Lower our blood pressure to Peace

Red ore dock reflections

Some day~~perhaps today~~I shall begin to write peaceful quiet blogs.  So peaceful that our blood pressure shall lower, down, down, down to the beat of the Earth, yes, that low, the beat of Peace.

Thoughts so silent that you hear seagulls calling in the distance~~don’t you?

You’ll hear a stone drop in Lake Superior~~kalunk!~~that underwater swooshing echo as the rock falls, falls, falls beneath the radar of our busy lives.

I have always admired quiet spaces.

Deep forest hushes.

Peaceful dawning orange morning light as you pause along the roadside of life.

Dawn. Lake Michigamme. Last week.

Yes.  Across the bright blue Mondays and into cloudy Tuesdays and rainy Wednesdays folks will pause to relax, to sigh, to breathe deeper toward the weekend of their deep surrender to peace.

Perhaps I, too, will finally completely totally encompass the peace which we are beneath our thoughts, our wild creations, our habits, our daily chores, our work.

We’re surrounded by peace~~aren’t we?

We need only connect with what underlies.

Our thoughts and beliefs are like freighters passing in the lake.  But we, dear friends, are the endless lake, expansive, free, our waves lapping the shore, rising in spite of ourselves.

Peaceful lake, moving ship, solid rock

Peace be with you.

And also with you.

May peace grow like a seedling through April soil, pushing upward, upward, toward warming sunlight.  May peace sing through your pores, dancing with your cells.  May you watch distraction attempt to gain momentum, but you won’t let it, no, you won’t, you’re a Child of Peace, a Child of such Exquisite Peace that you simply smile and bless all that attempts to rob you of your essence, your birthright, this precious peaceful moment beyond all understanding.

Don’t let thieves break in during your sleep and steal away that which your godmother bequeathed in dreams, and nature insists.

Peace be with you, dear friends.

Peace is what you are…

**Please check your blood pressure.  Surprised that it lowered that much~~aren’t you?  (Mine sure did!)

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Lower our blood pressure to Peace

  1. Peace be with YOU, Kathy! ♥

  2. Love the notion of slowing down to the pulse of peace. What a gorgeous (i.e. peaceful) image! Peace be with you too, my friend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. Robin says:

    Thank you. Peace be with you too, Kathy.

    I think I’ll read this every day between now and my next appointment with the doc (coming up in about 2 weeks) so that my blood pressure will be nice and low. 🙂

  4. lucindalines says:

    Thank you, I so needed this today. Peace be with you Kathy. I may have to mark this one to come back for refreshment. Thanks so much.

  5. I needed some peace today. Thank you! 🙂

  6. Lovely pictures, poetry-like prose…thanks!

  7. Yes, there is always the silence beneath everything. Thank you for reminding me, my friend!

  8. john says:

    I love the peaceful feeling (and the pictures!)

  9. lisaspiral says:

    Beautiful. Sweet peace be with you!

  10. bearyweather says:

    Thanks for sending some peace my way …

  11. Sybil says:

    We sang a wonderful three-part song at my old UU church:

    When I breathe in, I breathe in peace.
    When I breathe out, I breathe out love

    Toward the end of the song … it drifted into

    “breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out … breathe …”

    Peace dudette.

  12. Elisa's Spot says:

    I’m still falling with that stone…

  13. Heather says:

    I always enjoy a quiet space, and am often surprised at how much there is to hear in “silent” spaces. Thanks for sharing this moment of zen 🙂

  14. Dawn says:

    Needed this today, Monday of another stressful week. Especially liked the red ore dock reflection photo.

  15. jeff v says:

    Nice analogy of lake freighters and thoughts / beliefs, both very hard to change direction! peace out as they say these days.

  16. Lori DiNardi says:

    I felt my heart rate slowing as I read. Which I needed desperately. Thank you. If only I could get that on a guided meditation CD. 😉

  17. Joanne says:

    Hearing the sounds of silence….
    Peace be with you, Kathy. 🙂

  18. OM says:

    Dang yer gooood!!! I too am still falling with that rock into the deep water!
    Exquisite, Kathy!! Many thanks!

  19. wolfsrosebud says:

    stop by my place today and you’ll see… dedicated to bloggers like you… LOL

  20. I’m supposed to be checking my blood pressure three times a week right now. I will have to re-read this lovely post before I do it again. Thank you so much for your peaceful words.

  21. Carol says:

    Hypnotic, these words. You’ve just exposed another hidden talent.

