Odd

Hushabye...  2009 photo

Hushabye… 2009 photo

This is so odd.

No words have been rising recently.

Have you experienced silent times when nothing–no matter how hard you try–wants to come forth?

When the Universe issues a Silence Decree?

When all the stories dry up and don’t seem worth sharing?

I’ve written two blog posts in the last week, but couldn’t publish them.  They weren’t “bad” posts.  The heart just didn’t agree they should be published.

(I am sneaking this one in before the heart disagrees.  LOL!  You know–if the heart disagrees I’m outa here.)

Just this.

Just this.

Most of the time we humans fuss and fuss and think we should be sharing, even though it’s our time for silence.  We think sharing is normal, and silence is–well, a little bit odd, don’t you think?

Life, though, thinks silence is very normal, especially in the depths of winter when the bear hibernates and most wildlife torpors.  It’s only we humans who–sometimes–ignore the song of our heart.

Are you feeling silent or talkative lately?  Are you hibernating or coming forth?  Is your energy zinging or retreating?

And are you honoring what your deepest self wants to do?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in January 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Odd

  1. Such great questions we all need to ask ourselves

  2. susan says:

    Hi Kathy,
    Just as we need sleep to refresh ourselves, sometimes the muse needs a rest as well. I do honor mine – which is why I write like crazy and then schedule them to be posted since I never know when rest time is coming and I don’t want to feel pressured to write when it’s just not there. Not to worry. You are a writer. This is part of being a writer. And it’s all ok!
    Hugs
    SuZen

  3. “Life, though, thinks silence is very normal, especially in the depths of winter when the bear hibernates and most wildlife torpors.”

    I second the motion!

    Remember the Chiffon margarin commercial on television when we were growing up? I try to refrain from messing with Mother Nature 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    I find writing in the winter to be more of a challenge for me. I write about traveling the back roads but there is nowhere to pull off and take photos because of snow piles. I usually eat hearty winter comfort foods in the winter but half my readers are experiencing 100 degree weather in the southern hemisphere. I do know where you are coming from…it is hard to be inspired sometimes.

  5. Barb says:

    Hi Kathy, You must E-mail me and tell me what happened on Jan 8! You know I spent the month of December embracing mindfulness and didn’t blog. It was just what I needed. Now I’m involved in the Mindful Writing Challenge through January and post some thoughts daily. I prefer not to post daily, but I’ve committed to the practice so will try to continue to the end. I was just thinking this morning – “gosh, what will I post on the other blog” (Live and Learn) – I should really post something, but the daily mindful writing on One Good Thing has precedence. Though I usually write every day, writing something I want to share is a different story. I actually prefer silence!

  6. The Universe sent me lots of words and I jumbled them all up into something. I think I need to listen and stop the chatter. It gets pretty deafening.
    I am asking the Universe to send them to you so you can make sense of them and put all the words into a beautiful story.

  7. Kerry Dwyer says:

    The worst for me was when I was asked to do a guest post for someone. I agreed to do it and then couldn’t think of anything to say. I managed a whole post about nothing. Thank goodness for Google.

  8. Sometimes I experience silence but have a column to write anyway–now those are the tough times–lately I have been not having too much trouble–when I have trouble on my blog, I try to find a good quote.Many times when you see just a quote, it is not because I did not write more, it is because I have rejected what I wrote and decide that the quote is supposed to stand alone–those are the days when silence speaks and wins. You write outstanding posts–it is the silence that helps feed them.

  9. I LOVE THIS. Kathy you really hit the nail on the head for me. Or hit the blog on the..screen? I don’t know. But yes, I have been feeling this. I have felt this especially when living in a place with more of a winter.

    I also feel like since having a blog, I have had more of a pressure to keep offering even if I’d rather take a nap or not write. It’s like I’m afraid of the blog failing if I stay away. Traffic drops, interest drops, and people forget about it.

