The art my camera liked in San Diego

Something about these little Mexican ladies–I love them!

Before I quit posting photos and stories about our recent trip to San Diego for the wedding of our eldest and his bride, may I show you some pictures of art that my camera liked in the streets among farmers markets and art shows and Old Town stores?

Here’s my confession: I love metal folk art. Simply love it. Prepare yourselves.

 

I mean–look at this guy! Isn’t he the greatest?

 

This fellow is crooning a blue-guitar song to you…

 

Here that music? Doncha want to dance on the streets of Old Town in San Diego?

 

Now let’s look at this sun-dappled pot. Ancient Mayan spirits will tell your destiny if you but pause and listen.

 

Such a cheerful sun. I am never usually tempted to buy this art. It’s too expensive. But I love to feel the spirit of it dancing in the shops and stalls.

 

Oh here’s our guy again. I think his horn croons about the whales out in the ocean. Or maybe the senoritas down at Cafe Coyote.

 

This art lures patrons inside for a plate of crisp nachos piled high with earthy black beans, smoky cheese and oh-la-la hot salsa, I am so sure.

 

Bienvenidos! Come in, come in!

 

The blue cock. Don’t you just LOVE it?

 

“May I take your picture?” I begged the woman. “Take a picture of the Cuban Jesus,” she insisted.

 

Oh, isn’t the camera sly? It snapped again and captured Jesus AND the woman. Art and spirit merged together…

 

I’m not sure I would want to know the woman in this art. But the art draws you in, mesmerizes you, pushes you past pre-conceived judgments.

 

“Ma’am, please don’t take pictures of my art!” one vendor said. “Oh, I’m sorry,” I replied and attempted to tell my camera to behave.

 

Provocative

 

Camera celebrates art celebrating life! Life is ALIVE with Spirit, isn’t it?

 

The camera takes pictures of human art. Goodbye San Diego…may you continue to create art…and feed our spirits…

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to The art my camera liked in San Diego

  1. I will bet the Tin Man is your favourite actor! Love the pics of the art and the one of you relaxing (was this your only relaxing moment on the trip?)

  2. Elisa's Spot says:

    Hey from the pictures of that guy’s art, I’d like to see more and maybe have one!

  3. Kerry Dwyer says:

    Oh I just love the musicians and the blue cock. What wonderful art you managed to find Kathy. These pictures are a real treat. Thank you for sharing them.

  4. Val says:

    Wow, your camera has interesting taste! 🙂

    By the way, I think the portrait is of Frida Kahlo:

    http://thebiggeridea.co.uk/?p=475

    • Kathy says:

      Val, I’m very proud of my camera for choosing those particular pieces of art, lol. And, yes, it IS Frida. Several of you alerted me, which then alerted my camera, and we agree we knew this at one point in time. 🙂

  5. sybil says:

    Great fun. I think my favourite is the well-endowned reclining nude with the wild hair.

  6. John Kuttenberg says:

    A very interesting picture of Frieda Kahlo. I’ve never seen someone do Kahlo, besides Kahlo herself. When God created you I think He used a table spoon of unique rather than a teaspoon 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      OK, John, you know what I think of your comment. I figure it was the biggest compliment I received this week! I love my tablespoon. (Except when anyone decides to call uniqueness “weird.” Then I scowl, although even that sounds strangely endearing these days.)

  7. Jeffstroud says:

    Great collection of Local art, Lovely ! and I see your followers have offer you the name of that somewhat scary woman “Frieda Kahlo” ! check out her work if you a chance, there is a film as well about her!

    • Kathy says:

      Thanks, Jeff, for sharing that picture of her on Facebook. I remember seeing her work before…but it obviously didn’t settle in my brain as memory. Hope to check out her work, too.

  8. Dawn says:

    Love the sun on the pot and the blue cock and the spirit ALIVE with life! 🙂 and of course you and your son. You had a good time, yes you did.

    • Kathy says:

      We did have a good time, Dawn. I couldn’t “let the trip go” until I showed you the spirit of life alive in the streets of San Diego. Thank you!

