Ms. Heather and Mr. Tony come to supper

Remember Ms. Heather?

Remember Ms. Heather?

Last night Ms. Heather and her husband, Mr. Tony, came for supper.  They arrived in our snowy woods around 5:10 p.m. (Heather, as some of you may recall, is a blogging friend who lives down in the northern Lower Peninsula of Michigan.  We enjoyed breakfast together in Grayling last June when I motored down south to visit my family in the Thumb.  Her blog tells of “Our Adventures Up North” and features lovely photography. )

Gosh, did we enjoy our almost-three hours with these folks.  Because my memory can be–how shall we say this?–less than accurate, I didn’t tell Barry anything about Ms. Heather except to show him photos on her blog and sketch in some broad facts.  So he got to ask them all sorts of questions about themselves and I took notes this time.  (I had a big notebook stashed under the table and scribbled notes…nah…you guys really mustn’t take literally half of what you read here, truly, because the Imagination sometimes likes to add details of what might have happened.)

The truth is:  we ate Roasted Portobellos with Kale from the Whole Living Action Plan.  As many of you recall, I started this detox program on Tuesday.  Today is the 5th day for those of you not counting.  Ms. Heather was given the option of choosing the menu which looked most appealing.  She chose the portobellos stuffed with kale.

What the Whole Living magazine says it looks like

What the Whole Living magazine says it looks like

Thank goodness Barry was thinking!  He shook his head and announced it didn’t sound like enough food.  He would go to the store and buy salmon.  I suggested the delicious grapefruit avocado salsa to add pizzazz.  Oh, and how about some glazed carrots?  (We then shared a family joke about glazed carrots we ate at Christmastime.  Except neither one of us could remember the joke…)

I started thinking that it still looked like a rather lean meal so baked up a hearty batch of Cherry Date Oat Bars which are so decadent that I can’t eat them until after Week 1.  (Your average eating citizen of the US would think the cherry date oat bars were the healthiest thing they’d seen in a week of Sundays.)

Kudos to the food photographers at the Whole Living magazine!

Kudos to the food photographers at the Whole Living magazine!

We proceeded to eat.  And talk.  And eat. And talk.  Heather and I sipped tea.

Thank goodness we had as much food as we did!  Goodness, people with un-shrunk stomachs eat a lot!  (Just kiddin’, they probably ate a “normal” amount.)  I, on the other hand, felt like a stuffed piglet and never even approached the salmon.  Could only cheat and eat half a Cherry Date Oat Bar.  (Shhh, don’t tell…it just felt right to join the company with a bit of dessert, don’t you agree?  It would have been so impolite to ask for a third helping of kale.)

This is what Barry would have liked to serve them.  Lake trout he caught himself.  (Photo courtesy of a lucky past winter.)

This is what Barry would have liked to serve them. Lake trout he caught himself. (Photo courtesy of a lucky past winter.)

You would be able to see photos of our guests except–well, except I never once thought of taking out the camera and demanding them to pose.  You would have seen photos of our dinner, as well,  except–well, enough excuses.

We waved them on their way with hugs and handshakes and said to ourselves as they drove into the dark night, “What a nice couple.  Didn’t we have fun?”

“But did we have enough food?” I anxiously inquired.

“It was perfect for our debut,” Barry replied.  (We haven’t had people over to dinner in so long that we’ve forgotten how to entertain.)

Here are your questions.  When is the last time you entertained?  Do you like to have people over for dinner?  Have you ever entertained a blogging friend? Does that sound fun?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in January 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to Ms. Heather and Mr. Tony come to supper

  1. Elisa says:

    No, No, No, Not sure. Smirk. Dunno why. Raises first cup of tea.

  2. It sounds fun when YOU tell it, Kathy, but I don’t often enjoy entertaining these days. Without a partner to help keep the conversation going, I work too hard at doing that. I also worry too much over the house: unfinished details and paint chips that I hardly ever think about until someone’s coming, things like that. Nice report, though!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, I have been a non-entertainer for years because a) the house isn’t clean enough, b) no one will like our healthy meals anyway and c) well, 6,000 other reasons. What’s funny is how untrue our thoughts can be. Well, mine anyway. Can see how one might try hard to keep the conversation going when one hasn’t a partner, too.

  3. I would like to entertain more than I do, Kathy! Your evening sounds delightful.

  4. P.j. grath says:

    Okay, author Ellen Airgood came to read at my bookstore in the summer of 2011, and she was also a guest in my home. Can you believe I had the nerve to fix her a fried egg and toast? That might not sound challenging until you remember that she and her husband operate a diner! She is a U.P. friend, a writing friend, a blogging friend, and a friend-friend. The egg turned out okay, too. Phew!

