Other people shut up when there is nothing to say

Lake Superior in foggy dawn, some time last week

I am headed out for a brisk walk in ten minutes.  A brisk half hour walk, I promise you.

Then shall return and finish answering comments on yesterday’s Twitter eulogy.

Giant anchor overlooks Keweenaw Bay, downtown L'Anse

I had no intention of writing a blog tonight.  Like many other evenings.  Nothing much to say.  Yep, a handful of photos still wait impatiently in the docket, but not photos that are ready to jump out of their folder and into the blog.  Calm, foggy photos await.  Or photos of that gray cat belonging to my friend, Lyn–I think his name is “Al”–whom I harassed with the camera until his hair stood up on end.  Otherwise, the photo folder is almost empty.  Which means something exciting must happen soon to provide new photo material.

Volleyball net on deserted early morning beach

I don’t know what inner insistence determines that a Blog Shall Be Written, no matter the material or lack of material.  Other people, when they lack material, shut up. 

(I hesitate to use the words “shut up”.  My mom told me that “Shut up” was like a swear word when I was growing up.  It’s still hard to use that word in pleasant company.)

Perhaps some day I too will only post when something Must be Said. 

In the meantime, this love of words and communication shall have its way. 

Up close

These photos come to you live from downtown LA.  That’s L’Anse, Michigan, folks.  Before yoga class.  Which means it must have been last Wednesday.  Oh yes, it’s all coming back now.

I went into town early, early.  Yoga is now at 8:30.  I arrived in town at 7 a.m., just because.  Stopped at the coffee shop and sipped hazelnut skim milk latte and hunkered over the computer for maybe an hour.  Then went outside to a pink foggy dawn and attempted to capture it digitally. 

Fog is so beautiful when you’re not driving in it, isn’t it?

Fog obscures distant shore...it's a pink world out there...for an instant

And now it’s time for that aforementioned brisk walk.  Up the road and back.  Twenty minutes if I’m fast.  Thirty minutes if someone stops to chat or a moose wanders by.  Just kiddin’!  A moose has never wandered by during a walk…yet…

(Postscript!  Back from the walk–maybe ran a quarter mile.  Could never dream of doing that before yoga lessons…  It came quite clearly why I blog when there is nothing to say.  Because it creates joy!  I have been filled with joy after writing since the age nine.  And it’s double joy when you create something from nothing.  That’s why, folks!  Joyfully yours in word and deed, Kathy.)

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Other people shut up when there is nothing to say

  1. Dawn says:

    Love the up close net and lake shot!

    You RAN? You go!!! Joyfully of course!

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, you’re proud, aren’t you? Because you’re a runner yourself! I DID run joyfully. I realized how much joy writing brings me. And how important it is to stay in that joy–not allow it to be disippated (dear librarian, did I spell that right?) by other things.

  2. holessence says:

    Ohhhhhhh, I’m bathed in the joy of your writing. Right over my head — a cup full of joy. And I love it.

    [But if my mother knew you’d said, “shut up” — why young lady, you’d have your mouth washed out with Lava soap. I know this from first-hand experience] …

  3. Carol says:

    Love the early morning photos. I never seem to get out with camera in hand early in the morning. Actually, I only get out to the yard with the girls because they insist. Anyway – I’m glad you write, whether you think you have something to say or not, it’s entertaining. For me. For others. And if it gives you joy, and gives those of us out here joy, there’s no reason not to write, is there?

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Carol. How sweet! So why do I think I shouldn’t be writing then…?? Hmmm, such a good question. Must ponder that. Maybe it’s because I think some other people will get tired of my daily blogs. Maybe? Will ponder this some more.

  4. Marianne says:

    Beautiful pictures of the early morning! I love the water too. Sometimes pictures speak volumes.

    • Kathy says:

      Pictures speak LOUDER than words, so they say, Marianne. I have a strange relationship with photographs. The true heart-beating love of my life is words. Yet…photos have come into my life in the last couple years. They don’t bring the wild & crazy joy that writing does. They bring a quieter satisfaction. They bring more peace. I still sometimes must remember to deeply look into pictures, to truly see them. They are not as easy for me as words.

  5. quietpaths says:

    Now that top shot is enough to make a lady sigh. Very sweet.

  6. O love the pic of the anchor….

  7. That last photo is my favourite and Kathy, sometimes it is just nice to chat and be in each others company… just cause. A pleasure to share your joy:)

    • Kathy says:

      Thanks, Terrill. I keep scrolling up to look at the photos you commenters pick as your favorites. It still amazes me how everybody likes different photos. It is nice what you said. Just to chat and be in one another’s company. That sounds so easy and peaceful and, yes, joyful.

  8. Gerry says:

    I like that anchor very much. Also the dawn images, as I am rarely awake enough to appreciate that time of day. The fog reminded me of a drive I made once on that road that curves around Keweenaw Bay–it was early that day, too, but I was motivated–the fog rolled across the road in such a way that I could see the road and about a foot above it, and then nothing at all until about five feet above that. It was the oddest feeling, as if the world had turned upside down and there I was flying over it. Keweenaw fog. Wuff.

    • Kathy says:

      I am glad you have experienced the Keweenaw, Gerry. To know that you have driven around the head of the bay. Did you look up from the fog and see Bishop Baraga gleaming his gold statue down from the heavens? No, I suppose you were too busy keeping your eyes on the road ahead. I like the image of flying over a world disappeared in fog.

  9. Kathy, this post brought a smile to my face and joy to my heart. 🙂 The photos are just lovely. And please, promise, you will NEVER “shut up”, stop writing or give up blogging. Even if you don’t have anything to say…okay?

