A lake full of stars, driftwood, sand and waves

Old piling near Baraga Marina; new plant

Please, join me on a drive home along Lake Superior.  OK, we’ll buy you an ice cream cone, too.  Let’s stop at least four times, shall we, and see how the lake is doing this 4th of July weekend?

Driftwood in lake near marina

Scary owl in sky. Meant to scare away seagulls. It's sideways in the sky.

 

How about a kayak paddle in the Keweenaw Bay?

A lake full of stars

Driftwood, waves

Daisy at First Sand Beach

Rose hip preparing to blossom beside Lake Superior

Sand, cold lake, Pequaming Point

Patterns of sand and wind

Tiny feather

Swirl of waves and sand

Footprints in the sand--from here to forever.

Thanks for coming along.  It was fun, wasn’t it?  Such a warm, delicious night.  Now–make a wish on one of the stars in the lake–and perhaps it will come true by morning or at least before the fireworks start.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to A lake full of stars, driftwood, sand and waves

  1. I think my wish would be send some cool Lake Superior lakeside weather south!! Thanks for the drive. Still waiting for that ice cream cone..hurry before it melts. lol

  2. jeffstroud says:

    Hey I wanted ice cream before I started this journey now, oh boy! Thank for inviting us along, some beautiful shots here… and I wanted to get wet, all the cold clear water…

    • Kathy says:

      Jeff, gosh, I never once thought of us swimming! (Lake S. is so cold it will freeze all the exteriors in six seconds flat. Except if you’re a kid. Then it feels like bathwater, even if it is 39 degrees, lol.)

  3. Dawn says:

    Happy 4th. Lovely day lakeside – pretty pictures, thanks for sharing them.

  4. Brenda Hardie says:

    Happy 4th of July weekend to you! Thanks for inviting me along for the drive and the ice cream cone too! 🙂 I love everything about Lake Superior, and your pictures make me want to return to the big blue lake like right now! I especially love the one of the daisy, the one with just sand and the one with just water…very beautiful shots! Hmm..a wish…let me think a minute….ok…I wish upon a Lake Superior star……….♥

  5. holessence says:

    I wish I may
    I wish I might
    Have this wish
    I wish tonight
    And so it is

  6. Elisa's Spot says:

    Oh swirls of waves and sand! AND patterns of sand and wind!
    Thank you for taking and sharing these!
    Wishing/Praying is there any difference?

    • Kathy says:

      Is there a difference between wishing and praying? That is a good question. What do you think, Elisa? (ha ha, turned the question back to you!!)

  7. Reading your words as I listen to fireworks right over the hill from our house…what a perfect way to end this lovely Saturday. It was a great drying day, lots of wash done.
    Hope you are well. Will keep you posted on our visit to L’Anse- hope we can meet! xoxoox S

    • Kathy says:

      Suzi, I am drying laundry on the deck right now, as we speak. is it really really true that you are possibly planning a visit to L’Anse? Oh, my heart stoppeth! Please keep me posted…

  8. john says:

    I love the driftwood!

    • Kathy says:

      Me, too, John. I remember gathering driftwood on a small lake in Lower Michigan when we were kids. Each piece had such personality.

  9. Reggie says:

    Ooh, love the shadow patterns in the sand and the swirls in the water – and that tiny feather on the sand. AND the colourful kayaks. I’d love to join you for your walk.

    • Kathy says:

      Reggie, have you gone kayaking in South Africa? If yes, do you like it? Sometimes I wish we had a kayak. I have been kayaking maybe five times and it is wonderful. Once, under a full moon.

      • Reggie says:

        I have paddled a canoe up and down a river and across a lagoon… It was a two/three-seater, not a kayak, though, I think. Never tried it in the ocean – too wild! We do have some lovely lagoons and placid rivers along the South Coast, though – Kleinmond, Wilderness, Sedgefield area. Under a full moon? Wow… now THAT must’ve been magical.