  9. sonali says:

    Very interesting pictures. I love the art from San Diego. I especially love the giggling sun. You had such a wonderful trip & I’m so glad you sharing your memories with all of us. Look at the happiness on the lady’s face, the one with Jesus. Being alive means so much!!

    • Kathy says:

      That giggling sun is so cool, isn’t it, Sonali? I loved, loved, loved the smile of pure joy on that woman’s face. Jesus was shining through her!

  10. lisaspiral says:

    I love the blue cock and I’ve got the band playing and the mexican women’s hips swaying in my head. Art is evocative and the pieces your camera highlights certainly are!

    • Kathy says:

      Lisa, I think that blue cock is a favorite of many of us. Sounds like your spirit is right there walking the streets of Old Town. (I am very proud of my camera’s choices.)

  11. susan says:

    Hi Kathy,
    Totally awesome – I would not want to leave that place ever again so do not make me go there! 🙂
    Hugs
    SuZen

    • Kathy says:

      Aw c’mon, Susan, you can just get a ticket for…not very much…well, I’m kinda fibbing. Seems like airline tickets cost an arm and a leg these days!

  12. Kathy – You know I love Old Town. As a lovers of Mexican food, I think over the years Len and I have eaten in every restaurant there – and they’re all authentic and delicious!

    And while I enjoyed every single photograph you shared, my favorite is the “sun-dappled pot.”

    I wonder why in the world that one street vendor didn’t want you photographing his work?

    In the final shot – the one with you and Chris – I can see the Coronado Bridge in the background. Where are you guys at?

    • Kathy says:

      Oh good, Laurie, I am glad you liked that pot!

      As for why I couldn’t photograph his work–maybe he was thinking I’d be blogging or reproducing it and it’s probably illegal or somethin’. (sigh…) I don’t know.

      One moment please about where we were. I just emailed Chris to ask.

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, drum roll please! I finally have an answer from Christopher. We were on Harbor Island (although it’s not really an island). We were on our way back toward San Diego after a lovely time on Point Loma.

  13. Carol says:

    Thank your camera for loving metal art – I agree with it. I especially like the blue cock – that one would lure me with “buy me, buy me” – but I would try to resist.

    • Kathy says:

      Carol, it was funny, all I was interested in was “capturing” the photographs of the art. It’s only in retrospect that I long for the blue cock, too.

  14. Heather says:

    I love metal art too. There’s a store in TC that sells cute metal things that I love to admire, but I can’t talk myself into spending so much money on them. My favorite picture you shared was the last 🙂 It looks like a fantastic trip.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh you’re trying to lure me down to Traverse City, are you, Heather? But you’re right, I have lots of trouble, too, buying these kind of things. That last pic shows that “good times with family and friends” probably rates higher than pieces of metal, no matter how alluring.

  15. Brenda Hardie says:

    You know those commercials on TV from Pier 1 Imports where the women are shopping and suddenly selected merchandise starts a conversation with the women? Well, this post is like that and the blue cock has spoken to me. hehe…He says “Doo you need a blue roo in your garden? I think you doo. Cock-a-doodle-doooo!” 🙂 hehehe
    Loved seeing the art from San Diego and especially loved seeing the picture of you relaxing with your son. ♥

    • Kathy says:

      I really don’t know about that commercial, Brenda, since we don’t have TV–but I can picture it in my mind’s eye. Why didn’t I buy a blue cock for all of us???

  16. lucindalines says:

    Great that you shared this lovely time with us!!

    • Kathy says:

      Glad you enjoyed, Lucinda. It was fun. Although I think the rest of my family members would probably not have chosen these particular art pieces to adore.

  17. Joanne says:

    Your camera found some very interesting characters in San Diego Kathy! I love the sun art…when my children were very young I asked each of them choose a new decoration for the Christmas tree one year and my son chose a sun ornament, just like you have shown here. To this day, Ben’s sun ornament goes onto the tree every year.

