New blogging resolution #45832

Ready, set, jump off that huge buoy out in the middle of Lake Huron! (not your blogger or non-blogger jumping, mind you.)

New blogging resolution, #45832:

Lately, I haven’t felt like blah-blah-blahgging as much as usual.  (Get it?  Blahgging?  Blogging?)

However, there is an inner voice which has started to beat up the non-blahgger.   It goes like this:  “You have to blog all the time!  OK, you don’t have to blog all the time.  But, I mean, hey, look at the calendar.  It’s been THREE DAYS since you blogged on Lake Superior Spirit and people are probably wondering where the heck you are and why you aren’t sharing all your 1,238,456,000 thoughts!  You have to blog RIGHT NOW before you start to panic your people.”

The non-blogging aspect of said self raises her non-blogging eyebrows and shakes her non-blogging head and sighs at the audacity of the blogging self.  Your people?  Who is she talking about now?

“I am tired of sharing all those millions of thoughts,” the non-blogging part of self says, “but I don’t want to say I am quitting blogging.  I want to blog when I feel like it.  And that may mean taking off three days or a week or two weeks when I feel like it.  Without making an announcement or commitment, heaven forbid.  So that it’s OK to disappear for a while, and then come back when I want to come back.”

Bad blogger,” the blogging inner voice shakes its blogging head.  “Bad blogger.”

“You shouldn’t label,” the non-blogger admonishes, “Besides, we’ve been blahgging for over three years.  We’re going to take breaks now.  And we’re not going to make a public fuss about this new resolution.  Except for this rather minor explanation.  Just so people don’t panic when or IF we disappear for a few days or weeks.”

The blogging self continues to scowl.  The non-blogging self is resolute.  Except the non-blogging self has something to add:

“And I reserve the right to change my mind at any time and blog for fifteen days in a row if I want to,” the non-blogging self says (which then makes her the blogging self, but let’s not confuse issues any more than necessary.)

“I like the name of Karma’s blog,” says one of the selves.  (Who knows which part of self is speaking up?  Maybe it’s the part that likes spring flowers or the fact that it’s 65 degrees outside right now.  You’re sorry I took that Voice Dialogue workshop a few years back, aren’t you?)

Karma’s blog, for those of you not in the know, is Karma’s When I Feel Like It Blog.  See, she’s covered this issue up front.  She’ll blog when she feels like it.  And that might mean every day for 30 days, or six days out of thirty.  She’s covered it.  (And she hasn’t blogged since May 1st, either, and do you see her writing a dissertation or resolution trying to explain?  Absolutely not.)

Why do I feel apprehensive–if that’s the word?–when I disappear from the blogging world (not that I’ve disappeared much).  It feels like I can feel the energy of people checking and wondering.  You know.  The thought goes through your head sixteen times in a day, “Gosh, the Susans and Colleen and Brenda just checked to see if there’s a blog and, gosh, I don’t want to disappoint them…”

OK, OK, enough.  The Susans and Colleen and Brenda probably didn’t check to see if there was a blog.  They were probably relieved there wasn’t!    (And if they did check, the blogging part is secretly delighted!)

So.  Enough of this drama.  Here is resolution # 45832:

I am going to blog when I feel like it. 

Am going to not blog when I don’t feel like blogging.

Simple? 

Right, simple.

We shall see…

Blogging and non-blogging aspects of self shaking hands tentatively.

Love,   Kathy

Blogger Kathryn with her non-blogging friend, Catherine. Circa 2009?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to New blogging resolution #45832

  1. Sybil says:

    Good for you. Soon as you force yourself to post, it’s not as much fun. Blog when something just begs to be blogged about. When you can’t wait to SHARE something with us.

    Blog on ! But only when you want.

    • Kathy says:

      Sybil, my challenge is that a part of me wants to blog every single day. Another part not as much. I have ALWAYS wanted to share, almost every day. But now, coming forth, with more strength, is the sense of wanting to do just as you have suggested. Trying to listen to both sides of self and honor both. Thank you.

