site.

    Hugs and love, S

    • Kathy says:

      Suzi, I smiled all last evening after reading your comment. (Well,maybe I didn’t smile at the board meeting…) But this morning I am sending you imaginary flowers–hundreds and hundreds of them–and wishing you hundreds and hundreds of followers and dedicated readers, because I LOVE what you write about in Laundry Line Divine. And I am sure that there are many people who want to read your non fiction book! I am sure…the fact that the idea came to you means it was inspired by the fragrance of wildflowers and hope.

  29. Brenda Hardie says:

    Welcome Back Kathy!! I am thrilled that you are back…and that you have enjoyed your “time out”..lol Winter is such a good time to get cozy and ponder our direction. I love your pictures…the snow looks scrumptious!! lol…I love how it looks even though I have a difficult time walking in it these days…dang knees! Take good care Kathy and know that there are so many friends out here in internet land who love reading your words and seeing your world through pictures. You are a beautiful woman with a beautiful vision…thank you for sharing it with us!!

    • Kathy says:

      Good morning, Brenda! So sorry to hear about your knees…dang knnes…so hard when we’re not feeling well or can’t get out-and-about as much as we would like. I am so glad you like reading the words AND seeing the pictures. What a thoughtful person you are!

  30. flandrumhill says:

    Kathy, Chris’ photos are absolutely gorgeous. I can see how they would have prompted you to want to share them.

    I hope you had a good rest. xo

    • Kathy says:

      Aren’t they great pictures, Amy Lynn? Barry and I were sitting on the couch and he was telling about Chris’ pictures. And I said, “Gosh, too bad I’m not blogging or I would put them in the blog.” And he said, “Well, he’s sending one photo to the house” and I said, “How ’bout he sends more?” And that’s how this whole thing started. 🙂

  31. Let’s see…I looked backward into 2010, looked forward to 2011, shared some Christmas spirit(s), visited a Bass Pro Shop and found some Giant Fish Pillows. Lastly, I started my first photo assignment on my blog this week I invite all your readers to check out and, if so inclined, to join in the fun. As you have said you would which brought me back here to find your sabbatical has now ended. Next time I’ll call it a vacation. 🙂

    Welcome back, you’ve been missed.

  32. wolfsrosebud says:

    Kathy,

    You’re too funny. I had no doubt you’d either start writing a book or be back posting!

  33. Marianne says:

    Glad to see you are back to blogging, Kathy!

    You are right though. It is good to take a pause to rest and rejuvenate every now and then.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