    I love the in-between of this post- it is sharing, but sharing about not sharing. It allows for that feeling of connection and compassion without feeling as if you forced yourself to write it, and the sharing of that feeling seems so valuable 🙂

  10. P.j. grath says:

    Hard for me to answer that question right now, Kathy. I don’t seem to be one or the other. Like you, though, I’ve written two or three posts that I didn’t publish. Writing them–while otherwise in hibernation mode!–helped me think through some current looming issues in my life. Maybe there will be a lot of that this winter. I don’t know. Other days I get started, for instance thinking about my classroom experiences as a philosophy instructor, and I can hardly stop the flow. But I completely agree with you that periods of quiet are natural, and it can be important to claim those times for ourselves and not feel pressured to chatter when we need to be still.

  11. Lori D says:

    Was wondering where you went. Glad to hear it’s just your silent heart and nothing else. It’s funny you should mention the silence, because I wrote a little poem about it that I’d love for you to read if you get a chance (and it is a short, little poem).
    http://loreezlane.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/wistful-wednesday-words/
    As far as honoring my deepest self, that hits home today too. I’m confused about a post I scheduled for tomorrow. I’m nervous. It’s a bit opinionated, which I tend to stay away from on blog posts, but I feel a strong urge to speak it. Keeping my fingers crossed. Thanks for “sneaking this one in,” if only to let us know you are okay and listening to your heart.

  12. john says:

    Plant seeds, fertile soil does not produce anything without seeds.

  13. Ahhh, yes. Sometimes I avoid silence because I know once I start it, I could be there (in the silent world) for a long time. Once in that sweet soft quiet spot, it can difficult to come out and join the world again. I say, embrace the silent time. It will ‘speak’ to you, in its own way.

  14. bearyweather says:

    I am in a silent mood, too. In many ways I am hibernating right along with my bear neighbors. 😉 I think there are fewer people these days who like me who are okay with silence .. and even crave it sometimes. It was perfectly heavenly for me to be home bound this 3-day icy/cold weekend due to the weather .. it was not impossible to get out, but I could not find the desire or energy to go anywhere. I am seriously very much like a bear this time of the year .. snuggling in my den.

  15. bonnie says:

    I like my silent times, but sometimes I think too much, Can’t be helped. Hibernating would be good, if responsibilities didn’t call.

  16. Brenda Hardie says:

    Hi Kathy, I am enjoying quiet times here. It felt a little sad right after Christmas but is now just mellow. Winter time is a hibernating time for me and I will be settling into that mode this week after doing a thorough house cleaning. I hope you and Barry are enjoying your peaceful wintertime in the northwoods. Take good care of yourselves. Hugs and love ♥

  17. Heather says:

    I haven’t felt silent, but I haven’t been terribly inspired lately. I’ve tried to use the blog as an excuse to get out an explore, or even just get out. I have certainly published what I feel are lack luster posts (and am about to do another one!). I feel like even though it’s not my best work, it keeps me going, and I always feel some measure of contentment in that. If I listen to my criticizing heart, I might not feel like anything is up to par 😉
    PS – Your tree picture looks like one I would have taken. I can’t help myself – I love staring up at their peeling heights!

  18. Kathy, do you actually believe that your subscribers would abandon your blog if there were no posts forth coming- for 1,2,3,4 weeks? If people (like) you, and it seems that there are a multitude of us, then whenever and whatever you post will be read. Is this blog a life and death matter- as if you very life depended on a post at least several times a week? I don’t think so but maybe you have become accustomed to producing post after post. No one is paying to read your blog (am I wrong?) So- in my little ole Texas mind I think you should go with the weather- hibernate for a while. As you are in a semi-comatose state those random ideas will begin to surface- ooozing from your gray matter. Then all of a sudden, wham-o you will have lots of ideas and then you’ll be running with the pack again- of bloggers who have the compulsion to write at least 3 times per week or more!