  22. Dana says:

    Absolutely gorgeous, Kathy. Thank you for your guided meditation to the pulse of peace today. 🙂

  23. Barb says:

    If only I had read this yesterday, before spending 6 hours at the Apple store in the mall (or maybe even better, after I got home).

  24. Kathy says:

    Hoping you all felt peace that continues to this very moment. Always appreciating you stopping by…always appreciating the peace and joy you share here and with the rest of the world. Love, Kathy

  25. Brenda Hardie says:

    Dearest Kathy….thank you for the guided meditation ♥ Your words and the images worked their magic. I think you’re right…peace is all around us. May you feel that peace wash over you with warm relaxation.
    ♥ Peace be with you honey ♥

  26. Reggie says:

    Your words and images soothed my heart, Kathy, and I too feel at peace… Blessed may you be, dear one.

  27. You are a miracle worker. I’ve been told to check my BP in both arms three times a week for a month. I did my left arm first today, 137/82 . I rested between and then read your post before doing the right arm. 131/88 (not sure why the bottom number went up, but the top one is pretty good). Peace.

  28. My blood pressure certainly DID lower! Thank you. Peace is not some external thing we need to rush to find. It is already here. We simply need to breathe it. Lovely post.

  29. Lovely, thank you. Ellen

  30. “and also with you”

  31. Kathy says:

    Hoping you are all feeling the peace that you are this precious Thursday… Thank you again for stopping by. I swear these meditations work to lower blood pressure. (Except before colonoscopies. Then they don’t work as well. 🙂 )

  32. Thank you for the gentle reminder… Peace be with you, too, Kathy.

  33. Kathy says:

    Peace, peace, deep peace, be with all of you…

  34. sonali says:

    How peaceful I’m feeling right now. And i’m sure you too are indulged into peace too. I’m filled with peace. I don’t want to hear the city noise. I do not want to hear any one’s arguments. How I wish peace dwells in everyones heart throughout the world. Please come up & blog Kathy.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh Sonali, I am feeling so much peace, too. It’s interesting how you can live in the middle of the woods and still not feel at peace, at times, because of the confusion in our minds. Or you can live in the middle of the biggest city in the world and feel deep inner peace.

      Here is a mini-blog just for you (or for whoever is still reading comments): When we relax beneath and simply “be” and breathe and be present in this wild, confusing, big world…it turns out that peace always existed in us after all.

      We ARE peace. But we’ve forgotten that we’re peace. We think we’re our thoughts. When we hear arguments or experience confusion, we become trapped in that. We mistake our identity for these human selves we’ve created–not the peace and love that we are before we became identified with thoughts, beliefs and make-believe stories.

      Most of my non-blogging non-computer time lately has been spent remembering the peace that I am. And being able to bear confusion, pain, suffering that arises. Before there would be some subtle part always trying to push away arguments, not-knowings, emptiness, sadness, restlessness.

      Next time someone argues listen beneath your thoughts and emotions. FEEL the pain arising in your heart. We think we cannot bear pain, but our hearts can actually bear pain quite easily, because our hearts are love. Love bears all things. Simply being present with another person’s suffering (or our own) and softening, softening, softening–without letting the thoughts tell a story–eventually reveals the peace which “passeth all understanding.”

      The peace is in all of us, dear Sonali, only we’ve forgotten. We’ve fallen asleep in the stories of ourselves and our confusions. To wake up to that peace and love is God’s gift, God’s promise. We can’t do it for another…we can only do it for ourselves. Eventually, perhaps, the world can continue its argument but we shall only feel a deep peace, a deep love, deeper than the pond peace. And then, perhaps, the world will stop arguing–because when one of us finds the peace that we are, all of us benefit.

      Love and peace my friend, Kathy

  35. sonali says:

    Lots & lots of love to you Kathy! I’m only having a sweet smile on my face right now, to you. And the right time – I needed someone to tell me how to experience peace when everything else in the surrounding world is confusion & arguments. And its you my angel, who always gives me the answers that I need at the right time. Recently, I find a lot of peace within me but when it comes to the interactions with the outside world, as you rightly said I forget. And to tell you, the fact that “we are peace” never occured to me, and needed to be told. Thank you so much Kathy! I thank you from the bottom of my heart for this mini blog. Its so precious! *smiles* May we always realise we are peace, and may all of us benefit from the same. Ha ha. My blood pressure has touched “zero” virtually 😉

    • Kathy says:

      I think we all tend to forget, Sonali–I know I do. But then I remember again. Love to you, dear Sonali-heart, and to the peace which you are. I echo your sentence: May we always realize we are peace, and may all of us benefit from the same. Yes…

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...