The Green Man

The Green Man

The Green Man

I spend seconds, minutes, hours, days, watching leaves on our forest trees. Electric early-summer leaves in shades of velvet green and lime green and verdant green. Leaves fluttering. Leaves lying stock-still, not phased by any ruffling wind. Leaves kissed by sunlight. Leaves drenched in moonlight. Leaves blocking access to sky. Leaves of layered texture. Never-ending leaves.

Years ago, in my impatient youth, I witnessed 70-year old neighbors endlessly staring out the window at sparrows, chickadees, trees, rising sunflower plants as they fed me and the children Oreo cookies and milk and coffee.

How boring! I thought. How do they do it, hour after hour? What the heck of interest lies outside yonder window? I yearned for the excitement of, say, deep spiritual conversation and Native American sweat lodges and leaps into Lake Superior.  None of this la-de-da window watching.

These days, finally, I’m getting it.

The appeal of watching leaves. The fascination with sensation, depth, color, fluttering. Tiny movement mirrored in my own body. The world revealing itself on a micro-level, full of itself, truly enough.

Why need we shop and shop and shop and buy and buy and buy and seek and seek and seek, attempting to give ourselves what we already possess, just outside yonder window? The leaves sing our treasure. The owl hoots our gift. Even the roaring four-wheeler in its cloud of dust offers pearls, if we’ve but ears to hear, a heart to fathom beyond what the mind wants to prematurely label in neat boxes of judgment and understanding.

I glean the edges of knowing the completeness outside the window, and then I forget. And then remember. And then forget.

See you the Green Man hidden in these leaves? He winked as I sat on the couch.  His smile turned radiant, then fierce.  He’s a little camera shy, I think, but perhaps some of you might glimpse his rain-dappled guardianship from his branched perch.  Perhaps you must sit aside your own window, patiently, watching leaves dream, and then he shall come to you and you’ll see him vividly and you’ll know something you didn’t know before.

Keep looking out.  You never know what you shall find.  You might even discover yourself outside, soaking wet in precious rain, dancing with the Green Man.  One never knows.

Maybe he's not keen to be photographed...

Maybe he’s not keen to be photographed…

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in June 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Green Man

  1. Love the new look of your blog Kathy! And a wonderful post and photos. I love watching the leaves on a particular tree that sits across the street from the classroom window at my church. I never fail to check out this tree and what the leaves are doing. I consider it “my tree.”

  2. Fountainpen says:

    Or clouds…..I am more watchful of clouds now that I have read
    The Time Being by Annie Dillard…Always, the question,
    where were you when this cloud or that cloud passed over you….
    or those thousands were washed out to sea…..or this or that
    volcano erupted? Where were you? Where was I? Where am I
    right now?????? Where are you right now???!!
    Fountainpen

  3. john says:

    We Druids must stick together!

  4. Carol says:

    Ahhh yes, the pleasures of watching the beauties of nature through the window, or from the deck. Priceless!

  5. Spent six wonderful days on UP last week of May. It was first visit, and now am trying to figure out how and when to go back. Soo Locks, Taquanamen (sp) falls, Whitefish Pt.,Pictured Rocks, Marquette. Got to visit Pequaming where my mother grew up, and high school inL’Anse where
    she graduated in ’42after Pequaming schools closed. Her class picture was still on wall!

  6. Debi says:

    I can never get in enough bird watching while sipping on a cup of coffee…

  7. Reggie says:

    I’m beginning to get it too, Kathy… and then I forget again, as the whirl of life catches me up in its fast-running stream… and then, thankfully, you write this post, and I remember again. I shall go sit outside now, bathing in the light of the moon. Thank you, Kathy.

  8. lisaspiral says:

    That’s the thing with all those Fae folk. They require presence, in the moment – something that’s hard to do with a photograph. You did a great job, both bringing us into the present with your words and also giving us a glimpse of what might be. Loved this one.

  9. Heather says:

    Also, the constant and constantly changing lapping waves.
    I shop much less than I used to. I’m not entirely free from consumerism, but I’m closer to *enough* and the Green Man.
    Loved that last photo, btw. And congrats on 900 posts, you prolific blogger you!

  10. The Mean Green Machine. Inpiring words beautifully written. I too, love the emerging variations of the color green and that’s why I often think of spring as the mean green machine. 🙂

  11. What a wonderful post! It’s so reassuring to know that others think the way I do and enjoy the wonders of Nature. Thanks for the smile!

  12. dawnkinster says:

    Early spring leaves are my favorite…followed by fall of course.

  13. Lovely! And don’t you think that this particular year, there are more greens than ever before? Did I just not notice before? Did the monochrome winter dull our vision so that we could see everything as if brand new? Thanks, Kathy!

  14. So beautifully written. Yes, the green man is invisible to some, but to those who take the time and look, really look, he’s in there. Your post helped me remember a time when I was young – really young, like 2 and 3 years old – when I watched the shrubbery outside my window, and I SAW the green man. No one believed me. Now I know that you do.

  15. Karma says:

    Robin often mentions the first visits from the Green Man, that time during spring when it seems all of a sudden everything around you turns green. It is a wonderful time. This spring has been on the cooler side so far temperature-wise, but we have no lack of evidence of the Green Man’s visits.

  16. Aww, dance with the Green Man….lovely!

  17. Barb says:

    Aaahhh…I love green leaves, and yellow, and red, striped, spotted. I think there is a pattern here. I may be what is called a plant fanatic!
    Love the Green Man!
    \

  18. Our Green Man is vividly present in your photos. He didn’t hide at all 😉 He is there for all with eyes to see him, and heart to love him.

  19. Brenda says:

    Kathy, I love this post! I saw the green man right away! I spend lots of time enjoying the beautiful green leaves, blue sky, white clouds and pretty flowers outside. ❤

  20. Colleen says:

    If we are willing to see, they are more than willing to acknowledge 🙂

  21. The natural world holds so many amazing things if we only take time to listen and watch. I also appreciate it more with each passing year.

  22. sybil says:

    Things are just an intoxicating colour of green right now. Wonderful scents. Light blowing breezes. Shopping is such a hollow, empty pastime to me.

  23. I’m finally getting it, too. Your pictures are so lushly green – love them! I used to think bird-watching was the most boring thing my parents did – now I know better!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