    Regards,
    Yvonne

  19. Elisa says:

    Silent, well loud and normal and daily inside, nothing of interest but an annoying thing that says, LOOK the last blog you did was when someone died, people will think(HA!) you are depressed or or or…rolls eyes at self. I’m just doing normal type things and reading a LOT, not the normal stuff, but more what might be mindless, that carries things in it that are not mindless and I am learning and shut down, space, distance, reprieve. Hugs Kathy!

  20. Sybil says:

    My deepest self wants to curl up in bed with high caloric food and nosh away until spring …

  21. Personally I’m still recovering from the holidays. When my husband had a football party last night, I was happy to curl up in bed!

  22. Connie T says:

    Sometimes I am like that, but over at the Daily Post, I get some suggestions on what to write about called the daily prompt. I read what other people wrote and some of them are so creative, so I give it a try. Other days, I don’t even bother, but today I wrote something. At least you wrote something and look how many comments you got.

  23. Joanne says:

    Hmm, I’m a bit of both right now. I always have to have my silent and alone times, I feel totally out of kelter if I don’t, but I do want to write a bit at the present time too. By a bit, I mean just small amounts of words, not too much, as I’m in a few words stage. That’s exactly it, I just want to say a few words, then have a silent mind.

    Kathy, I’ll be here when you have something to say, listening. Maybe you just need to listen to others just now, as a means to nourishing your own thought patterns. Whatever it is, follow your heart, as you do. 🙂

  24. lisaspiral says:

    Much as I miss you when your posts are infrequent I really appreciate your ability to honor that inner voice. Yes there are times when silence is truly what is called for. Sometimes especially in the winter when everything else is shutting down in nature and every sound echoes on the wind that silence is simply an honoring of the natural cycle. Glad you sneaked in this post to let us know!

  25. Learning to answer my calling has been the hardest thing I have ever done. I am trying to balance everything all at once it gets hard I would like to have some silence! I yearn for boring days!

  26. msmcword says:

    Kathy:
    I think our “inner writer” is like our physical body: sometimes it needs a break from activity.

    Nancy (“The Looper”)

  27. This was a great post for me! I was stagnant for so long now have been so antsy lately! Love the tree 🙂

  28. Carol says:

    For me, it is as if our far-too-cold weather has frozen the words and they cannot get into the brain. If they got in there, I would let them out – well, if they got in there at a convenient time that is. Last night, when I finished the book I was reading, I was so moved the words were tumbling around. But it was warm cocooned in my bed, and I could not convince myself to expose my hands and arms to the chill. Now the words are silent again. It is okay I think. Sometimes we need the silence.

  29. sonali says:

    And why do I exactly feel like how you feel? Is the winter to be blamed? (my winter is 26 degrees Celsius), Well, many times I feel, its not worth sharing, just a blue feeling. But you know what, I realized of late that what you think is not worth sharing is sometimes what somebody is just waiting to hear! Being silent, sometimes is good. But like me, most of the time? I think it just makes me lose something interesting of life, answer me Kathy,

  30. lucindalines says:

    Ha, and here I am trying my hardest to get to a computer so that I can ramble on about nothing. I think maybe a break is not a bad thing after all.

  31. Stacy says:

    I can’t say that silence is abnormal, Kathy, not for me, anyway, as a self-professed introvert. 😀 When I was a high school teacher I used to chant the Grinch’s refrain in my head, “Noise! Noise! Noise!” k

    In this world of social media, I think some think it’s normal to sow every thought when some should actually remain thoughts.

    Just my thoughts. ❤

  32. First Happy 2013…..Good question. I´ve feeling silent for so long, but now it´s time to share again, after all everything in my life is taking place on the right direction, have a good week 🙂

  33. me2013 says:

    I wish my deepest self would take a holiday… alone would be good. 🙂

  34. dorannrule says:

    Sometimes the silence is so prevailing that I think I am finished with blogging! I have written all there is to write. I am dried up. Nothing left to tell. Then some magical beam of thought appears and I begin again. Please – don’t give up.