    Speaking of sun/son’s, my favoutite photo today is the one of you and Christopher, and is that aubergine you are wearing again? 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Ben might have liked this bigger sun for his bedroom wall, then, or has he outgrown suns? And by aubergine, you are so astute! (I had to go look.) This is a sweater my daughter book me in NYC to try to update my wardrobe to some semblance of fashion.

  18. I love Mexican/Mayan art! Your camera has good taste! 🙂

  19. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    How much for the pot? I’m sure I could find a spot for that pot. I only wish you’d had a nicer time while you were out there. 🙂

  20. All those vibrant colors brought a huge smile to my face. 🙂 Thanks for sharing such wonderful pictures.

  21. Someone else may have said this, but the woman with the cigarette looks like Frieda Kahlo (sp?). Love the last photo best!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Kathy says:

      Kathy, is this the length of comments you can make on the Kindle Fire? If so, that’s cool. I won’t be so wordy! And, yes, there were several votes for Frieda. It is assuredly her. Jeff posted her pic on FB so I could see.

  22. Stacy Lyn says:

    I bet it was hard to say goodbye to a beautiful place and to your son and new daughter-in-law.

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us. ❤

    • Kathy says:

      It was SO hard, Stacy Lyn. Although everyone was so wiped out after more than a week of get-togethering that it was probably for the best. Chris says he’s finally getting back to normal… And you are welcome. I am glad someone likes what I share!

  23. Colleen says:

    I love these photos Kathy! So vibrant, the essence of Old Town. And a lovely, tender-sweet photo of you and Chris.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, I am glad you like this, Colleen. Sometimes I wonder when I post stuff like this if anyone will like it at all. And you do! The words tender-sweet might make me cry again if we’re not careful…

  24. Great photos! I love street fairs! That California sunshine brightened every snapshot!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, you would have loved this street art fair, and, oh, the California weather! We soon-to-be-freezing Michiganders were soaking up every ray.

  25. dearrosie says:

    I love walking around Old Town San Diego. SO much art. I love the blue rooster.
    Where are you having lunch? What a great setting!

    • Kathy says:

      Rosie, you and Laurie both asked that question. We were on Harbor Island (although it’s not really an island). We were on our way back toward San Diego after a lovely time on Point Loma. Not sure the exact name of the restaurant. We had appetizers and drinks and it was so lovely! (And, yes, so many liked that blue rooster that I posted it on FB.)

  26. Barb says:

    A fiesta of art and family. You are a lucky lady, Kathy.

  27. I saw a metal folk art peacock today by one of the little local shops. It would have made me think of you if I’d seen this first..but instead..this made me think of it! You would have liked it I bet 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Did you buy it, Jennifer? I suddenly really really want this blue cock. Why was my camera more interested in it than my wallet? 🙂

      • Haha I did not buy it. Maybe you would have gotten sick of it after awhile though. And plus, you’ll always have the picture! Or, you can probably order one from somewhere, you just won’t be able to see it first 🙂

  28. Robin says:

    I love Old Town. It’s a feast of color and art. You captured it beautifully. 🙂 I don’t buy art, either. I’d love to, but just don’t have the funds for it. That’s okay. I have enough stuff. Better to enjoy the art in the moment.

  29. Dana says:

    I love metal folk art, too. Marty and I have started collecting “sacred hearts” made from tin. Anything that mixes religion and folk art is usually a win with me. My sister has a Virgin Mary lamp that she got as a gift from Mexico. I covet it!

  30. The cock/rooster was my favorite….the vibrant blue…I had one chicken and then “folk” thought I was collecting chickens so now I have many and I am trying to give them back to those who gave them to me as I move toward becoming one with the Universe.

    • Kathy says:

      I was half-tempted to enlarge this blue cock and actually frame the picture. Just might do that! ha ha about your chicken collecting. You want to know what I believe? We are already one with the Universe but our minds refuse to believe it. They would prefer thinking we are scarred and unsaveable. I think the secret is not believing our minds. But that is very hard, because we’ve been used to believing those minds since we were wee chickens.

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...