Rule breaker with a “Cherry on Top”

Cherry on Top Blogging Award

Thank you, Val, for the “Cherry on Top” Blogging Award.  Val, also known as an “Absurd Old Bird” passed it on here.

Here are the rules:

The Cherry On Top Award arrived with a few rules:

Answer this question: If you had the chance to go back and change one thing in your life, would you and what would it be?

Thank the person who gave you this award.

PICK 6 people/blogs and give them this award.

You then have to inform the person that they have received this award.)

Gardener harvests carrots

Val is a rule-breaker.  That’s what Absurd Old Birds do.  They break rules.

Kathy is a rule-breaker, too.  As a matter of fact, she has trouble following some man-and-woman-made rules. She prefers to create rather than rigidly follow rules.

(Not always!  Sometimes she follows rules with perfect societal conditioning.  Rules that say “You have to go to work and earn money.”  “You have go outside every day for 365 days and write a blog about it daily.”  Or “We have to chop and split our wood in order to produce heat for our little cabin in the woods.”  Some rules end up benefitting us, don’t they?)

Shimmering

Nonetheless, I am going to creatively fudge on fulfilling the requirements of this blogging award.

Answer this question: If you had the chance to go back and change one thing in your life, would you and what would it be?

Answer:  Oh this is really complicated.  There are different parts of me.  One part says, “What are you talking about?  Everything has been perfect!  Or perfectly imperfect, anyway.  I wouldn’t go back and change a thing.”

The second part says:  I would change this and that and this and that.  The second part is also private and doesn’t want to share these personal details.  Silly second part!  She doesn’t realize that the sharing helps make us all human.  But I can’t convince her to share any more than that, alas.

The third part says:  I wish I could change all the times that I doubted myself and other people.  I wish I could have realized that everything makes sense in the larger picture.  To have more fully surrendered to what revealed itself in the moment.  (I do not mean~~not to have done the appropriate action.  That’s not the kind of surrender I mean.  But to have ceased to have worried so much, fussed so much, internally carried on so much.) Every time I have somehow accepted and allowed the happening to be OK–even though I may not have liked it, even though action needed to be done–there has been a relaxation, an “ah-ha!” moment, a softening into accepting life more fully.  With all its ups and downs, all its bright colors and bare bone tree limbs and deep winter snow drifts.

Perfect reflection

Thank the person who gave you this award.  I already thanked Val on her blog.  But thank you, again, Val.  I love your thoughtfulness.  And your blog.

PICK 6 people/blogs and give them this award.

You then have to inform the person that they have received this award.)

OK, here’s where it gets dicey.  I cannot choose one blog over another.  That would be like choosing one child over another!  That would be like choosing one color of the rainbow and saying “That’s my favorite color.”  I cannot do that.  Simply cannot do that.

SO, here’s the scoop.  I do want to honor all you regular commenters.  You guys make me smile every single day with your comments, your individuality, your spunk, your humor, your craziness, your zaniness, your seriousness, the uniqueness of being YOU.

Therefore, every single one of you who has commented in the last week–no, make that the last two weeks–you get a Cherry on Top Award.  You may claim it.  All of you.  Just save the above image to your computer and then post it in your blog. 

You can follow the rules or not.  You are not obligated.  (Thank GOODNESS Val said I wasn’t obligated to follow the rules.  Thank goodness.)

You folks know who you are.  And I am contacting you here, now, in this blog.  Don’t have enough time to track every single one of you down and tell you the Cherry Good news!

The reason I don’t have enough time is that I must follow the rules of society and go to work very soon.  Anyone know how that is?

Imperfect reflection (peeking in bedroom window)

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Rule breaker with a “Cherry on Top”

  1. holessence says:

    Kathy – YOU are one of the most “Cherry On Top” bloggers that I know. And by the way, the photographs in this post are fantastic!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Laurie, thank you! You are a Cherry on Top blogger, too. Hope you take your award! (or not…lol…whatever you decide…) I liked some of these photographs especially the shimmering leaves. Oh how I like that one.

  2. Susan D says:

    Thank you for the Cherry on Top Award! How nice of you to share it with all of us. Kudos to Val for picking you as a favorite. Who wouldn’t?

    I like what you settled upon in your “third part” re what one thing you would change in your life … and choosing wishing you’d surrendered more to “what revealed itself in the moment” … Lovely.

    And I really love “first part’s” attitude: Change What? Awesome….

    “Second Part” – ahhh, you gotta love her, huh? Maybe she’s the one who keeps us “grounded” … which can be a bane or a blessing.

    I’m a rule-breaker, too, except for following – or trying to follow – the rudimentary rules that make life liveable. Sometimes, I don’t break rules. I simply “revise” them to suit me. Hee-hee …

    Wonderful topic; wonderful pictures; wonderful you …

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Susan D! Isn’t it interesting that there are different parts of ourselves that have different opinions? I often wonder if people are really aware of all the different parts of self, or if they have consolidated everything into a single self with one opinion.