  35. I think you’re always wise to let your heart dictate…best to you, Kathy!

  36. Karma says:

    I think my deepest self is often confused. She sometimes wants to share, sometimes wants to forget about the outside world for a while. Energy comes and goes, just like the snow. Guilty feelings for not being more active battle with thoughts that it is just okay to curl up on the couch!

  37. Who is old like me and remembers that once-popular Leslie Gore song? “It’s my blog and I can post if I want to, post if I want to, post when I want to. You might pause too if it happens to you!”

  38. territerri says:

    Especially during the winter months, I find it hard to be “talkative.” At least, it doesn’t come as easily as it does when the outside world is alive and full of energy and stories to tell. But if I let the silence reign for too long, it grows harder and harder to find my voice. I give the silence a day or two, and then I sit down and just begin to type. Eventually, something wants to be said and the words find their way to my blog again.

  39. Colleen says:

    I have been feeling quiet too, Kathy, and very silent. But it’s been an unusual quiet, not a retreating quiet so much. More of a clearing space and waiting kind of quiet. Maybe expectant would be a good word. Lots of reading and walking and cleaning out closets. And sky gazing. xx

  40. Having times like this is perfectly human! The problem is, that so many people don’t listen to their inner voice, or honor the need to be silent. I have been trying very hard lately to “go with the flow”. If I don’t have much to say, I don’t worry about it! I was silent for a while here, and it turned out to be just what I needed! In the words of Depeche Mode, “Enjoy the Silence”!! 😉

  41. shieram says:

    Kathy, I’ve been feeling like this these past weeks. It’s like my heart was longing for silence after all the uproar everywhere during the new year. Which reminds me, happy new year to you! (I’m not sure I was able to greet you since I have not been blog hopping much lately). Anyway, enjoy the silence and bonding time with your inner self.

  42. Christine says:

    I think you are experiencing the photographer edge…. sometimes that part of you takes over and says: Hey, a picture is worth 10,000 words. 🙂 I love love the snow photo. Thanks for sharing it again.

  43. Hibernation. I think that is a very fitting word to use. And yes, it does happen to me too. It is a matter of flow – for me. Sometimes I forget to replenish the flow of words in me. Forget to break the normal patterns and do something different. Forget that “static” is not a state that signifies stability, but rather a waiting space, a void, in between movement and inspiration. I fall into the trap of everyday life – as rich as I find it – and forget that “business as usual” …. while it may be very comfortable and convenient… provides nothing new to revive or sustain the flow. So slowly it dries up and goes into a state of hibernation, waiting for me to realise that I am missing something. Sometimes , I am aware that it is happening and try to force the words to come – with much the same result you describe – which just makes me feel even more “separated” from that part of myself. I am just now coming back from a very long break from writing myself, and while the words are there the ability to capture and express them hasn’t quite come back yet. But I did learn one thing diuring this “long winter sleep”. I learned that breaks are neither good or bad by default. They are not a permanent loss of anything. Soner or later I break my usual patterns or find myself moved so deeply by something that the flow awakens again, and with it… my wish to write.

    I am so happy to return to see you still writing here, and I can’t wait to catch up with everything here.

    Big hug,
    Zen (formerly Scattered Rayn)

  44. Robin says:

    Another lovely, thought-provoking post, dear Kathy. I’m feeling a bit scattered and zingy lately, something a period of silence might help. I will be retreating in February so I’ve decided to let the scattered, zingy side of myself that wants to write and post and take pictures have her way for now.

  45. I write blog posts that don’t get published. Sometimes I kill my darlings. Sometimes they survive the chopping block.

  46. I think my instinct at this time of year is to just curl up in a ball and wait until the snow melts before venturing forth into the sunshine. Unfortunately, our human lives require us to get up every morning and do what is required, whether the brain, (or muse) is in gear or not. 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

