The magic of eagle feathers, amphibians and autumn leaves between Point A and Point B

Bald eagle white tail feather

The computer monitor of my desktop “work computer” has been slowly dying.  It started before our Duluth trip.  Suddenly the words and pictures looked smeary, unreadable. Almost like the viewer badly needed a new pair of glasses.

Yesterday–when I noticed I wasn’t turning the computer on any more–and avoiding as much work as possible–it became apparent that a call to the Computer Doctor was in order.

I offered to bring the patient up to Houghton to the computer clinic.  The kind doctor agreed.

Layers of rock and stone; tendrils of roots

So Barry and I leaped into the car (I swear we leaped.  We had to drive almost an hour north and west and reach the doctor before he departed for the evening) and brought Ms. Monitor into the clinic.  Eric hemmed and hawed.  His assistant hemmed and hawed.  It could be the monitor.  Or it could be a video card.

He kindly loaned me a new–rather, an ancient decrepit substitute for testing the appropriate remedy–and sent us on our way.  He’ll be our neck of the woods Saturday retrieving his broken-down vehicle from a backwoods camp.  If we need a new monitor or video card, he’ll bring it.  (Don’t you love small towns?)

Fallen trees jut out into lake

Of course we had to eat dinner out.  That is our weak point.  Or it could be a strong point, depending on how you look at it.  Since we only have about five possible restaurants from which to choose, we hemmed and hawed ourselves.  Which one? 

Finally we settled on the Library Restaurant.  I had chicken fajitas and he ate the Veggie Sub on Jewish Rye.  All very good.

Autumn approaches

Then we started the car, pointed it south, and drove down US 41.  They are building a new road next to the lake near Keweenaw Bay.  That’s because studies have hinted that someday–someday, mind you–the cliff sandstone rocks beneath the road will crumble away and send innocent drivers into the bay below. 

We admired the new road.

Leaf, rock, water

“We are stopping along the road and I am going to show you a special place, ” I announced to Barry.

He raised an eyebrow.  He looked momentarily as if he really, truly, did not want to get out of the car. 

Then I got all passionate and assertive and insistent.

“But, Barry!  We can’t live life driving from Point A to Point B!  We can’t simply move through life like robots.  We HAVE to stop every single day to smell the roses in a new place.!  We HAVE to!”

Barry sits as dusk slowly surrounds...

He pulled the car over.

We disembarked and followed a hidden steep trail down to the bay.  Through thickets.  Someone had tossed garbage alongside the trail.  We frowned, but had no bag to clean it up.  An eagle had dropped his own white deposits along the greenery.  These did not need to be cleaned up.

Rhapsody in blue

Ahhh, the bay!  Ahhh, the beach!  Everything looked so peaceful and blue in the dusky evening.  The light shined low on the lake, and the waves lapped softly against the shore.

Slow blinking golden amphibian eye mirrors setting sun

Aren’t we humans always glad when we stop during our busy treks from Point A to Point B?  Aren’t we always delighted by what the world shows us from the in-between places?

It’s the journey; not the destination.  It’s the way a magnificent eagle feather lies against a rock and you can hold it to your heart and bless all the beings in the universe before placing it gently down.  It’s the way the sunset reflects in the eye of a green amphibian.  It’s the way rocks murmur against blue waves.

Hoping everyone stops often between Point A and Point B.  Maybe even today!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to The magic of eagle feathers, amphibians and autumn leaves between Point A and Point B

  1. Celeste says:

    Thank you again for your thoughts! I mirrored your thoughts on my blog yesterday, if you’d care to take a look. Your photos far exceed mine in quality and quantity, but hey…I’m just getting started. 🙂

  2. Oh Kathy – what a wonderful reminder, thank you! By the way, my favorite photograph today is leaf, rock, water — I’m going to hold it in my mind’s eye throughout the day.

  3. Cindy Lou says:

    Beautimous photos today – I’m glad you stopped at Point A.5! (A and a half – get it? Halfway between A and B?!?! OK – I’ll quit 🙂 )

    No swimming for us today, hey? “The sun’ll come up tomorrow….” I’m painting on the living room in prep for new flooring so it’s OK that it’s not so great out. It’ll keep me motivated.

  4. Reggie says:

    Oh! I love that idea! I love stopping along the route to investigate whatever new things wait to be discovered that day! How much more real and exciting and adventurous the journey from Point A to Point B becomes, if you honour all the landscapes, people, places, and lives inbetween. Awesome idea, THANK YOU, Kathy! Hugs!

    • Kathy says:

      Reggie, so glad that this idea inspired you, too! I am now smiling thinking of all the trips you’ve taken in South Africa, and all the wonderful stops you’ve made between A and B and even C. So much to honor in between–and you do it so well!