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, you get an award for having the nerve to make a fried egg and toast. Seriously. Perhaps sometimes the simplest things are the best. Why do we get ourselves so worked up so often about serving guests?

  5. Kathy – I’m sitting in a breakfast restaurant waiting for Len to hurry back. We both thought that the other one had money. Neither of us has cash! He’s out hitting up the ATM machine now (they don’t take checks/charge). I’m using my phone to reply. I feel so clever!

  6. Brenda Hardie says:

    Kathy, your evening sounds wonderful! I love to open my home to friends….but with the care-taking I do here, it’s not as comfortable as I would like. So, instead, I make extra big meals sometimes and share them with neighbors. There is a widow behind the house here and she is a wonderful woman so I share with her and there are a couple single guys who always appreciate homecooked food, so I share sometimes with them. Someday……I will open my home to friends and family on a regular basis. ♥

  7. sybil says:

    I don’t do fancy-dancy dinners but do have a couple of friends over from time to time. Amy-Lynn has been known to whip up a lunch for the pair of us on the spur of the moment. I’m more likely to have a lunch at Tim Horton’s with Lynne, though to be honest, she also has made me lunch. Clearly I’m not keeping up my side of the friendships feeding-wise …

    • Kathy says:

      Syb, I’m with you, actually. The local restaurant is where I go with my friends. But often feel slightly guilty about not entertaining more. But how do you know who will eat quinoa and kale?

  8. susan says:

    Hi Kathy,
    Sounds like you had fun! Last we entertained was having our kids come for dinner. We do go out with friends though. Haven’t met a blogger yet but you and I will set that straight come summer!
    Hugs
    SuZen

  9. sonali says:

    I have lots to take from you. Hosting a dinner party? I wonder! Well, what a nice feeling of having the kind guests home to dinner. More than the food, its the opportunity to exchange the thoughts, to laugh, to have fun together.

    • Kathy says:

      Sonali, your assignment shall be to have friends over for dinner… *grin* Just kiddin’, but since we did it… I’m sure folks would love your Indian cooking. I would.

  10. I too have not entertained for awhile but enjoy it when I do–I am not a really confident cook so tend to make dishes I am sure of–just keep the wine flowing and things go well

  11. Kerry Dwyer says:

    Well done for almost sticking with it.
    The last timed I entertained was at Christmas. I love having people over especially for lunch that turns into dinner. I have never entertained a blogging friend although there are several I would love to invite over. There are several I have invited but the other side of the pond is a long way to come ;'(

  12. Oh so much fun Kathy. I would have joined in dessert as well 😉 Yes I have entertained blogging friends. One came to visit from Barbados another from Toronto and two others actual live on Mayne Island. We have another online guest coming today for a walk with his dog from nearby Victoria. I love these cross over visits from the online to face-time. It makes for some rich living. We have dinner guests coming on Monday evening. These are our closest friends on the island and we exchange hosting dinner about every two months give or take a week or so. But mostly we are reclusive in our daily living. We see people when we wander off to get groceries or go out to eat which we do to keep our vocal cords working as much as to enjoy food someone else has cooked. Today with the soft rain coming down and my sweet husband making his breakfast as I respond to your post it all feels warm and homey. Best of today you Kathy 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Terrill, thank you for coming over to vicariously enjoy our little supper. I think I might be able to even name two of your online guests to Mayne Island. (Someday would love to take a ferry over to see you as well, if we ever visit your neck of the woods.) We’re mostly reclusive in our daily living as well. The most people I generally “see” are online visitors. Otherwise it’s really quiet here except for the chickadees who are singing up their January seed-pecking song. Hope you are having a great weekend.

  13. Colleen says:

    It’s been a while, except when family are visiting and staying over. We have a postage stamp size kitchen here so tend to go out with friends more than eat in. I used to enjoy it but would get butterflies around deciding what to eat and the cooking. Miss those times of sitting around the table with friends and a glass of wine and talking for hours : )

    • Kathy says:

      Me too, Colleen! The butterflies about cooking can be awful. And once I had a friend come over for a bowl of split pea soup (during our Macrobiotic days) which tasted just fine to me–but she kind of stirred it around and looked like she was hardly able to eat half a bowl. A couple weeks later we went to another friend’s house who served soup and she gushed profusely at least six times. My ego wanted to cry. It took years to get over it. lol! Sort of lol, I mean. 🙂

  14. lucindalines says:

    We love to entertain in the summer, and I am looking forward to this coming summer when we can grill and sit on that checkered concrete with hollyhocks all around. I hope….

