Please avert your eyes if you do not have a strong constitution.

 

Way too much ice for April!

I mean a strong constitution for snow in the middle of April.  If you’re totally in love with spring–and averse to any interruption to the blooming of daffodils–please quickly dash to another blog.  There are no daffodils hiding in this blog.  None at all.

Iced oregano

We were recently “blessed” with six or seven inches of snow.  It arrived with blustery zeal during two days–Saturday and Sunday.  It wiped out all traces of spring.  It dumped upon us with a fury, albeit with a strange haunting beauty.

Baby evergreens blanketed in snow. April snow. Mid-April snow.

This morning I wore Grandma’s snowmobile suit from the early 1970’s (or was that the late 1960’s?) and winter boots and hat and gloves and stumbled outside as the sun rose between the bare poplar and maple trees.

Decided to get re-acquainted with Ms. Camera.  Time to remember that second appendage to photographers-bloggers.  Our third hand.

Spruce in a blanket. Of snow.

I wasn’t going to post until tomorrow.  (Please, please, no eye rolling!)  But, if I don’t post today, it will be Too Late.  See end of blog to discover why. 

Baby spruce tree peering up out of snow blanket. "Is it spring yet, Mom?"

Hey, look! Its our house and shed through that snow-covered vista!

One of the most beautiful things in the world is a hushed dawn with a carpet of navigable snow beneath your feet.  You’ve eaten your Kashi cereal and drunk your organic coffee and checked your email and blog comments and you’re ready to go.

Our old, old, old Studebaker car. Which no longer runs. The scrap dealers might give us $400-600 for her. Hmmm....what a decision.

You amble around the property.  You look for appropriate photographable shots.  You eye the world with an appraising attentive eye.  Which views will give you what can be communicated?  And which views are better kept in the mind’s eye?  One must assess the difference.

Oh look. Theres our trailer parked under that tree.

You think that maybe you should come outside every morning.  Snow or rain.  Sunshine or gray skies.  You should.  You really should.  You shouldn’t make excuses to linger at the computer.

Cattail ice cream cones??

OK, surprisingly, we’ve come to the end of this blog already.  Who wants to guess why we must post today–this afternoon–and not wait until tomorrow morning?

Because it’s APRIL–that’s why!  And we all know what happens on sunny April afternoons.

The snow melts.

And melts so quickly you can almost forget that it existed in the hushed dawn.

If we don’t post Now, it will be a completely new world.  A snow-less world.  A world of–dare I say it?–blooming daffodils.

I hope you enjoyed our little trek in the snow.  I hope you were all wearing YOUR snowmobile suits from the 1970’s or 1960’s.  I hope you all remembered how to use your camera. 

Let’s go again tomorrow morning, shall we?  At least in our imagination?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Please avert your eyes if you do not have a strong constitution.

  1. P.j. grath says:

    Cattail ice cream cones! What a relief! From your subject heading today, I expected gory carcasses.

    Today was the first day there’s been NO SNOW IN THE WOODS at all, but the forecast is that we’re going to get slammed again on Wednesday, with perhaps as much as 12-14 inches. What will happen to that little patch of bloodroot I found just opening its flowers? I guess the wildflowers have been through this before. So have we, right?

  2. Susan Derozier says:

    Your beautiful cooling pictures were just what I needed! ‘Came in after literally burning my hands on my steering wheel (in spite of wind shield blind)and fretted to myself that “its too early for this danged heat!”
    And there you were…all cool and pristine and lovely. I know the daffodils are conspiring to surprise you at just the right moment. Until then, I shall imagine myself in my old 70’s snowmobile suit walking beside you and pointing for your camera to capture. So glad you are back. You brighten my days!

  3. The baby evergreens are soooo pretty with all the snow on the branches.
    You want to go swimming? The outdoor pool at the gym I go to opened this past week-end! They will only be open on the week-ends for now, and open every day starting Memorial Day.
    Oh, and that Studebaker… I wonder if you could get more money for it from a vintage car lover who would want to restore it to its old glory? I would hate to see it go to a scrap dealer.

  4. Elisa's Spot says:

    OH! This is absolutely gorgeous and horrific all at once. I love that car!! I always forget it, until you sneak it in! E said she had sleet this morning. We are getting rain now, but had a perfect mid upper fifties day! I seem to enjoy snow more when I know all of the new green things are already sprung under the snow. (i bet that looks like i just accidentally asked for half a foot of snow huh?–I DID NOT!) Did you get that afternoon sun and rivulets and trickles of melting snow?

