What should I write about? When? Why?

flying

After three years of blogging some nights I sit at the computer and think–“what?”–what shall I write?  Is there a theme which should be encompassed?  Should I focus on Lake Superior and the land?  The geography?  The region, the people, the Upper Peninsula?

Should I be writing only spiritual blogs, blogs which satisfy the depth of self? Should only blogs be written which address the Universe, the Oneness, the connectedness of All of Us?

spirit

Or is it OK to write blogs which encompass the edges of self–the silliness, the craziness, the uniqueness of being human?  Is it OK to write a silly blog, a humorous blog?  Is it OK to celebrate the self, fully knowing that the self is but a blip in time, an anomaly, a passing moment? 

Or should I return to writing nature blogs, taking close-up photos of nature, of ladybugs crawling up a branch? 

And who is counting, who is deciding?  Who is agreeing and who is disagreeing, and does it really matter?

It’s hard to write the blogs which make one face oneself, the hidden parts of self, the parts which are challenging, difficult.  It’s hard to write blogs which are so different, so encompassing, so full of variety and movement and blaring horns and odd angles.

Should I only write when absolutely inspired–when the Muse appears and says in loud exclamatory insistence: WRITE!!!   Or should I write because every day is special, unique, ready for praise?

Should we write because one person or six people read?  Should we write because one hundred or two hundred pause by our blog-fireplace?  Should we write for other people at all?

wonderin'

Should we instead remain silent, refusing to speak any more?  Should we just say “enough” and quit writing altogether?

Daily I ponder these things.  Daily I wonder if it’s time to simply stop writing.  Most days I watch the writing happen through me–and that’s often enough. 

Yet, the human part of me wonders, “Is there any more to possibly say?  Any more stories to share?  Any more tales?  Or is it time to stop–to close WordPress–to bid you all adieu?”

Yet I keep writing.  Writing, writing, writing.  Until the end presents itself–until the stories dry up. 

The Moment will write itself–in its uniqueness–and it shall write itself for you, too.  For you, and you, and you.  The Moment will sing its song through us and we shall write, thinking we’re the ones who write.  But the truth is–we’re only the typists.  We only type what the Moment reveals through us.  As long as it desires.  Over and over and over again.

over and over and over again...

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to What should I write about? When? Why?

  1. Sybil says:

    Oh my. What a terrific post. Love the pictures and the words. Oh the words. I am not such a dedicated poster. I post when I feel some inner nudge — an urge to share. A feeling of “Look. Look.”.

    If we were writing books, they would have a beginning, a middle and an end. Yes. An end.

    The problem I guess with Blogging is that it is all “middle”. So how or when are we to reach that “end”?

    Oh. Hope you’re not waiting for an answer from me on that one. 😉

    But I hope you don’t figure it out for a while. I really enjoy your blog.

    Best wishes,

    Sybil

    • Kathy says:

      Smiling, Sybil…I don’t have an answer for that one, either. No answers at all! Only questions which arise and fall away, arise and fall away. Thank you for reading the blog. Best wishes to you, too.

  2. holessence says:

    Kathy – The answer to your many questions is yes/no to all of the above. Don’t change a sinlgle thing. Be hysterically funny in one post, and then spiritual in the next. Simply BE. Every one of us who reads your posts on a regular basis are enamored with the many-sides-of-YOU.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh good, someone that knows that the best answer in the world is always yes/no! OK, I won’t change a single thing. Not a single thing. I promise. I think I promise. OK, I don’t promise but will continue to let the Spirit talk through.

  3. Susan Derozier says:

    Kathy – I love it all. The deep, the fanciful, the frustrated, the silly ….. All of these take us into our own humanness and 1. allow us to cry when we need to 2. inspire us to lighten up when we need to 3. look for the wonders of the mundane and “normal” when we should and 3. inspire us to leave behind our own words for when we move forward. Write when you feel inclined and rest when you need to. I so agree that “we are only the typists.” Hooray for the typists of the world!!!!

    • Kathy says:

      You know, Susan, sometimes I love it. And then there’s another part of me that doesn’t. The part that loves blogging about everything is basically the typist. The other part grumbles and wants to take longer breaks. Oh–and then there’s a part that doesn’t want to write a single word ever again. It’s tired of telling stories. However, there is something bigger than the sum of our parts. I am trusting that “something bigger” will do the exact right thing!