  2. Brenda Hardie says:

    (((Kathy))) you most certainly can blog whenever you feel like! And it definitely doesn’t make you a “bad blogger”…no way! This should be something you enjoy sharing not something you feel obligated to share. Yes we love hearing about your life in the north woods and your thoughts about life and seeing the photos you take but that doesn’t mean you can’t take a break now and then. Relax…take some deep breaths…go for a walk in those enchanting woods and just be in the moment. Enjoy it for yourself. 🙂 you deserve it!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Brenda! I love it when you start to do Voice Dialogue and let yourself express all sorts of labels and raw emotional feelings like “bad blogger”. It really makes me grin to let one part of the self express itself that way and the other part to express itself as “good blogger” and then to just see that neither is really true. I am glad you enjoy our enchanting woods. You would like it today. The birds have been singing in the light rain and the pussy willows are bigger than peapods! **love to you!**

      • Brenda Hardie says:

        Thank you so much Kathy! I’ve been sick the past few days…caught the bug from my son who brought it home from school 😦 so I’ve been more quiet than usual. I remember having a pussy willow tree in the yard when I was a child…haven’t seen one since…I would LOVE to get one to plant…so I guess I’ll add that to my list 🙂 Enjoy the singing birds…sing something back to them! And especially enjoy those big, beautiful pussy willows! hugs and love to you Kathy 🙂

  3. OM says:

    Love you both! Be kind to both. Hope they live in peace together!
    How well do I know that sense of responsibility for not upsetting others, though, whom I perceive to be dependent on me. Lordy!!
    Being upfront about what they can expect or not expect handles it pretty well for me though.
    So I hope it does for you.
    Meanwhile I have to go sip some water and settle my stomach which is doing flip-flops from the memory and notion of jumping into water from such a height! (The high board, at my childhood swimming pool.)
    So you see, there are downsides to blogging too! hahahahaha.

    I LOOOOOOVE “blahgging.” A profound contribution to the English language!!!
    Love and smiles,
    OM

    • Kathy says:

      OM, I am glad that you understand about the different parts of ourselves. I think true spirituality is about seeing all the parts of the world inside ourselves. And then finding a way to come to peace. Many times we project the world outside of ourselves. When we begin to see that the whole world is inside of us, our only “job” is to integrate the dualities. (Thazzz what I think, anyway!)

      Glad you like blahgging, sweetheart, and it would take a LOT for me to jump from that height! Can’t believe my daughter and niece did so. (As well as lots of other family members. Not me. uh-uh.)

  4. Susan Derozier says:

    Love it! Yes – at least this Susan was checking but she’s proud that blogger and non-blogger have resolved their differences. That makes Kathy more like the rest of us…doing what she wants WHEN she wants. Hugs!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, one of the Susans! Both the blogger and the non-blogger AND Kathy like what you have to say! Hugs back. OK, another hug!

  5. Reggie says:

    You are hysterically funny, Kathy. <<<<>>>>

    I haven’t blogged since… erm… 3rd of April. Not because I haven’t *wanted* to blog, or because I haven’t had something to share, but because I simply have not had the time to sit down quietly and write and upload photos. So frustrating. As a result, I’ve had a lot of the same thoughts as you… wondering whether people are checking in and wondering why I’ve fallen silent. As always, you’ve encapsulated it so well. Perhaps I should just put a link on my blog, telling my readers to read your post instead… hm… 😉

    And I love that photo of you and Catherine.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh Reggie, I LOVE it that you thought this was funny!!! (So did I. err, um, I mean ALL of us…lol…) You know, I used to wonder when you fell silent, but over time have watched your pattern. You seem to blog in bursts of sharing, and then go silent. You always return (thus far anyway) and I trust you implicitely to blog when you feel like it.

      I also love it when a blog of my own personal thoughts/feelings seems to resonate with others who are thinking/feeling the same thing. I love it that we’re all in this blahgging soup together!

      Thank you for liking the picture of Catherine & myself. She’s not only a non-blogger, she’s also (mostly) a non-blog reader AND a non-computer person too.

  6. Elisa says:

    weeeeeeeeeeeeee the giggles and the chortles! I love it..iiiiiiiiii lovvvvvvve it! Zerbits for your forehead Kathy!!

  7. john says:

    Blogging should be like sex, when you’re excited and you want to share that with someone, not mechanical. If you’re just doing it to do it your lover knows and your readers know.