  5. Susan D. says:

    I can’t decide between Barry and The Frog Prince for fave photo today. So they get equal billing here. Wonderful!

    In my younger years, I had quite the reputation for taking off with no points, A or B, in mind. After traumatizing my daughters with countless “I don’t know where we are” scenarios, I learned to be a little less adventurous. One time we ended up in North Central CA in a place called “The Valley of the Moon.” It took “forever” to find our way back to the freeway, with me spinning magical tales about being lost in the Valley of the Moon, and how exciting it was (while watching the gas guage creep ever closer to “E”)…. kids weren’t buying it. *Sigh*

    I miss “getting lost” in the sense of just stopping to see interesting things/places that catch my eye. Thank you for the touching reminder. Thank you for wonder and magic!

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, that is very very interesting. The balance between being too adventuresome (and not noticing the relationship between gas guage and gas station) and not being adventuresome enough. Although, darn it, I am magically intrigued with the Valley of the Moon, lol!

      Last summer–the day of Mary’s funeral–when I explored the Copper Country without rhyme or reason, turning left or right, still remains as one of my most favorite memories.

  6. fountainpen says:

    I too am a wanderer…from here to there….
    not A to B…..that is far too columnar for me….
    Happy to have all of the wanderers with me…..

    Fountainpen

  7. Robin says:

    “Leaf, rock, water” has such wonderful colors and textures. I love it.

    I’m afraid I often drive my husband a little crazy with stopping between Point A and Point B, but outwardly he takes it with his usual grace and patience because I think he secretly likes it. I’m a bit of a wanderer during the journey, zig-zagging and spiraling here and there. M helps to balance that out by making sure we eventually arrive at our destination.

    • Kathy says:

      Robin, it sounds like we might have a little similar scenarios. (I think Barry secretely liked stopping last night too.) Zig-zagging and spiraling hold such appeal…

  8. patty sue says:

    So beautiful! Thank you! Goosebumps!

  9. patty sue says:

    ps … love – absolutely love … the little green frog with golden/blue eyes.

  10. Amazing today!

    I love the amphibian pic!

    I also love the fact you found a feather.

    I have 6 in my collection, however no anything near as exciting as n eagle…maybe somday I will bw so gifted…

    Great story, my hubby is a point A to Point ! Persom….
    I am sending your story to him

    Kim

    • Kathy says:

      Kim, isn’t that amphibian awesome? Isn’t the feather awesome? I love finding eagle feathers…don’t keep feathers any more…just honor their incredible sacred gifts and lay them back on the earth. I hope your husband liked this story! I hope he stops halfway between with you and enjoys some magic.

  11. Dawn says:

    My husband is a point A to point B person too. I have learned to stop. Mostly. I loved the picture of Barry looking at the lake…and then of course I loved the frog one a whole lot too!

    • Kathy says:

      I think when we get marriage the Universe decides that our mate must be somewhat the opposite of us. If we’re Point A to Point B, then guess what we get? That’s so we can experience both! Aren’t we lucky? (ha ha, LOL!)

  12. Karma says:

    I can’t help but feel a little sad with this post! The change of seasons from summer to fall has always been tough for me (perhaps I have a bit of that SAD!) because I love summer so much. Your beautiful leaf, the feeling in the air (do you know what I mean?), going back to school next week – it is nearly upon us.
    I, too, love the little stops in between, but often feel unable to do them. Hubby or the kids have somewhere else they HAVE to be.

    • Kathy says:

      Karma, you know what? I think I am refusing to feel that sadness just yet. You must really be feeling it close because of having to return to your job. I still have a couple weeks before my part time job becomes a bit more focused. I know what you mean about the kids & hubby HAVING to be elsewhere. Therefore, I am much more determined to carve out every possible moment where that can be expanded. Just must be alert in order not to fall “asleep” into the routine myself!

  13. bearyweather says:

    There are so many things we never see on our daily routine drives from A to B … it is special and magical when we take the time to stop and explore. Something we have seen a million times is suddenly new.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi bearyweather~~you are so darn right. Something so routine, so normal, can actually become new. I think I learn this again and again each day.

  14. Elisa's Spot says:

    fallen tree jut into lake and rhapsody in blue are my favs in this bunch…i can/will stare at them for hours. I stop a LOT between points A and B.

    I think i need to move onto C and D or A and C…you get the idea, then I might have my own rapture I mean rhapsody!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh I am so thrilled that someone else liked rhapsody in blue. I fell in love with it. Had to ask my daughter if it looked blue on her screen. She was rather non-commital. I like the idea of moving on to C and D and then possibly zig-zagging to Z. 🙂

  15. Tibor says:

    Dear Kathy, Love your blog and connection you have with nature. I would like to ask permission to use your white eagle picture in a children book related to native Americans. I will send you a dedicated copy of the book when it´s published. Please let me know. Thanks. Tibor

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...