  15. Kathy – I’m happy to announce that we’re back home — neither one of us is behind bars so I won’t be calling for bail money 🙂 Now that I’m on my full-size laptop, I can push the “Like” button as I wasn’t able to figure that out earlier. Clearly, a little jail time would have afforded me the opportunity to learn to use that tiny keyboard on my phone just a wee bit better. Then again, they probably confiscate any/all technology before they throw you in the clink!

    • Kathy says:

      Dear Laurie, since we covered most of this in our emailing last night, I won’t say the same thing all over again. Just glad you’re not in jail today! (But I would have sent bail money. Honest.)

  16. No to all three questions- for many reasons. I am lazy, I am a loner, I do not like to cook for other people. Things change a lot when one is alone and older.”

    • Kathy says:

      Since I’m not usually too fond of cooking for others either, can uderstand your cooking philosophy, Yvonne. It’s always surprising when we discover that something we don’t think we like is actually fun.

  17. lisaspiral says:

    It sounds lovely and the stuffed portabellas with kale sound really good too (especially with salmon). It’s been a long time since I’ve really entertained at my house as well. I’m not even sure I have enough chairs that are functional to sit 4 people around a table! The last “dinner parties” I’ve had have been with my women’s group and I’ve co-opted another of the women’s home and kitchen to do it. I’m lucky she’s happy with the leftovers and I’ve gotten better over the years and cleaning up my mess. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Lisa, I just ate up the last of the leftover kale for lunch today. (Made way too much to stuff in those portobellos.) Your women’s group sounds like fun and it’s great that there’s a spare kitchen for you to use when it’s your turn. When Book Club comes to the house I’ll have to find spare chairs, too. Luckily some of the guests like to sit on the floor.

  18. Joanne says:

    Gosh Kathy, I’ve been entertaining since before Christmas! When we have friends and family around there are usually so many people that we can hardly all fit around our big family table, but we always manage somehow. Just before Christmas I had my dear friend Keith here, visiting from England! We met through the internet, but not through blogging. We made a connection through family history and this was his third visit to our home. Isn’t it wonderful entertaing friends? 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Joanne, I so admire people like you who enjoy entertaining. You must be thoroughly confident of your cooking and housecleaning abilities–or you don’t care. Is Keith the one who comments on your FB posts? How lovely that he was able to come visit. By the way, did I tell you my niece is living in Sidney Australia now?

      • Joanne says:

        I always give the house a quick clean when visitors are coming but with the number of people living in my house it never stays completely tidy anyway! And with the food, I usually make up a few dishes, put them in the middle of the table and everyone helps themselves! We’re very casual, talk a lot and everyone seems to feel at home.

        Yes, that IS the same Keith who I talk to on Facebook! He is such a lovely man. When he is here I feel like I have my father with me again. Keith is just wonderful. No, you didn’t mention your niece is in Sydney now. Is it Gillian? Hmm…maybe you could stay with her if you came over here for a visit! You would love Sydney, it’s a fabulous city. 🙂

  19. Lori D says:

    How nice to have a visit with blogger friends. To answer your questions, I love to entertain, but rarely get the opportunity. I would love to meet some blogger friends. Thanks for sharing your evening with us via cyberspace.

    • Kathy says:

      Lori, thanks for vicariously joining us for dinner. Wouldn’t it be interesting to meet all our blogger friends? What if they were all in the same room? Would we like everyone the way we like them now? Would we like some better and some not as well? (Unanswerable questions. But just pondering the possibility…)

  20. Dawn says:

    I love to have people to dinner but we don’t do it all that much. Last time was the big Christmas dinner we had in January. I love cooking for people besides just husband and me…but it IS stressful when it’s someone who you aren’t sure about, neither for sure about what to cook or how much. I always worry I wont’ have enough food and I always end up with too much.
    I have met two bloggers…Ellen in San Jose when we were out in San Francisco a year ago last October…and PJ in Northport last fall when I went over to a book signing. Both were wonderful and too brief. I have every intention of looking you up if and when we make a trip through the UP!

    • Kathy says:

      Hey, we’ve both met PJ in Northport, then! How fun that you both had that opportunity. You and I had *almost* figured out a way to meet when I was downstate, but we’re just a little too far apart still. Yes, indeed, you shall have to come back to the UP and visit. It’s a date. Some day!