  10. Dawn says:

    I want to take a kayak out into the bay. I want to stare out at a lake that goes forever and watch the sun play in the waves. Thanks for taking me there for a moment.

    • Kathy says:

      I wish you could do this, Dawn. I wish you could dip your toes in Lake Superior. Woops! Maybe not this early in the year… smile…

  11. Karma says:

    Daisy at First Sand Beach is just gorgeous! The background bokeh on the water is beautiful. You should make yourself a print and frame it.

    • Kathy says:

      That is a good idea, Karen! I never think of framing these beautiful wildflowers. You have such good suggestions. (Have you framed a lot of yours?)

  12. Charlotte says:

    I always love a walk along the lake.

  13. Carol says:

    I so enjoyed the sunshine, the wind blowing in my face, and the beautiful scenery. The ice cream was delicious – I’ve been craving chocolate for awhile now, and all we’ve had at home was vanilla!

  14. Susan D says:

    Pure delight!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Susan D! It was pure delight, wasn’t it? Sigh… Hey, maybe I should have really stopped by your place and you could have really come along. At least for the Baraga part…

  15. I especially like the stars in the lake and the swirls 🙂 Beautiful patterns! Thanks for the Field Trip!

    • Kathy says:

      dancingantelope, who would have believed that there are stars in the lake? If someone told us that the lake was made of stars at magic times, we would have said, “yeah, right!” but, truth-be-told, the lake is sometimes made of stars. 🙂

  16. bearyweather says:

    Pretty .. and no crowds of people. There are so many people around here this weekend (boats, 4-wheelers, jet skiis, trucks, kids yelling, fire crackers), I feel like I am in a city. (probably because the State of MN shut down and closed all the State parks just in time for the 4th of July weekend) … It looks much more peaceful where you are, thanks for sharing … I don’t think I will get anywhere near a lake. However, I will probably have them to myself in a few days when everyone has to go back home.

    • Kathy says:

      bearyweather, I am imagining that all the people are getting tired after their 4th of July celebrations and pondering their drives back downstate. (Do they call lower Minnesota “downstate”?) I am wishing that you will soon again be surrounded by pileated woodpeckers and bears and deer snorting and pawing at the ground. It’s busy around here, too, in different places, but I have been enjoying some quiet places, too.

      • bearyweather says:

        When Minnesotans travel to the Northern part of the State they say they are “going Up North”, even if they are only going as far as Duluth. People traveling south say that they are going to “The Cities”, even if they are going to a smaller town near them or the suburbs. (no downstate or upstate for us … cities or wilderness)

  17. LOVE your photos and wish I could walk along the beach.
    Happy 4th of July.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Ann, so good that you could come along! Wasn’t it especially nice to walk along the sand without our shoes? **OK, I’m dreaming**I left my shoes on… This is fun.

  18. Beautiful summer photos… LOVE the stars in the lake.

    • Kathy says:

      Michaela, since you are traveling near many lakes, perhaps the stars will blink up at you and you can make a wish on them and it will come true!

  19. sonali says:

    I super-like this post! Beautiful photography, Kathy you are a great photographer – a talent! I’m so feeling like taking one of those kayaks and jumping into the water!! lake full of stars looks wondrous! Do you like Daisies? Can you imagine me handing over a bouquet of daisies to you as a token of appreciation? 🙂 God bless!! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Sonali, I am always delighted to discover your sweetness, and yes, I am now putting that virtual bouquet of daisies in a virtual vase and truly admiring them. I love daisies! Once I had a dream where a group of them were giggling together and I was amazed to discover that they were truly alive. Wouldn’t a kayak ride be fabulous?

  20. Elle says:

    That was a nice drive. Thanks for inviting me. I would love to bring some of that driftwood home. Stars were pretty too.

    • Kathy says:

      I wish you could take some of that driftwood home with you, too, Elle. We would fill up the trunk of your car. Whoops, you missed one! Let’s load that one in, too. smile.

  21. Tammy says:

    these are so lovely. The nature photos are exquisite but I also love the colorful kayaks.

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...