    • Kathy says:

      Well, John, you’ve stunned me into silence. Blogging should be like sex. blogging should not be mechanical or forced. Wow! Both the blogger and the non-blogger are thinking about this one. 🙂

  8. Kathy – What you’ve decided is that this is an AlMOND JOY blog. You remember the old, “Sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t.” But in your case it’s sometimes you feel like blogging, sometimes you don’t. ALMOND JOY has always worked for me 🙂

  9. Colleen says:

    Kathy, I just checked in and am still giggling! Never fear my friend, I love all those selves……whether they blahgg or not 🙂

  10. Susan D says:

    Guffawing and checking, as usual. You’re just the best. How’s that for a darn label? Love the pictures and adore you 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I LOVE that label, Susan D! (biggest grin you can ever imagine)

      If you love ALL parts of me, you should be my new guru. There are a few parts I am still trying to integrate… (another smile)

  11. Brenda Hardie said what I would have said!! You are such a caring, sensitive lady, Kathy. I love how you care so much about your blogger friends, but stop beating yourself up! If you don’t feel like blogging, in the meantime we could all get to know your blogger friends a little bit better, couldn’t we? Imagine the interactive comments on your blog when you did feel like blogging! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Joanne, only one part of myself was carrying on. The rest of us are only smiling in amusement, letting that part express what it needs to say. But I like your idea a lot! (By the way–did you know my mom’s name is Joanne? Since it’s Mother Day Weekend, I’ll wish you a Happy Mother’s Day, too!)

  12. kiwidutch says:

    Who “makes” you want to blog in the first place? You do.. you do it primarily for the love of writing, if you don’t feel the urge to write, then don’t, no biggie.
    I don’t check in, but I DO subscribe so when you write it falls into my in-basket and I read whenever you post. I value Quality over Quantity any day and blogging is supposed to make YOU happy, so YOU decide how often you blog. I’ll tell you a secret: (whispers) “Whatever you decide, guess what?! it’s ok!”.

    • Kathy says:

      Smiling, kiwidutch. I agree with you! Just had to share this with everyone in a humorous way before taking the next move toward a new blogging rhythm. (P.S. the only post I wrote recently that felt forced was the one I said “I’m home!” But felt it was important to let folks know we were home since we had all those travel challenges.)

  13. Jessica says:

    Good for you Kathy. I already do that but then I always feel the need to explain my absence. April completely slipped away and this blogger or no-blogger felt terrible about it. But then she got over it and said there is always tomorrow. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Jessica, I am glad you were able to move from feeling to terrible to simply shrugging off your non-blogging time. I love it when we’re able to move our emotions from suffering to letting go. Blessings!

  14. P.j. grath says:

    Oh, I wanted to think that the top photo was of you and Catherine, too! The how-often-to-blog question has been nagging at me, too, Kathy. I didn’t come to any “resolution,” but see my recent post for a visual of my state of mind. Look familiar?!

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, I was soooo happy to read your blog and discover that you were having some of the same feelings, as well. It makes us feel like we’re not so alone, doesn’t it? It will be interesting to see which direction you decide to move or not move in this blogging world.

  15. But…but…your people like you blogging a lot. 🙂 Me, myself and I has to have a blogging schedule or it could be months if not years before the next blog happens to accure. I know those guys well enough. But that is me or is it myself? Either way, it’s a free country the last I looked so you may do whatever your little blogging self desires. Same goes for that non-blogger bit I don’t like her as much. 😉

    Hey, that double negative in the second resolution statement makes it a positive.

    • Kathy says:

      I absolutely find it hilarious how EVERY possible blogging opinion is offered by the commenting public, Scott. Most people took the side of the non-blahhhger, but look at you. You took the side of the blogger. (The blogger is putting some stars next to your name * * * *) As for you, yourself and yous (ha ha, the Yoopers say “yoos guys”) I simply cannot comment on your blogging assessment. I think a blogging schedule works so well for you, and Laurie, and others, but I think both the blogger and non-blogger would revolt under the dictates of a schedule. They have issues…lol.

  16. Darn that blogging! It’s addictive, isn’t it? I say blog when you feel like it, and don’t blog if you don’t feel like it… and stop fighting with yourself 😉
    Me, I schedule all my posts, sometimes weeks in advance, because I don’t want to take the chance of missing a day. How’s THAT for silly?!
    A couple of weeks ago, my little one got sick, and of course it was on the last day of scheduled posts. I woke up the next morning, FREAKING OUT (in my head.. at least I hope it was just in my head) because it was after 4am in the morning and NO POST went up on my blog (like anyone reads my blog that early!! LOL)

    • Kathy says:

      Micheala, nobody has taken out swords—YET! The individual parts simply insist, simply insist, upon having a voice in Things. They don’t call it fighting. They call is “expressing themselves”. I always have to negotiate if they forget themselves, lol.