  4. Elisa's Spot says:

    Throws handful of jacks across the floor…and waits.

  5. Karma says:

    You needn’t worry Kathy. You are very in tune with your moments and they guide you very well. You’ve written posts that inspire, interest, amaze and amuse. That’s the great thing about blogging – no deadlines or musts or have to’s – just when you want to’s.
    Love your bird pictures! How wonderful to see an eagle that close – I’ve only ever seen one thousands of feet in the sky.

    • Kathy says:

      It was amazing to see that eagle up close–it was during the year of the outdoor adventure. I jumped out of the car with little Ms. Cybershot and clicked and WA-LA! the eagle flew out of the tree and Kathy gasped and applauded what a nice job the Cybershot did. Can you imagine what Ms. Canon Rebel would do?

  6. barb says:

    This read like a poem, Kathy. A mantra for writing. And living.

    • Kathy says:

      It DOES read like a poem, doesn’t it? An afternoon musing-poem in which Answers are Not Required. Only more musing. And then–eventually–getting out of the way and letting the spirit write. And live. Bless you!

  7. kiwidutch says:

    Kathy,
    All of the elements are parts that make up the sum.
    You are all of these elements, more or less at any time, so write about them all, for they are all you, and like any multi-faceted diamond we can not see all the sides at one time, it’s therefore ok to show them in turn 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, kiwidutch, I like what you say. We really can’t see that multi-faceted diamond at once, can we? You know, for some crazy reason, I keep forgetting this simple fact. So whatever comes up is perfect in its turn. Bless you, too!

  8. P.j. grath says:

    I loved some of the tags you gave today’s post, Kathy: “thoughts, personal, musings, creativity, random, questions, wondering, pondering.” Don’t we all?!

    I also love Sybil’s comment that blogging is all, in terms of narrative, “middle.” Very apt observation!

    Your readers love everything you write and all the photos, too. I don’t think you can go wrong, whatever you do.

    • Kathy says:

      Those tags basically describe everything, Pamela! What isn’t included in those? I don’t know that the readers love everything on the blog. The one who comment seem to be appreciative. The others come and go, come and go. But you’re right–we can’t go wrong, when we’re following our Blogging Muse. (Inspiration–new blog–about Blogging Muse!) Thank you.

  9. wolfsrosebud says:

    Aw…you’re a night blogger. I do better first thing in the morning.

    • Kathy says:

      Wolfrosebud, lately I’ve been an afternoon blogger. I wonder if we would write different kinds of blogs if we pick different times of day to write? Like what if I started blogging in the morning and you started blogging at night? Would we upset the applecart of the blogging world? lol!

  10. Colleen says:

    Kathy, I consider whatever you do a wonderful gift and a blessing. Words, thoughts, photos, you….. in whatever way the moment chooses to sing it’s song 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Well, there you have it, Colleen. You cut through all the questions to the only answer that really is. “Whatever way the moment chooses to sing its song.” Yes. Big yes. Thank you.

  11. Elle says:

    That was really good. You ask the same questions I do. I think you express them much better though.

    • Kathy says:

      I think many of us are asking these same questions, Elle. Someone might here my blogging response and think, “YES! That’s exactly it!” and someone else might hear your blogging response and think, “She’s right on.” I think the world needs us to express these questions in 1,000,000 different ways. Because there are 1,000,000 different listeners. So I don’t think I’m expressing them better, because your readers are waiting to hear the unique way you express them. A thousand thanks to you.

  12. Carol says:

    Is it blogger’s angst? This wondering what to write, whether to write, does anyone care, more importantly do I care? I would miss your blogs, your words and your pictures. But what I want is not what’s important for you. I have finally relaxed enough to blog when I feel like it, not check the site stats every day much less several times a day, and to just let me do it for me. Most of the time.

    • Kathy says:

      That is wonderful when you get to that point, Carol. That is such a relaxing place to be. So happy for all bloggers when they reach that place!

  13. Barbara Rodgers says:

    “Every beginning is always a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.” ~ Wislawa Szymborska

    Kathy, your blog (book) is only open halfway through! I hope you will let us keep reading it for a very long time to come…

    • Kathy says:

      Love that halfway through quote, Barbara. The book of events is always open halfway through…and then there’s a sequel! Wonderful perspective.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