  5. bearyweather says:

    It looks like my woods … we were “blessed” (?) with a huge pile of white stuff, too. Only, it is not warming up and melting very fast … pretty much all still here with a forecast of more on the way tuesday night and wed … it gets cold at night (in the 20’s) … we might hit 50 on Saturday … so, our snow will stick around for most of this week at least.
    My constitution is weakening …. I am tired of the white stuff that refuses to leave. (I don’t have a snowmobile suit .. but, the boots, mittens and warmer coat are back in use

  6. Sybil says:

    It is beautiful, but I’m just not up to snow right now. April is such a fickle month … I hope those daffodils are blooming soon.

  7. Karma says:

    So did your snow actually melt? I know you love and appreciate its beaty, but, truly it has had its fair share of beautification this winter, has it not? And I appreciate your finding new ways to present it to us.

  8. barb says:

    Well, maybe YOUR snow will be melted. I love the white and icy photos – my favorite is the ice on vine. I’m not completely tired of snow, but the cold -that is something else entirely. It takes so long just to get READY to go outside!

  9. Yes, yes, yes! I love the snow and don’t want it to go away!!!! (Thanks for sharing–we moved to northeastern MI this January and sometimes I wish I was in the UP. But, the Huron Natl Forest and the Ausable and Rifle Rivers have its own beauty. We’re downstate for a few days taking care of a few things, but I WANT TO GO HOME!)

  10. Kiah says:

    What a fun adventure! I wonder what you’ll do today!

  11. Carol says:

    It is beautiful, but it is hard to really appreciate the beauty in the middle of April. Nearly a month into spring. The thought to hold on to is the one you expressed: it will all melt in the afternoon. Tomorrow the daffodils will spring forth in their sunny splendor. Hold on to that thought.

  12. Isn’t it funny how winter sort of blew in and blew right back out again?? It’s still cold, but the snow didn’t last (thank goodness)!!

  13. Robin says:

    I love the way you caption your photos. So creative. I think Ben & Jerry ought to come up with some form of cattail ice cream to put on cones. 😀

    I keep thinking I should be sick of snow, yet I still find it beautiful in the way that you captured it.

  14. Kathy says:

    Dear friends, I thank you 1000 times for commenting! Every last one of you! I am glad you liked the cattail ice cream cones. I am glad snow is melting. (Even though they are–errrrr-predicting more for tomorrow. Although it may go east. You never know.) I would respond to each & every one of you individually but I must go read YOUR blogs. Enough about me. Got to find out how you are doing. 🙂

  15. Colleen says:

    Hi Kathy, I would have loved to have see you in your snowmobile suit. Was it actually your Grandma’s? She must have been a very vibrant lady. I used to wear one skiing (in the early 70’s)….it was great, very comfortable and very warm. And the fabric was so slick and shiny that once you tumbled you could keep sliding down that mountain right to the very bottom! The only draw back was when you needed to get out of it in a hurry.

    Hopefully your snow is well melted by now 🙂

  16. Kathy says:

    Colleen, yes, it was actually my Grandma’s. And yes, the fabric is slick and shiny and oh-so-1970-ish! (Or late 1960-ish.) I love it, but Barry rolls his eyes whenever I put it on. 🙂

  17. Kathy says:

    P.S. Wednesday’s snow report. It’s mostly all melted. They keep predicting more snow today but we haven’t seen a Single Flake. Yet. Thank Goodness.

  18. We had a light dusting down here in Detroit. Everyone was complaining, but I thought it was lovely, if a little unwelcome. There’s something about a late winter/early spring snow storm that is just beautiful: the snow covering green grass, clogging tulip leaves, dusting daffodils. Plus there’s a different quality to the sunlight at that time of year that just makes it magical.

    I know, I know — easy for me to say. Our snow was melted by early afternoon Monday.

    Nice post.

    • Kathy says:

      Sven, there is a special beauty in spring snowstorms. Especially when we view that snow covering the bright green blooming plants. You are lucky your snow has melted. Ours is mostly melted–but not completely. But it was 52 degrees this afternoon! thanks for stopping by.

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...