      Revising rules to suit…yes, that is another good way to put it.

      So! We’ll see you tomorrow for lunch, shall we? Until then… thank you for visiting. And commenting. (everyone else seems to have gone AWOL, lol!)

      • Susan D says:

        Yes, what the heck? Maybe everyone’s “second part” took over. Yes, lunch tomorrow and I’m bringing all of my selves 🙂

  3. Val Erde says:

    Great post – and thanks for accepting!!
    🙂

    Love the tree with reflection, and your self-reflection in your answer to that oh-so-difficult question. My initial reaction to the question itself was the same as your second response.

    And – yay! carrots!!
    😉

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you for the fun and inspiration and award, Val. That was an oh-so-difficult question, wasn’t it? I pulled up every single last carrot yesterday. They are so orange and sweet and delicious.

  4. Dawn says:

    Funny. Us AWOL? No way!

    Hey. Can we have ICE CREAM with that cherry? That might be the only way I’ll prioritize this! 🙂

    But I’ll think about it!…what would I change…what would I change….I will have to think about that!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh good, Dawn, I am glad that not everybody went AWOL. Yes, ice cream with the cherry on top. What kind would you like? What’s you’re special flavor?

      It was a question I had to sit with for several days. Too many answers…a very juicy question indeed.

  5. Carol says:

    I will accept the award, with sincere thanks. The question, however, is going to require thought. Your answer(s) were perfect, but it would be plagiarism to kind of use them again, wouldn’t it?

    I think I’m in a rut, because once again I must say that I love your photos. I agree, I like “shimmering” best, but the reflection is also great! And the imperfect reflection is unique and interesting.

    • Kathy says:

      Very glad to hear that, Carol! I don’t know whether it would be plagiarism or not…that is another good question. What if we think exactly the same as another person? I’ll bet if you close your eyes and then let the answer come out in your words–even if it’s a similar thought–it won’t be plagiarism. And while your eyes are closed you might discover all new sorts of ideas popping out! (I am enjoying these autumn photos, too. Beautiful leaves. Which are falling off the trees very quickly.)

  6. Karma says:

    There is a gorgeous sharpness to “shimmering” that makes me think it was taken with the Rebel – I just love that shot.

    Congrats on your Cherry! 🙂
    Are you asking us what we would change if we had the chance? I have some thoughts on the subject…

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, yes, it was taken with the Rebel, Karma. I am borrowing one of Barry’s lens from his work camera for a while. However,may be sneaking in Cybershots, too.

      Yes, that’s what I’m asking! Would be very interested to read your thoughts about it.

      • Karma says:

        I guess the question now would be do I share them here or write my own blog about it? I don’t know that my baby blog is worthy of your award, as sweet as you are to offer. I’m in a bit of a mood today due to some disappointing circumstances, so perhaps it would be better to contemplate until the long weekend finds me in better spirits!

        • Kathy says:

          Your blog is NOT a baby blog, Karma!! It’s a teenage blog…that’s why it’s moody. As for you~~I am sorry that you’ve had some disappointing circumstances. Those can be so challenging. If you decide to share, let me know. I would not want to miss it, sweetheart.

  7. Cindy Lou says:

    Wondermous pictures today, sweetie! All of them are my favorites! Was it lovely to work in your garden in the sunshine? Ahhhh…… 🙂

    I, too, am contemplating the questions though it’s hard to find time to just sit and ponder!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy Lou, TODAY is the most gorgeous day. (I skipped out of work early~~but that’s OK because all the kids are off and teachers busy with in-service. Are you at an inservice today?) It is so gorgeous that I am moving out onto the deck with this cup of tea and a good book. Should I bring the computer too? It’s so hard to decide if that will be an enhancement or distraction.

      • Cindy Lou says:

        It IS a most gorgemous day, isn’t it? I did go to inservice this morning, but ‘skipped’ the afternoon….just couldn’t bring myself to spend the day inside! I just came in from outside (painting a cupboard, finishing up cleaning my painting from inside the boat, walking the dogs) and was actually sweating! Who’d a thunk it in October!!!

  8. Tammy McLeod says:

    I must admit that I love the name “cherry on top”. You are very generous to pass it on. Love the photo with the carrot harvest.

    • Kathy says:

      Tammy, I like it too. All our carrots are now harvested. The only things remaining in the garden (beside the rye grass which we will rototill under) are kale, brocoli and green onions. Today we’re having the most delightful Indian Summer day with temperatures in the 70’s!

  9. Pingback: What Would You Change? « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  10. Robin says:

    The photos in this post are all so beautiful. “Imperfect reflection” is my favorite of a bunch of favorites. 🙂

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...