      You schedule your posts? Amazing! I am fascinated with everyone’s different approach to blogging, and how it works perfectly for the person involved. By the way, when you were freaking out, did you have another part of self which was trying to calm the freaking-out part? smile…

  17. Barb says:

    Hi Kathy, I’ve missed you. But, I did have fun with my friend! I think what you’re doing is exactly right. Only blog when you feel like it – that’s what I do, too. It works for me. Happy Mothers Day!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Barb, I am SO GLAD you had fun with your friend from the Keweenaw!!! It’s so wonderful when we can reconnect with our old–I mean, long-time, beloved–buddies. I like your approach. Sounds like it’s one that is gaining popularity with many of us. Happy Mother’s Day to you, too.

  18. Karma says:

    I feel so out of the loop and I am only reading this 2 days after it was posted, and I got a mention and everything, LOL! Its just been one of those weeks for me when the blogging muse was uninspired, combined with that family stuff that we all have to deal with in our lives. The “when I feel like it” way is a good way! 😀 No stress, no explanations.

    • Kathy says:

      You are my new inspiration, karma! lol… (I had to give this explanation now so I don’t have to give any explanations in the future!)

  19. Pingback: Hummingbird Help? « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  20. Dawn says:

    I totally understand – there is a grace in knowing when to share and when to wait.

    xoxo 🙂

  21. bearyweather says:

    I agree with Dawn. Blogging just to blog is a lot different then blogging because you feel like it and have something important to share. I blog when I feel like it, when I have the time to enjoy it …. people still visit me and hopefully eagerly await for my new posts. I think you will be much happier about blogging by following your new resolution. And, you can be sure, your readers will let you know when you have taken too long of a break.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, bearyweather. Sounds like you have an approach that works for you! For me, it has always felt like a love affair with blogging. (Well, almost always.) A passionate desire to blahg, blahg, blahg. I have ALWAYS felt like blogging. (Well, almost always.) It’s interesting to watch the seasons of our lives change.

  22. Barbara Rodgers says:

    That’s a great picture of you and Catherine!
    Every blog is beautiful, in its own way… Karma has the right idea, for me, anyway, but like plants, we all need different conditions (soil, light, moisture, nutrients) at different times for our selves and our blogs to thrive and flourish…

    • Kathy says:

      Oh you are so wise, Barbara! Isn’t that right? We are all so different–and different at different times in our lives. Thank you (and thank you for your kind words about our picture.)

  23. Carol says:

    There are so many things that must be taken care of and done, we should give ourselves permission to some things just because we want to. And not do them when we don’t feel like it.

  24. Love your resolution, I feel very much this. I could probably blog more but then the hours in a day are not “extensible” (right word ?). It takes time to write in another language : right word, correct spelling, something that makes sense in English. I do enjoy it and you inspire me with all you share. But then… I also enjoy writing letters, quilting, reading, walking in the woods and… be present with the dear ones around me :)So that is why I love your resolution !

    • Kathy says:

      I think it’s so important that we make time to do the things that we love in the world–all of them. Without the fullness of our presence, our life is indeed not as rich. I can’t imagine how challenging it must be to blog in a language not your own! I do so admire your fortitude. I have blogged sometimes every day at times because writing is a passion, and because I write so fast. I can blog in less than a half hour and spend the rest of the time each day in the woods, reading and doing other pleasurable things, too.

  25. Val says:

    As you probably know, I feel exactly the same. There’s that strange nagging voice inside that needs permission not to blog, then there’s another one that says ‘but I don’t feel like it’ and on and on.

    I’ve come to expect these little inner dialogues from you about blogging and commenting and so on, Kathy – it’s part of your inner nature same as it’s part of mine. Just do what you have to do, what feels right… and, um… I’ll try to do the same!
    🙂

    • Kathy says:

      We sure do have something in common (accidentally typed “in comment”) Val. A fascination with the inner dialogues and a fascination with blogging! (And also another part that wants something else.) We’ll keep finding our way through this inner maze…and we’ll learn lots as we follow it. Just another labyrinth of life… Thanks for stopping by!

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...