  21. Had a hastily prepared birthday party for my brother-in-law for his 86th birthday. By this I mean…no, no cooking involved….cheeses, wine, crackers, deli meat, fruit, chips, nuts…..and a beautiful cake. By the time the two WWII guys got to talking no one noticed what was on the table…not even the eccentric doctor friend and his wife….the wine made everyone laugh a lot…even those who did not laugh.
    No blogging friends as yet but I expect everyone that comments on my blog to show up one day.
    No, I will not cook then either. I find the deli’s and caterers need an opportunity to test out their creations! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Wine does have a way of making everything a little rosier-colored, even food, doesn’t it? Yes, I am sure very soon all your blog commenters will be heading toward your house. And not one of us will mind the deli food! It will be the company we’ll be anticipating.

  22. I love to have friends over – we BBQ on the deck with the moon surveying our cooking routine, open a nice bottle of cab, and then sit in front of the candlelit table and talk for hours. Good friends, good meal, good talk – perfect for a weekend night. I’ve not enjoyed the company of a blogging friend, but you are invited any time!

    • Kathy says:

      Pam, that sounds so nice. The moon just loves watching friends BBQ and sip wine by candelight. Gosh, wonder how many trips I could afford this year…?

  23. mom and dad says:

    Sure would like one of those oat bars!!!!!! Dad

    • Kathy says:

      Dad, we’ve got lots leftover! Come up and see us, please. Barry will take you ice fishing, except he hasn’t caught any fish yet. Better yet, we’ll come to see you in April… Love you!

  24. If you were worried about not having enough food, then you’ve still got it!

  25. Tammy says:

    I love to have people for dinner! It is such fun to sit around the table and talk and laugh and eat and have wine!

    • Kathy says:

      Tammy, you sound like a wonderful entertainer. No need to get nervous about the dinner if there are good friends and wine. Would love to eat one of your delicious meals.

  26. Heather says:

    I do like to entertain, but usually only friends who we’ve dined out with before. It’s good to have an idea of what people like to eat beforehand! But, we have invited our neighbors over – before we really knew them – and I think actually made a friendship from that.
    More importantly – thank you for opening your home to us! The food was wonderful (can I have the salsa recipe??) and we had such a great time just hanging out. I love how small the world gets sometimes when us bloggy buddies are able to be “real” buddies too!

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, indeed, it’s good to know what people like to eat beforehand, Heather. (Thank goodness you chose the menu, ha ha!) One moment while I dig out the salsa recipe. Here ’tis. 1 Ruby Red grapefruit, segmented and cut into 1-inch pieces, 1 avocado, diced, 2 T diced red onion, 2 T chopped fresh cilantro, 1/2 jalapeno seeded and finely chopped, 1 T lime juice, coarse salt and pepper to taste. It’s actually part of a fish taco recipe. Make the fish, put in corn tortillas, top with shredded cabbage or Napa Cabbage. Mmmm!
      Thanks for being my “real” buddy. You are da best.

  27. Stacy says:

    Sounds like a perfect evening to me, Kathy. I love to have friends fill up my house and while the night away.

    We entertained our first weekend guests in our home last weekend and had a blast! (Jillian doesn’t count – she’s family and this is her house, too.) http://stacyallbritton.com/2013/01/28/satsuma-custard-pie-to-the-rescue/

  28. Sara says:

    I have fallen out of practice with entertaining. It sounds like you pulled it off beautifully! Good luck with your continued detox.

    • Kathy says:

      Sara, the same here. I am so out of practice with entertaining! So far, so good, with the detox. Just wrote a blog gushing about the results of Week 1. Barry said I shouldn’t have used the words “profuse gushing” in referring to a cleanse. lol!

  29. Your visit with your blogging friend sounds wonderful. I haven’t yet met any of the bloggers I follow who live elsewhere. I think it would be loads of fun! Keep that in mind if you ever decide to explore the Canadian prairies. I love to entertain (something I inherited from my mother) and would love to entertain YOU! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      You would find it very fun to entertain blogger friends, withershins. It’s so interesting to get to know our on-line friends in person. And I’ll take you up on your offer if I’m ever in the Canadian prairies!

  30. I haven´t entertain friends for while, hope soon when I move to a new house. Looks like you had a very nice day!

  31. Dana says:

    That dinner sounds divine, Kathy. I’m salivating just at the thought of it– no photos required! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Dana, you would have enjoyed meeting Ms. Heather and Tony, I am sure. AND I know you would have liked the dinner, too, as long as you aren’t allergic to anything it.

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...