    • Kathy says:

      Oh dear, Joanne, a promise?? I’m not sure I can absolutely 100% promise that…you never know what Spirit will ask of you next…maybe I will become enlightened and sit in the woods all day and listen to the birds tweet and chirp and sing. LOL! In the meantime…OK I won’t stopping blogging for a while, anyway. Laughign again. thank you for catching the joy!

  10. happy to bask in your joy of writing this morning, Kathy

  11. Karma says:

    Even though I have only been blogging since April of this year, I can understand the addiction. When I finish writing one post, sometimes the formation of the next post is taking hold in my thoughts. I love the interaction and the feel of community that has developed. Sharing my photos and thoughts brings me joy, and getting comments brings even more!

    • Kathy says:

      No, no, no, no, Karma! LOL! We can’t call this addiction! This is creativity churning up from our deepest selves…joy waiting to be born…words sprouting from seeds…photos bursting into the world from the creative energy of the planet. Addiciton feels to me like a habit groove. This feels like the sun rising and the moon coming full. We must not belittle it with the word “addiction.” lol…OK I think I’ve just convinced myself. 🙂

  12. Robin says:

    😀

    Just a smile to go with your joy as honestly, I don’t have a lot to say either. Well, one thing. Your fog photos are beautiful. I am a fan of fog. It’s one of the reasons I enjoy autumn so much — the morning fog. (I always have more to say than I think I do. That’s how blog posts about “nothing” happen.)

    • Kathy says:

      A ho! Another fan of morning fog. Except when we have to drive in it, right? Wonder why our minds think we have nothing to say and then suddenly we’re channeling the Universe. It’s amazing. P.S. good luck with your 365 day outdoor commitment!

  13. barb says:

    Hi Kathy,
    I don’t want you to take this the wrong way – but sometimes when you think you don’t have anything to post – you hit it out of the ballpark! “I have been filled with joy after writing since the age nine. And it’s double joy when you create something from nothing.” Me, too!

    • Kathy says:

      Hurray! A post when you have nothing to say scores a home run! I am glad you feel this too. We’re in Blogger Joydom. Is Joydom a word? If not, it is now!

  14. Val Erde says:

    Lovely photos – misty blues particularly.
    🙂
    Sometimes I’m able to post when there isn’t anything essential to blog about, sometimes I get a bee in my bonnet (oh, here I go again, I wrote about bees in the bonnet the other day and then didn’t post it! I must find the thing…) and have to post something specific, sometimes… ah well.

    Add a treble joy to the two you mentioned: the joy of making others happy by ones posts. That’s an aim of mine, albeit mostly an unconscious one til the end result occurs!
    🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Val, you wrote a blog and didn’t post it?? And the blog didn’t nip at your heels as you slept, like a puppy that wanted to go outside, insisting you rise from your bed and publish it NOW? Interesting, the different kinds of blogs. those that arise from nothing and those that arrive from those buzzing bees that insist upon being shared.

      It is indeed a gift when we can make others happy. I sat in gratitude last night, listing that as an added bonus to the day.

      • Val Erde says:

        Yeah… sometimes I write a post very late at night and feel I’m too out of my brain with tiredness to know if it makes sense or not, so I leave it til the morning. But I know the feeling of a blog post nagging!

  15. Cindy Lou says:

    The last is my favorite – I see this morning fog many mornings on the way to school – it does make my heart sigh…..ahhhh! But what would I do without ‘chatting’ with you and everyone every day if you didn’t write and tell us of your joy? 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Mornin’, Cindy! I just drove through patchy fog to Marquette and I’m in a bakery in Negaunee. Ate a lovely muffin and am drinking tea before running errands in the Queen City. I love that–The Queen City. By the way, waiting eagerly for that email from you. 🙂

  16. Pingback: Lurking « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  17. Barbara says:

    Kathy, you make it look so easy to come up with material for your blog day after day. “Perhaps some day I too will only post when something Must be Said.” I’m of the group that waits until some idea presents itself because I’m so busy with elder-care that I don’t have the energy to come up with ideas every day. I admire your motivation and your enthusiasm is very contagious! Perhaps some day I’ll be in your shoes, letting the “love of words and communication” have its way. 🙂 For me, because I’m so impatient about life in general, waiting for a blog idea to come to me is an exercise in FLEXIBILITY. 🙂

    We had a moose wandering around a neighborhood in Connecticut this week! I love foggy days! It sets a tranquil mood and you don’t have to squint in the sunshine! Here’s to the JOY you’ve brought into all our lives!

    • Kathy says:

      Barbara, it is totally amazing and inspiring that you find enough time to blog with your busy schedule. I think you should pat yourself on the back that you come up with the space to post photographs and write ideas and blog. Funny how we humans are. I’m thinking I’ll grow up and be less vocal…and you’re hoping to some day be more vocal. Aren’t we humans silly? We should probably both just appreciate where we are.

      Wait a minute! Did you say a MOOSE?? In Connecticut?? That is soooo cool, how did a moose find its way down to Connecticut?

      Thank you also for saying that you caught some of the joy. That makes me extra-special joyous right now.

    • Cindy Lou says:

      Yeah what Barbara said…you do make it seem easy, Kathy! And here’s to JOY!

  18. Colleen Lloyd says:

    Kathy, I’m having a chuckle over your Mom’s thoughts about “shut up”. Mine too. I still can’t comfortably say the word, even in jest. Yes and yes again to the joy that you bring and the joy that you are. Amazing, isn’t it….. what comes from that quiet and endless place of no-thing 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, our moms must have been twins! I’m surprised mine didn’t call me up and chew me out! (She must not have read this yet…) And, yes, that which comes from no-thing can be so incredible–and JOYOUS!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

